DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “such”. It’s not clear what it refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gould (D312017).
Regarding claim 1, Gould teaches a storage caddy “for fire pit accessories” (This is intended use); the caddy comprising:
first and second side walls (annotated figure 1); each of the first and second side walls having an upper edge (top edge), a lower edge (bottom edge), a front end (the end portion that is connected to the front wall as defined in annotated figure 1) and a rear end (the end portion that is connected to the rear wall as defined in annotated figure 1); a front wall (annotated figure 1) extending between the front ends of the first and second side walls; a rear wall (annotated figure 1) extending between the rear ends of the first and second side walls; the first side wall defining a first mounting slot (annotated figure 1) that extends through the upper edge of the first side wall; the second side wall defining a first mounting slot (annotated figure 1) that extends through the upper edge of the second side wall; the first mounting slot of the first side wall being laterally aligned (see figures 1-2 and 5) with the first mounting slot of the second side wall to define a first pair of laterally aligned mounting slots; and the first pair of laterally aligned mounting slots “adapted to receive a fire pit accessory such that the fire pit accessory is carried by the caddy” (This is intended function. The mounting slots are capable of receiving accessories).
Regarding claim 2, Gould teaches the rear ends of each of the first and second side walls are taller than the front ends of each of the first and second side walls (See fig 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Gould teaches the first and second side walls define a second pair of laterally aligned mounting slots (annotated figure 1) located intermediate (see annotated figure 1) the rear wall and the first pair of laterally aligned mounting slots; the second pair of laterally aligned mounting slots having a depth that is deeper than a depth of the first pair of laterally aligned mounting slots (See fig 2, a depth of second pair of mounting slots is deeper than depth of first pair of mounting slots).
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated figure 1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second pair of mounting slots)][AltContent: textbox (First pair of mounting slots)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (front wall)][AltContent: textbox (Rear wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First and second side walls)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 7, Gould teaches the front ends of the first and second sidewalls are closer together than the rear ends of the first and second sidewalls (see fig 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 8, Gould teaches the first pair of laterally aligned mounting slots is angled rearwardly (see fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/KO-WEI LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762