Claim Objections
Claims 10, 17, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities.
• Claim 10, line 1 “front set of finger portions” should read “the front set of finger portions”.
• Claim 17, line 1 “front set of finger portions” should read “the front set of finger portions”.
• Claim 20, line 1 “front set of finger portions” should read “the front set of finger portions”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under US 20180209760 A1 (“Cooper”) in view of CN 104339379 A (“Xin”).
In regards to claim 1, Cooper discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A knife throwing training apparatus comprising ([0002], “the present invention provides a throwing knife”): a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a body, a handle, a blade, a first end, and a second end and that the first end and the second end represent a front and a rear, respectively, of the claimed invention.);
a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body;
a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body;
a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body;
and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body.
Xin discloses
a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes”);
a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.);
a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that two of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a set of finger portions.);
and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.).
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 2, Cooper does not disclose wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion.
Xin discloses
wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that three consecutive finger holes can represent a first finger portion, a second finger portion, and a third finger portion.).
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention
because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, and wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 3, Cooper discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the front first finger portion, the front second finger portion, and the front third finger portion are positioned on the blade portion ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a blade.).
Xin discloses
wherein the front first finger portion, the front second finger portion, and the front third finger portion are positioned on ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that three consecutive finger holes can represent a first finger portion, a second finger portion, and a third finger portion.)
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention
because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, and the blade portion, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion, and wherein the front first finger portion, the front second finger portion, and the front third finger portion are positioned on, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 4, Cooper discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the front thumb portion is positioned on the handle portion ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a handle.).
Xin discloses
wherein the front thumb portion is positioned on ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.)
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention
because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, and the handle portion, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion, wherein the front first finger portion, the front second finger portion, and the front third finger portion are positioned on, and wherein the front thumb portion is positioned on, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 5, Cooper does not disclose wherein the rear set of finger portions comprise a rear first finger portion, a rear second finger portion, and a rear third finger portion.
Xin discloses
wherein the rear set of finger portions comprise a rear first finger portion, a rear second finger portion, and a rear third finger portion ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that three consecutive finger holes can represent a first finger portion, second finger portion, and a third finger portion.).
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, and wherein the rear set of finger portions comprise a rear first finger portion, a rear second finger portion, and a rear third finger portion, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 6, Cooper discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the rear first finger portion, the rear second finger portion, and the rear third finger portion are positioned on the handle portion ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a handle.).
Xin discloses
wherein the rear first finger portion, the rear second finger portion, and the rear third finger portion are positioned on ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that three consecutive finger holes can represent a first finger portion, a second finger portion, and a third finger portion.)
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, wherein the rear set of finger portions comprise a rear first finger portion, a rear second finger portion, and a rear third finger portion, and wherein the rear first finger portion, the rear second finger portion, and the rear third finger portion are positioned on, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 7, Cooper discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the rear thumb portion is positioned on the blade portion ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a blade.).
Xin discloses
wherein the rear thumb portion is positioned on ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.)
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, and wherein the rear thumb portion is positioned on, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 8, Cooper does not disclose wherein the handle portion and the blade portion are integrally formed as a monolithic unit.
Xin discloses
wherein the handle portion and the blade portion are integrally formed as a monolithic unit ([0008], “FIG. 1… is … a portable cutter” Examiner notes that annotated Xin Fig. 1 depicts a cutter made from a single piece of material, which by definition makes the cutter a monolithic unit.).
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, and wherein the handle portion and the blade portion are integrally formed as a monolithic unit, as disclosed by Xin, for a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 10, Cooper discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein front set of finger portions are indented into the blade portion on the front of the main body ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a blade.);
wherein the rear set of finger portions are indented into the handle portion on the rear of the main body ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a handle.);
wherein the front thumb portion is indented into the handle portion on the front of the main body ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a handle.);
and wherein the rear thumb portion is indented into the blade portion on the rear of the main body ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a blade.).
Xin discloses
wherein front set of finger portions are indented into ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that two of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a set of finger portions.)
wherein the rear set of finger portions are indented into ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that two of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a set of finger portions.)
wherein the front thumb portion is indented into ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.)
and wherein the rear thumb portion is indented into ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.)
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, wherein front set of finger portions are indented into, wherein the rear set of finger portions are indented into, wherein the front thumb portion is indented into, and wherein the rear thumb portion is indented into as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 11, Cooper discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A knife throwing training apparatus comprising ([0002], “the present invention provides a throwing knife”): a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a body, a handle, a blade, a first end, and a second end and that the first end and the second end represent a front and a rear, respectively, of the claimed invention.);
a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body;
a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body;
a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body;
and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body;
wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion;
Xin discloses
a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes”);
a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.);
a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that two of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a set of finger portions.);
and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.).
wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that three consecutive finger holes can represent a first finger portion, a second finger portion, and a third finger portion.);
and wherein the rear set of finger portions comprise a rear first finger portion, a rear second finger portion, and a rear third finger portion ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that three consecutive finger holes can represent a first finger portion, second finger portion, and a third finger portion.).
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, and wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion, and wherein the rear set of finger portions comprise a rear first finger portion, a rear second finger portion, and a rear third finger portion, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 12, Cooper discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the front first finger portion, the front second finger portion, and the front third finger portion are positioned on the blade portion ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a blade.).
Xin discloses
wherein the front first finger portion, the front second finger portion, and the front third finger portion are positioned on ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that three consecutive finger holes can represent a first finger portion, a second finger portion, and a third finger portion.)
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention
because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, and the blade portion, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion, and wherein the front first finger portion, the front second finger portion, and the front third finger portion are positioned on, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 13, Cooper discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the front thumb portion is positioned on the handle portion ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a handle.);
and wherein the rear thumb portion is positioned on the blade portion ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a blade.).
Xin discloses
wherein the front thumb portion is positioned on ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.)
and wherein the rear thumb portion is positioned on ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.)
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, and the handle portion, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion, wherein the front first finger portion, the front second finger portion, and the front third finger portion are positioned on, wherein the front thumb portion is positioned on, and wherein the rear thumb portion is positioned on, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 14, Cooper discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the rear first finger portion, the rear second finger portion, and the rear third finger portion are positioned on the handle portion ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a handle.).
Xin discloses
wherein the rear first finger portion, the rear second finger portion, and the rear third finger portion are positioned on ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that three consecutive finger holes can represent a first finger portion, a second finger portion, and a third finger portion.)
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, wherein the rear set of finger portions comprise a rear first finger portion, a rear second finger portion, and a rear third finger portion, and wherein the rear first finger portion, the rear second finger portion, and the rear third finger portion are positioned on, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 15, Cooper does not disclose wherein the handle portion and the blade portion are integrally formed as a monolithic unit.
Xin discloses
wherein the handle portion and the blade portion are integrally formed as a monolithic unit ([0008], “FIG. 1… is … a portable cutter” Examiner notes that annotated Xin Fig. 1 depicts a cutter made from a single piece of material, which by definition makes the cutter a monolithic unit.).
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, and wherein the handle portion and the blade portion are integrally formed as a monolithic unit, as disclosed by Xin, for a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 17, Cooper discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein front set of finger portions are indented into the blade portion on the front of the main body ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a blade.);
wherein the rear set of finger portions are indented into the handle portion on the rear of the main body ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a handle.);
wherein the front thumb portion is indented into the handle portion on the front of the main body ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a handle.);
and wherein the rear thumb portion is indented into the blade portion on the rear of the main body ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a blade.).
Xin discloses
wherein front set of finger portions are indented into ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that two of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a set of finger portions.)
wherein the rear set of finger portions are indented into ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that two of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a set of finger portions.)
wherein the front thumb portion is indented into ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.)
and wherein the rear thumb portion is indented into ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.)
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, wherein front set of finger portions are indented into, wherein the rear set of finger portions are indented into, wherein the front thumb portion is indented into, and wherein the rear thumb portion is indented into as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 18, Cooper discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A knife throwing training apparatus comprising ([0002], “the present invention provides a throwing knife”): a box ([0026], “all suitable modifications and equivalents may be resorted to, falling within the scope of the invention” Examiner notes that the invention may be modified to include a box, which is a suitable modification and common for storing throwing knives.);
a throwing knife training apparatus to be carried by the box and comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a body, a handle, a blade, a first end, and a second end and that the first end and the second end represent a front and a rear, respectively, of the claimed invention.);
a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body;
a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body;
a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body;
and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body;
wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion;
Xin discloses
a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes”);
a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.);
a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that two of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a set of finger portions.);
and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.).
wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that three consecutive finger holes can represent a first finger portion, a second finger portion, and a third finger portion.);
and wherein the rear set of finger portions comprise a rear first finger portion, a rear second finger portion, and a rear third finger portion ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that three consecutive finger holes can represent a first finger portion, second finger portion, and a third finger portion.).
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a box; a throwing knife training apparatus to be carried by the box and comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, and wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion, and wherein the rear set of finger portions comprise a rear first finger portion, a rear second finger portion, and a rear third finger portion, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 19, Cooper discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the front first finger portion, the front second finger portion, and the front third finger portion are positioned on the blade portion ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a blade.);
wherein the front thumb portion is positioned on the handle portion ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a handle.);
wherein the rear first finger portion, the rear second finger portion, and the rear third finger portion are positioned on the handle portion ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a handle.);
wherein the rear thumb portion is positioned on the blade portion ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a blade.).
Xin discloses
wherein the front first finger portion, the front second finger portion, and the front third finger portion are positioned on ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that three consecutive finger holes can represent a first finger portion, a second finger portion, and a third finger portion.)
wherein the front thumb portion is positioned on ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.)
wherein the rear first finger portion, the rear second finger portion, and the rear third finger portion are positioned on ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that three consecutive finger holes can represent a first finger portion, a second finger portion, and a third finger portion.)
and wherein the rear thumb portion is positioned on ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.)
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a box; a throwing knife training apparatus to be carried by the box and comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, and wherein the front set of finger portions comprise a front first finger portion, a front second finger portion, and a front third finger portion, wherein the front thumb portion is positioned on, wherein the rear set of finger portions comprise a rear first finger portion, a rear second finger portion, and a rear third finger portion, and wherein the rear thumb portion is positioned on, as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
In regards to claim 20, Cooper discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein front set of finger portions are indented into the blade portion on the front of the main body ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a blade.);
wherein the rear set of finger portions are indented into the handle portion on the rear of the main body ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a handle.);
wherein the front thumb portion is indented into the handle portion on the front of the main body ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a handle.);
and wherein the rear thumb portion is indented into the blade portion on the rear of the main body ([0010], “FIG. 1 shows a … view of … the throwing knife” Examiner notes that annotated Cooper FIG. 1 depicts a blade.).
Xin discloses
wherein front set of finger portions are indented into ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that two of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a set of finger portions.)
wherein the rear set of finger portions are indented into ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that two of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a set of finger portions.)
wherein the front thumb portion is indented into ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.)
and wherein the rear thumb portion is indented into ([0005], “the cutter middle part provided with 4 finger holes” Examiner notes that one of the finger holes in annotated Xin Fig. 1 can represent a thumb portion.)
Cooper and Xin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives and cutting tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide a front set of finger portions positioned on the front of the main body; a front thumb portion positioned on the front the main body; a rear set of finger portions positioned on the rear of the main body; and a rear thumb portion positioned on the rear of the main body, wherein front set of finger portions are indented into, wherein the rear set of finger portions are indented into, wherein the front thumb portion is indented into, and wherein the rear thumb portion is indented into as disclosed by Xin, for finger holes in a manual portable cutter.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under Cooper in view of Xin and US 10751890 B1 (“Marfione”).
In regards to claim 9, Cooper does not disclose wherein the blade portion is pivotally connected to the handle portion.
Marfione discloses wherein the blade portion is pivotally connected to the handle portion (column 2, lines 37-38, “A blade is pivotally connected to the … the handle.”).
Cooper and Marfione are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide wherein the blade portion is pivotally connected to the handle portion, as disclosed by Marfione, for a manually operated folding knife with a pivotally connected blade and handle.
In regards to claim 16, Cooper does not disclose wherein the blade portion is pivotally connected to the handle portion.
Marfione discloses wherein the blade portion is pivotally connected to the handle portion (column 2, lines 37-38, “A blade is pivotally connected to the … the handle.”).
Cooper and Marfione are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of knives. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a knife throwing training apparatus comprising: a main body having a handle portion, a blade portion, a front, and a rear, as disclosed by Cooper, to provide wherein the blade portion is pivotally connected to the handle portion, as disclosed by Marfione, for a manually operated folding knife with a pivotally connected blade and handle.
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is
(571) 272-4252 and whose email address is lantoine@uspto.gov. The examiner can be reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am – 5:30 pm CT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai, can be reached on (571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Publication Information
obtained from the Patent Center. Unpublished application information in the Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in the
Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about the
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715