Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/15/2025 with respect Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that “the Mori and Aso references do not disclose the newly added limitations”.
In response to this argument, the Applicant is correct, however the Applicant’s specification is silent regrading “which is recessed”; The applicant has not set forth any criticality nor set forth an unexpected benefit for “which is recessed”; it appears that the Applicant relied only on the drawings for supporting the new limitations;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the desire shape of the upper flange ridgeline portion and lower flange ridgeline portion of Mori in view of Aso including the upper flange ridgeline portion which is recessed, as a matter of routine engineering design choice; in order to achieve the required shape of the product as desired.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (US5921618A) in view of Aso (WO2016104376A1 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Mori discloses a press-formed article (fig.8: (44)) (abstract and col.11 line 17-col.12 line 17) comprising:
a top sheet portion (fig.8: (44E));
a peripheral wall portion (fig.8: (44J, 44C, 44G)) formed along three peripheral edge portions (fig.8: peripheral edge portions of the element (44E)) of the top sheet portion and extending from the peripheral edge portions in a direction intersecting an extending direction of the top sheet portion (fig.8: (44E));
a floor flange portion (fig.8: (44B, 44D, 44A)) extending outward from an end portion of the peripheral wall portion (fig.8: (44J, 44C, 44G)) opposite to an end portion continuous with the top sheet portion (fig.8: (44E)) in a direction intersecting an extending direction of the peripheral wall portion (fig.8: (44J, 44C, 44G));
a side standing flange portion (fig.8: (44K)) extending outward from a circumferential end portion of the peripheral wall portion; and
an inclined flange portion (see fig.8 below) that is an inclined wall formed between the side standing flange portion (fig.8: (44K)) and the floor flange portion (fig.8: (44B, 44D, 44A));
Mori does not disclose which is a planar portion and continuous to the side standing flange portion via an upper flange ridgeline portion and continuous to the floor flange portion via a lower flange ridgeline portion.
Aso teaches a press-formed article (paragraphs 10-12) comprising:
a continuous inclined flange portion which is a planar portion, the continuous inclined flange portion having an upper flange ridgeline portion and a lower flange ridgeline portion (see figs.17A below).
Both of the prior arts of Mori and Aso are related to a press-formed article;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inclined flange portion of Mori to be a planar portion and have an upper flange ridgeline portion and a lower flange ridgeline portion as taught by Aso, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having the inclined flange portion, which a planar portion and continuous to the side standing flange portion via an upper flange ridgeline portion and continuous to the floor flange portion via a lower flange ridgeline portion.
Mori in view of Aso does not disclose “which is recessed”, however the Applicant’s specification is silent regrading “which is recessed”; The applicant has not set forth any criticality nor set forth an unexpected benefit for “which is recessed”; it appears that the Applicant relied only on the drawings for supporting “which is recessed”;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the desire shape of the upper flange ridgeline portion and lower flange ridgeline portion of Mori in view of Aso including the upper flange ridgeline portion which is recessed, as a matter of routine engineering design choice; in order to achieve the required shape of the product as desired.
Regarding claim 3, Mori in view of Aso does not disclose wherein a line length of the inclined flange portion in side view is from 10% to 70% of a distance between the top sheet portion and the floor flange portion.
Mori discloses a line length of the inclined flange portion (fig.8: the inclined portion between elements (44B) and (44K));
However, choosing the dimensions of the final product is known in art that depend on the general design and the required dimensions of the final product as desired;
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the dimensions of the press-formed article as desired, including wherein a line length of the inclined flange portion in side view is from 10% to 70% of a distance between the top sheet portion and the floor flange portion; in order to obtain a press-formed article with specific dimensions depending on the general design of the press-formed article so as to achieve a specific requirement as desired.
Therefore, the modification of Mori in view of Aso teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakao (US20110016945A1) and Otsuka (US20150061323A1).
Nakao discloses a flange ridgeline portion which is recessed (fig.11).
Otsuka discloses a flange ridgeline portion which is recessed (fig.4B)
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725