Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/27/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the first Office Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3,6-7,12-13,15,19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 6, line 2, “a group,” should read “the group.”
In claim 7, line 2, “a group,” should read “the group.”
In claim 12, line 2, “a group,” should read “the group.”
In claim 13, line 10, “a group,” should read “the group.”
In claim 13, line 14, “a group,” should read “the group.”
In claim 15, line 3, “a group,” should read “the group.”
In claim 15, line 6, “a group,” should read “the group.”
In claim 19, line 3, “a group,” should read “the group.”
In claim 19, line 7, “a group,” should read “the group.”
In claim 20, line 6, “a group,” should read “the group.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 15 contain the trademark/trade name Super P. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe conductive additives and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 9 and 18 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamano et al. (PGPub 2022/0336850).
Regarding claim 1, Yamano et al. teaches a battery cell (battery 10) comprising:
C cathode electrodes each including a cathode active material layer (cathode active material layer 2) arranged on a cathode current collector (cathode current collector 1) (see Figure 1);
A anode electrodes each including an anode active material layer (anode active material layer 4) arranged on an anode current collector (anode current collector 5) (see Figure 1);
and S separators, where C, A and S are integers greater than one (battery includes at least one power generation unit including a cathode active material layer, a solid electrolyte layer, and an anode active material layer, and may include two or more of them and may be a plurality of the power generation units that may be connected in parallel or in series [0119]), wherein each of the S separators (solid electrolyte layer 3) includes: a first sublayer (second solid electrolyte layer 3y) including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (the second solid electrolyte layer 3y includes a sulfide solid electrolyte [0027]) arranged adjacent to one of the A anode electrodes (the anode active material layer 4, the coating layer 6, and the anode current collector 5 may be referred to as “anode” [0027]; second solid electrolyte layer 3y placed between the first solid electrolyte layer 3x and the anode active material layer 4 [0027], see Figure 3); and a second sublayer (first solid electrolyte layer 3x) including a chloride-based solid electrolyte (the first solid electrolyte layer 3x includes a halide solid electrolyte [0027]; The halide solid electrolyte may be a chloride solid electrolyte [0092]) arranged between the first sublayer and one of the C cathode electrodes ( the cathode current collector 1 and the cathode active material layer 2 may be referred to as “cathode” [0027]; the first solid electrolyte layer 3x is arrange between the cathode active material layer 2 and the second solid electrolyte layer 3y, see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Yamano teaches the battery cell (battery 10) of claim 1, wherein the first sublayer (second solid electrolyte layer 3y) includes the sulfide-based solid electrolyte (the second solid electrolyte layer 3y includes a sulfide solid electrolyte [0027]) comprising 95 to 99.9wt% and a binder comprising 0.1 to 5 wt% (A sulfide solid electrolyte (10LiI-15LiBr-75(0.75Li.sub.2S-0.25P.sub.2S.sub.5) and a binder (SBR) were weighed so as the weight ratio was sulfide solid electrolyte:binder=99.6:0.4 [133]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamano teaches the battery cell (battery 10) of claim 1, wherein the second sublayer (first solid electrolyte layer 3x) includes the chloride-based solid electrolyte (the first solid electrolyte layer 3x includes a halide solid electrolyte [0027]; The halide solid electrolyte may be a chloride solid electrolyte [0092]) comprising 95 to 99.9 wt% and a binder comprising 0.1 to 5 wt% (A halide solid electrolyte (Li.sub.3YBr.sub.2Cl.sub.4) and a binder (SEBS) were weighed so as the weight ratio was halide solid electrolyte:binder=100:3 [139]).
Regarding claim 18, Yamano teaches the battery cell (battery 10) of claim 13, wherein: the first sublayer (second solid electrolyte layer 3y) includes the sulfide-based solid electrolyte (the second solid electrolyte layer 3y includes a sulfide solid electrolyte [0027]) comprising 95 to 99.9 wt% and a binder comprising 0.1 to 5 wt% (A sulfide solid electrolyte (10LiI-15LiBr-75(0.75Li.sub.2S-0.25P.sub.2S.sub.5) and a binder (SBR) were weighed so as the weight ratio was sulfide solid electrolyte:binder=99.6:0.4 [133])., and the second sublayer (first solid electrolyte layer 3x) includes the chloride-based solid electrolyte (the first solid electrolyte layer 3x includes a halide solid electrolyte [0027]; The halide solid electrolyte may be a chloride solid electrolyte [0092]) comprising 95 to 99.9 wt% and a binder comprising 0.1 to 5 wt% (A halide solid electrolyte (Li.sub.3YBr.sub.2Cl.sub.4) and a binder (SEBS) were weighed so as the weight ratio was halide solid electrolyte:binder=100:3 [139]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 10-12, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamano et al. (PGPub 2022/0336850).
Considering claim 4, Yamano teaches a battery 10 with a solid electrolyte layer 3 that comprises of a first solid electrolyte layer 3x and a second solid electrolyte layer 3y [0027]. Yamano further teaches the first solid electrolyte layer 3x, disclosed as a chloride based solid electrolyte [0092], which refers to the second sublayer of the claimed invention having a thickness ranging from 0.1 μm or more and 500 μm or less [0107]. The second solid electrolyte layer 3y, disclosed as a sulfide solid electrolyte [0096], which refers to the first sublayer of the claimed invention has a thickness range from 0.1 μm or more and 500 μm or less [0094].
Though Yamano discloses 0.1 μm or more and 500 μm or less for the thickness of the solid electrolyte layers and not volume and not the 5 to 100 μm and 2 to 50 μm of the claimed invention, Yamano teaches that increasing the thickness of the solid electrolyte layers would increase the ion conductivity which leads to a solid electrolyte layer with high safety against heating [0111]. Yamano also discloses that the difference in thickness of the first solid electrolyte layer 3x and the second solid electrolyte layer 3y can lead to a solid electrolyte layer with high ion conductivity wherein if the thickness of the first solid electrolyte layer 3x is more than second solid electrolyte layer 3y, this means that the difference between first solid electrolyte layer 3x and second solid electrolyte layer 3y is more than 3 μm [0111]. Furthermore, if the first solid electrolyte layer 3x is the same as the second solid electrolyte layer 3y and that the absolute value of the difference between the first solid electrolyte layer 3x and second solid electrolyte layer 3y is 3 μm or less, a solid electrolyte layer with good balance between the ion conductivity and the safety against heating may be obtained [0111].
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to use any value within the ranges of thicknesses of the first solid electrolyte layer and second solid electrolyte layer disclosed by Yamano et al. to maintain a good balance between the ion conductivity and ensure safety against heating, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 5, Yamano teaches a battery 10 comprising of a solid electrolyte layer 3 which further comprises of a first solid electrolyte layer 3x consisting of a chloride solid electrolyte and a second solid electrolyte layer 3y consisting of a sulfide solid electrolyte. Yamano further discloses that the proportion of the chloride solid electrolyte to all the solid electrolyte in the first solid electrolyte layer 3x is 50 volume % or more, may be 70 volume % or more, and may be 90 volume % or more [0057]. Yamano also discloses that the proportion of the sulfide solid electrolyte with respect to all the solid electrolyte in the second solid electrolyte layer 3y is, for example, 50 volume % or more, may be 70 volume % or more, and may be 90 volume % or more [0096].
Though Yamano discloses % volume and not % weight, Yamano teaches that increasing the thickness of the solid electrolyte layers would increase the ion conductivity which leads to a solid electrolyte layer with high safety against heating [0111]. As disclosed by Yamano, when the thickness of the first solid electrolyte layer is more than the second solid electrolyte layer, a solid electrolyte layer with high ion conductivity may be obtained. When the thickness of the first solid electrolyte layer is less than the second solid electrolyte layer, a solid electrolyte layer with high safety against heating may be obtained [0111].
Thickness is proportional to weight wherein increasing the thickness would increase the ion conductivity and increasing the weight would have the same effect. Routinely experimenting with the weight % values to ensure a balance between ion conductivity and battery safety and could achieve 5-30 wt% and 70-95 wt% as required by the claimed invention.
Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the wt% of the sublayers of the claimed invention in order to achieve a balance between the ion conductivity and safety of the battery, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 6, Yamano teaches a battery 10 comprising of a chloride-based solid electrolyte [0092], wherein examples of the chloride-based solid electrolyte may include Li.sub.2YX.sub.6, Li.sub.2MgX.sub.4, Li.sub.2FeX.sub.4, Li(Al, Ga, In)X.sub.4, and Li.sub.3(Al, Ga, In)X.sub.6 [0083]. Yamano further discloses that in these materials the element “X” is at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I, and according to this configuration the ion conductivity of the chloride-based solid electrolyte may be further improved [0084].
Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the chloride-based solid electrolyte materials of Yamano to improve the ion conductivity of the chloride-based solid electrolyte, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 10, Yamano teaches a battery 10 comprising of an anode active material layer 4 in the anode [0030], wherein the anode active material layer 4 includes an anode active material [0045]. Yamano further discloses the proportion of the anode active material in the anode active material layer is, for example, 20 weight % or more, may be 40 weight % or more, and may be 60 weight % or more and 80% or less [0050] in order to improve cycle life and conductivity of the battery.
The only deficiency of Yamano et al. is that Yamano discloses the use of the anode active material being 20% - 80% weight of the anode active layer, while the present claims require 30-100 wt% of the anode active material layer. However, it is
It is apparent, however, that the instantly claimed amount of 30-100% and that taught by Yamano are so close to each other that the fact pattern is similar to the one in In re Woodruff , 919 F.2d 1575, USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) or Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed.Cir. 1985) where despite a “slight” difference in the ranges the court held that such a difference did not “render the claims patentable” or, alternatively, that “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough so that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties”. In light of the case law cited above and given that there is only a “slight” difference between the amount of 20%-80% weight disclosed by Yamano and the amount disclosed in the present claims and further given the fact that no criticality is disclosed in the present invention with respect to the amount of 30-100 wt%, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the amount of 30-100 wt% disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the amounts disclosed in Yamano, and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Considering claim 11, Yamano discloses an anode active material layer which further includes at least one of a solid electrolyte, a conductive material, and a binder [0045], wherein the sulfide-based solid electrolyte comprises 50 volume % or more, may be 70 volume % or more, and may be 90 volume % or more [0096]. Yamano also discloses the binder comprising 1 weight % or more and 10 weight % or less [0040]. Yamano et al. further discloses the proportion of the conductive material in the coating layer of the anode active material layer being 1 weight % or less, may be 0.5 weight % or less, and may be 0.3 weight % or less [0037].
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to use any value within the ranges of the sulfide-based solid electrolyte, conductive additive, and binder of the anode active material layer disclosed by Yamano et al. to improve the cycle life and conductivity of the battery, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 12, Yamano teaches a battery 10, wherein the anode active material layer 4 includes an anode active material. Yamano discloses examples of the anode active material which may include a Si based active material such as a Si simple substance, a Si alloy, and a Si oxide [0048]. Yamano further discloses an Sn based active material such as a Sn simple substance, a Sn alloy, and a Sn oxide [0048]. Yamano also discloses a coating layer that contains an oxide active material, wherein the oxide active material may include Li.sub.4Ti.sub.5O.sub.12 [0034].
Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the anode active materials of Yamano to improve the cycle characteristics of the all-solid-state secondary battery, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 16, Yamano teaches a battery 10 with a solid electrolyte layer 3 that comprises of a first solid electrolyte layer 3x and a second solid electrolyte layer 3y [0027]. Yamano further teaches the first solid electrolyte layer 3x, disclosed as a chloride based solid electrolyte [0092], which refers to the second sublayer of the claimed invention having a thickness ranging from 0.1 μm or more and 500 μm or less [0107]. The second solid electrolyte layer 3y, disclosed as a sulfide solid electrolyte [0096], which refers to the first sublayer of the claimed invention has a thickness range from 0.1 μm or more and 500 μm or less [0094].
Yamano also discloses that the difference in thickness of the first solid electrolyte layer 3x and the second solid electrolyte layer 3y can lead to a solid electrolyte layer with high ion conductivity wherein if the thickness of the first solid electrolyte layer 3x is more than second solid electrolyte layer 3y, this means that the difference between first solid electrolyte layer 3x and second solid electrolyte layer 3y is more than 3 μm [0111]. Furthermore, if the first solid electrolyte layer 3x is the same as the second solid electrolyte layer 3y and that the absolute value of the difference between the first solid electrolyte layer 3x and second solid electrolyte layer 3y is 3 μm or less, a solid electrolyte layer with good balance between the ion conductivity and the safety against heating may be obtained [0111].
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to use any value within the ranges of thicknesses of the first solid electrolyte layer and second solid electrolyte layer disclosed by Yamano et al. to maintain a good balance between the ion conductivity and ensure safety against heating, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 20, Yamano discloses a battery 10 comprising of a solid electrolyte layer 3, wherein the solid electrolyte layer 3 further comprises of a sulfide solid electrolyte in the second solid electrolyte layer 3y [0096], and a first solid electrolyte layer 3x [0027] which consists of a chloride-based solid electrolyte [0092]. Yamano further discloses that the second solid electrolyte layer may further include a binder [0107] comprising 1 weight % or more and 10 weight % or less [0040].
Furthermore, Yamano teaches a sulfide solid electrolyte (10LiI-15LiBr-75(0.75Li.sub.2S-0.25P.sub.2S.sub.5) and a binder (SBR) were weighed so as the weight ratio was sulfide solid electrolyte:binder=99.6:0.4 [0133] and a halide solid electrolyte (Li.sub.3YBr.sub.2Cl.sub.4); and a binder (SEBS) were weighed so as the weight ratio was halide solid electrolyte:binder=100:3 [0139]. Yamano also discloses that the sulfide solid electrolyte has a relatively high reduction resistance and that the halide solid electrolyte has good heating stability. Thereby, a battery highly safety against heating, and having good cycle property may be obtained [0029].
Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the solid electrolyte and binder wt% in order to improve the battery’s safety against heating and cycle properties of the battery, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 2, 3, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamano et al. (PGPub 2022/0336850) and in further view of Huang et al. (PGPub 2024/026104).
Considering claim 2, Yamano discloses a halide solid electrolyte that ranges from 0% volume to 100% volume in weight [0096]. Yamano also discloses a cathode active material layer that includes an olivine type material such as LiFePO4 [0114]. However, Yamano is silent on the weight range of the cathode active material layer.
Huang et al. discloses a cathode active material layer containing LFP that is about 20% to about 99% in weight of the cathode layer [0087]. Huang also discloses that the halide solid state electrolyte which includes Li2ZrCl6, Li3InCl6, Li2.25Hf0.75Fe0.25Cl4Br2 may be present in the cathode layer 110 in an amount from 1% to about 30% by weight of the cathode layer 110 [0090]. Huang further discloses that the composition of the interlayers electron conduction and lithium ion movement through the layers which leads to an improved cycle life [0046].
Though Yamano discloses 0% to 100% volume in weight for the chloride solid electrolyte and Huang et al. discloses the halide solid state electrolyte being 1% to 30% by weight and not 0.5 to 50% of the claimed invention, Yamano’s and Huang et al. disclosed range still includes that of the claimed invention. Though Haung et al. discloses the active material layer containing LFP being about 20% to 99% in weight of the cathode layer, and not 30 to 98% of the claimed invention, Huang et al.’s range still includes that of the claimed invention.
Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the halide solid electrolyte and its weight with the LFP cathode active material layer of Yamano et al. with the disclosed weight percentage of the cathode active material layer and halide solid state electrolyte of Huang et al. to optimize capacity of the battery as disclosed by Huang, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the
art.
Considering claim 3, Yamano discloses battery 10 containing a cathode active material which comprises of a conductive additive and a binder. The conductive material and binder used for the cathode active material layer may be in the same contents as those described for the anode [0117]. For the conductive material, Yamano discloses examples of the carbon material that may include particulate carbon materials such as acetylene black (AB) and Ketjen black (KB); and fibrous carbon materials such as carbon fiber, carbon nanotube (CNT), and carbon nanofiber (CNF) [0036]. Yamano also discloses that adding the conductive material allows for the shutdown function to be activated promptly so that the heating value may further be reduced [0036].
Furthermore, for the binder, Yamano discloses that examples of the binder may include fluorine based binders, polyimide based binders, and rubber based binders in order to improve the adhesiveness of the anode active material layer and the anode current collector [0040]. However, Yamano is silent to include the entire range of materials of the binder of the claimed invention.
Huang et al. discloses a cathode layer 110 that comprises of a conductive additive and a binder [0012]. Huang et al. also discloses the binder comprising of polyvinylidene fluoride (PVdF), polyhexafluoropropylene (PHFP), and polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), and binary copolymers such as copolymers of VdF and HFP such as poly (vinylene difluoride- hexafluoropropylene) copolymer (PVdF-HFP), and the like, or styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR), styrene-butadiene-styrene copolymer (SBS), styrene-isoprene block copolymer (SIS), styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene (SEBS), polyacrylonitrile (PAN), nitrile-butylene rubber (NBR), polybutadiene, polyisoprene, Poly (methacrylate) nitrile-butadiene rubber (PMMA-NBR) and the like [0091]. Huang et al. further discloses that the binder is necessary in order to increase the structural integrity of the first interlayer 104 and enable improved cohesion between like particles in different layers of an electrochemical cell [0055].
Yamano does not specifically teach the limitations of the binder in the claimed invention; however, Huang et al. teaches most of the limitations of the binder in the claimed invention. Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the conductive material of Yamano in order to reduce the heating value of the battery as disclosed by Yamano and the binder materials of Huang et al. to improve cohesion between like particles in different layers of the battery, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 14, Yamano discloses a halide solid electrolyte that ranges from 0% volume to 100% volume in weight [0096]. Yamano also discloses a cathode active material layer that includes an olivine type material such as LiFePO4 [0114]. However, Yamano is silent on the weight range of the cathode active material layer.
Huang et al. discloses a cathode active material layer containing LFP that is about 20% to about 99% in weight of the cathode layer [0087]. Huang also discloses that the halide solid state electrolyte which includes Li2ZrCl6, Li3InCl6, Li2.25Hf0.75Fe0.25Cl4Br2 may be present in the cathode layer 110 in an amount from 1% to about 30% by weight of the cathode layer 110 [0090]. Huang further discloses that the composition of the interlayers electron conduction and lithium ion movement through the layers which leads to an improved cycle life [0046].
Though Yamano discloses 0% to 100% volume in weight for the chloride solid electrolyte and Huang et al. discloses the halide solid state electrolyte being 1% to 30% by weight and not 0.5 to 50% of the claimed invention, Yamano’s and Huang et al. disclosed range still includes that of the claimed invention. Though Haung et al. discloses the active material layer containing LFP being about 20% to 99% in weight of the cathode layer, and not 30 to 98% of the claimed invention, Huang et al.’s range still includes that of the claimed invention.
Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the halide solid electrolyte and its weight with the LFP cathode active material layer of Yamano et al. with the disclosed weight percentage of the cathode active material layer and halide solid state electrolyte of Huang et al. to optimize capacity of the battery as disclosed by Huang, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the
art.
Considering claim 15, Yamano discloses battery 10 containing a cathode active material which comprises of a conductive additive and a binder. The conductive material and binder used for the cathode active material layer may be in the same contents as those described for the anode [0117]. For the conductive material, Yamano discloses examples of the carbon material that may include particulate carbon materials such as acetylene black (AB) and Ketjen black (KB); and fibrous carbon materials such as carbon fiber, carbon nanotube (CNT), and carbon nanofiber (CNF) [0036]. Yamano also discloses that adding the conductive material allows for the shutdown function to be activated promptly so that the heating value may further be reduced [0036].
Furthermore, for the binder, Yamano discloses that examples of the binder may include fluorine based binders, polyimide based binders, and rubber based binders in order to improve the adhesiveness of the anode active material layer and the anode current collector [0040]. However, Yamano is silent to include the entire range of materials of the binder of the claimed invention.
Huang et al. discloses a cathode layer 110 that comprises of a conductive additive and a binder [0012]. Huang et al. also discloses the binder comprising of polyvinylidene fluoride (PVdF), polyhexafluoropropylene (PHFP), and polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), and binary copolymers such as copolymers of VdF and HFP such as poly (vinylene difluoride- hexafluoropropylene) copolymer (PVdF-HFP), and the like, or styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR), styrene-butadiene-styrene copolymer (SBS), styrene-isoprene block copolymer (SIS), styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene (SEBS), polyacrylonitrile (PAN), nitrile-butylene rubber (NBR), polybutadiene, polyisoprene, Poly (methacrylate) nitrile-butadiene rubber (PMMA-NBR) and the like [0091]. Huang et al. further discloses that the binder is necessary in order to increase the structural integrity of the first interlayer 104 and enable improved cohesion between like particles in different layers of an electrochemical cell [0055].
Yamano does not specifically teach the limitations of the binder in the claimed invention; however, Huang et al. teaches most of the limitations of the binder in the claimed invention. Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the conductive material of Yamano in order to reduce the heating value of the battery as disclosed by Yamano and the binder materials of Huang et al. to improve cohesion between like particles in different layers of the battery, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 7, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamano et al. (PGPub 2022/0336850) as evidenced by Chen et al. (Preparation and degradation of high air stability sulfide solid electrolyte 75Li2S·25P2S5 glass-ceramic, hereinafter Chen-NPL).
Considering claim 7, Yamano discloses a battery 10 comprising of a sulfide-based solid electrolyte [0027]. Yamano further discloses that the sulfide-based solid electrolyte may be obtained by carrying out a mechanical milling treatment to a raw material composition including Li.sub.2S and P.sub.2S.sub.5 to form a sulfide glass, and then, carrying out a heat treatment to the sulfide glass [0106]. Yamano also discloses using 10LiI-15LiBr-75(0.75Li.sub.2S-0.25P.sub.2S.sub.5 for producing the sulfide solid electrolyte [0129].
Chen-NPL discloses that Li2S·P2S5 system (LPS) is one of the most thoroughly investigated of the SSEs for their high ionic conductivity when compared to other compositions, wide electrochemical stability window and high deformability [Introduction, Para 2].
Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pseudo-sulfide composition of Yamano for the sulfide solid electrolyte for its high ion conductivity, wide electrochemical stability window, and high deformability, as disclosed by the Chen-NPL, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 13, Yamano teaches a battery 10 comprising of a cathode current collector 1, cathode active material layer 2, solid electrolyte layer 3, anode active material layer 4, and anode current collector 5, in this order along thickness direction D.sub.T. The anode current collector 5 includes coating layer 6 including an oxide active material, on a surface of the anode active material layer 4 side. Also, the solid electrolyte layer 3 includes first solid electrolyte layer 3x, and second solid electrolyte layer 3y placed between the first solid electrolyte layer 3x and the anode active material layer 4. The first solid electrolyte layer 3x includes a halide solid electrolyte, and the second solid electrolyte layer 3y includes a sulfide solid electrolyte. Incidentally, in the present disclosure, the cathode current collector 1 and the cathode active material layer 2 may be referred to as “cathode”, and the anode active material layer 4, the coating layer 6, and the anode current collector 5 may be referred to as “anode” ([0027], Figure 1).
Yamano further discloses that the battery 10 includes at least one power generation unit including a cathode active material layer 2, a solid electrolyte layer 3, and an anode active material layer 4, and may include two or more of them and may be a plurality of the power generation units that may be connected in parallel or in series [0119].
Yamano further discloses that the sulfide-based solid electrolyte may be obtained by carrying out a mechanical milling treatment to a raw material composition including Li.sub.2S and P.sub.2S.sub.5 to form a sulfide glass, and then, carrying out a heat treatment to the sulfide glass [0106]. Yamano also discloses using 10LiI-15LiBr-75(0.75Li.sub.2S-0.25P.sub.2S.sub.5 for producing the sulfide solid electrolyte [0129].
Chen-NPL discloses that Li2S·P2S5 system (LPS) is one of the most thoroughly investigated of the SSEs for their high ionic conductivity when compared to other compositions, wide electrochemical stability window and high deformability [Introduction, Para 2].
Yamano further discloses that the halide solid electrolyte of the first solid electrolyte layer 3x may be a chloride-based solid electrolyte [0092], wherein examples of the chloride-based solid electrolyte may include Li.sub.2YX.sub.6, Li.sub.2MgX.sub.4, Li.sub.2FeX.sub.4, Li(Al, Ga, In)X.sub.4, and Li.sub.3(Al, Ga, In)X.sub.6 [0083]. Yamano further discloses that in these materials the element “X” is at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I, and according to this configuration the ion conductivity of the chloride-based solid electrolyte may be further improved [0084].
Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pseudo-sulfide composition of Yamano for the sulfide solid electrolyte for its high ion conductivity, wide electrochemical stability window, and high deformability, as disclosed by Chen-NPL. It would also be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the chloride-based solid electrolyte of Yamano to improve the ion conductivity of the chloride-based solid electrolyte since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 19, Yamano discloses a battery 10 comprising of a sulfide-based solid electrolyte [0027]. Yamano further discloses that the sulfide-based solid electrolyte may be obtained by carrying out a mechanical milling treatment to a raw material composition including Li.sub.2S and P.sub.2S.sub.5 to form a sulfide glass, and then, carrying out a heat treatment to the sulfide glass [0106]. Yamano also discloses using 10LiI-15LiBr-75(0.75Li.sub.2S-0.25P.sub.2S.sub.5 for producing the sulfide solid electrolyte [0129].
Chen-NPL discloses that Li2S·P2S5 system (LPS) is one of the most thoroughly investigated of the SSEs for their high ionic conductivity when compared to other compositions, wide electrochemical stability window and high deformability [Introduction, Para 2].
Yamano teaches a battery 10 comprising of a chloride-based solid electrolyte [0092], wherein examples of the chloride-based solid electrolyte may include Li.sub.2YX.sub.6, Li.sub.2MgX.sub.4, Li.sub.2FeX.sub.4, Li(Al, Ga, In)X.sub.4, and Li.sub.3(Al, Ga, In)X.sub.6 [0083]. Yamano further discloses that in these materials the element “X” is at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I, and according to this configuration the ion conductivity of the chloride-based solid electrolyte may be further improved [0084].
Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the chloride-based solid electrolyte materials of Yamano to improve the ion conductivity of the chloride-based solid electrolyte. It would also be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pseudo-sulfide composition of Yamano for the sulfide solid electrolyte for its high ion conductivity, wide electrochemical stability window, and high deformability, as disclosed by the Chen-NPL, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/MEHER MEHTA/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725
October 2, 2026