DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, 13, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruls et al., US PGPUB No. 20130108183 A1, hereinafter Bruls, in view of Su et al., US PGPUB No. 20210150812 A1, hereinafter Su, and further in view of Kim et al., US PGPUB No. 20140002598 A1, hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 13, Bruls discloses a system for controlling access to different versions of a content item within a single content stream (Bruls; a system for controlling access [¶ 0097] to different versions of a content item within a single content stream [¶ 0101-0103], as illustrated within Fig. 1; moreover, signal corresponding to bit stream [¶ 0150-0151 and ¶ 0278]; alternatively or additionally, primary and secondary bitstream in relation with a 1st and 2nd view image [¶ 0042-0044 and ¶ 0282]), the system comprising:
input/output circuitry configured to receive a content stream containing the content item (Bruls; the system [as addressed above] comprises input/output circuitry configured to receive a content stream containing the content item [¶ 0102-0104]; additionally, receiver comprising an input and output [¶ 0105]), wherein an SDR version of a first-eye perspective portion of the content item and an HDR version of a second-eye perspective portion of the content item are packed in a base layer of the content stream and an HDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content items and an SDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item are packed in an enhancement layer of the content stream (Bruls; an SDR/LDR (i.e. a dynamic range less than HDR) version of a 1st-eye perspective portion of the content item and an HDR version of a 2nd-eye perspective portion of the content item are packed in a base layer (i.e. secondary (or primary)) of the content stream and an HDR version of the 1st-eye perspective portion of the content items and an SDR version of the 2nd-eye perspective portion of the content item are packed in an enhancement layer (i.e. primary (or secondary)) of the content stream [¶ 0122-0123, ¶ 0147, and ¶ 0255]; wherein, generating an encoded bitstream for a LDR and HDR [¶ 0276-0278], even further in relation with stereo imaging (left LDR, right LDR, left HDR, right HDR) [¶ 0281-0285]; moreover, data streams include a primary and secondary data stream [¶ 0042-0043 and ¶ 0294-0296], multiplexing and demultiplexing [¶ 0298-0299], and interleaving [¶ 0301 and ¶ 0307]); and
control circuitry (Bruls; the system [as addressed above] comprises control circuitry [¶ 0316, ¶ 0318, and ¶ 0320]).
Bruls fails to disclose configured to:
perform a first check to determine whether HDR content may be output;
perform a second check to determine whether 3D content may be output; and
select, based on the first check and the second check, at least one version of the content item from the base layer or the enhancement layer.
However, Su teaches control circuitry (Su; control circuitry [¶ 0120-0122]) configured to:
perform a first check to determine whether HDR content may be output (Su; control circuitry [as addressed above] is configured to perform a 1st check to determine whether HDR content may be output [¶ 0034-0035]; moreover, mastering process [¶ 0031-0033]; and moreover, targeting different displays with different characteristics [¶ 0039]);
perform a second check to determine whether content may be output (Su; control circuitry [as addressed above] is configured to perform a 2nd check to determine whether content may be output [¶ 0039-0040]); and
select, based on the first check and the second check, at least one version of the content item from the base layer or the enhancement layer (Su; control circuitry [as addressed above] is configured to select at least one version of the content item from the base layer or the enhancement layer based on the 1st check and the 2nd check [¶ 0037-0039]; wherein, a 1st and 2nd check corresponds to a repeatable assessment of SDR and HDR content based on a target display [¶ 0031 and ¶ 0035]; and wherein, the having both checks (1st and 2nd) are implicitly performed, given numerous checks as image data comes in and were a check results in one or two outcomes (if version one is yes than output version one, or if version one is no than output version two); additionally, HDR and SDR mapping functions [¶ 0068 and ¶ 0074]).
Bruls and Su are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce visual enhancement effect in relation with dynamic range conversion(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls, to incorporate control circuitry configured to: perform a first check to determine whether HDR content may be output; perform a second check to determine whether 3D content may be output; and select, based on the first check and the second check, at least one version of the content item from the base layer or the enhancement layer (as taught by Su), in order to provide an improved user visual experience in conjunction with optimizing imagery based on hardware/display-device support and functionality (Su; [¶ 0003-0006 and ¶ 0026]).
Bruls as modified by Su fails to explicitly disclose perform a check in relation with 3D content; and
selection based on the first check and the second check.
However, Kim teaches to: perform a first check to determine whether HDR content may be output (Kim; performing a 1st check to determine whether HDR (i.e. enhancement layer) content may be output [¶ 0043-0045], as illustrated within Fig. 6);
perform a second check to determine whether 3D content may be output (Kim; performing a 2nd check [¶ 0031] to determine whether 3D content may be output [¶ 0034-0035 and ¶ 0037]; moreover, performing one or more checks [¶ 0043-0044] resulting in providing 2D or 3D outputs [¶ 0045], as illustrated within Fig. 6, in relation with data (e.g. header or descriptors) associated with the media [¶ 0016-0019]; additionally, 3D content is also associated with the enhancement layer [¶ 0010-0012 and ¶ 0030-0032]); and
select, based on the first check and the second check, at least one version of the content item from the base layer or the enhancement layer (Kim; selecting at least one version of the content item from the base layer or the enhancement layer based on the 1st check and the 2nd check [¶ 0043-0045]; wherein, an encoded bitstream is decoded and parsed into two or more layers [¶ 0041]).
Bruls in view of Su and Kim are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce visual enhancement effect in relation with dynamic range conversion(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su, to incorporate to: perform a first check to determine whether HDR content may be output; perform a second check to determine whether 3D content may be output; and select, based on the first check and the second check, at least one version of the content item from the base layer or the enhancement layer (as taught by Kim), in order to provide improved visual quality in relation with transmitting media more securely (Kim; [¶ 0007-0010]).
Regarding claim 19, Bruls in view of Su and Kim further discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the control circuitry configured to perform the first check to determine whether HDR content may be output (Su; the control circuitry configured to perform the 1st check to determine whether HDR content may be output [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) is further configured to:
determine device capabilities of the playback device (Su; the control circuitry [as addressed above] is configured to determine device capabilities of the playback device [¶ 0034-0035]; moreover, modification of content based on a display’s abilities [¶ 0033 and ¶ 0039]); and
determine, based on the device capabilities, whether the playback device is capable of outputting HDR content (Su; the control circuitry [as addressed above] is configured to determine whether the playback device is capable of outputting HDR content based on the device capabilities [¶ 0034-0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate the control circuitry configured to perform the first check to determine whether HDR content may be output is further configured to: determine device capabilities of the playback device; and determine, based on the device capabilities, whether the playback device is capable of outputting HDR content (as taught by Su), in order to provide an improved user visual experience in conjunction with optimizing imagery based on hardware/display-device support and functionality (Su; [¶ 0003-0006 and ¶ 0026]).
Regarding claim 20, Bruls in view of Su and Kim further discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the control circuitry configured to perform the second check to determine whether content may be output (Su; the control circuitry configured to perform the 2nd check to determine whether content may be output [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) is further configured to:
determine device capabilities of the playback device (Su; the control circuitry [as addressed above] is configured to determine device capabilities of the playback device [¶ 0034-0035]; moreover, modification of content based on a display’s abilities [¶ 0033 and ¶ 0039]); and
determine, based on the device capabilities, whether the playback device is capable of outputting content (Su; determine whether the playback device is capable of outputting content based on the device capabilities [¶ 0034-0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate the control circuitry configured to perform the second check to determine whether content may be output is further configured to: determine device capabilities of the playback device; and determine, based on the device capabilities, whether the playback device is capable of outputting content (as taught by Su), in order to provide an improved user visual experience in conjunction with optimizing imagery based on hardware/display-device support and functionality (Su; [¶ 0003-0006 and ¶ 0026]).
Kim further teaches to perform the second check to determine whether 3D content may be output (Kim; to perform the 2nd check to determine whether 3D content may be output [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) is further configured to:
determine device capabilities of the playback device (Kim; determine device capabilities (corresponding to adaptive decoding (adaptive SVC decoder)) of the playback device [¶ 0041 and ¶ 0043-0044]; wherein, an encoded bitstream is decoded and parsed into two or more layers [¶ 0041 and ¶ 0043-0044] based at least one output identify value (OID) [¶ 0030-0031]; moreover, adaptively provide content according to a terminal [¶ 0035]); and
determine, based on the device capabilities, whether the playback device is capable of outputting 3D content (Kim; determine whether the playback device is capable (via the OID) of outputting 3D content [¶ 0034-0035 and ¶ 0037] based on the device capabilities (corresponding to adaptive decoding) [¶ 0041 and ¶ 0043-0045]; wherein, performing one or more checks [¶ 0043-0044] resulting in providing 2D or 3D outputs [¶ 0037 and ¶ 0045]; moreover, the client system receives the base layer stream and the enhancement layer stream to provide a high-quality 3D image and may adaptively provide a 2D compatible service according to a terminal [¶ 0035] using adaptive SVC decoder [as addressed above]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate to perform the second check to determine whether 3D content may be output is further configured to: determine device capabilities of the playback device; and determine, based on the device capabilities, whether the playback device is capable of outputting 3D content (as taught by Kim), in order to provide improved visual quality in relation with transmitting media more securely (Kim; [¶ 0007-0010]).
Regarding claim 1, the rejection of claim 1 is addressed within the rejection of claim 13, due to the similarities claim 1 and claim 13 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 13 regarding the rejection of claim 1. Although, claim 1 and claim 13 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 1 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 13.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 7 is addressed within the rejection of claim 19, due to the similarities claim 7 and claim 19 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 19 regarding the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 8 is addressed within the rejection of claim 20, due to the similarities claim 8 and claim 20 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 20 regarding the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Bruls in view of Su and Kim further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a content type of the content item (Kim; determining a content type of the content item [¶ 0043-0044]; moreover, header info in relation with determining content [¶ 0041]; wherein, a client receives a base layer stream and an enhancement layer stream [¶ 0033 and ¶ 0035], as illustrated within Fig. 2, and is able to process information using a media presentation description MPD file [¶ 0014 and ¶ 0016-0017] with respects to a user request [¶ 0018-0019]; additionally, content type of the content item corresponds to 2D or 3D and BL and/or EL configurations [¶ 0030-0032]); and
retrieving user preferences associated with the content type (Kim; retrieving (at or from a client) user preferences (corresponds to a requested media type) associated with the content type [¶ 0034 and ¶ 0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate determining a content type of the content item; and retrieving user preferences associated with the content type (as taught by Kim), in order to provide improved visual quality in relation with transmitting media more securely (Kim; [¶ 0007-0010]).
Regarding claim 10, Bruls in view of Su and Kim further discloses the method of claim 9, wherein performing the first check to determine whether HDR content may be accessed further comprises determining whether the user preferences indicate that HDR content is enabled for the content type (Kim; performing the 1st check to determine whether HDR content may be accessed (i.e. outputted in relation with controlled access) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] further comprises determining whether the user preferences (corresponding to a requested media type) [¶ 0034 and ¶ 0037] indicate that HDR (i.e. enhancement layer) content is enabled for the content type [¶ 0017-0019]; moreover, headers/descriptors [¶ 0041] indicate content [¶ 0043-0045], as illustrated within Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate performing the first check to determine whether HDR content may be accessed further comprises determining whether the user preferences indicate that HDR content is enabled for the content type (as taught by Kim), in order to provide improved visual quality in relation with transmitting media more securely (Kim; [¶ 0007-0010]).
Regarding claim 11, Bruls in view of Su and Kim further discloses the method of claim 9, wherein performing the second check to determine whether 3D content may be accessed further comprises determining whether the user preferences indicate that 3D content is enabled for the content type (Kim; performing the 2nd check to determine whether 3D content may be accessed (i.e. outputted in relation with controlled access) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] further comprises determining whether the user preferences (corresponding to a requested media type) [¶ 0034 and ¶ 0037] indicate that 3D content is enabled for the content type [¶ 0017-0019]; moreover, headers/descriptors [¶ 0041] indicate content [¶ 0043-0045], as illustrated within Fig. 6; wherein, 3D content corresponds to two outputs associated with left and right images [¶ 0030-0032], as illustrated within Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate performing the second check to determine whether 3D content may be accessed further comprises determining whether the user preferences indicate that 3D content is enabled for the content type (as taught by Kim), in order to provide improved visual quality in relation with transmitting media more securely (Kim; [¶ 0007-0010]).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruls in view of Su and Kim as applied to claim(s) 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Husak et al., US PGPUB No. 20250294127 A1, hereinafter Husak.
Regarding claim 14, Bruls in view of Su and Kim further discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the control circuitry configured to select, based on the first check and the second check, at least one version of the content item from the base layer or the enhancement layer (Kim; the implicit control circuitry given the content system [¶ 0028 and ¶ 0030], as illustrated within Fig. 2, is configured to select at least one version of the content item from the base layer or the enhancement layer based on the 1st check and the 2nd check [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) is further configured to:
in response to determining that HDR content may be output:
select at least one of the HDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the HDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (Kim; control circuitry [as addressed above] is configured to select at least one of the HDR (i.e. enhancement layer) version of the 2nd-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the HDR (i.e. enhancement layer) version of the 1st-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer [¶ 0043-0044] in response to determining (via header/descriptor information, OID) that HDR (i.e. enhancement layer) content may be output [¶ 0034, ¶ 0037, and ¶ 0041]; wherein, a left image (e.g. 2nd-eye perspective portion of the content item) is associated with a base layer and a right image (e.g. 1st-eye perspective portion of the content item) is associated with an enhancement layer [¶ 0030-0031], as illustrated within Fig. 2); and
in response to determining that 3D content may be output, further select at least one of the SDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the SDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (Kim; the control circuitry [as addressed above] is configured to further select at least one of the SDR (i.e. base layer) version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the SDR (i.e. base layer) version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer in response to determining (via header/descriptor info, OID) that 3D content may be output [¶ 0043-0044]; wherein, left and/or right images corresponding to eye perspective portions of the content item are associated with a base layer and/or an enhancement layer [¶ 0030-0031 and ¶ 0041], as illustrated within Fig. 2 and Figs. 5-6);
wherein the entire selection comprises at least one perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and at least one different perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (Kim; the entire selection comprises at least one perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and at least one different perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer [¶ 0043-0044]; wherein, 3D content includes a left and right images [¶ 0030-0031], as illustrated within Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate wherein the control circuitry configured to select, based on the first check and the second check, at least one version of the content item from the base layer or the enhancement layer is further configured to: in response to determining that HDR content may be output: select at least one of the HDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the HDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer; and in response to determining that 3D content may be output, further select at least one of the SDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the SDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer; wherein the entire selection comprises at least one perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and at least one different perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (as taught by Kim), in order to provide improved visual quality in relation with transmitting media more securely (Kim; [¶ 0007-0010]).
Bruls as modified by Su and Kim fails to explicitly disclose further select at least one of the SDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the SDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer.
However, Husak teaches in response to determining that HDR content may be output: select at least one of the HDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the HDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (Husak; selecting at least one of the HDR version of the 2nd-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer (i.e. SDR) or the HDR version of the 1st-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer [¶ 0049-0051], as illustrated within Fig. 3, in response to determining that HDR content may be output [¶ 0040-0041, ¶ 0044, and ¶ 0048]; wherein, both left and right images of both SDR and HDR are selected in response to either determined output for SDR and HDR [id.]; moreover, single layer inverse display mapping [¶ 0053-0054]); and
in response to determining that 3D content may be output, further select at least one of the SDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the SDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (Husak; selecting at least one of the SDR version of the 1st-eye perspective (i.e. right or left image) portion of the content item from the base layer (i.e. SDR) or the SDR version of the 2nd-eye perspective (i.e. left or right image) portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (i.e. HDR) [¶ 0050-0051 and ¶ 0053], as illustrated within Fig. 3, implicitly in response to determining that 3D content may be output [¶ 0040-0041 and ¶ 0044]; wherein, the merger of HDR and SDR incorporate a selection of left and right images of both [id.]; wherein, outputting of 3D content responsively is implicit given HDR content is in relation with stereoscopic/3D content [¶ 0008 and ¶ 0027] and process thereof [¶ 0096-0097]; additionally, stereo coding [¶ 0055] associated with frame packing [¶ 0056] and interleaving [¶ 0058]);
wherein the entire selection comprises at least one perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and at least one different perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (Husak; the entire selection/merging comprises at least one perspective portion of the content item from the base layer (i.e. SDR) and at least one different perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (i.e. HDR) [¶ 0044 and ¶ 0050]; additionally, if a device does not have HDR playback, it can still play the SDR base layer [¶ 0049]).
Bruls in view of Su and Kim and Husak are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce visual enhancement effect in relation with dynamic range techniques.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate in response to determining that HDR content may be output: select at least one of the HDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the HDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer; and in response to determining that 3D content may be output, further select at least one of the SDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the SDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer; wherein the entire selection comprises at least one perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and at least one different perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (as taught by Husak), in order to provide an improved visual environment that is more realistic while improving transmission and display of (complex) media in an adaptable manner (Husak; [¶ 0008]).
Regarding claim 15, Bruls in view of Su, Kim, and Husak further discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
in response to determining that HDR content may not be output, select at least one of the SDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the SDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item form the enhancement layer (Kim; the control circuitry [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is further configured to select at least one of the SDR (i.e. base layer) version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the SDR (i.e. base layer) version of the eye perspective portion of the content item form the enhancement layer in response to determining (via header/descriptor info, OID) that HDR (i.e. enhancement layer) content may not be output (further corresponding to a 2D output or single output) [¶ 0043-0044]; wherein, a left image (e.g. 2nd-eye perspective portion of the content item) is associated with a base layer and a right image (e.g. 1st-eye perspective portion of the content item) is associated with an enhancement layer [¶ 0030-0031], as illustrated within Fig. 2); and
in response to determining that 3D content may not be output (Kim; responsive to determining that 3D content may not be output [¶ 0035]; additionally, 3D content is determined as not an output given OID [¶ 0030-0031 and ¶ 0043-0044]; in other words, in response to a 2D output only one image (left perspective) of a base layer is utilized);
select (a) at least one of the SDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and the HDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (Kim; the control circuitry [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is further configured to select (a) at least one of the SDR (i.e. base layer) version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and the HDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer [¶ 0043-0044]; wherein, a left image (e.g. 2nd-eye perspective portion of the content item) is associated with a base layer and a right image (e.g. 1st-eye perspective portion of the content item) is associated with an enhancement layer [¶ 0030-0031], as illustrated within Fig. 2; in other words, a base layer and enhancement layer are both selected as an output during a 3D view), or (b) at least one of the HDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and the SDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer, wherein:
the control circuitry is further configured to, in response to selection of an HDR version of a given portion of the content item, generate, from the given portion of the content item, an SDR version of the given portion of the content item (Kim; the control circuitry [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is further configured to generate, from the given portion of the content item, an SDR version of the given portion of the content item in response to selection of an HDR version of a given portion of the content item [¶ 0030-0031 and ¶ 0043-0044]; in other words, a SDR/base-layer image and a HDR/enhancement-layer image are generated in response to a selection of an HDR/enhancement version (associated with a 3D view request)), and the entire selection comprises one perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and a corresponding perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (Kim; the entire selection comprises one perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and a corresponding perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer [¶ 0030-0031 and ¶ 0043-0044]; in other words, a SDR/base-layer image associated with a left perspective portion and a HDR/enhancement-layer image associated with a right perspective portion are generated in response to a selection of an HDR/enhancement version (associated with a 3D view request)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate the control circuitry is further configured to: in response to determining that HDR content may not be output, select at least one of the SDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the SDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item form the enhancement layer; and in response to determining that 3D content may not be output; select (a) at least one of the SDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and the HDR version of the eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer, or (b) at least one of the HDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and the SDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer, wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to, in response to selection of an HDR version of a given portion of the content item, generate, from the given portion of the content item, an SDR version of the given portion of the content item, and the entire selection comprises one perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and a corresponding perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (as taught by Kim), in order to provide improved visual quality in relation with transmitting media more securely (Kim; [¶ 0007-0010]).
Husak further teaches in response to determining that HDR content may not be output, select at least one of the SDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the SDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item form the enhancement layer (Husak; selecting at least one of the SDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer in response to determining that HDR content may not be output [¶ 0049-0051 and ¶ 0053-0054]; wherein, the merging of HDR and SDR incorporate a selection of left and right images of both for either determined output type [id.]; wherein, additionally, LDR/SDR and HDR/EDR having known equivalents [¶ 0006]); and
in response to determining that 3D content may not be output, select (a) at least one of the SDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and the HDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (Husak; selecting at least one of the SDR version of the 1st-eye perspective (i.e. right or left image) portion of the content item from the base layer (i.e. SDR) and the HDR version of the first-eye perspective (i.e. right or left image) portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (i.e. HDR) in response to determining that 3D content may not be output [¶ 0049-0051 and ¶ 0053-0054], as illustrated within Fig. 3; wherein, if a device does not have HDR playback, it can still play the SDR base layer [¶ 0049]; and wherein, the merging of HDR and SDR enable a variety of combination schemes [as addressed above]), or (b) at least one of the HDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and the SDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer, wherein:
the control circuitry is further configured to, in response to selection of an HDR version of a given portion of the content item, generate, from the given portion of the content item, an SDR version of the given portion of the content item (Husak; the control circuitry [¶ 0096-0098] is further configured to generate an SDR version of the given portion of the content item from the given portion of the content item in response to selection of an HDR version of a given portion of the content item [¶ 0049-0050]), and the entire selection comprises one perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and a corresponding perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (Husak; the entire selection comprises one perspective portion of the content item from the base layer (i.e. SDR) and a corresponding perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (i.e. HDR) [¶ 0049-0051], as illustrated within Fig. 3; moreover, merged representation of left and right views [¶ 0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su, Kim, and Husak, to incorporate in response to determining that HDR content may not be output, select at least one of the SDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer or the SDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item form the enhancement layer; and in response to determining that 3D content may not be output, select (a) at least one of the SDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and the HDR version of the first-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer, or (b) at least one of the HDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and the SDR version of the second-eye perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer, wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to, in response to selection of an HDR version of a given portion of the content item, generate, from the given portion of the content item, an SDR version of the given portion of the content item, and the entire selection comprises one perspective portion of the content item from the base layer and a corresponding perspective portion of the content item from the enhancement layer (as taught by Husak), in order to provide an improved visual environment that is more realistic while improving transmission and display of (complex) media in an adaptable manner (Husak; [¶ 0008]).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 2 is addressed within the rejection of claim 14, due to the similarities claim 2 and claim 14 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 14 regarding the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 3 is addressed within the rejection of claim 15, due to the similarities claim 3 and claim 15 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 15 regarding the rejection of claim 3.
Claim(s) 4-6 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruls in view of Su and Kim as applied to claim(s) 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Wen, US PGPUB No. 20120082309 A1, hereinafter Wen.
Regarding claim 16, Bruls in view of Su and Kim further discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to prevent access to at least one version of content from the content stream (Bruls; the control circuitry [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is further configured to prevent access to at least one version of content from the content stream [¶ 0296]; additionally, primary or secondary data stream in relation with stereo and non-stereo (or HDR) imaging [¶ 0291-0293]).
Kim further teaches to, prior to performing the first check and prior to performing the second check, prevent access to at least one version of content from the content stream (Kim; preventing access to at least one version of content from the content stream associated with performing the 1st check and associated with performing the 2nd check [¶ 0039 and ¶ 0043-0045]; in other words, viewing 2D imaging prevents 3D imaging or viewing 3D imaging prevents 2D imaging).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate the control circuitry is further configured to, prior to performing the first check and prior to performing the second check, prevent access to at least one version of content from the content stream (as taught by Kim), in order to provide improved visual quality in relation with transmitting media more securely (Kim; [¶ 0007-0010]).
Bruls as modified by Su and Kim fails to disclose to prevent access prior to performing the first check and prior to performing the second check.
However, Wen teaches the control circuitry is further configured to, prior to performing the first check and prior to performing the second check, prevent access to at least one version of content from the content stream (Wen; the control circuitry corresponding to an apparatus (associated with an encoder/encryption and/or decoder/decryption) [¶ 0030 and ¶ 0035] is further configured to prevent access to at least one version of content from the content stream prior to performing a check (associated with an option for 2D or 3D content) [¶ 0031]; moreover, user authorization for accessing 3D (and/or 2D) content and serval options that allowing user access [¶ 0036-0038]).
Bruls in view of Su and Kim and Wen are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate the control circuitry is further configured to, prior to performing the first check and prior to performing the second check, prevent access to at least one version of content from the content stream (as taught by Wen), in order to provide secure transmission of media that prevents unauthorized access (Wen; [¶ 0004-0006]).
Regarding claim 17, Bruls in view of Su and Kim further discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the control circuitry configured to perform the first check to determine whether HDR content may be output (Su; the control circuitry configured to perform the 1st check to determine whether HDR content may be output [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate the control circuitry configured to perform the first check to determine whether HDR content may be output (as taught by Su), in order to provide an improved user visual experience in conjunction with optimizing imagery based on hardware/display-device support and functionality (Su; [¶ 0003-0006 and ¶ 0026]).
Bruls as modified by Su and Kim fails to disclose configured to access subscription information associated with a current user of the playback device; and
determine, based on the subscription information, whether the current user is authorized to access content.
However, Wen teaches to: access subscription information associated with a current user of the playback device (Wen; accessing subscription (i.e. paid for service) information associated with a current user [¶ 0030-0031] of the playback device [¶ 0035]; moreover, authorization depending on user’s payment [¶ 0036]); and
determine, based on the subscription information, whether the current user is authorized to access content (Wen; determining whether the current user is authorized to access content based on the subscription (paid for service) information [¶ 0030-0031]; still further, authorization depending on user’s payment [¶ 0036]).
Bruls in view of Su and Kim and Wen are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate to: access subscription information associated with a current user of the playback device; and determine, based on the subscription information, whether the current user is authorized to access content (as taught by Wen), in order to provide secure transmission of media that prevents unauthorized access (Wen; [¶ 0004-0006]).
Regarding claim 18, Bruls in view of Su and Kim further discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the control circuitry configured to perform the second check to determine whether content may be output (Su; the control circuitry configured to perform the 2nd check to determine whether content may be output [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate the control circuitry configured to perform the second check to determine whether 3D content may be output (as taught by Su), in order to provide an improved user visual experience in conjunction with optimizing imagery based on hardware/display-device support and functionality (Su; [¶ 0003-0006 and ¶ 0026]).
Kim further teaches to perform the second check to determine whether 3D content may be output (Kim; to perform the 2nd check to determine whether 3D content may be output [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate to perform the second check to determine whether 3D content may be output (as taught by Kim), in order to provide improved visual quality in relation with transmitting media more securely (Kim; [¶ 0007-0010]).
Bruls as modified by Su and Kim fails to disclose further configured to:
access subscription information associated with a current user of the playback device; and
determine, based on the subscription information, whether the current user is authorized to access content.
However, Wen teaches to: access subscription information associated with a current user of the playback device (Wen; accessing subscription (i.e. paid for service) information associated with a current user [¶ 0030-0031] of the playback device [¶ 0035]; moreover, authorization depending on user’s payment [¶ 0036]); and
determine, based on the subscription information, whether the current user is authorized to access content (Wen; determining whether the current user is authorized to access content based on the subscription (i.e. paid for service) information [¶ 0030-0031]; still further, authorization depending on user’s payment [¶ 0036]).
Bruls in view of Su and Kim and Wen are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate to: access subscription information associated with a current user of the playback device; and determine, based on the subscription information, whether the current user is authorized to access content (as taught by Wen), in order to provide secure transmission of media that prevents unauthorized access (Wen; [¶ 0004-0006]).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 4 is addressed within the rejection of claim 16, due to the similarities claim 4 and claim 16 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 16 regarding the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 5 is addressed within the rejection of claim 17, due to the similarities claim 5 and claim 17 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 17 regarding the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 6 is addressed within the rejection of claim 18, due to the similarities claim 6 and claim 18 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 18 regarding the rejection of claim 6.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruls in view of Su and Kim as applied to claim(s) 9 above, and further in view of Thomas et al., US PGPUB No. 20140337139 A1, hereinafter Thomas.
Regarding claim 12, Bruls in view of Su and Kim further discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
identifying a plurality of output methods available based on one or more of capabilities of the playback device or subscription information associated with a current user of the playback device (Su; identifying a plurality of output (SDR or HDR) available based on one or more of capabilities of the playback device [¶ 0034-0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate identifying a plurality of output methods available based on one or more of capabilities of the playback device or subscription information associated with a current user of the playback device (as taught by Su), in order to provide an improved user visual experience in conjunction with optimizing imagery based on hardware/display-device support and functionality (Su; [¶ 0003-0006 and ¶ 0026]).
Kim further teaches determining that user preferences do not exist for the content type (Kim; determining that user preferences (corresponding to a requested media type) [¶ 0037] do not exist for the content type [¶ 0035]; in other words, a determination that requested 3D media is not available on a user’s (2D only capable) device; moreover adaptive SVC decoder [¶ 0017-0019] in relation with base layer and enhancement layer output [¶ 0043-0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate determining that user preferences do not exist for the content type (as taught by Kim), in order to provide improved visual quality in relation with transmitting media more securely (Kim; [¶ 0007-0010]).
Bruls as modified by Su and Kim fails to disclose generating for display a prompt to select an output method from among the plurality of output methods available.
However, Thomas teaches determining that user preferences do not exist for the content type (Thomas; determining that user preferences (corresponding to a requested choice) do not exist for the content type [¶ 0137-0140], as illustrated within Fig. 11; wherein, a request of an end user to subscribe to a channel having dynamically changing content within a content platform of multiple channels [¶ 0116-0118 and ¶ 0132-0134], as illustrated within Fig. 7 and Fig. 10; moreover, user feed comprises a list media items that are selectable that are based on a user and that may or may not be subscribed to [¶ 0121-0123 and ¶ 0162-0164], as illustrated within Fig. 8 and Fig. 14A);
identifying a plurality of output methods available based on one or more of capabilities of the playback device or subscription information associated with a current user of the playback device (Thomas; identifying a plurality of output methods available based on one or more of capabilities of the playback device or subscription information associated with a current user of the playback device [¶ 0143-0144 and ¶ 0153-0155], as illustrated within Fig. 11 and Fig. 12B; additionally, an end user is able to select one or more subscription levels when subscribing to a channel [¶ 0157-0159 and ¶ 0162-0164], as illustrated within Fig. 13 and Fig. 14A); and
generating for display a prompt to select an output method from among the plurality of output methods available (Thomas; generating for display a prompt to select an output method from among the plurality of output methods available [¶ 0158-0159]; moreover, providing different types of access to media items of the channel according to a subscription level of the end user [¶ 0160-0162] and determining that a user in not subscribed to a channel [¶ 0163] in relation with a selected quality characteristics and is provided a message/prompt [¶ 0164-0165] and/or subscription flow [¶ 0166]; wherein, a UI provides access to content items and information [¶ 0119 and ¶ 0132-0134]).
Bruls in view of Su and Kim and Thomas are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruls as modified by Su and Kim, to incorporate determining that user preferences do not exist for the content type; identifying a plurality of output methods available based on one or more of capabilities of the playback device or subscription information associated with a current user of the playback device; and generating for display a prompt to select an output method from among the plurality of output methods available (as taught by Thomas), in order to provide increased flexibility to users regarding access to content and media that is desired (Thomas; [¶ 0004 and ¶ 0043-0045]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qu et al. (US PGPUB No. 20150156469 A1);
Chen et al. (US Patent No. 9357197 B2);
Konstantinides et al. (US PGPUB No. 20160029044 A1); and
Bennett et al. (US PGPUB No. 20110164115 A1).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611