Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending. Claims 2-13 and 17 are withdrawn. Claims 1 and 14-16 are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1 and 14-16) in the reply filed on 09/10/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 17 should be rejoined because claim 14 recites anti-Lactoferrin antibody prepared using the lactoferrin polypeptide fragment and claim 17 is the use of the lactoferrin polypeptide fragment of claim 1 in the preparation fragment of claim 1. Applicant also argues that there is no search burden. This is not found persuasive because using a peptide fragment for assaying has different functional and structural characteristics (i.e., materially different process) than an antibody for lactoferrin. As stated in the Restriction (bottom of page 3), Group I focuses on searching the structure of product rather the process of using it. Meanwhile, the withdrawn claim 17 could be part of “use” claims which is an attempt to claim a process without setting forth active steps which could be under 35 U.S.C. 101. In other words, the claim is not for rejoinder if the product were to be found allowable.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 2-13 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to natural product without significantly more. Claim 1 recites a lactoferrin polypeptide fragment that has an amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 1. Claims 14-16 recite an anti-lactoferrin antibody.
With respect to claim 1, Cornish teaches lactoferrin fragment is natural (at para. [0056]). Cornish teaches peptide fragments that contain KNLL (651-659 residues) and FNDNTECL (660-668 residues) (at Table 1b-continued, right col. of pg. 13). Cornish also teaches SEQ ID NO:8 (see below) which contains the claimed Lactoferrin polypeptide fragment that has the full-length of SEQ ID NO: 1 (US2009/0270309A1, published 10/29/2009). With respect to claims 14-16, Audrain teaches anti-lactoferrin autoantibodies are found in several autoimmune conditions (at abstract) (“Anti-Lactoferrin Autoantibodies: Relation between Epitopes and Iron-binding Domain”, Journal of Autoimmunity (1996), vol. 9, pgs. 569-574).
The claimed lactoferrin fragment is analyzed to determine if separating a peptide from its surrounding material has resulted in having different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart. Based on the limited background information, there is no indication that separating into a peptide fragment (as claimed) has any characteristics (structural, functional, or otherwise) that are different from naturally occurring fragments hydrolyzed, for example, by protease enzymes in the body. Also, SEQ ID NO: 8 of Cornish is from a natural Bos taurus (cattle). The claim therefore encompasses a sequence that is structurally and functionally identical to naturally occurring sequence/protein. Additionally, the structure of Audrain’s anti-lactoferrin autoantibodies is the same as the claimed anti-lactoferrin antibody (both structures bind to lactoferrin). Because there is no difference between the claimed and naturally occurring structures, the claimed peptide fragment and antibody do not have markedly different characteristics from what occurs in nature, and thus is a “product of nature” exception. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an exception (Step 2A: YES). Because the claim does not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception (Step 2B: NO), the claims do not qualify as eligible subject matter and being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
With respect to claims 15-16, these recitations are directed to the product-by-process (see below). Thus, these limitations do not change the structure of the claimed antibody of claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 15-16 recite recitations that are directed to “product-by-process” claim of producing the anti-lactoferrin antibody. However, these product-by-process recitations do not further limit the structure of the anti-lactoferrin antibody other than defining the steps of producing the antibody. The structure of the anti-lactoferrin antibody has not changed, therefore, these recitations do not further limit the structure of the product of claim 14.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cornish et al. (US2009/0270309A1, published 10/29/2009).
Cornish teaches lactoferrin fragment or a lactoferrin hydrolysate (see abstract). Cornish teaches peptide fragments that contain KNLL (651-659 residues) and FNDNTECL (660-668 residues) (at Table 1b-continued, right col. of pg. 13), which would read on an amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 1). The phrase “an amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 1” encompasses sequences that comprise the full-length sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 or any portion of SEQ ID NO: 1. On the other hand, if the phrase were to recite “the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 1”, then the claim encompasses only the full length of SEQ ID NO: 1, with or without additional amino acid residues at either or both ends. However, Cornish also teaches SEQ ID NO:8 (see below) which contains the claimed Lactoferrin polypeptide fragment that has the full-length of SEQ ID NO: 1.
Claim 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keiichi et al. (JPH08269099A, published 10/15/1996). The passages cited below are from a machine translation, as Keiichi is not in English.
Keiichi teaches peptide of a human or bovine source lactoferrin fragment with sensitivity (see abstract). Keiichi teaches an anti-lactoferrin polyclonal antibody (at pg. 3, para. 2), which would read on the structure of an anti-lactoferrin antibody. Keiichi teaches a peptide derived from human lactoferrin to produce the monoclonal antibody (at pg. 3, para. 5). Note that the recitation of “prepared using the lactoferrin polypeptide fragment” is interpreted as product-by-process of a product claim because the recitation does not set forth a process.
The recitation of “prepared using the Lactoferrin polypeptide fragment according to claim 1, wherein the anti-Lactoferrin antibody is prepared by: coupling the Lactoferrin polypeptide fragment to a carrier protein, conducting rabbit immunization, collecting rabbit blood when a specific immunoglobulin (IgG) concentration in a rabbit serum reaches a peak, and then separating and purifying the rabbit serum for the anti-Lactoferrin antibody” is product-by-process limitation. The claim is directed to a product which is an anti-Lactoferrin antibody. Thus, Keiichi’s anti-lactoferrin polyclonal antibody reads on all the structures of the claimed antibody. MPEP 2113 states:
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) (Claim was directed to a novolac color developer. The process of making the developer was allowed. The difference between the inventive process and the prior art was the addition of metal oxide and carboxylic acid as separate ingredients instead of adding the more expensive pre-reacted metal carboxylate. The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added, but is instead produced in-situ does not change the end product.). Furthermore, "[b]ecause validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes." Amgen Inc. v. F. Hoffman-La Roche Ltd., 580 F.3d 1340, 1370 n 14, 92 USPQ2d 1289, 1312, n 14 (Fed. Cir. 2009). However, in the context of an infringement analysis, a product-by-process claim is only infringed by a product made by the process recited in the claim. Id. at 1370 ("a product in the prior art made by a different process can anticipate a product-by-process claim, but an accused product made by a different process cannot infringe a product-by-process claim"). (Emphasis added).
With respect to claims 15-16, these recitations are directed to the product-by-process (see above). Thus, these limitations do not change the structure of the claimed antibody of claim 14.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/N.P.N/Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/SHAFIQUL HAQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678