DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s remarks have been given full consideration, as such this Office Action has been modified in view of Amendments filed on 06/05/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed "Remarks" on 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that: Regarding independent claims 1, 5, 8 and 12, “Qiao fails to disclose that the content a partially allowed NSSAI that includes comprises one or more S-NSSAI is that the terminal is allowed to use in one or more tracking areas (TAs) in the RA with each of the one or more SNSSAI is being associated with a list of TAs where the S-NSSAI is supported” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant alleges that: Regarding independent claims 1, 5, 8 and 12, “Qiao fail to disclose that in case that the partially allowed NSSAI is changed, or the current TAI is in the list of the TAs for which the S-NSSAI is allowed, performing an evaluation of URSP”. However, Qiao teaches as such. -in case that the partially allowed NSSAI is changed ([0243] describes “the new AMF 155 may send to the UE 100 a registration accept 955 (comprising: 5G-GUTI, registration area, mobility restrictions, PDU session status, allowed NSSAI, [mapping of allowed NSSAI], periodic registration update timer, LADN information and accepted MICO mode, IMS voice over PS session supported indication, emergency service support indicator, and/or the like,” wherein [0198] describes the NSSAI may be changed at any time, i.e. the ability to indicate if the NSSAI is changed) as described in claim 1 below, performing an evaluation of URSP ([0174] the UE may specially receive a UE route selection policy evaluation, i.e. receive information about a URSP and evaluate it) as described in claim 1 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al. (US 2022/0248318 A1, hereinafter Qiao) in view of Krishnamoorthi et al. (US 2025/0081093 A1, hereinafter Krishnamoorthi).
Regarding claim 1 Qiao teaches a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system ([Figure 8-13: device 100] UE 100 performing a registration procedure within a wireless communication system, and [0029] UE is interchangeable with a terminal), the method comprising: transmitting, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) ([Figure 8] depicts UE 100 transmitting to an AMF 155), a registration request message comprising requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) ([Figure 8: request message 805/810] a service request message originating from UE 100, being transmitted to a new AMF 155, which may include NSSAI as described in [0195]); receiving, from the AMF, a registration accept message comprising at least one of partially allowed NSSAI, or single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) rejected partially in a registration area (RA), ([0274] the AMF 155 may wait for all responses from the SMF 160s before it may send MM NAS service accept message to the UE 100, i.e. the UE receiving a registration accept message from the AMF, and [0169] an NSSF (Network Slice Selection Function) 120 may select a set of network slice instances serving the UE 100, and may determine allowed NSSAI (Network Slice Selection Assistance Information). In an example, the NSSF 120 may determine the AMF 155 set to be employed to serve the UE 100, and/or, based on configuration, determine a list of candidate AMF 155(s) 155 by querying the NRF 130, and [0195] allowed NSSAI may be an NSSAI provided by a serving PLMN during e.g. a registration procedure, indicating the NSSAI allowed by the network for the UE 100 in the serving PLMN for the current registration area, i.e. the registration accept message comprises a partially allowed network slice to be used via the UE 100. Additionally, see FIG. 8 procedure 955 and [0243], a response from the AMF which includes a registration accept message for the UE, wherein the message includes “the mapping of each S-NSSAI of the allowed NSSAI to the S-NSSAIs”); identifying whether the partially allowed NSSAI is changed or whether current tracking area identifier (TAI) is in a list of TAs for which S-NSSAI is allowed; and in case that the partially allowed NSSAI is changed ([0243] describes “the new AMF 155 may send to the UE 100 a registration accept 955 (comprising: 5G-GUTI, registration area, mobility restrictions, PDU session status, allowed NSSAI, [mapping of allowed NSSAI], periodic registration update timer, LADN information and accepted MICO mode, IMS voice over PS session supported indication, emergency service support indicator, and/or the like,” wherein [0198] describes the NSSAI may be changed at any time, i.e. the ability to indicate if the NSSAI is changed), or the current TAI is in the list of the TAs for which S-NSSAI is allowed ([0198] In an example, the set of network slices for a UE 100 may be changed at any time while the UE 100 may be registered with the network, and may be initiated by the network, or the UE 100, i.e. network slices may change for the UE, and [0216] the network, based on local policies, subscription changes and/or UE 100 mobility, may change the set of permitted network slice(s) to which the UE 100 is registered, and may perform the change during a registration procedure or trigger a notification towards the UE 100 of the change of the supported network slices using an RM procedure (which may trigger a registration procedure), i.e. the ability for the network to determine if a partially allowed network slice is changed for UE 100, and [0224-0226] a current tracking area identifier TAI and may be included in order to help the AMF 155 produce registration area for the UE, which may be associated with a specific [0216] tracking area list, i.e. a list of [0139] TA Tracking Area(s), i.e. determining a current tracking area identifier (TAI) is in a list of tracking areas (TAs)), performing an evaluation of user equipment route selection policy (URSP) ([0174] the 5GC may provide policy information from the Policy Control Function (PCF) 135 to the UE 100. In an example, the policy information may comprise: access network discovery and selection policy, UE 100 route selection policy (URSP), SSC mode selection policy (SSCMSP), network slice selection policy (NSSP), DNN selection policy, non-seamless offload policy, and/or the like, and FIG. 11 depicts operation 1130, 1150, and 1155 being transmitted to the Policy Control Function (PCF), which contain policy checks/updates/evaluations of UE 100, upon the elements listed above, i.e. the PCF may contain the use of a UE URSP and will perform evaluations of the UE).
Qiao is not relied on for the claim language -wherein the partially allowed NSSAI comprises one or more S- NSSAIs that the terminal is allowed to use in one or more tracking areas (TAs) in the RA, each of the one or more S-NSSAIs being associated with a list of TAs where the S-NSSAI is supported. However, Krishnamoorthi teaches a method for heterogeneous slice deployment within a registration area. Krishnamoorthi also teaches -wherein the partially allowed NSSAI comprises one or more S- NSSAIs that the terminal is allowed to use in one or more tracking areas (TAs) in the RA, each of the one or more S-NSSAIs being associated with a list of TAs where the S-NSSAI is supported ([0084] describes “based on the slice deployment, UE subscription, and other policies, it determines the set of S-NSSAIs that the UE 312 is allowed and not allowed to use within the RA in terms of the Allowed Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) and Rejected NSSAI IEs and communicates this via the NAS registration accept message towards the UE 312. The set of allowed and rejected S-NSSAIs in the response are assumed to be valid throughout the current RA,” i.e. determining partially allowed NSSAI, wherein the process requires a list of allowed S-NSSAIs in association with a list of TAs in the RA, see [0089] and [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qiao to include partially allowed NSSAIs in association a list comprising TAs and one or more S-NSSAIs, as taught by Krishnamoorthi, in order to improve [0015] systems and methods for slice deployment within a registration area and aid in providing the UE the Allowed Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) during the registration procedure.
Regarding claim 2 Qiao teaches based on at least one of the partially allowed NSSAI, or the S-NSSAI rejected partially in the RA ([0169] an NSSF 120 may select a set of network slice instances serving the UE 100, and may determine allowed NSSAI), identifying whether the current TAI is in the list of the TAs for which the S-NSSAI is allowed ([0224-0226] a registration message may include a current tracking area identifier TAI and be included in order to help the AMF 155 produce registration area for the UE, which may be associated with a specific [0216] tracking area list, i.e. a list of [0139] TA Tracking Area(s), which may be in association with S-NSSAIs as described in [0209] and [0210]).
Regarding claim 4 Qiao teaches the performing the evaluation of the URSP comprises performing a re-evaluation of the URSP (FIG. 11 depicts a policy control update notification message 1115, where operations 1130, 1150, and 1155 shown evaluating PCF/PSA, and [0260] the SMF 160 may check the UPF 110 Selection 1025 Criteria (e.g., slice isolation requirements, slice coexistence requirements, UPF's 110 dynamic load, UPF's 110 relative static capacity among UPFs supporting the same DNN, UPF 110 location available at the SMF 160, UE 100 location information, Capability of the UPF 110 and the functionality required for the particular UE 100 session. In an example, an appropriate UPF 110 may be selected by matching the functionality and features required for a UE 100, DNN, PDU session type (i.e. IPv4, IPv6, ethernet type or unstructured type), and [0174] the PCF 135 may include URSP, and [0175] FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B, the registration management, RM may be employed to register or de-register a UE/user 100 with the network, and establish the user context in the network, i.e. to register/de-register the UE, the URSP must be re-evaluated, i.e. evaluation of the URSP comprises performing a re-evaluation of the URSP).
Regarding claim 5, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, further in view of Qiao teaches a method performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a terminal- ([Figure 8-13: AMF 155] the old/new AMF 155 performing registration procedure within a wireless communication system, and receiving/transmitting with UE 100, [0029] UE 100 read as terminal).
Regarding claim 6, Qiao teaches whether the current TAI is in the list of the TAs for which the S-NSSAI is allowed is based on at least one of the partially allowed NSSAI, or the S-NSSAI rejected partially in the RA ([0224-0226] a registration message may include a current tracking area identifier TAI and be included in order to help the AMF 155 produce registration area for the UE, which may be associated with a specific [0216] tracking area list, i.e. a list of [0139] TA Tracking Area, for [0198] determining permitted network slice(s) to which the UE 100 may be allowed, which may be in association with S-NSSAIs as described in [0209] and [0210]).
Regarding claim 7, Qiao teaches and wherein the evaluation of the URSP comprises a re-evaluation of the URSP (FIG. 11 depicts a policy control update notification message 1115, where operations 1130, 1150, and 1155 shown evaluating PCF/PSA, and [0260] the SMF 160 may check the UPF 110 Selection 1025 Criteria (e.g., slice isolation requirements, slice coexistence requirements, UPF's 110 dynamic load, UPF's 110 relative static capacity among UPFs supporting the same DNN, UPF 110 location available at the SMF 160, UE 100 location information, Capability of the UPF 110 and the functionality required for the particular UE 100 session. In an example, an appropriate UPF 110 may be selected by matching the functionality and features required for a UE 100, DNN, PDU session type (i.e. IPv4, IPv6, ethernet type or unstructured type), and [0174] the PCF 135 may include URSP, and [0175] FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B, the registration management, RM may be employed to register or de-register a UE/user 100 with the network, and establish the user context in the network, i.e. to register/de-register the UE, the URSP must be re-evaluated, i.e. evaluation of the URSP comprises performing a re-evaluation of the URSP).
Regarding claim 8, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, further in view of Qiao teaches -a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to: transmit- (FIG. 3 depicts Communication Interface(s) 320, i.e. a transceiver, coupled with a Processor 318 to transmit to a plurality of base stations).
Regarding claim 9, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 5, further in view of Qiao teaches -the AMF comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive- ([0160] the AMF may be associated with the Base Station, i.e. information is sent via AMF 155 over N2 to (R)AN 105 (the base station) to the UE 100, and FIG. 3 depicts Base Station 105 containing Communication Interface(s) 342, i.e. a transceiver, coupled with Processor(s) 344, configured to receive from UE 100).
Regarding claim 13, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699