DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, 13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kojima et al (US Pat No 9,873,584).
Regarding claim 1, Kojima discloses an apparatus for storing media items at a storage zone, comprising:
a storage zone (above 31) for storing media items (BL);
a port region (e.g. around discharge roller 37) proximate to the storage zone for receiving at least one media item;
at least one guide member (33L/R) disposed to a respective lateral side of a desired location in the storage zone;
a transport guide surface (30f) for a media item entering the storage zone; and
wherein each guide comprises a first upper edge, each upper edge disposed at a height position greater than a corresponding height of an upper edge of the transport guide surface (as shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Kojima discloses the first end region comprises an upper edge of the guide member that is proximate to a surface defining an upper boundary of the storage zone and wherein a whole or a portion of the upper edge is disposed at a height position greater or equal to said corresponding height (as shown in figures 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 3, Kojima discloses the guide member has an upper edge that is disposed at a height above or equal to a plane that is spaced apart from and substantially parallel with an imaginary plane associated with the desired location (as shown in figures 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Kojima discloses each guide member comprises an elongate body in an upstanding configuration adjacent to said desired location and said first end region comprises a region of the elongate body at an upper end of the elongate body (as shown in figures 4 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Kojima discloses the elongate body comprises an abutment surface that has an abutment surface portion (53) on a stack facing side of the elongate body and a distal end surface that is for facing vertically upwards when the media item enters the storage zone (as shown in figure 7).
Regarding claim 9, Kojima discloses the guide member comprises a side wall of the storage zone (shown in figure 7).
Regarding claim 10, Kojima discloses the guide member is configured to urge the media items away from a side peripheral region of the storage zone (as shown in figures 12-15).
Regarding claim 13, Kojima discloses one or more mover elements (e.g. 37) that move the media items along a transport pathway portion (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Kojima discloses one or more urging members (39B) to flatten the media items in the storage zone (see figure 8).
Regarding claim 16, Kojima discloses the storage zone comprises a chamber region in a storage receptacle, wherein the storage receptacle comprises a currency cassette and each media item comprises a currency note of a specified denomination whereby currency notes of a common denomination are stacked in the currency cassette (shown in figure 2, further, note MPEP section 2115).
Regarding claim 17, Kojima discloses a method for receiving media items at a desired location in a storage zone, comprising:
providing at least one media item (BL) one-by-one at a port region (e.g. near roller 37) proximate to a storage zone; and
as each media item leaves a transport guide surface (30f) to enter the storage zone, guiding a trajectory of the media item via at least one guide member (33L/R) disposed to a respective lateral side of a desired location in the storage zone and that has an upper edge disposed at a height position greater than a corresponding height of an upper edge of the transport guide surface (shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Kojima discloses guiding the trajectory of the media item via an abutment surface of the guide member, said abutment surface (53) comprising an abutment surface portion on a stack facing side of the guide member, and a distal end surface portion that faces vertically upwards as the media item moves to the desired location in the storage zone (shown in figure 4).
Regarding claim 19, Kojima discloses guiding the trajectory of the media item via at least one pair of guide members, each guide member of the at least one pair of guide members being disposed on a respective lateral side of the storage zone, each guide member of the at least one pair of guide members comprising a body having a respective end region higher in a vertical direction than the corresponding height (shown in figure 7).
Regarding claim 20, Kojima discloses the storage zone comprises a chamber region in a storage receptacle, wherein the storage receptacle comprises a currency cassette, and wherein each media item comprises a currency note of a specified denomination whereby currency notes of a common denomination are stacked in the currency cassette (shown in figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, it is noted that Kojima is silent to the specific size of the guide element. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified made the guide member 30 or 40 mm since finding an optimal size/dimension for a component only requires routine skill in the art. Such a size would accommodate media being acquired in a substantial stack to accommodate them neatly. Finally, the applicant’s disclosure lacks criticality for the dimensions claimed.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al, in view of Kuriyama et al (US Pat No 9,120,639)
Regarding claim 12, It is noted that Kojima fails to disclose the guide being smooth and made of plastic. However, Kuriyama discloses a guide member (345) comprises at least one surface that has a smooth surface finish and optionally the guide member is manufactured from an injection moulded plastic material (see column 9, lines 32-40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the guide taught by Kojima with the teachings of the guide taught by Kuriyama to achieve the predictable result of allowing sheets to easily be guided down to the stack, as taught by Kuriyama.
The applicant’s recitation of injection moulded plastic recites a product by process in which the process in which the product is made is not given patentable weight. Claim limitations are not limited to the process used but the end product in structural claims (see MPEP 2113).
Claim 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al, in view of Hirata (US Pat No 9,931,871)
Regarding claim 11, it is noted that Kojima fails to explicitly disclose the guide member. However, Hirata discloses a similar discharge side guide wherein the side guides (3) adjust to the size of the media stacked (see column 5, lines 19-25). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Kojima with the teachings of Kuriyama to achieve the predictable result of adjusting to the size of the media being stacked.
Regarding claim 14, it is noted that Kojima fails to explicitly disclose the media is stored in an aligned stack. However, discloses the storage zone is configured to store items in an aligned stack (e.g. via front stop 4 and side stop 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified to have a stable stack of media for ease of removal via feeding or via cassette.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the applicant’s argument that Kojima fails to disclose the newly claimed features relating to the height of the side guides and the upper edge thereof compared to an upper edge of a transport guide surface; the referenced transport guide, since it no longer fits the claimed invention is being changed to the guide 30f of Kojima (considered to be commensurate with the disclosed transport guide) wherein the guide has a height substantially lower than that of the upper edge of the side guides (shown in figure 3).
It is noted that the applicant amended the claimed over the previous interpretation however, alternate interpretations of the claims (in various ways) are possible given such a broad independent claim reciting, essentially 3 pieces of remotely detailed structure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619