DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. US 2015/0292486 (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches: a non-transitory machine-readable medium having machine-readable instructions for an asset onboarding system causing a processor to execute operations, the operations comprising:
receiving a standardized equipment power curve for an ego utility asset to be onboarded in a farm of utility assets, the standardized equipment power curve including a relation between a set of provided operational parameters and a corresponding array of expected power values generated by the ego utility asset (Fig. 4 shows power curve; [0041] - - “The expected power (upper line) 102 is the best fit curve from the measured wind speed and power of a typical wind turbine, for example a Vestas V90-2 MW of standard design”; [0047] - - a group of wind turbines);
customizing the equipment power curve based on the standardized power curve to generate a customized power curve ([0041] - - the expected power curve is normalized to take into account particular characteristics of the commissioned wind turbine);
calculating a calculated power value characterizing an actual amount of power generated by the ego utility asset based on a particular parameter ([0047] - - “an indication of the power generated by the wind turbine in the time period that has been adjusted to exclude the influence of wind speed and wind direction acting on the wind turbine using equation (1) set-out above. The power curve has also been normalised by taking into account the stop conditions of the individual or particular wind turbine and its own running condition after commissioning”);
predicting a predicted power value characterizing a predicted amount of power to be generated by the ego utility asset for the particular parameter based on the customized power curve ([0047], [0041] - - the expected power curve is a predicted power value); and
calculating a performance metric for the ego utility asset, wherein the performance metric characterizes a comparison of the calculated power value and the predicted power value ([0047] - - compare the power curve to the expected power curve, raise a flag if the measured power curve does not fall under condition 6; [0038] - - “Comparing the power measurement or delta power curve to a predetermined power threshold and, if this threshold is violated, a delta power curve abnormality is indicated or flagged.”)
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zhou further teaches: identifying an energy loss of the ego utility asset in response to the actual amount of power being less than the predicted amount of power ([0033] - - calculating the difference between the measured normalised power curve with the reference design power).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zhou further teaches: the particular parameter is received from an environmental sensor of the ego utility asset (Fig. 2, [0031] - - wind speed is measured).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zhou further teaches: the ego utility asset is a wind turbine, and the particular parameter is a windspeed at a hub of the wind turbine (Fig. 2 - - wind turbine; [0035] - - wind velocity at the nacelle).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zhou further teaches: the ego utility asset is a wind turbine the particular parameter is a set of particular parameters that includes a windspeed and air density for the wind turbine (Fig. 2 - - wind turbine; [0034] - - air density; [0035] - - wind velocity at the nacelle).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zhou further teaches: the ego utility asset is a wind turbine the particular parameter is a set of particular parameters that includes a windspeed and a blade angle of the wind turbine (Fig. 2 - - wind turbine; [0035] - - wind velocity at the nacelle; Fig. 7 - - blade pitch angle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 11 – 15, 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. US 2015/0292486 (hereinafter Zhou) in view of Parikh et al. US 2012/0029712 (hereinafter Parikh).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Zhou does not explicitly teach:
the particular parameter is for a proximate utility asset, and the calculated power value is an estimation for the ego utility asset based on proximity to the proximate utility asset.
However, Parikh teaches:
the particular parameter is for a proximate utility asset, and the calculated power value is an estimation for the ego utility asset based on proximity to the proximate utility asset (Fig. 1, [0016] - - multiple wind farms 102,104,106; [0021] - - wind speed sensors proximal to the downwind portion of the boundary can help correct the estimates of the upwind sensors).
Zhou and Parikh are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to wind turbine system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Zhou, and incorporating using parameter for a proximate wind farm, as taught by Parikh.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to efficiently use of wind generated energy, as suggested by Parikh ([0002]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhou and Parikh teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Parikh further teaches: the particular parameter is received from a centralized aggregator that receives data from a set of utility assets including the ego utility asset and the proximate utility asset (Fig. 1, [0016] - - multiple wind farms 102,104,106; Fig. 5, [0042] - - control system is a centralized aggregator which receives data from a plurality of wind speed sensors).
Zhou and Parikh are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches: an asset onboarding system comprising:
a memory for storing machine-readable instructions; and
a processor core for accessing the machine-readable instructions and executing the machine-readable instructions as operations, the operations comprising:
receiving an equipment power curve for an ego utility asset to be onboarded in a farm of utility assets, the equipment power curve including a relation between a set of provided operational parameters and a corresponding array of expected power values generated by the ego utility asset (Fig. 4 shows power curve; [0041] - - “The expected power (upper line) 102 is the best fit curve from the measured wind speed and power of a typical wind turbine, for example a Vestas V90-2 MW of standard design”; [0047] - - a group of wind turbines);
customizing the equipment power curve based on a standardized power curve to generate a customized power curve ([0041] - - the expected power curve is normalized to take into account particular characteristics of the commissioned wind turbine);
calculating a calculated power value characterizing an actual amount of power generated by the ego utility asset based on a particular parameter ([0047] - - “an indication of the power generated by the wind turbine in the time period that has been adjusted to exclude the influence of wind speed and wind direction acting on the wind turbine using equation (1) set-out above. The power curve has also been normalised by taking into account the stop conditions of the individual or particular wind turbine and its own running condition after commissioning”);
predicting a predicted power value characterizing a predicted amount of power to be generated by the ego utility asset for the particular parameter based on the customized power curve ([0047], [0041] - - the values on expected power curve is a predicted power value); and
calculating a performance metric for the ego utility asset, wherein the performance metric characterizes a comparison of the calculated power value and the predicted power value ([0047] - - compare the power curve to the expected power curve, raise a flag if the measured power curve does not fall under condition 6; [0038] - - “Comparing the power measurement or delta power curve to a predetermined power threshold and, if this threshold is violated, a delta power curve abnormality is indicated
But Zhou does not explicitly teach:
wherein the standardized power curve is based on a first power curve from a first source and a second power curve from a second source different than the first source.
However, Parikh teaches:
wherein the standardized power curve is based on a first power curve from a first source and a second power curve from a second source different than the first source ([0028] - - power curves can be provided by manufactures or derived by users; [0045] - - using a single power curve to represent the entire control volume, where the power curve is an average power curve of the power curves for the individual wind turbines)
Zhou and Parikh are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to wind turbine system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Zhou, and incorporating power curves from different sources, as taught by Parikh.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to efficiently use of wind generated energy, as suggested by Parikh ([0002]).
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 11 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhou and Parikh teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zhou further teaches: identifying an energy loss of the ego utility asset in response to the actual amount of power being less than the predicted amount of power ([0033] - - calculating the difference between the measured normalised power curve with the reference design power).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhou and Parikh teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Parikh teaches:
the particular parameter is for a proximate utility asset, and the calculated power value is an estimation for the ego utility asset based on proximity to the proximate utility asset (Fig. 1, [0016] - - multiple wind farms 102,104,106; [0021] - - wind speed sensors proximal to the downwind portion of the boundary can help correct the estimates of the upwind sensors).
Zhou and Parikh are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhou and Parikh teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Parikh further teaches: the particular parameter is received from a centralized aggregator that receives data from a set of utility assets including the ego utility asset and the proximate utility asset (Fig. 1, [0016] - - multiple wind farms 102,104,106; Fig. 5, [0042] - - control system is a centralized aggregator which receives data from a plurality of wind speed sensors).
Zhou and Parikh are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhou and Parikh teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zhou further teaches: the ego utility asset is a wind turbine, and the particular parameter is a windspeed at a hub of the wind turbine (Fig. 2 - - wind turbine; [0035] - - wind velocity at the nacelle).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhou and Parikh teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zhou further teaches: identifying an energy loss of the ego utility asset in response to the actual amount of power being less than the predicted amount of power ([0033] - - calculating the difference between the measured normalised power curve with the reference design power).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Zhou and Parikh teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zhou further teaches: the ego utility asset is a wind turbine, and the particular parameter is a windspeed at a hub of the wind turbine (Fig. 2 - - wind turbine; [0035] - - wind velocity at the nacelle).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. US 2015/0292486 (hereinafter Zhou) in view of Ellena et al. US 2016/0301211 (hereinafter Ellena).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Zhou does not explicitly teach:
determining that the ego utility asset is in compliance with a power purchase agreement (PPA) based on the performance metric relative to a power threshold defined in the PPA; and
identifying power information to be provided to a customer based on the PPA.
However, Ellena teaches:
determining that the ego utility asset is in compliance with a power purchase agreement (PPA) based on the performance metric relative to a power threshold defined in the PPA; and
identifying power information to be provided to a customer based on the PPA ([0038] - - PPA).
Zhou and Ellena are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to renewable energy system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Zhou, and incorporating PPA, as taught by Ellena.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve controlling power delivery, as suggested by Ellena ([0019]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. US 2015/0292486 (hereinafter Zhou) in view of Caine et al. US 2012/0029712 (hereinafter Caine).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Zhou does not explicitly teach:
the ego utility asset is a solar panel, and the particular parameter is incident radiance on the solar panel.
However, Caine teaches:
the ego utility asset is a solar panel, and the particular parameter is incident radiance on the solar panel (Fig. 8, [0111] - - solar panel power curve relates power output and irradiance).
Zhou and Caine are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to renewable energy system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Zhou, and incorporating solar panel, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to analyze the performance of PV systems, as suggested by Caine ([0006]).
Claims 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. US 2015/0292486 (hereinafter Zhou) in view of Parikh et al. US 2012/0029712 (hereinafter Parikh) and further in view of Caine et al. US 2012/0029712 (hereinafter Caine).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhou and Parikh teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But the combination of Zhou and Parikh does not explicitly teach:
the ego utility asset is a solar panel, and the particular parameter is incident radiance on the solar panel.
However, Caine teaches:
the ego utility asset is a solar panel, and the particular parameter is incident radiance on the solar panel (Fig. 8, [0111] - - solar panel power curve relates power output and irradiance).
Zhou, Parikh and Caine are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to renewable energy system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Zhou and Parikh, and incorporating solar panel, as taught by Caine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to analyze the performance of PV systems, as suggested by Caine ([0006]).
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 16 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Conclusion
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116