DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11-13 recite the limitation “an action-invoking input made by the first player” and “an action-invoking input made by a second player.” It is unclear whether the action-invoking input made by the first player is meant to be the same action-invoking input made by the second player or whether the claim is stating that each player has their own action-invoking input and that the inputs are not necessarily the same input.
The Examiner will assume that the claim is disclosing a first and second action-invoking input made by the first and second players respectively until further clarification and correction can be provided by Applicant.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claims 11-13 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Shimakawa et al (US 2003/0055984).
Re claims 1 and 11-13, Shimakawa discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for a game executed on an information processing device (fig. 1), said program causing the information processing device to function as:
communication action control means for deciding a communication action among a plurality of communication actions according to a game situation in response to an action-invoking input made by a player and causing a game medium associated with the player to execute the decided communication action (par. [0036], the player submits a call request to call another character in the virtual world, see also fig. 2, S4),
wherein the communication action control means decides a first communication action on the basis of a game situation of a first game medium associated with a first player in response to an action-invoking input made by the first player ([0035], the action-invoking input being the player utilizing a portable telephone to make a call), causes the first game medium to execute the first communication action ([0037], in response to the call request, the server transmits the image and sound of the incoming call to the contacted second player), decides a second communication action in response to an action-invoking input made by a second player after the execution of the first communication action ([0037], the called player can recognize the communication request), and causes a second game medium associated with the second player to execute the second communication action ([0041] and [0042], the system initiates the voice or data communication on the called player’s device).
Shimakawa is considered equivalent to the teachings and embodiments disclosed in Applicant’s specification as both Shimakawa and the instant application utilize servers and clients via network connections to initiate and facilitate communications between multiple players in a game environment.
Re claim 6, Shimakawa discloses deciding that the first communication action is intended for the second game medium where the action-invoking input made by the second player occurs within a predetermined period of time from the action-invoking input made by the first player or the execution of the first communication action ([0106], an error time is determined when a predetermined time elapses, therefore players have a time limit for initiating communication).
Re claim 7, Shimakawa discloses the first communication action is a communication action responding to the second communication action (see the rejection to claim 1, wherein the communication actions are initiating calls between users, therefore the communication actions are considered calling and responding).
Re claim 8, Shimakawa discloses the communication actions including a vocalization or physical movement or combination thereof (see the rejection to claim 1, wherein making a call is considered a physical movement and a vocalization).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimakawa in view of Johnson et al (US 2007/0015121).
Re claim 2, while Shimakawa has disclosed action-invoking inputs and communication actions as discussed in the rejection to claim 1, Shimakawa does not explicitly disclose a first and second situation determination means for identifying a first and second game situation category on the basis of a game situation of the first and second game medium in response to the action-invoking input made by the first and second player, and a first and second action decision means for deciding a first and second communication action associated with the first and second game situation categories.
Johnson teaches a system wherein characters in the game have different personality profiles which determines how the character reacts to actions by the player and other characters ([0079]). As such, Johnson teaches a plurality of situation categories and deciding communication actions based on the category, since the characters will react differently based on the selected personality profile of the character.
It would have been obvious to implement the personality profiles of Johnson with the communications system of Shimakawa in order to provide variety in the personality of characters in the game environment, increasing player immersion and entertainment.
Re claim 4, Johnson teaches generating a response request that requests the second communication action corresponding to the first communication action decided by the first action decision means and accordingly for the second action decision means ([0079], based on the selected personality profile of characters, responses and reactions will be different).
Re claim 9, Johnson teaches executing different types of communication actions ([0079]).
Re claim 10, Johnson teaches highlighting communication actions ([0081]). Since Johnson discloses that said highlighting indicates a selected agent, it is considered to take place after a predetermined period of time after the execution of the selection.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimakawa in view of Pierce et al (US 2009/0063635).
Re claim 5, Shimakawa does not explicitly disclose matching control means for matching the game media in a predetermined area in a game field of the game, wherein the first communication action is executed upon the game medium that is matched to the first game medium and that is present in a predetermined range from the first game medium, and the communication action control means decides that the first communication action is intended for the second game medium in the case where the second game medium is located within a predetermined distance from the first game medium in the game field of the game when the first game medium executes the first communication action.
Pierce teaches a system wherein matchmaking occurs between users by closest geographic proximity ([0018], [0025], and [0050]). It would have been obvious to implement the geographic-based matchmaking as taught by Pierce with the system of Shimakawa in order to enable users to seek out and connect with users closer to their own location, simultaneously increasing the sense of community and reducing the latency of communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KEVIN Y KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715