DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action in response to amendment filed on 07/16/2026.
Claim Status
Claims 56, 63, 69-77,and 79-87 are pending. Claims 56, 63, 69, 71-77, 79-82, and 84-86 are currently amended. Claim 78 is currently canceled. Claims 56, 63, 69-77,and 79-87 are examined on the merits.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claims 56, 63, and 69-87 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in view of amendment to the claims.
The rejection of Claims 71-72 and 84-85 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is maintained and modified in view of amendment to the claims.
The rejection of Claim 56, 69, 70, 73-75, 83 and 87 rejected under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gawłowska is withdrawn in view of amendment to the claims. The rejection of Claim 70 and 83 rejected under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khodapanahi is also withdrawn in view of amendment to the claims. However, claims 56, 69, 70, 73-75, 83 and 87 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 for the reasons set forth below.
The rejection of claims 63, 71, 72, and 76-82, and 84-86 rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 is maintained and modified in view of amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Scope of Enablement
Claims 71-72 and 84-85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specifications, while being enabling for PsGAS and PsRS alleles actually generated and tested in the examples (e.g., G128A/G43D in PsGAS, G1044A/W348* in PsRS, and certain disclosed deletion alleles), does not reasonably provide enablement for the full scope of the Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS mutations encompassed by the claims, including mutations that decrease the level or activity of the encoded GAS and/or RS protein and result in a pea composition having the claimed carbohydrate profile. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
An “analysis of whether a particular claim is supported by the disclosure in an application requires a determination of whether that disclosure, when filed, contained sufficient information regarding the subject matter of the claims as to enable one skilled in the pertinent art to make and use the claimed invention.” MPEP 2164.01. “A conclusion of lack of enablement means that. . . the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention [i.e. commensurate scope] without undue experimentation.” In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557,1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993); MPEP 2164.01.
In In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731,8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988), several factors implicated in determination of whether a disclosure satisfies the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue” are identified. These factors include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731,737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). No single factor is independently determinative of enablement; rather “[i]t is improper to conclude that a disclosure is not enabling based on an analysis of only one of the above factors while ignoring one or more of the others.” MPEP 2164.01. Likewise, all factors may not be relevant to the enablement analysis of any individual claim.
Claims 71 and 84 are drawn to a pea composition of claim 56 or 73 comprising a mutated Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene or a fragment thereof, wherein the mutation decrease the level or activity of a GAS and/or RS protein encoded by the mutated Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene relative to a GAS and/or RS protein encoded by a control Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene without the mutation; claim 72 and 85 are drawn to a pea composition comprising broadly a mutated Pisum sativum GAS or RS gene or a fragment thereof having an insertion, substitution, or deletion across the recited GAS/RS sequences, wherein the level or activity of the encoded GAS and/or RS protein is decreased relative to the corresponding control protein.
Thus, the claims encompass a very large genus of possible mutations, including numerous mutation types, positions, sequence context, combinations. Further, through their dependency from claims 56 and 73, the claims require that the resulting pea composition satisfy the recited raffinose and stachyose content limitations and , for claims 71 and 72, the recited sucrose content limitation.
The specification appears to enable only a limited subset of this genus, namely the particular pea GAS and RS mutant embodiments that are specifically identified and characterized. For example, Example 5 reports data for particular mutants including the PsGAS G128A nucleotide change resulting in G43D, the PsRS G1044A nucleotide change resulting in W348*, and certain specific deletion mutants in PsGAS and PsRS corresponding to the disclosed mutant sequences (e. g., SEQ ID NO: 27, 28, 33, and 34).
The specification also describes general screening assays for expressions, enzyme activity, raffinose, stachyose, sucrose, and protein content. However, the claims are not limited to those specific exemplified mutants or to mutations at the disclosed edited positions. Instead, claims 71 and 84 encompass a broad genus of mutations in a Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene or fragment thereof that provides the recited decrease in GAS and/or RS protein level or activity, and claims 72 and 85 encompass an insertion, substitution, or deletion anywhere within the full recited GAS and RS sequences that provides the recited decrease in protein level or activity.
The specification does not provide sufficient guidance to identify which among the large number of possible mutations within those broad genera will produce both the recited decrease in GAS and/or RS protein level or activity and the claimed carbohydrate composition without undue experimentation. In particular, the specification dos not disclose any meaningful structure-function correlation or predictive rule that would allow one skilled in the art to determine, across the full breath of the claimed sequences, which mutations will provide the required decrease in GAS and/or RS protein level or activity and result in a pea composition satisfying the claimed raffinose and stachyose contents and, where applicable, sucrose content.
Applicant’s amendments removing the previously recited homolog and regulatory-region alternatives have been considered and narrow the scope of claims 71 and 84. However, the amendments do not resolve the enablement deficiency because the claims continue to encompasses a broad genus of mutations throughout the Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS genes, defined in substantial part by the functional result of decreasing GAS and/or RS protein level or activity, while also requiring the resulting pea composition to possess the recited carbohydrate profile.
The lack of predictability is underscored by the art of record. Evidence of record shows that mutation of a related soybean galactinol synthase gene does not uniformly decrease raffinose. For example, Le (Huy Le et.al., Frontiers in Plant Science (2020) vol 11, pp1-13) (page 7, right column) reports that soybean GmGOLS (galactinol synthase) mutants can reduce total RFO and stachyose while increasing raffinose by about 41.7% in double mutants, and about 47.44% in single mutants. This evidence indicates that perturbation of the GAS/GOLS pathway does not predictably translate into reduced raffinose itself across different mutations and genetic contexts.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been able to extrapolate from the few specific pea mutants disclosed in the present specification of the entire claimed genus of Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS mutations without undue experimentation.
Further, even within the disclosed pea embodiments, the data do not establish a principle that any mutation across the claimed sequences will work. Rather, the data show that only particular tested mutants were found to have the reported properties. For example, Example 5 reports results for specific GAS and RS mutations and specific deletion alleles, but the specification does not disclose a representative number of mutants spanning the full breadth of the claims, nor does it describe a common structural or functional characteristic or other predictive criterion that would permit one of ordinary skill in the art to predict which other mutations within the claimed genus would also produce the required decrease in GAS and/or RS protein level or activity together with the claimed carbohydrate profile.
To practice the full scope of claims 71, 72, 84, and 85, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to generate and screen a vast number of candidate mutations in order to determine which ones actually yield both the recited decrease in GAS and/or RS protein level or activity and the claimed raffinose/stachyose, and where applicable sucrose, pea compositions.
Accordingly, notwithstanding the narrowing amendments, the breadth of the remaining mutation genus, the limited number of working examples, the absence of sufficient predictive guidance across the claimed GAS and RS sequences, the unpredictability evidenced by the art of record, and the amount of experimentation required to identify additional operative mutations establish that practicing the full scope of claims 71-72, and 84-85 would require undue experimentation. The specification therefore does not enable the full scope of these claims.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 71-72, and 84-85 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amendments narrow the claims by removing homologs and regulatory regions and by requiring decreased GAS and/or PS protein level or activity. Although these amendments narrow the claims, the claims continue to encompass a broad genus of mutations throughout the recited Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS genes that must also produce the claimed carbohydrate profile.
Applicant further argues that the Specification teaches methods for introducing, detecting, and screening mutations. However, these teachings provide methods for generating and testing candidate mutations, rather than sufficient predictive guidance for determining which mutations across the claimed scope will satisfy both the functional and carbohydrate limitations. The limited working examples do not establish that the remaining genus can be practiced without undue experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 56, 70, 73-75, 79, 80, 83, and 87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urbano (Gloria Urbano et. al., Nutrition 21 (2005) 230–239).
Claim 56 recites a pea composition comprising raffinose content of about 0.7% or less dry weight of said pea composition, stachyose content of about 1.5% or less dry weight of said pea composition, and sucrose content of about 3.0% or more dry weight of said pea composition.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, the term “pea composition” encompasses a composition derived from pea material, including pea flour.
Urbano expressly studies Pisum sativum L. pea compositions and evaluates the chemical composition of raw and germinated pea flour. Urbano discloses that Pisum sativum seeds were germinated for three or six days, after which the sprouted seeds were freeze-dried and ground into flour for chemical analysis (p231, “Germination”). Urbano further determines sucrose and the α-galactosides raffinose and stachyose by high-performance liquid chromatography (p231, “Determination of available soluble sugars and α-galactosides”).
Urbano discloses in Table 1 that pea flour prepared from peas germinated for six days (G6DNL) contained sucrose at about 3.05g/100g dry matter, raffinose at 0.08g/100g dry matter, and no detectable stachyose (p233, Table1). Thus, the disclosed G6DNL pea four contains about 3.05% sucrose, about 0.08% raffinose, and no detectable stachyose on a dry-weight basis. The same single Pisum sativum composition therefore satisfies the claimed limitations of raffinose content of about 0.7% or less, stachyose content of about 1.5% or less, and sucrose content of about 3.0% or more dry weight.
Accordingly, Urbano anticipates claim 56.
Claim 70 recites the pea composition of claim 56, wherein the pea composition comprises a pea seed composition, a pea protein composition, a pea protein concentrate, a pea protein isolate, pea flour, pea flake, pea white flake, textured pea protein, or a pea oil composition. Claim 73 recites a pea composition comprising raffinose content of about 0.7% or less dry weight of said pea composition and, or stachyose content of about 1.5% or less dry weight of said pea composition. Claim 74 recites the pea composition of claim 73, comprising raffinose content of about 0.3% or less dry weight of said pea composition. Claim 75 recites the pea composition of claim 73, comprising stachyose content of about 1.4% or less dry weight of said pea composition. Claim 79 recites pea composition of claim 7856, comprising raffinose content of about 0.3% or less dry weight. Claim 80 recites the pea composition of claim 7-56,comprising stachyose content of about 1.4% or less dry weight. Claim 83 recites the pea composition of claim 73, wherein the pea composition comprises a pea seed composition, a pea protein composition, a pea protein concentrate, a pea protein isolate, pea flour, pea flake, pea white flake, textured pea protein, or a pea oil composition.
For the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 56, Urbano disclosed G6DNL pea flour contains about 3.05% sucrose, about 0.08% raffinose, and no detectable stachyose on a dry-weight basis. Pea flour is one of the alternatively recited composition forms in claims 70 and 83. Urbano anticipates claim 70.
Accordingly, Urbano anticipates claims 70, 73-75, 79, 80, and 83.
Claim 87 recites a product produced from the pea composition of claim 56, wherein the product is a feed, a food, or a beverage.
For the same reasons set forth above with respect to claims 56, Urbano discloses preparing experimental diets containing the disclosed raw or germinated pea flours and using those diets as food for experimental animals (p231-232, “experimental design and diet”).
Accordingly, Urbano anticipates claim 87.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 63, 69, 71, 72, 76, 77, 81, 82, and 84-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Urbano (2005) as apply to claims 56, 73, 79, and 80, in view of Gawłowska (Magdalena Gawłowska et. al., Genetic Resources and Crop Evolution (2017) 64:569–578), Peterbauer (Thomas Peterbauer et. al., Planta (2002) 215: 839–846) and Cao (Li Cao et. al., Frontiers in Plant Science (2022) 13:1048967, pp1-12).
Claims 56 and 73 as the teachings of Urbano are discussed above.
Claims 63, 69, 71, and 72 interpreted as dependent of claim 56.
Claims 76, 77, and 84-86 interpreted as dependent of claim 73.
Claim 81 interpreted as dependent of claim 79.
Claim 82 interpreted as dependent of claim 80.
Claim 63 is interpreted as requiring a pea composition of claim 56 that contains pea material from a mutant pea genotype harboring one of the expressly recited GAS or RS mutations, or containing the corresponding nutant/truncated GAS or RS protein.
For the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 56, Urbano teaches G6DNL pea flour contains about 3.05% sucrose, about 0.08% raffinose, and no detectable stachyose on a dry-weight basis.
Urbano does not teach or suggest that the disclosed reduced raffinose and stachyose levels and increased sucrose content are produced by a mutation in a GAS or RS gene, nor does Urbano disclose a mutant or truncated GAS or RS protein as recited in claim 63.
Gawłowska teaches that raffinose family oligosaccharides (RFOs) in pea seeds are anti-nutritional compounds that limit their use in food and feed, and further teaches that pea compositions having reduced RFO content are desirable (page 569, Abstract; page 570, left column paragraph 2).
Gawłowska does not teach or suggest that RFO levels are controlled by mutations in RS or GAS genes, nor does it disclose mutant or truncated RS or GAS proteins for achieving reduced RFO content.
Peterbauer (2002) teaches a corresponding pea raffinose synthase PsRFS (AJ426475) (page 841, right column fig 1) and identify raffinose synthase as a key enzyme channeling sucrose into the raffinose oligosaccharide pathway (page 839, Abstract). Applicant has also shown that the RS sequence (SEQ ID NO:11) in the prior art as one of the claimed/refence RS sequence, which encoding substantially the same RS protein of PsRFS (AJ426475), with minor sequence variation (see below for amnio acid sequence alignment).
Cao teaches CRISPR/Case9-mediated editing of soybean raffinose synthase (RS) genes RS2 and RS3 simultaneously to reduce RFOs in mature seeds, “Both single and double mutants showed a significant increase in sucrose and decrease in raffinose and stachyose. Low RFOs were achieved without affecting soybean morphology, including plant height, seed weight, or other agronomic traits. Resulting in reduced raffinose family oligosaccharide levels (page 3, left column, paragraph 1).
It would have been motivated by the recognized need in the art to reduce anti-nutritional RFO content in pea seeds to improve their suitability for human and animal consumption. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the known pea RS gene taught by Peterbauer (2002), including by substitution or deletion mutations obtainable through routine gene editing or mutagenesis, in view of Cao teaching that disruption of raffinose synthase reduces raffinose family oligosaccharide accumulation, with a reasonable expectation of obtaining pea composition having reduced raffinose and/or stachyose content and increased sucrose. Because Peterbauer (2002) identify raffinose synthase as a key enzyme in the relevant biosynthetic pathway, and Cao demonstrates that CRISPR/Case editing or raffinose synthase reduced RFO levels, and Urbano demonstrates the expected corresponding carbohydrate phenotype directly in pea, a skilled artisan would have had reason to generate and screen mutant pea RS alleles for the predictable purpose of obtaining low-RFO pea compositions.
The specific recited RS embodiments, including the G to A substitution at nucleotide 1044, the deletions of nucleotides 1246-1253 and 1248-1254, and the corresponding mutant or truncated RS proteins encoded thereby, would have been obvious as predictable mutant variants of a known target gene selected and screened for the expected low-FRFO phenotype. Selecting a particular substitution or deletion allele from among edited or mutagenized RS variants would have amounted to no more than routine optimization and screening of a known pathway gene to obtain the desired seed sugar phenotype.
Accordingly, claim 63 is prima facie obvious over Urbano, Gawlowska, Peterbauer, and Cao.
Claims 69 recites the pea composition of claim 56, comprising raffinose content of about 0.3% or less dry weight, stachyose content of about 1.4% or less dry weight, and sucrose content of about 3.7% or more dry weight.
For the same reasons set forth above with respect to claims 56 and 63, Urbano teaches G6DNL pea flour contains about 3.05% sucrose, about 0.08% raffinose, and no detectable stachyose, thereby satisfying the recited raffinose and stachyose limitations (p233-234).
Although Urbano does not expressly disclose the particular sucrose value of about 3.7% or more, Peterbauer teaches that raffinose is synthesized directly from sucrose through raffinose synthase, and Cao teaches that reducing RS activity significantly increases sucrose while decreasing raffinose and stachyose. In view of these teachings, it would have been obvious to further reduce RS activity and/or select among resulting pea lines for increased sucrose while maintaining the already-known low raffinose and stachyose phenotype. Selection of a pea composition having at least about 3.7% sucrose would have amounted to routine optimization of a result-effective carbohydrate parameter, particularly because the prior art expressly teaches the direction of the relationship between decreased RS activity and increased sucrose.
Accordingly, claim 69 is prima facie obvious over Urbano, Gawlowska, Peterbauer, and Cao.
Claim 71 recites the pea composition of claim 56, comprising a mutated Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene or a fragment thereof, wherein the mutation decreases level or activity of a GAS and/or RS protein encoded by the Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene relative to a GAS and/or RS protein encoded by a control Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene without the mutation. Claim 84 recites the pea composition of claim 73, comprising a mutated GAS and/or RS gene or a fragment thereof, wherein level or activity of a GAS and/or RS protein encoded by the mutated Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene is decreased relative to a GAS and/or RS protein encoded by a control Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene without the mutation.
For the same reasons set forth above with respect to claims 56, 63, and 73, Urbano teaches G6DNL pea flour contains about 3.05% sucrose, about 0.08% raffinose, and no detectable stachyose, thereby satisfying the recited raffinose and stachyose limitations (p233-234). Gawlowska teaches low-RFO pea compositions and the desirability of further reducing RFO content, Peterbauer identifies the RS-mediated RFO biosynthetic pathway in Pisum sativum, and Cao taches targeted mutation of raffinose synthase genes to reduce RS function and alter RFO accumulation in seeds (Abstract). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the peas compositions of claims 56 and 73 with a mutated RS gene having reduced RS level or activity in order to obtain the desired reduced-RFO carbohydrate profile, with a reasonable expectation of success for the reasons discussed above.
Accordingly, claims 71 and 84 as a whole are prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of Urbano, Gawlowska, Peterbauer, and Cao.
Claim 72 recites the pea composition of claim 56, comprising: (ii) a mutated Pisum sativum RS gene comprising an insertion, a substitution, or a deletion of one or more nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 3, 4, 7, 8, 31, 39, or 40, wherein level or activity of a GAS and/or RS protein encoded by the mutated Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene is decreased relative to a GAS and/or RS protein encoded by a control Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene without the mutation.
For the same reasons set forth above with respect to claims 56, and 63, Peterbauer (2002) teaches raffinose synthase as a key enzyme channeling sucrose into the raffinose oligosaccharide pathway in pea seeds, and Cao teaches that insertion, deletion, or substitution mutation of such pathway genes was routinely performed to introduce, screen, and reduce raffinose family oligosaccharide levels in soybean. Cao further demonstrates that the resulting RS mutations reduce RS function and produce decreased raffinose and stachyose together with increased sucrose.
Claim 72 is obvious over the combined teachings of the prior arts above.
Claim 76 recites the pea composition of claim 73, further comprising sucrose content of about 3.5% or more dry weight of said pea composition. Claim 77 recites the pea composition of claim 73, further comprising sucrose content of about 3.7% or more dry weight of said pea composition. Claim 81 recites the pea composition of claim 79, further comprising sucrose content of about 3.7% or more dry weight. Claim 82 recites the pea composition of claim 80, further comprising sucrose content of about 3.7% or more dry weight.
As discussed above, Urbano teaches G6DNL pea flour contains about 3.05% sucrose, about 0.08% raffinose, and no detectable stachyose, thereby satisfying the recited raffinose and stachyose limitations. Peterbauer (2002) teaches raffinose synthase (EC 2.4.1.82) is the key enzyme that channels sucrose into the raffinose oligosaccharide pathway (page 839, left column, paragraph 1). Therefore, knocking out or reducing RS activity would result in accumulation of sucrose and a corresponding reduction in raffinose level in pea. Cao teaches Both single and double mutants showed a significant increase in sucrose and decrease in raffinose and stachyose. Low RFOs were achieved without affecting soybean morphology, including plant height, seed weight, or other agronomic traits in soybean (page 3, left column paragraph 1).
Claims 76, 77, 81, and 82 additionally require sucrose content of about 3.0% or more dry weight, or about 3.7% or more dry weight. Peterbauer (2002) teaches that raffinose is synthesized directly from sucrose via raffinose synthase (RS). Accordingly, reducing or disrupting RS activity would be expected to decrease raffinose formation and result in accumulation of sucrose. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select or modify pea compositions having the recited sugar compositions, for example by applying Cao’s gene editing method to target the pea RS gene, with a reasonable expectation of increasing sucrose content while reducing raffinose levels.
The claimed invention in claims 76, 77, 81, and 82 as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the prior arts above.
Claim 85 recites the pea composition of claim 73, comprising: (ii) a mutated Pisum sativum RS gene or a fragment thereof comprising an insertion, a substitution, or a deletion of one or more nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 3, 4,7,8,31, 39, or 402 wherein level or activity of a GAS and/or RS protein encoded by the mutated Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene is decreased relative to a GAS and/or RS protein encoded by a control Pisum sativum GAS and/or RS gene without the mutation. Claim 86 depends from claim 73, further recites to the particular mutant Pisum sativum GAS/RS nucleic acids and corresponding mutant proteins.
For the same reasons discussed with respect to claims 63, and 73, it would have been obvious to provide the pea composition of claim 73 with the specific mutant Pisum sativum GAS/RS nucleic acids having decreased GAS and/or RS protein level or activity, and corresponding proteins recited in claim 86 in order to obtain the desired carbohydrate profile, with a reasonable expectation of successes. Urbano further supports that expectation by demonstrating that Pisum sativum itself can exhibit the claimed low-raffinose and low-stachyose phenotype.
The claimed invention in claims 85-86 as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the prior arts above.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Gawlowska does not disclose a single pea composition having the presently claimed combined raffinose, stachyose, and sucrose profile and that Peterbauer and Cao do not cure this deficiency.
The previous anticipation rejection based on Gawlowska has been withdrawn. However, the present rejection is based on the combined teaching of the references. However, Urbano expressly discloses a single Pisum sativum pea flour composition containing about 3.05% sucrose, about 0.08% raffinose, and no detectable stachyose on a dry-weight basis, thereby meeting the carbohydrate limitations of claim 56.
Urbano does not teach that this profile results from an RS or GAS mutation. Gawlowska teaches the desirability of reducing RFOs in pea; Peterbauer identifies the corresponding raffinose synthase pathway in Pisum sativum; and Cao teaches targeted modification of raffinose synthase genes as an operative means for altering seed RFO composition.
Accordingly, the references collectively provide both a reason to modify pea raffinose synthase and a reasonable expectation of obtaining the claimed low-RFO, increased-sucrose phenotype. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YANXIN SHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/WEIHUA FAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663