DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1, 5, and 9 have been amended; Claims 2, 6, and 10 have been canceled; No claims have been added. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 11-12 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chatterjee et al. (US 2024/0196413 A1) (Chatterjee hereafter).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Chatterjee teaches, a terminal comprising:
a memory storing a program (Chatterjee; memory/storage devices 420 of Fig. 4, Par. 0095); and
one or more processors configured to execute the program to (Chatterjee; processors 410 of Fig. 4, Par. 0094):
receive, from a base station, a radio resource control message (Chatterjee; decoding a system information block (SIB) in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) format, the DCI format received based on the CORESET and the CSS, Par. 0256) [Examiner’s Note: SIB1 is an RRC message/system information transmitted via PDSCH. Configuration of the separate initial DL BWP and SSB parameters are provided via SIB1 signaling per Par. 0110 and 0127],
receive, from the base station, a first synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block based on information used for configuring a periodicity of the first SS/PBCH block included in the radio resource control message (Chatterjee; where the SSB periodicity and indexing are identical to the Cell Defining SSB (CD-SSB) for the camping or serving cell, Par. 0120) [Examiner’s Note: The CD-SSB is the first SS/PBCH block, and its periodicity is configured via system information (ssb-periodicityServingCell). The UE receives the CD-SSB based on this configured periodicity],
receive, from the base station, a second SS/PBCH block based on information used for configuring a frequency of the second SS/PBCH block and information used for configuring a periodicity of the second SS/PBCH block in a case where the information used for configuring the frequency of the second SS/PBCH block and the information used for configuring the periodicity of the second SS/PBCH block are included in the radio resource control message (Chatterjee; Alternatively, in some aspects, the SSB periodicity may be different from that of the CD-SSB. In a further example, for same or longer periodicity values compared to the CD-SSB, the SSB occasions in the separate initial DL BWP may be the same or a proper subset of the SSB occasions for the CD-SSB, Par. 0121; a RedCap UE, provided with SSB configuration in the separate initial DL BWP (DL BWP #0A), may be provided with the frequency location of the SSB via SIB1 signaling, Par. 0127) [Examiner’s Note: Par. 0121 discloses that the SSB periodicity for the second SSB in the separate initial DL BWP may be different from the CD-SSB, meaning a separate periodicity parameter is configured. Par. 0127 discloses that the frequency location is also separately provided via SIB1. When both frequency and periodicity are configured for the second SSB, the UE receives the second SS/PBCH block based on both], and
receive, from the base station, the second SS/PBCH block based on the information used for configuring the frequency of the second SS/PBCH block and the information used for configuring the periodicity of the first SS/PBCH block in a case where the information used for configuring the frequency of the second SS/PBCH block is included in the radio resource control message and the information used for configuring the periodicity of the second SS/PBCH block are not included in the radio resource control message (Chatterjee; a RedCap UE may expect configuration of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) in a separate initial DL BWP (DL BWP #0A) that is configured via SIB signaling with Type 1 PDCCH CSS for random access related DL reception for RedCap UEs if the DL BWP #0A is also configured with Type 2 PDCCH CSS for paging reception, where the SSB periodicity and indexing are identical to the Cell Defining SSB (CD-SSB) for the camping or serving cell but located with non-zero offsets from the NR frequency raster in the frequency domain, Par. 0120; a RedCap UE, provided with SSB configuration in the separate initial DL BWP (DL BWP #0A), may be provided with the frequency location of the SSB via SIB1 signaling, Par. 0127) [Examiner’s Note: Par. 0120 discloses that the default configuration for the SSB in the separate initial DL BWP uses the same periodicity as the CD-SSB (first SSB), meaning no separate periodicity parameter is configured for the second SSB. However, the frequency location of the second SSB is separately provided via SIB1 signaling (Par. 0127) at a non-zero offset from the NR frequency raster. Thus, when the frequency of the second SSB is included in the RRC message but its own periodicity is not separately configured, the UE receives the second SS/PBCH block using the frequency of the second SSB and the periodicity of the first SS/PBCH block (CD-SSB)].
Regarding claim 5, Chatterjee teaches, a base station comprising:
a memory storing a program (Chatterjee; memory/storage devices 420 of Fig. 4, Par. 0095); and
one or more processors configured to execute the program to (Chatterjee; processors 410 of Fig. 4, Par. 0094):
transmit, to a terminal, a radio resource control message (Chatterjee; encoding a system information block (SIB) for transmission to the RedCap UE, the SIB transmitted in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) format, the DCI format transmitted based on the CORESET and the CSS, the SIB to further configure an additional CORESET within a separate initial DL BWP for the RedCap UE, Par. 0267) [Examiner’s Note: SIB1 is an RRC message/system information transmitted via PDSCH. Configuration of the separate initial DL BWP and SSB parameters are provided via SIB1 signaling per Par. 0110 and 0127],
transmit, to the terminal, a first synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block based on information used for configuring a periodicity of a first SS/PBCH block included in the radio resource control message (Chatterjee; where the SSB periodicity and indexing are identical to the Cell Defining SSB (CD-SSB) for the camping or serving cell, Par. 0120) [Examiner’s Note: The base station transmits the CD-SSB (first SS/PBCH block) based on the periodicity configured in system information (ssb-periodicityServingCell) as is standard in NR],
transmit, to the terminal, a second SS/PBCH block based on information used for configuring a frequency of the second SS/PBCH block and information used for configuring a periodicity of the second SS/PBCH block in a case where the information used for configuring the frequency of the second SS/PBCH block and the information used for configuring the periodicity of the second SS/PBCH block are included in the radio resource control message (Chatterjee; Alternatively, in some aspects, the SSB periodicity may be different from that of the CD-SSB. In a further example, for same or longer periodicity values compared to the CD-SSB, the SSB occasions in the separate initial DL BWP may be the same or a proper subset of the SSB occasions for the CD-SSB, Par. 0121; a RedCap UE, provided with SSB configuration in the separate initial DL BWP (DL BWP #0A), may be provided with the frequency location of the SSB via SIB1 signaling, Par. 0127) [Examiner’s Note: Par. 0121 discloses that the SSB periodicity for the second SSB in the separate initial DL BWP may be different from the CD-SSB, meaning a separate periodicity parameter is configured and transmitted. Par. 0127 discloses that the frequency location is also separately provided via SIB1. When both frequency and periodicity are configured for the second SSB, the base station transmits the second SS/PBCH block based on both], and
transmit, to the terminal, the second SS/PBCH block based on the information used for configuring the frequency of the second SS/PBCH block and the information used for configuring the periodicity of the first SS/PBCH block in a case where the information used for configuring the frequency of the second SS/PBCH block is included in the radio resource control message and the information used for configuring the periodicity of the second SS/PBCH block are not included in the radio resource control message (Chatterjee; a RedCap UE may expect configuration of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) in a separate initial DL BWP (DL BWP #0A) that is configured via SIB signaling with Type 1 PDCCH CSS for random access related DL reception for RedCap UEs if the DL BWP #0A is also configured with Type 2 PDCCH CSS for paging reception, where the SSB periodicity and indexing are identical to the Cell Defining SSB (CD-SSB) for the camping or serving cell but located with non-zero offsets from the NR frequency raster in the frequency domain, Par. 0120; a RedCap UE, provided with SSB configuration in the separate initial DL BWP (DL BWP #0A), may be provided with the frequency location of the SSB via SIB1 signaling, Par. 0127) [Examiner’s Note: Par. 0120 discloses that the default configuration for the SSB in the separate initial DL BWP uses the same periodicity as the CD-SSB (first SSB), meaning no separate periodicity parameter is configured for the second SSB. However, the frequency location of the second SSB is separately provided via SIB1 signaling (Par. 0127) at a non-zero offset from the NR frequency raster. Thus, when the frequency of the second SSB is included in the RRC message but its own periodicity is not separately configured, the base station transmits the second SS/PBCH block using the frequency of the second SSB and the periodicity of the first SS/PBCH block (CD-SSB)].
Regarding claims 3, 7 and 11, Chatterjee teaches, the terminal according to claim 1,
wherein the first SS/PBCH block is a cell defining SS/PBCH block, and the second SS/PBCH block is a non-cell defining SS/PBCH block (Chatterjee; where the SSB periodicity and indexing are identical to the Cell Defining SSB (CD-SSB) for the camping or serving cell but located with non-zero offsets from the NR synchronization raster in the frequency domain. Thus, although the SSB in DL BWP #0A may also be associated with an RMSI, such an SSB may not be interpreted as a Cell Defining SSB (CD-SSB) as it is not located on the synchronization raster, Par. 0123).
Regarding claims 4, 8 and 12, Chatterjee teaches, the terminal according to claim 1,
wherein the second SS/PBCH block is transmitted in an initial downlink bandwidth part for a RedCap terminal (Chatterjee; a RedCap UE may expect configuration of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) in a separate initial DL BWP (DL BWP #0A) that is configured via SIB signaling with Type 1 PDCCH CSS for random access related DL reception for RedCap UEs, Par. 0120).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NOEL R. BEHARRY
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416