DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1–20 are presented for examination in a non-provisional application filed on 03/27/2024.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 03/27/2024 (in the filings). These drawings are acceptable.
Examiner’s Remarks
4. Examiner refers to and explicitly cites particular pages, sections, figures, paragraphs or columns and lines in the references as applied to Applicant’s claims to the extent practicable to streamline prosecution.
Although the cited portions of the references are representative of the best teachings in the art and are applied to meet the specific limitations of the claims, other uncited but related teachings of the references may be equally applicable as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses to the rejections, the Applicant fully considers not only the cited portions of the references, but also the references in their entirety, as potentially teaching, suggesting or rendering obvious all or one or more aspects of the claimed invention.
Abbreviations
5. Where appropriate, the following abbreviations will be used when referencing Applicant’s submissions and specific teachings of the reference(s):
i. figure / figures: Fig. / Figs.
ii. column / columns: Col. / Cols.
iii. page / pages: p. / pp.
References Cited
6. (A) Mani et al., US 2018/0331973 A1 (“Mani”).
(B) Hall et al., US 7,900,017 B2 (“Hall”).
(C) Allen, US 2015/0046921 A1 (“Allen”).
(D) Saxena et al., US 2021/0157624 A1 (“Saxena”).
(E) Shah, US 2013/0139155 A1 (“Shah”).
(F) Tsirkin, US 2014/0245293 A1 (“Tsirkin”).
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.
8. Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (A) Mani in view of (B) Hall.
See “References Cited” section, above, for full citations of references.
9. Regarding claim 1, (A) Mani teaches/suggests the invention substantially as claimed, including:
“A computerized method comprising:
employing a first operating environment comprising a first memory component ... the first memory component storing a plurality of workloads, each workload ... providing a client service;
(¶ 46: To migrate a virtual machine from source server to a destination server in a live manner, live resource migrator 310 may move the memory, session state, storage, network connectivity, and/or any other necessary attributes of the running virtual machine from source server to the destination server;
¶ 2: Cloud computing enables the on-demand access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources, such as computer networks, servers, storage, applications, and services;
¶ 33: Each of server(s) 114, 116, 118, 120 may be configured to execute one or more services (including microservices), applications, and/or supporting services);
employing a second operating environment comprising a second memory component ...;
(¶ 46: To migrate a virtual machine from source server to a destination server in a live manner, live resource migrator 310 may move the memory, session state, storage, network connectivity, and/or any other necessary attributes of the running virtual machine from source server to the destination server);
identifying a … region within the second memory component;
(¶ 46: To migrate a virtual machine from source server to a destination server in a live manner, live resource migrator 310 may move the memory, session state, storage, network connectivity, and/or any other necessary attributes of the running virtual machine from source server to the destination server;
¶ 47: transfer the execution state (e.g., CPU state, registers, non-pageable memory, etc.) to the destination server;
the Examiner notes: moving or transferring the execution or session state to the destination server requires or renders obvious identifying a region to move or copy the state data, i.e. where the state data will be placed);
quiescing a first workload of the plurality of workloads to prepare movement of the first workload from the first memory component to the second memory component;
(¶ 47: live resource migrator 310 may pause execution of the virtual machine on the source server, transfer the execution state (e.g., CPU state, registers, non-pageable memory, etc.) to the destination server, and then restart execution of the virtual machine on the destination server);
replicating the first workload within the identified address region of the second memory component;
(¶ 47: live resource migrator 310 may pause execution of the virtual machine on the source server, transfer the execution state (e.g., CPU state, registers, non-pageable memory, etc.) to the destination server, and then restart execution of the virtual machine on the destination server); and
resuming operations of the first workload from the second memory component”
(¶ 47: live resource migrator 310 may pause execution of the virtual machine on the source server, transfer the execution state (e.g., CPU state, registers, non-pageable memory, etc.) to the destination server, and then restart execution of the virtual machine on the destination server);
Mani do not teach “the first memory component having a first contiguous address range that defines a first storage space for the first memory component” and “each workload stored in a separate address region within the first contiguous address range” and “an address region” of the second memory
(B) Hall, in the context of Mani’s teachings, however teaches or suggests implementing:
“the first memory component having a first contiguous address range that defines a first storage space for the first memory component” and “each workload stored in a separate address region within the first contiguous address range” and “identifying an address region within the second memory component”
(Col. 3, lines 62 to Col. 4, lines 3: Partitioning logic 210 supports virtual machine systems by the partitioning of addresses in memory 113. Partitioning logic 210 stores mapping information that indicates the location of pages in memory 113 at TLB 218. In particular, partitioning logic 210 generates a range of addresses for each virtual machine. For example, a 0-1 Gb range may be allocated for a first virtual machine, while 1-2 Gb, and 2-3 Gb ranges are allocated to a second and third virtual machines, respectively).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of B) Hall with those of (A) Mani to store virtual machines in different partitioned memory address ranges. The motivation or advantage to do so is provide for the isolation and accessibility of virtual machine data and execution states.
10. Regarding claim 3, Mani teaches or suggests:
“after replicating the first workload within the identified address region of the second memory component, updating and rebooting the first operating environment”
(¶ 48: Resource updater 312 may apply the software and/or firmware update(s) in any manner as would be known to persons skilled in the relevant art(s), including copying software/firmware update files to the emptied servers, deleting and/or writing over no longer needed files on the emptied servers, bringing down the emptied servers (e.g., halting OS operation, etc.), restarting/rebooting the emptied servers, configuring the software/firmware update on the emptied servers, etc.;
¶ 49: By updating software/firmware on servers after migrating virtual machines in a live manner from the servers, the users of the virtual machines suffer no substantial downtime, while the servers being updated can be shut down, rebooted, restarted, etc., as needed for the update without affecting the virtual machine users).
11. Regarding claims 8 and 10, they are the corresponding system claims reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the method of claims 1 and 3. Therefore, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 3 above, including the following rationale:
Mani teaches or suggests “at least one processor; and one or more computer storage media storing computer-readable instructions thereon that when executed by the at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations”
(Fig. 14 and ¶ 78: Processor circuit 1402 may execute program code stored in a computer readable medium,).
12. Regarding claims 15 and 17, they are the corresponding computer program product claims reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the method of claims 1 and 3. Therefore, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 3 above, including the following rationale:
B.
13. Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (A) Mani in view of (B) Hall, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of (C) Allen.
14. Regarding claim 2, Mani and Hall teaches or suggests “the operations of the first workload are resumed from within the second memory component”
(Mani, ¶ 47: live resource migrator 310 may pause execution of the virtual machine on the source server, transfer the execution state (e.g., CPU state, registers, non-pageable memory, etc.) to the destination server, and then restart execution of the virtual machine on the destination server;
Hall, Col. 3, lines 62 to Col. 4, lines 3: Partitioning logic 210 supports virtual machine systems by the partitioning of addresses in memory 113. Partitioning logic 210 stores mapping information that indicates the location of pages in memory 113 at TLB 218. In particular, partitioning logic 210 generates a range of addresses for each virtual machine. For example, a 0-1 Gb range may be allocated for a first virtual machine, while 1-2 Gb, and 2-3 Gb ranges are allocated to a second and third virtual machines, respectively).
Mani and Hall do not teach “from the first workload, building a bootstrap stack and cloning at least a processor emulator from a first workload processor emulator executing the first workload within the first memory component, wherein the operations of the first workload are resumed from within the second memory component using the processor emulator and the bootstrap stack.”
(C) Allen, in the context of Mani and Hall’s teachings, however teaches or suggests implementing:
“from the first workload, building a bootstrap stack and cloning at least a processor emulator from a first workload processor emulator executing the first workload within the first memory component, wherein the operations of the first workload are resumed from within the second memory component using the processor emulator and the bootstrap stack.”
(¶ 63: bootstrap programs are each configured to boot a kernel for the annotated source. The bootstrap program may, when executed, operate in accordance with routines to read the kernel and annotated source into memory;
¶ 64: the build controller 916 creates a build instance 918 based on the annotated source and build bootstrap program. The build controller may, for instance, instantiate a virtual machine from which the annotated source and bootstrap program may be accessible …. The build controller may also be configured to instruct the instantiated virtual machine to execute the bootstrap program;
¶ 66: As part of the build process, the build controller may be configured to take a snapshot image of the build instance that has been halted. The build controller may, for instance, make a copy of the memory space of the virtual machine including the state of processor registers, flags, program counters, and other aspects of the virtual environment. The snapshot image may include an entry point address at which execution of the snapshot image may be resumed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of (C) Allen with those of (A) Mani and (B) Hall to instantiate a migrated virtual machine at the destination server using a source image and bootstrap program. The motivation or advantage to do so is provide for automated and expeditious instantiation and restarting of virtual machines as part of VM migrations.
15. Regarding claim 9, it is the corresponding system claim reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the method of claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 2 above.
16. Regarding claim 16, it is the corresponding computer program claim reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the method of claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 2 above.
C.
17. Claims 4, 6, 11, 13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (A) Mani in view of (B) Hall, as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 above, and further in view of (D) Saxena.
18. Regarding claim 4, Mani and Hall teaches or suggests the steps of:
“identifying a new address region …;
quiescing the first workload to prepare movement of the first workload …;
replicating the first workload within the identified new address region …; and
resuming operations of the first workload …” as applied in rejecting claim 1 above
(see Mani, ¶ 46 and ¶ 47; and Hall, Col. 3, lines 62 to Col. 4, lines 3).
Mani and Hall do not teach that these steps are performed to migrate the initially migrated VM BACK TO THE SOURCE SERVER from the destination server, after updating and rebooting the source server.
(D) Saxena, in the context of Mani and Hall’s teachings, however teaches or suggests implementing:
“identifying a new address region within the first memory component;
(¶ 26: Phase 4: Perform REVERSE MIGRATION OF THE VMS …. Once the upgrade operation has completed on the source node, the VMs are migrated back to the source node;
See Mani, ¶ 46: To migrate a virtual machine from source server to a destination server in a live manner, live resource migrator 310 may move the memory, session state, storage, network connectivity, and/or any other necessary attributes of the running virtual machine from source server to the destination server;
¶ 47: transfer the execution state (e.g., CPU state, registers, non-pageable memory, etc.) to the destination server;
Hall, Col. 3, lines 62 to Col. 4, lines 3;
the Examiner notes: moving or transferring the execution or session state back to the source server requires or renders obvious identifying an address region to move or copy the state data, i.e. where the state data will be placed);
quiescing the first workload to prepare movement of the first workload from the second memory component to the first memory component;
(¶ 26: Phase 4: Perform REVERSE MIGRATION OF THE VMS …. Once the upgrade operation has completed on the source node, the VMs are migrated back to the source node;
See Mani, ¶ 47: live resource migrator 310 may pause execution of the virtual machine on the source server, transfer the execution state (e.g., CPU state, registers, non-pageable memory, etc.) to the destination server, and then restart execution of the virtual machine on the destination server);
replicating the first workload within the identified new address region of the first memory component, the first workload being replicated within the new address region after updating and rebooting the first operating environment; and
(¶ 26: Phase 4: Perform REVERSE MIGRATION OF THE VMS …. Once the upgrade operation has completed on the source node, the VMs are migrated back to the source node;
See Mani, ¶ 47: live resource migrator 310 may pause execution of the virtual machine on the source server, transfer the execution state (e.g., CPU state, registers, non-pageable memory, etc.) to the destination server, and then restart execution of the virtual machine on the destination server); and
resuming operations of the first workload from the first memory component”
(¶ 26: Phase 4: Perform REVERSE MIGRATION OF THE VMS …. Once the upgrade operation has completed on the source node, the VMs are migrated back to the source node;
See Mani, ¶ 47: live resource migrator 310 may pause execution of the virtual machine on the source server, transfer the execution state (e.g., CPU state, registers, non-pageable memory, etc.) to the destination server, and then restart execution of the virtual machine on the destination server);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of (D) Saxena with those of (A) Mani and (B) Hall to perform reverse migration by migrating the initially migrated VM BACK TO THE SOURCE SERVER from the destination server. The motivation or advantage to do so is to reconstitute the original or optimal VM deployment configuration (VM placement) after performing server updates.
19. Regarding claim 6, Mani and Saxena teach or suggest:
“resuming the operations of the first workload from the second memory component comprises resuming I/O (input/output) operations paused when quiescing the first workload”
(Mani, ¶ 28: users, which may include enterprises ( e.g., businesses) that rely on the resources to be running to perform computing functions (e.g., providing access to documents, databases, communications applications, marketing applications, websites, etc.);
¶ 39: update engine 106 is configured to perform “live migration” of virtual machines such that users of the virtual machines suffer no substantial downtime ( e.g., downtime in terms of a couple of seconds or less) in their live use of the virtual machines;
¶ 47: live resource migrator 310 may pause execution of the virtual machine on the source server, transfer the execution state (e.g., CPU state, registers, non-pageable memory, etc.) to the destination server, and then restart execution of the virtual machine on the destination server;
Saxena, ¶ 86: Some virtual machines include processing of storage I/O (input/output or IO) as received from any or every source within the computing platform;
¶ 103: when responding to an input or output request, a first virtualized controller on the first node might communicate with a second virtualized controller on the second node, which second node has access to particular storage devices on the second node or, the virtualized controller on the first node may communicate directly with storage devices on the second node).
20. Regarding claims 11 and 13, they are the corresponding system claims reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the method of claims 4 and 6. Therefore, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 4 and 6 above.
21. Regarding claims 18 and 20, they are the corresponding computer program product claims reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the method of claims 4 and 6. Therefore, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 4 and 6 above.
D.
22. Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (A) Mani in view of (B) Hall, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of (E) Shah.
23. Regarding claim 5, Mani and Hall do not teach “wherein the first operating environment and the second operating environment implement different operating system architectures.”
(E) Shah, in the context of Mani and Hall’s teachings, however teaches or suggests:
“wherein the first operating environment and the second operating environment implement different operating system architectures”
(¶ 2: The software layer providing the virtualization is commonly referred to as a hypervisor and is also known as a virtual machine monitor (VMM), a kernel-based hypervisor, or part of a host operating system;
¶ 18: a migration tool identifies an operating system to be migrated to the target virtual machine host and determines that the operating system will run under a specific hypervisor. The migration tool then migrates the operating system to the target virtual machine host, and causes configuration parameters of the operating system to be adjusted based on the hypervisor;
¶ 23: The guest OSes running on the virtual machines 131 can be of the same or different types (e.g., all may be Windows operating systems, or some may be Windows operating systems and the others may be Linux operating systems). Moreover, the guest OSes and the host OS may share the same operating system type, or the host OS may be a different type of OS than one or more guest OSes. For example, a guest OS may be a Windows operating system and a host OS may be a Linux operating system;
¶ 33: may identify a guest operating system to be migrated, determine what hypervisor the guest operating system is currently running under and what hypervisor the guest operating system will be migrated to, and compare the two hypervisors).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of (E) Shah with those of (A) Mani and (B) Hall to migrate VMs across different host operating systems. The motivation or advantage to do so is to provide high level of availability of virtual machines across different operating system configurations while performing server updates.
24. Regarding claim 12, it is the corresponding system claim reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the method of claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 5 above.
25. Regarding claim 19, it is the corresponding computer program claim reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the method of claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 5 above.
E.
26. Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (A) Mani in view of (B) Hall, as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of (F) Tsirkin.
27. Regarding claim 7, Mani and Hall teaches or suggests “identifying an address region within the second memory component” as applied in rejecting claim 1 above
(See Mani, ¶ 46: To migrate a virtual machine from source server to a destination server in a live manner, live resource migrator 310 may move the memory, session state, storage, network connectivity, and/or any other necessary attributes of the running virtual machine from source server to the destination server;
¶ 47: transfer the execution state (e.g., CPU state, registers, non-pageable memory, etc.) to the destination server;
Hall, Col. 3, lines 62 to Col. 4, lines 3;
the Examiner notes: moving or transferring the execution or session state to the destination server requires or renders obvious identifying an address region to move or copy the state data, i.e. where the state data will be placed);
Mani and Hall do not teach “wherein the address region within the second memory component is identified based on a memory size of an address region within the first memory component occupied by the first workload.”
(F) Tsirkin, in the context of Mani and Hall’s teachings, however teaches or suggests implementing:
“… the address region within the second memory component is identified based on a memory size of an address region within the first memory component occupied by the first workload”
(¶ 50: allocation module 136 allocates a memory region coupled to the target host machine for the selected VM to be migrated. VM 113 may have access to a memory region that is coupled to the source host machine and allocated to VM 113 …. Migrating VM 113 to host machine 120 may include copying content from the memory region coupled to host machine 110 to a memory region that is coupled to host machine 120 and allocated to VM 113 by allocation module 136. In an embodiment, a size of the memory region coupled to the source host machine is the same as a size of the second memory region allocated by allocation module 136 and coupled to the target host machine).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of (F) Tsirkin with those of (A) Mani and (B) Hall to allocate a memory region at the destination server using the same size as the virtual machine stored at the source. The motivation or advantage to do so is to provide for the right-sizing and optimal allocation of memory to perform migration.
28. Regarding claim 14, it is the corresponding system claim reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the method of claim 7. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 7 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a) SHIGETA, US 2015/0100960 A1, teaching suspending and resuming process and information processing system.
(b) STUMPF et al., US 2022/0276858 A1, teaching non-disruptive system upgrade during maintenance mode.
/BENJAMIN C WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195
August 8, 2026