DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 06/08/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filled on 06/08/2026, with respect to Claim Objection of 15-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filled on 06/08/2026, with respect to35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-20 have been fully considered but not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 18, applicant argues that “… The specification defines "carrier frequency" as corresponding to "an absolute frequency range (for example, 2450MHz to 2550Mhz), or an absolute frequency range in a frequency band. The absolute frequency range can be expressed by the absolute center frequency point (in ARFCN) and bandwidth. The carrier frequency can also be called a physical carrier or a Radio frequency carrier." Application, ¶ 53. Differently, a "carrier," as used in the claims, "may represent a collection of sub-carriers based on one sub-carrier spacing. It can also be called a virtual carrier or a baseband carrier." Id., ¶ 49. The claimed correspondence between carriers and carrier frequencies establishes that "one carrier corresponds to more than one carrier frequencies. The bandwidth of a carrier may be equal to the sum of the bandwidths of more than one carrier frequencies." Id., ¶ 56. This relationship enables the use of fragmented spectrum resources, thereby improving utilization efficiency of spectrum resources. Id. …. Bao, ¶ 137. Bao teaches different configurations for a single correspondence between "second time-frequency resources" and "the second component carrier," and the Office appears to be mapping this common correspondence to both the first correspondence (between a first carrier and more than one second carriers) and the second correspondence (between second carriers and one or more carrier frequencies). Applicant submits this correspondence between time-frequency resources and component carriers is at least distinct from, and cannot anticipate or render obvious, the claimed second correspondence between second carriers and one or more carrier frequencies.” on pages 6-7.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Firstly, in response to applicant’s argument, that the references fail to show certain features such as “carrier may represent a collection of sub-carriers based on one sub-carrier spacing. It can also be called a virtual carrier or a baseband carrier." Id., ¶ 49. The claimed correspondence between carriers and carrier frequencies establishes that "one carrier corresponds to more than one carrier frequencies” are not the same as of applicant’s invention. It is noted that these features upon which applicant relies which set forth above italic are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir.1993). Thus, the argument of the limitations that are not in the claims is irrelevant.
Secondly, regarding “Bao teaches different configurations for a single correspondence between "second time-frequency resources" and "the second component carrier." This correspondence between time-frequency resources and component carriers is at least distinct from, and cannot anticipate or render obvious, the claimed second correspondence between second carriers and one or more carrier frequencies”. It is not true that Bao just teaches different configurations for a single correspondence. Refer to ¶ 136 below:
[0136] At block 1102, the base station determines a mapping between first time-frequency resources corresponding to a first component carrier (e.g., CC1) and second time-frequency resources corresponding to a second component carrier (e.g., CC2).
Bao determines to configure to mapping for a device with a configuration includes two correspondences. A first correspondence is between a first component carrier (CC1) and first time-frequency resources and second correspondence is between second component carrier (CC2) and second time-frequency resources. That is, the correspondence between multiple carriers (CC1, CC2) and multiple time-frequency resources/(referred as carrier frequencies).
Further, Applicant argues that “Applicant is unable to ascertain, and the Office has not provided a reasoned articulation for, how a correspondence between time-frequency resources and component carriers could teach or motivate the claimed second correspondence between carriers and carrier frequencies because a person ordinarily skilled in the art (POSITA) would readily determine that Bao's time- frequency resources (or resource elements (REs)) are distinct from the claimed "carrier," which corresponds to a collection of sub-carriers based on one sub-carrier spacing (also referred to as a baseband carrier)”.
For at least the reasons discussed above, the combination of Yi and Bao does not render obvious every feature of amended claim 1. Zhou does not cure the deficiencies of Yi and Bao in this regard and was not cited therefor. Accordingly, claim 1 is allowable” on pages 7-8.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Firstly, the claim broadly recited the “second correspondence between the second carriers and the one or more carrier frequencies”. The claim is not recited “carrier corresponds to a collection of sub-carriers based on one sub-carrier spacing”, even that the Specification indicated it so (see Spec. ¶ 49). Thus, the limitations that are not in the claims is irrelevant (See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir.1993)).
Secondly, according to Fig. 2 and ¶ 52 of the Speciation below:
[0052] FIG. 2 shows an example of the relationship between a carrier, a frequency domain representation of resource grid, and BWP. As depicted from bottom to top, a resource grid may comprise two bandwidth parts having same subcarrier spacing (RG1 with BWP1 and SCS1, and with BWP2 and SCS1), which are included in a carrier that occupies resources in the frequency domain.
The claim invention indicated the relationship between a carrier, a frequency domain representation of resource grid, and BWP. In Bao, the correspondence between time-frequency resources and component carriers presents similar concept as of the claimed second correspondence between carriers and carrier frequencies.
Thirdly, Yi teaches the wireless device to determine a size of a resource allocation field based on a first bandwidth part of a first uplink carrier and a second bandwidth part of a second uplink carrier, which related to carrier and bandwidth/(resources). Bao teaches a device determines a mapping between first time-frequency resources corresponding to a first component carrier (CC) and second time-frequency resources corresponding to a second CC, which related to component carrier and bandwidth part (BWP)/(resources). Thus, it would have been obvious to one person ordinarily skilled in the art (POSITA) would readily determine that Bao's time- frequency resources to provide “wherein the radio configuration information includes a first correspondence between a first carrier in the first carrier configuration and more than one second carriers in the second carrier configuration” in the system of YI, so that it would to advance wireless communication technologies not only to meet the growing demand for mobile broadband access, but to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications [see BAO, ¶ 5].
Regarding argument of claims 8 and 15, the claims recite features similar to those recited in claim 1, and are therefore not allowable for at least the reasons discussed above.
Regarding argument of claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20, the claims depend, either directly or indirectly, from independent claims 1, 8 or 15, and are therefore not patentable for at least the same reasons as claims 1, 8 and 15, as well as for additional patentable features that are recited in those dependent claims.
For at least the reasons discussed above, the 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1-20 are sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over YI et al. (WO 2021/231522) in view of BAO et al. (US 2021/0258991).
Regarding claim 1, YI discloses a method of wireless communication [see Fig. 20, ¶¶ 282-283; a method for a multi-carrier scheduling], comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, a radio configuration information [see Fig. 20, ¶ 282; receiving, by a wireless device, configuration parameters/radio configuration information] that includes a first carrier configuration, a second carrier configuration and a carrier frequency configuration [see Fig. 20, 23B, ¶¶ 283, 313; wherein the configuration parameters may comprise/indicate a first PUSCH- Config for a first BWP of the first uplink carrier, a second PUSCH-Config for a second BWP of the second uplink carrier as the normal uplink carrier of the second cell, a third PUSCH-Config for the second BWP of the second uplink carrier as the supplemental uplink carrier of the first cell], wherein the radio configuration information includes a first correspondence between a first carrier in the first carrier configuration and more than one second carriers in the second carrier configuration [¶ 339; a pair of {a scheduling offset, a SLIV} may correspond to one or more carriers of the plurality of carriers]; and
operating the wireless device according to the radio configuration information [see Fig. 3, ¶¶ 282, 369; operating the wireless device according to the configuration parameters/radio configuration information].
YI disclose all aspects of claim invention set forth above including “wherein the radio configuration information includes a first correspondence between a first carrier in the first carrier configuration and more than one second carriers in the second carrier configuration”, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the radio configuration information includes a first correspondence between a first carrier in the first carrier configuration and more than one second carriers in the second carrier configuration “and a second correspondence between second carriers and one or more carrier frequencies”.
However, BAO discloses wherein the radio configuration information includes a first correspondence between a first carrier in the first carrier configuration and more than one second carriers in the second carrier configuration [see Fig. 11, ¶¶ 136-137; wherein the CSI-RS resource configuration includes a shadow CSI-RS resource configuration (e.g., shadow-NZP-CSI-RS resource configuration) for the second time-frequency resources corresponding to the second component carrier (CC2)] and a second correspondence between second carriers and one or more carrier frequencies [see Fig. 11, ¶ 137; wherein the CSI-RS resource configuration includes a resource configuration for a mirrored bandwidth part (BWP) (e.g., mirror_BWP_ID IE) associated with the second time-frequency resources corresponding to the second component carrier];
operating the wireless device according to the radio configuration information [see Fig. 11, ¶ 139; at block 1108, operating a channel state information (CSI) report including predicted CSI on the second time-frequency resources corresponding to the second component carrier based on the CSI-RS resource configuration].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the radio configuration information includes a first correspondence between a first carrier in the first carrier configuration and more than one second carriers in the second carrier configuration and a second correspondence between second carriers and one or more carrier frequencies” as taught by BAO in the system of YI, so that it would to advance wireless communication technologies not only to meet the growing demand for mobile broadband access, but to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications [see BAO, ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 4, the combined system of YI and BAO discloses the method of claim 1.
YI further discloses wherein a bandwidth of the first carrier is equal to a sum of bandwidths of the more than one second carriers [¶ 244; the size of the frequency domain assignment field may be determined as a number of RBGs in the sum of the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth].
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of YI and BAO discloses the method of claim 1.
YI does not explicitly disclose wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in the carrier frequency configuration.
However, BAO discloses wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in the first carrier configuration or the second carrier configuration [¶ 143; wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in the first carrier configuration or the second carrier configuration].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in the first carrier configuration or the second carrier configuration” as taught by BAO in the system of YI, so that it would to advance wireless communication technologies not only to meet the growing demand for mobile broadband access, but to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications [see BAO, ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 6, the combined system of YI and BAO discloses the method of claim 1.
YI does not explicitly disclose wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in the carrier frequency configuration.
However, BAO discloses wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in the carrier frequency configuration [¶ 143; a mapping between first time-frequency resources corresponding to a first component carrier and second time-frequency resources corresponding to a second component carrier].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in the carrier frequency configuration” as taught by BAO in the system of YI, so that it would to advance wireless communication technologies not only to meet the growing demand for mobile broadband access, but to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications [see BAO, ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 7, the combined system of YI and BAO discloses the method of claim 1.
YI further discloses wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in a separate configuration in the radio configuration information [¶ 254; first transport block and the second transport block via the first cell and the second cell may be different, that is the configuration parameters may comprise/indicate one or more first HARQ processes for the first cell and the configuration parameters may comprise/indicate one or more second HARQ processes for the second cell].
Regarding claims 8 and 11-14, the claims recite a method of wireless communication to perform the method of wireless communication recited as in claims 1 and 4-7 respectively; therefore, claims 8 and 11-14 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 1 and 4-7 respectively.
Regarding claims 15 and 18-20, the claims recite a wireless device for wireless communication comprising at least one processor (See Fig. 15, ¶¶ 191-195; wireless device 1502 comprising reception processing system 1522) configured to implement a method to perform the method of wireless communication recited as in claims 1 and 4-5 respectively; therefore, claims 8 and 11-14 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 1 and 4-6 respectively.
Claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over YI et al. (WO 2021/231522) in view of BAO et al. (US 2021/0258991), and further in view of ZHOU et al. (CN 104969486).
Regarding claim 2, the combined system of YI and BAO discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose
wherein one part of a collection of subcarriers of the first carrier is mapped to a collection of subcarriers of one of the more than one second carriers, another part of the collection of subcarriers of the first carrier is mapped to a collection of subcarriers of another one of the more than one second carriers.
However, ZHOU discloses wherein one part of a collection of subcarriers of the first carrier is mapped to a collection of subcarriers of one of the more than one second carriers [see Fig. 5, page 5-6; the first frequency is the first sub-first frequency mapping mode set corresponding to the subset of the second subset of frequency is set second subcarrier-frequency mapping mode], another part of the collection of subcarriers of the first carrier is mapped to a collection of subcarriers of another one of the more than one second carriers [see Fig. 6, page 6-7; wherein the first frequency set and the second frequency set without any overlap].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein one part of a collection of subcarriers of the first carrier is mapped to a collection of subcarriers of one of the more than one second carriers, another part of the collection of subcarriers of the first carrier is mapped to a collection of subcarriers of another one of the more than one second carriers” as taught by ZHOU in the combined system of YI and BAO, so that it would to improve the transmission efficiency of the communication system [see ZHOU, ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 3, the combined system of YI, BAO, and ZHOU discloses the method of claim 2.
The combined system of YI and BAO does not explicitly disclose wherein frequency resources of the first carrier include frequency resources of the more than one second carriers.
However, ZHOU discloses wherein frequency resources of the first carrier include frequency resources of the more than one second carriers [¶ 244; the size of the frequency domain assignment field may be determined as a number of RBGs in the sum of the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein frequency resources of the first carrier include frequency resources of the more than one second carriers” as taught by ZHOU in the combined system of YI and BAO, so that it would to improve the transmission efficiency of the communication system [see ZHOU, ¶ 5].
Regarding claims 9-10, the claims recite the method of claim 8 to perform the method of wireless communication recited as in claims 2-3 respectively; therefore, claims 9-10 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 2-3 respectively.
Regarding claims 16-17, the claims recite the wireless device of claim 15 to perform the method of wireless communication recited as in claims 2-3 respectively; therefore, claims 16-17 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 2-3 respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.In additional to references cited that are used for rejection as set forth above, LI et al. (WO 2023/284485) is also considered as relevant prior arts for rejection of in claims 1, 8, and 15 (See LI et al., Fig. 5, 6, pages 20-21).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469