DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “wherein the orchestrator is configured to …” in claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14,17, 18 and 20.
Claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14,17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “wherein the orchestrator is configured to …” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. According to the disclosure of the specification, the “orchestrator” is a software pe se. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to correspond to the orchestrator. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure performs the claimed functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14,17, 18 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed functions because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor has possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 12 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hamlin et al. (hereinafter Hamlin) (US 20250291763 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As to claim 1, Hamlin teaches an Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a controller [0009: EC or BMC], wherein the controller comprises firmware that, upon execution by a processing core, causes the processing core to instantiate an orchestrator [0008: “a controller, where the controller comprises firmware that, upon execution by a processing core, causes the processing core to instantiate an orchestrator…”]; and
a plurality of devices [0009: “The plurality of devices comprises at least one of: a sensor, a sensor hub, a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a Graphical Processing Unit (GPU), an audio Digital Signal Processor (aDSP), a Neural Processing Unit (NPU), a Tensor Processing Unit (TSU), a Neural Network Processor (NNP), an Intelligence Processing Unit (IPU), an Image Signal Processor (ISP), or a Video Processing Unit (VPU), a camera controller, an audio controller, a memory, a Universal Serial Bus (USB) device, a Peripheral Component Interconnect express (PCIe) device, or a Trusted Platform Module (TPM).”] coupled to the controller, wherein each device comprises firmware that, upon execution by a corresponding processing core, causes the corresponding processing core to instantiate a node as part of a firmware framework [0008: “a plurality of devices coupled to the controller, where each device comprises firmware that, upon execution by a corresponding processing core, causes the corresponding processing core to instantiate a node…”], and wherein the orchestrator is configured to service a first node in communication with a second node without any involvement by any Operating System (OS) of the HIS [FIG..6] [0112: “upon execution of firmware 502 to instantiate firmware services 504 and/or exposed services 505, node 303 may provide node services or agent 603 configured to communicate with orchestration services 601 to send and receive control and/or data messages within firmware framework 307.”] [0114: “consumers 304-306 may access orchestration services 601 directly through orchestrator 302, without relying on any host OS of IHS 100.”].
As to claim 2, Hamlin teaches wherein the controller comprises an Embedded Controller (EC) or Baseband Management Controller (BMC) [0009: “ The controller may include an Embedded Controller (EC) or Baseband Management Controller (BMC).”].
As to claim 3, Hamlin teaches wherein the plurality of devices comprises at least one of: a sensor, a sensor hub, a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a Graphical Processing Unit (GPU), an audio Digital Signal Processor (aDSP), a Neural Processing Unit (NPU), a Tensor Processing Unit (TSU), a Neural Network Processor (NNP), an Intelligence Processing Unit (IPU), an Image Signal Processor (ISP), or a Video Processing Unit (VPU), a camera controller, an audio controller, a memory, a Universal Serial Bus (USB) device, a Peripheral Component Interconnect express (PCIe) device, or a Trusted Platform Module (TPM) [0009: “The plurality of devices comprises at least one of: a sensor, a sensor hub, a Central Processing Unit (CPU)…”].
As to claim 4, Hamlin teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of devices is coupled to the controller via at least one of: a Systems-on-Chip (SoC) interconnect, a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) bus, or a Universal Serial Bus (USB) port [0010: “At least one of the plurality of devices may be coupled to the controller via at least one of: a Systems-on-Chip (SoC) interconnect…”].
As to claim 5, Hamlin teaches wherein the SoC interconnect comprises at least one of: an Advanced Microcontroller Bus Architecture (AMBA) bus, a QuickPath Interconnect (QPI) bus, or a HyperTransport (HT) bus [0010: “The SoC interconnect may include at least one of: an Advanced Microcontroller Bus Architecture (AMBA) bus, a QuickPath Interconnect (QPI) bus, or a HyperTransport (HT) bus.”].
As to claim 6, Hamlin teaches wherein the service comprises a firmware update [0095: “consumers 304-306 may have access to aspects of firmware framework 307 directly through orchestrator 302 (e.g., capabilities module 309, data 310 module, etc.). OS 304, secondary IHS 305, and/or remote service(s) 306 may communicate with orchestrator 302 in band, sideband, or OOB, respectively, to issue commands to selected devices, collect telemetry, update firmware, etc. through firmware framework 307.”] [0230] [0231].
As to claim 7, Hamlin teaches wherein the orchestrator is configured to service the first device, at least in part, in response to a determination that the first node is configured to execute firmware having a version older than a later version [0231: “In some cases, with respect to capabilities exposed by a given node, policies module 308 may include access control rules based, at least in part, upon: last date of a firmware update or version of the node”].
As to claim 8, Hamlin teaches wherein the orchestrator is configured to service the first device, at least in part, in response to an error message or service request sent by at least one of: the first node, or the second node [0112: “upon execution of firmware 502 to instantiate firmware services 504 and/or exposed services 505, node 303 may provide node services or agent 603 configured to communicate with orchestration services 601 to send and receive control and/or data messages within firmware framework 307.”].
As to claim 9, Hamlin teaches wherein the first node is in communication with the second node on behalf of a third node, and wherein to service the first node, the orchestrator is configured to identify an alternative communication path between the second and third nodes [FIG. 7] [0121: “In some cases, each of protocol stacks 701 may be selected by orchestration services 601 based upon policy and/or context. For example, in situations where multiple protocol stacks may be available for a same inter-node connection, orchestration services 601 may direct each participating node 303 to instantiate a selected protocol stack depending upon the type of node, the present utilization of alternative communication paths, a battery charge level of IHS 100, a location of IHS 100, a security posture of IHS 100, a performance state of IHS 100, or any of the contextual information or state described herein.”].
As to claim 11, Hamlin teaches wherein the alternative communication path is over a different communication bus or protocol than a communication bus or protocol used in the communication between the first node and the second node [0121: “In some cases, each of protocol stacks 701 may be selected by orchestration services 601 based upon policy and/or context. For example, in situations where multiple protocol stacks may be available for a same inter-node connection, orchestration services 601 may direct each participating node 303 to instantiate a selected protocol stack depending upon the type of node, the present utilization of alternative communication paths…”] [The term “alternative” means different path from the original path.].
As to claim 12, Hamlin teaches wherein the orchestrator is configured to service the first node, at least in part, while the second and third nodes communicate over the alternative communication path [FIG. 7] [0121: “In some cases, each of protocol stacks 701 may be selected by orchestration services 601 based upon policy and/or context. For example, in situations where multiple protocol stacks may be available for a same inter-node connection, orchestration services 601 may direct each participating node 303 to instantiate a selected protocol stack depending upon the type of node, the present utilization of alternative communication paths, a battery charge level of IHS 100, a location of IHS 100, a security posture of IHS 100, a performance state of IHS 100, or any of the contextual information or state described herein.”].
As to claim 15, Hamlin teaches wherein the alternative communication path is selected based, at least in part, upon context information [0121: “In some cases, each of protocol stacks 701 may be selected by orchestration services 601 based upon policy and/or context. For example, in situations where multiple protocol stacks may be available for a same inter-node connection, orchestration services 601 may direct each participating node 303 to instantiate a selected protocol stack depending upon the type of node, the present utilization of alternative communication paths, a battery charge level of IHS 100, a location of IHS 100, a security posture of IHS 100, a performance state of IHS 100, or any of the contextual information or state described herein.”].
As to claim 16, Hamlin teaches wherein the context information is indicative of at least one of: a location of the IHS, bus traffic, the fourth node’s capabilities and interfaces, or the fourth node’s power state [0121: “In some cases, each of protocol stacks 701 may be selected by orchestration services 601 based upon policy and/or context. For example, in situations where multiple protocol stacks may be available for a same inter-node connection, orchestration services 601 may direct each participating node 303 to instantiate a selected protocol stack depending upon the type of node, the present utilization of alternative communication paths, a battery charge level of IHS 100, a location of IHS 100, a security posture of IHS 100, a performance state of IHS 100, or any of the contextual information or state described herein.”].
As to claim 17, Hamlin teaches a method, comprising:
producing, via a controller, an orchestrator of a firmware framework [0008: “a controller, where the controller comprises firmware that, upon execution by a processing core, causes the processing core to instantiate an orchestrator…”]; and
producing, via a plurality of devices [0009: “The plurality of devices comprises at least one of: a sensor, a sensor hub, a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a Graphical Processing Unit (GPU), an audio Digital Signal Processor (aDSP)…” ] coupled to the controller, a plurality of nodes, wherein the orchestrator is configured to service a first node part of an active communication path between a second and a third node in the firmware framework without any involvement by any Operating System (OS) [FIG. 7] [0112: “upon execution of firmware 502 to instantiate firmware services 504 and/or exposed services 505, node 303 may provide node services or agent 603 configured to communicate with orchestration services 601 to send and receive control and/or data messages within firmware framework 307.”].
As to claim 18, Hamlin teaches wherein to service the first node, the orchestrator is configured to set up an alternative communication path between the second and third nodes, and wherein the alternative communication path is selected based, at least in part, upon context information [FIG. 7] [0121: “In some cases, each of protocol stacks 701 may be selected by orchestration services 601 based upon policy and/or context. For example, in situations where multiple protocol stacks may be available for a same inter-node connection, orchestration services 601 may direct each participating node 303 to instantiate a selected protocol stack depending upon the type of node, the present utilization of alternative communication paths, a battery charge level of IHS 100, a location of IHS 100, a security posture of IHS 100, a performance state of IHS 100, or any of the contextual information or state described herein.”].
As to claim 19, Hamlin teaches an Embedded Controller (EC) integrated into or coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform of an Information Handling System (IHS), the EC comprising:
a processing core distinct from any host processor of the heterogeneous computing platform [0017: “an Embedded Controller (EC) may be integrated into or coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform of an IHS, the EC comprising: a processing core distinct from any host processor of the heterogeneous computing platform”] and
a memory coupled to the processing core, the memory having firmware instructions stored thereon that, upon execution by the processing core, cause the EC to: produce an orchestrator as part of a firmware framework [0017: “a memory coupled to the processing core, the memory having firmware instructions stored thereon that, upon execution by the processing core, cause the EC to: produce an orchestrator as part of a firmware framework…”]; and service a first node disposed in a communication path between a second and a third node of the firmware framework without any involvement by any Operating System (OS) [FIG. 7] [FIG..6] [0112: “upon execution of firmware 502 to instantiate firmware services 504 and/or exposed services 505, node 303 may provide node services or agent 603 configured to communicate with orchestration services 601 to send and receive control and/or data messages within firmware framework 307.”] [0114: “consumers 304-306 may access orchestration services 601 directly through orchestrator 302, without relying on any host OS of IHS 100.”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamlin et al. (hereinafter Hamlin) (US 20250291763 A1) in view of Srivastava et al. (hereinafter Srivastava) (US 20160285757 A1).
As to claim 10, Hamlin does no teach wherein the orchestrator is configured to identify the alternative communication path based at least in part upon a state machine of nodes present in the firmware framework.
Srivastava teaches identifying communication path based upon a state machine on chips [0117: “at step 908, it is determined whether the second communication path should be enabled. This may be determined in any suitable manner. For example, state machines on the first and second chips may determine the communication path should be switched based on information received through the first communication path (e.g., the information may indicate that configuration is complete or that USB data is ready to be transferred) or through other suitable indications.”] [0118].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of determining communication path based upon a state machine as suggested in Srivastava into Hamlin to implement communication path control. On having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to reduce complexity and improve maintainability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcome the rejection under 112 (a) and (b).
Conclusion
/XUXING CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176