DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 7-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stanley (US 5,513,094).
For claim 1, Stanley teaches a device (Figure 2) comprising:
one or more input power networks (differential output of 201);
one or more gated output power networks (differential input to 203); and
a plurality of field effect transistors (207 within each 202) located in parallel to one another (col. 4, lines 5-30) and configured to receive power supplied by the one or more input power networks (as understood by examination of Figure 2) and a pulse width modulated control signal (multi-bit output of 206), wherein the plurality of field effect transistors is configured to gate the supplied power in response to the pulse width modulated control signal and convey the gated power to the one or more gated output power networks (as understood by examination of Figure 2 and column 4, lines 5-58).
For claim 4, Stanley further teaches:
a pulse width modulation control circuit supplying the pulse width modulated control signal to the plurality of field effect transistors (205, 206), wherein the pulse width modulation control circuit is configured to cause the pulse width modulated control signal to exhibit a period having a duration less than a characteristic response time of the one or more gated output power networks and a configurable duty cycle (Abstract, col. 2, lines 1-13).
For claim 17, Stanley teaches a method comprising:
configuring one or more input power networks (differential output of 201) to supply power to a plurality of field effect transistors (207 within each 202) located in parallel to one another (col. 4, lines 5-30);
configuring one or more gated output power networks (differential input to 203) to receive gated power from the plurality of field effect transistors (as understood by examination of Figure 2); and
configuring the plurality of field effect transistors to receive a pulse width modulated control signal (multi-bit output of 206) and to gate the supplied power in response to the pulse width modulated control signal (Abstract, col. 2, lines 1-13).
For claim 20, Stanley further teaches:
configuring a pulse width modulation control circuit (205, 206) to supply the pulse width modulated control signal to the plurality of field effect transistors (as understood by examination of Figure 2), wherein the pulse width modulation control circuit is configured to cause the pulse width modulated control signal to exhibit a period having a duration less than a characteristic response time of the one or more gated output power networks and a configurable duty cycle (Abstract, col. 2, lines 1-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanley.
For claims 2 and 18, Stanley teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 17 but fails to teach identical drive strengths as claimed.
It is noted that Stanley teaches that “each buck converter 202 needs only to produce a fraction of the total desired output current for the bridge amplifier. As an example, for a 200 A total output, eight buck converters need only individually produce a 25 A phase to meet the total output current requirement” col. 4, lines 5-30
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Stanley’s transistors 207 using transistors of equal drive strength since Stanley teaches evenly dividing the output current amount the plurality of transistors.
Furthermore, it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 3, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanley in view of Park (US 2008/0225029).
For claims 3 and 19, Stanley teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 17 as cited above but fails to teach a common control signal received simultaneously as claimed.
However, Park a first embodiment where a plurality of circuits operatively switch based on a common clock (Figure 1, [0007]) and a second embodiment (Figure 3) where the common clock is replaced by a multi-phase clock, wherein the first embodiment is susceptible to EMI and switching noise ([0009]-[0010]) but requires fewer parts to implement compared to the second embodiment ([0007], 310 in Figure 3 is not required to implement Figure 1).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the identical phase PWM signals for Stanley’s plurality of 207 (i.e., simultaneous reception of a common PWM signal output by 206) instead of a multi-phase design to reduce the number of parts, size and/or cost.
Furthermore, the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
For claim 21, the combination of Stanley and Park as cited above teaches the limitations of claim 19 and further teaches:
all field effect transistors of the plurality of field effect transistors are configured to turn on or off simultaneously in response to the pulse width modulation (as understood by the combination of references).
Claim(s) 5, 7-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanley in view of Jain (US 2025/0233088).
For claim 5, Stanley teaches the limitations of claim 4 but fails to teach one or more die as claimed.
However, Jain teaches a system on package (SoP) device (Figure 3) having an input power network (line which carries VCCin), output power network (line corresponding to node 683) and a plurality of transistors (T1 and T2 within 611, Figure 6) wherein the plurality of transistors are pulse width modulated ([0053]), the SoP device corresponding to one or more semiconductor layers of a semiconductor device (as understood by examination of Figure 3 and [0017]), the one or more semiconductor layers corresponding to a package substrate of a semiconductor device package (332, [0017]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Stanley’s invention using Jain’s SoP device (Figure 3) since the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Jain.
For claim 7, the combination of Stanley and Jain as cited above teaches the limitations of claim 5 and further teaches the pulse width modulation control circuit is located at least one of:
on the one or more die or on a semiconductor device package including the semiconductor device (as understood by the combination of references as applied above).
For claim 8, the combination of Stanley and Jain as cited above teaches the limitations of claim 5 and Jain further teaches:
the device corresponds to one or more semiconductor layers and at least one of the one or more semiconductor layers corresponds to a package substrate of a semiconductor device package ([0017]).
For claim 9, the combination of Stanley and Jain as cited above teaches the limitations of claim 8 and Jain further teaches:
the pulse width modulation control circuit is located at least one of: on the package substrate; on the semiconductor device package including the package substrate; or off of the semiconductor device package including the package substrate (within 332, [0017], [0051], Figures 3 and 6).
For claim 10, Stanley teaches a device (Figure 2) comprising:
a plurality of field effect transistors (207 within each 202) located in parallel to one another (col. 4, lines 5-30) and configured to receive power supplied by one or more input power networks (differential output of 201) and a pulse width modulated control signal (multi-bit output of 206), wherein the plurality of field effect transistors is configured to gate the supplied power in response to the pulse width modulated control signal and convey the gated power to one or more gated output power networks of the semiconductor device package (as understood by examination of Figure 2 and column 4, lines 5-58).
Stanley fails to teach the semiconductor device package further comprising:
a package substrate;
one or more die located on the package substrate.
However, Jain teaches a system on package (SoP) device (Figure 3) having an input power network (line which carries VCCin), output power network (line corresponding to node 683) and a plurality of transistors (T1 and T2 within 611, Figure 6) wherein the plurality of transistors are pulse width modulated ([0053]), the SoP device corresponding to one or more semiconductor layers of a semiconductor device (as understood by examination of Figure 3 and [0017]), the one or more semiconductor layers corresponding to a package substrate of a semiconductor device package (332, [0017]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Stanley’s invention using Jain’s SoP device (Figure 3) since the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Jain.
The combination of Stanley and Jain as cited above teaches:
a package substrate (340); and
one or more die located on the package substrate (320, 332, 350, 360).
For claim 11, the combination of Stanley and Jain as cited above teaches the limitations of claim 10 and Jain further teaches:
the plurality of field effect transistors is located in at least one of: the package substrate; or the one or more die (as understood by examination of Figures 3 and 6).
For claim 12, the combination of Stanley and Jain as cited above teaches the limitations of claim 10 but fails to teach identical drive strengths as claimed.
It is noted that Stanley teaches that “each buck converter 202 needs only to produce a fraction of the total desired output current for the bridge amplifier. As an example, for a 200 A total output, eight buck converters need only individually produce a 25 A phase to meet the total output current requirement” col. 4, lines 5-30
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Stanley’s transistors 207 using transistors of equal drive strength since Stanley teaches evenly dividing the output current amount the plurality of transistors.
Furthermore, it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
For claim 14, the combination of Stanley and Jain as cited above teaches the limitations of claim 10 and Stanley further teaches:
a pulse width modulation control circuit (205, 206) supplying the pulse width modulated control signal to the plurality of field effect transistors (as understood by examination of Figure 2).
For claim 15, the combination of Stanley and Jain as cited above teaches the limitations of claim 14 and Stanley further teaches:
the pulse width modulation control circuit is configured to cause the pulse width modulated control signal to exhibit a period having a duration less than a characteristic response time of the one or more gated output power networks and a configurable duty cycle (Abstract, col. 2, lines 1-13).
For claim 16, the combination of Stanley and Jain as cited above teaches the limitations of claim 14 and Stanley further teaches the pulse width modulation control circuit is located at least one of:
on the one or more die or on a semiconductor device package including the semiconductor device (as understood by the combination of references as applied above).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanley and Jain in view of Park.
For claim 13, the combination of Stanley and Jain teaches the limitations of claim 10 but fails to teach a common control signal received simultaneously as claimed.
However, Park a first embodiment where a plurality of circuits operatively switch based on a common clock (Figure 1, [0007]) and a second embodiment (Figure 3) where the common clock is replaced by a multi-phase clock, wherein the first embodiment is susceptible to EMI and switching noise ([0009]-[0010]) but requires fewer parts to implement compared to the second embodiment ([0007], 310 in Figure 3 is not required to implement Figure 1).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the identical phase PWM signals for Stanley’s plurality of 207 (i.e., simultaneous reception of a common PWM signal output by 206) instead of a multi-phase design to reduce the number of parts, size and cost.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL C PUENTES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849