DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 1, 7, 15 and 19-20 have been amended.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 15 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1-2 and 18-20 of copending Application No. 18/618,814 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one examined application claim is not patentable distinct from the reference claims(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current Application
Pending Application No. 18/918,814
(Currently Amended) A method for video processing, comprising:
performing a conversion between a media file of a first video and a bitstream of the first video, wherein the media file comprises a first indication indicating whether a first set of coded video data units representing a target picture-in-picture region in the first video are replaceable by a second set of coded video data units associated with a second video,
and wherein the first set of coded video data units and the second set of coded video data units comprise network abstraction layer (NAT) units.
1. (Currently Amended) A method for video processing, comprising:
performing a conversion between a media
file of a first video and a bitstream of the first video, wherein the media file comprises a
first indication indicating a first set of coded video data units representing a target picture-in-picture region in the first video, the first set of coded video data units being replaceable by a second set of coded video data units associated with a second video,
wherein the media file is based on an international organization for standardization base media file format (ISOBMFF),
and wherein the first set of coded video data units and the second set of coded video data units comprise network abstraction layer (NAL) units.
2. (Original) The method of claim 1,wherein a spatial resolution of the second video being smaller than a spatial resolution of the first video.
2. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein a spatial resolution of the second video being smaller than a spatial resolution of the first video.
15. (Currently Amended) An apparatus for processing video data comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform acts comprising:
performing a conversion between a media file of a first video and a bitstream of the first video, wherein the media file comprises a first indication indicating whether a first set of coded video data units representing a target picture-in-picture region in the first video are replaceable by a second set of coded video data units associated with a second video,
and wherein the first set of coded video data units and the seconds et of coded videod ata units comprise network abstraction layer (NAL units.
18. (Currently Amended) An apparatus for processing video data comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform acts comprising:
performing a conversion between a media file of a first video and a bitstream of the first video, wherein the media file comprises a first indication indicating a first set of coded video data units representing a target picture-in-picture region in the first video, the first set of coded video data units being replaceable by a second set of coded video data units associated with a second video,
wherein the media file is based on an international organization for standardization base media file format (ISOBMFF),
and wherein the first set of coded video data units and the second set of coded video data units comprise network abstraction layer (NAL) units.
19. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform acts comprising:
performing a conversion between a media file of a first video and a bitstream of the first video, wherein the media file comprises a first indication indicating whether a first set of coded video data units representing a target picture-in-picture region in the first video are replaceable by a second set of coded video data units associated with a second video,
and wherein the first set of coded video data units and the second set of coded video data units comprise network abstraction layer (NAL) units.
19. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform acts comprising:
performing a conversion between a media file of a first video and a bitstream of the first video, wherein the media file comprises a first indication indicating a first set of coded video data units representing a target picture-in-picture region in the first video, the first set of coded video data units being replaceable by a second set of coded video data units associated with a second video,
wherein the media file is based on an international organization for standardization base media file format (ISOBMFF),
and wherein the first set of coded video data units and the second set of coded video data units comprise network abstraction layer (NAL) units.
20. (Currently Amended)A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a media file of a first video which is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus, wherein the method comprises:
performing a conversion between the media file and a bitstream of the first video,
wherein the media file comprises a first indication indicating whether a first set of coded video data units representing a taret picture-in-picture region in the first video are replaceable by a second set of coded video data units associated with a second video,_
and wherein the first set of coded video data units and the second set of coded video data units comprise network abstraction layer (NAL) unlits.
20. (Currently Amended) A method for storing a media file of a first video, comprising:
performing a conversion between the media file and a bitstream of the first video-;
and
storing the media file in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium,
wherein the media file comprises a first indication indicating a first set of coded video data units representing a target picture-in-picture region in the first video, the first set of coded video data units being replaceable by a second set of coded video data units associated with a second video,
wherein the media file is based on an international organization for standardization base media file format (ISOBMFF),
and wherein the first set of coded video data units and the second set of coded video data units comprise network abstraction layer (NAL) units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2015/0373348) in view of Zhu (US 2013/0113996) in view of “Information Technology-Dynamic adaptive streaming over HTTP (DASH)- Part 1: Media presentation description and segment formats, ISO 23009-1”2021(X), cited in the IDS, hereinafter “ISO 23009”.
Regarding claim 1, Wang disclose a method for video processing, comprising:
performing a conversion between a media file of a first video and a bitstream of the first video (encoding video data to generate an encoded video bitstream; see at least paragraphs 0055-0059).
Wang discloses the first set of coded video data units, the first video and the second set of coded video data units associated with a second video; as above, but is not clear about wherein the media file comprises a first indication indicating whether a first set of coded video data units representing a target picture-in-picture region in the first video are replaceable by a second set of coded video data units associated with a second video and wherein the first set of coded video data units and the second set of coded video data units comprise network abstraction layer (NAL) units.
Zhu discloses PIP information that include layer information that indicates the overlapping relationship among different layers, such as which component video is the master layer video and which component video is the slave layer video; see at least paragraphs 0018-0022, 0029 and 0040.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by the teachings of Zhu by having the above limitations so to enable live and dynamic picture-in-picture functionality; see at least the Abstract.
Want in view of Zhu are not clear about wherein the first set of coded video data units and the second set of coded video data units comprise network abstraction layer (NAL) units.
ISO 23009 discloses wherein the first set of coded video data units and the second set of coded video data units comprise network abstraction layer (NAL) units (pages 100-101, section 5.3.11.6, In the case of VVC, when the client chooses to replace the coded video data units (which are VCL NAL units) representing the target picture-in-picture region in the main video with the corresponding VCL NAL units of the supplementary video before sending to the video decoder...; see also table 27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of Zhu by the teachings of ISO 23009by having the above limitations so to support dynamic adaptive streaming over HTTP (DASH); see at least page 1.
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein a spatial resolution of the second video being smaller than a spatial resolution of the first video (page 100, section 5.3.11.6, Picture-in-picture services offer the ability to include a video with a small spatial resolution within a video with a bigger spatial resolution).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first indication comprises a one-bit flag (the PIP information of Zhu; layer num and the master layer; see at least Table 1 and paragraphs 0031-0032).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 3, wherein if the flag is a first value, the first set of coded video data units are replaceable by the second set of coded video data units, and
if the flag is a second value, the first set of coded video data units are irreplaceable by the second set of coded video data units (the PIP information of Zhu; layer_num and the master_layer; see at least Table 1 and paragraphs 0031-0032).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first indication comprises a first track reference indicating a track carrying a bitstream of the second video (the PIP information of Zhu; see at least Table 1 and paragraphs 0031-0032).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 5, wherein if the first track reference is of a first type, the first set of coded video data units are replaceable by the second set of coded video data units (the PIP information of Zhu; see at least Table 1 and paragraphs 0031-0032), and
if the first track reference is of a second type, the first set of coded video data units are irreplaceable by the second set of coded video data units (the PIP information of Zhu; see at least Table 1 and paragraphs 0031-0032).
Regarding claim 7, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 6, wherein the first track reference of the first type is a “ppsr” track reference, and the first track reference of the second type is a “ppsn” track reference (the PIP information of Zhu; see at least Table 1 and paragraphs 0031-0032).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 5, wherein a media file of the second video comprises a second indication indicating whether the first set of coded video data units are replaceable by the second set of coded video data units (the indications of Zhu; see at least the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 8, wherein the second indication comprises a second track reference indicating a track carrying the bitstream of the first video (the PIP information of Zhu; see at least Table 1 and paragraphs 0031-0032).
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 9, wherein if the second track reference is of a third type, the first set of coded video data units are replaceable by the second set of coded video data units (the PIP information of Zhu; see at least Table 1 and paragraphs 0031-0032), and
if the second track reference is of a fourth type, the first set of coded video data units are irreplaceable by the second set of coded video data units (the PIP information of Zhu; see at least Table 1 and paragraphs 0031-0032).
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the second track reference of the third type is a “ppmr” track reference, and the second track reference of the fourth type is a “ppmn” track reference (the PIP information of Zhu; see at least Table 1 and paragraphs 0031-0032).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of coded video data units comprise a video coding layer network abstraction layer (VCL NAL) unit, and the second set of coded video data units comprise a VCL NAL unit (Wang; see at least paragraphs 0058, 0069, 0077 and 0086).
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion comprises generating the media file and storing the bitstream to the media file (the generating and storing of Wang; see at least paragraphs 0055 and 0072-0073).
Regarding claim 14, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion comprises parsing the media file to reconstruct the bitstream (the MPEG video coding of Wang; see at least paragraph 0055).
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 and further in view of Chen (US 2011/0064146).
Regarding claim 21, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein if the first set of coded video data units are replaceable by the second set of coded video data units, the first set of coded video data units are allowed to be replaced by the second set of coded video data units, but are not clear about the replacement is before the second set of coded video being sent to a decoder for decoding.
Chen discloses similar invention and discloses the above missing limitation; media extractor has to be replaced by the data to which it points before the stream is passed to the video decoder, wherein the media extractor is used to identify and extract samples of another track; see at least paragraphs 0028 and 0083.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 by the teachings of Chen by having the above limitations so to utilize media extractors in a media extractor track that reference two or more non-consecutive NAL units of a separate track; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 22, Wang in view of Zhu and further in view of ISO 23009 and further in view of Chen disclose the method of claim 21, wherein for a picture in the first video, corresponding coded video data units of the second video are all coded video data units in a decoding-time-synchronized sample in a track for the second video (Chen; see at least paragraph 0083).
Conclusion
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426