CTNF 18/618,733 CTNF 89964 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25 AIA Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 24 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search burden due to overlapping elements in Groups II and III . This is not found persuasive because the search of Group I can be considered complete, however additional search is required for Groups II and III. Furthermore, different search strategies are required for Groups II and III. As such , the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 9 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 3 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 3 , the claim does not appear to make grammatical sense, thus rendering the claim unclear and indefinite. Claims dependent upon a rejected claim are therefore rejected as well. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1 and 3 - 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2025/0060283) . Regarding Claim 1 , Kim discloses a multi-axis centrifuge, in at least Figures 1 – 6, comprising: a rotating arm (200) having a main axis (axis about which rotation occurs) and comprising a first end (end where 300 is located), and an opposite second end (end where 500 is located); a motor (600) configured to drive said arm [0039]; a fixturing plate (300) coupled to an outermost edge of said arm first end such that said fixturing plate is rotatable about the arm main axis (Figures 1, 5, 6), and at least one braking assembly (500) coupled to said arm second end [0044, 0046]. Kim fails to expressly disclose a controller configured to dynamically control operation of said multi-axis centrifuge. Examiner takes Official Notice it is common knowledge in the art for controllers to dynamically control operation of devices which impart rotational motion. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Kim to include a controller to dynamically control operation of said multi-axis centrifuge for the benefit of ensuring the centrifuge operates within safe rotational speeds. Regarding Claim 3 , as best understood, the rejection renders obvious the use of a controller to control rotational speed of the centrifuge which inherently induces the forces to anything attached to 300. Regarding Claim 4 , Kim discloses said fixturing plate comprises a grid (Figure 5) and at least one radius line (any straight line formed with a plurality of 311) (Figure 5) that enable the fixture assembly being tested to be coupled to the centrifuge in any orientation (Figure 5). Regarding Claim 5 , Kim discloses said fixturing plate facilitates controlling the relative direction of the centrifugal force directed towards the fixture assembly being tested during centrifuge operation (Figures 5, 6) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2025/0060283), in view of Schofield (US 5634876) . Regarding Claim 2 , Kim fails to expressly disclose a rail system supporting said rotating arm, said rail system supported by a plurality of roller assemblies. Schofield teaches a rail system (35) supported by a plurality of roller assemblies (33). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Kim to include a rail system supporting said rotating arm, said rail system supported by a plurality of roller assemblies for the benefit of simulating earthquakes, as taught by Schofield (Col 8, lines 8 – 31). Conclusion Claims not rejected under prior art will be re-evaluated upon amendment to overcome the 112(b) Rejection as a complete search with respect to those claims was not possible. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEXANDER MERCADO whose telephone number is (571)270-7094. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 9am - 4pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Laura Martin can be reached at (571) 272-2160. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. ALEXANDER A. MERCADO Primary Examiner Art Unit 2855 /ALEXANDER A MERCADO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/618,733 Page 2 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/618,733 Page 3 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/618,733 Page 4 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/618,733 Page 5 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/618,733 Page 6 Art Unit: 2855