DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 04/26/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 15-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recited, “A wireless device for wireless communication comprising at least one processor configured to implement a method, comprising:
receiving, .., and
operating …”
The claim is a mix statutory classes (e.g. hybrid claim which combined of device and method). For clarity, it is suggested to structure the wireless device to perform the function as follow:
“A wireless device for wireless communication comprising:
at least one processor configured to:
receiving, .., and
operating …”
Claims 16-20 are also objected since they are depended on objected claim 15.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over YI et al. (WO 2021/231522) in view of BAO et al. (US 2021/0258991).
Regarding claim 1, YI discloses a method of wireless communication [see Fig. 20, ¶¶ 282-283; a method for a multi-carrier scheduling], comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, a radio configuration information [see Fig. 20, ¶ 282; receiving, by a wireless device, configuration parameters/radio configuration information] that includes a first carrier configuration, a second carrier configuration and a carrier frequency configuration [see Fig. 20, 23B, ¶¶ 283, 313; wherein the configuration parameters may comprise/indicate a first PUSCH- Config for a first BWP of the first uplink carrier, a second PUSCH-Config for a second BWP of the second uplink carrier as the normal uplink carrier of the second cell, a third PUSCH-Config for the second BWP of the second uplink carrier as the supplemental uplink carrier of the first cell], wherein the radio configuration information includes a first correspondence between a first carrier in the first carrier configuration and more than one second carriers in the second carrier configuration [¶ 339; a pair of {a scheduling offset, a SLIV} may correspond to one or more carriers of the plurality of carriers]; and
operating the wireless device according to the radio configuration information [see Fig. 3, ¶¶ 282, 369; operating the wireless device according to the configuration parameters/radio configuration information].
YI disclose all aspects of claim invention set forth above including “wherein the radio configuration information includes a first correspondence between a first carrier in the first carrier configuration and more than one second carriers in the second carrier configuration”, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the radio configuration information includes a first correspondence between a first carrier in the first carrier configuration and more than one second carriers in the second carrier configuration “and a second correspondence between second carriers and one or more carrier frequencies”.
However, BAO discloses wherein the radio configuration information includes a first correspondence between a first carrier in the first carrier configuration and more than one second carriers in the second carrier configuration [see Fig. 11, ¶ 137; wherein the CSI-RS resource configuration includes a shadow CSI-RS resource configuration (e.g., shadow-NZP-CSI-RS resource configuration) for the second time-frequency resources corresponding to the second component carrier] and a second correspondence between second carriers and one or more carrier frequencies [see Fig. 11, ¶ 137; wherein the CSI-RS resource configuration includes a resource configuration for a mirrored bandwidth part (BWP) (e.g., mirror_BWP_ID IE) associated with the second time-frequency resources corresponding to the second component carrier];
operating the wireless device according to the radio configuration information [see Fig. 11, ¶ 139; at block 1108, operating a channel state information (CSI) report including predicted CSI on the second time-frequency resources corresponding to the second component carrier based on the CSI-RS resource configuration].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the radio configuration information includes a first correspondence between a first carrier in the first carrier configuration and more than one second carriers in the second carrier configuration and a second correspondence between second carriers and one or more carrier frequencies” as taught by BAO in the system of YI, so that it would to advance wireless communication technologies not only to meet the growing demand for mobile broadband access, but to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications [see BAO, ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 4, the combined system of YI and BAO discloses the method of claim 1.
BAO further discloses wherein a bandwidth of the first carrier is equal to a sum of bandwidths of the more than one second carriers [¶ 244; the size of the frequency domain assignment field may be determined as a number of RBGs in the sum of the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth].
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of YI and BAO discloses the method of claim 1.
BAO further discloses wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in the first carrier configuration or the second carrier configuration [¶ 244; ].
Regarding claim 6, the combined system of YI and BAO discloses the method of claim 1.
YI does not explicitly disclose wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in the carrier frequency configuration.
However, BAO discloses wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in the carrier frequency configuration [¶ 143; a mapping between first time-frequency resources corresponding to a first component carrier and second time-frequency resources corresponding to a second component carrier].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in the carrier frequency configuration” as taught by BAO in the system of YI, so that it would to advance wireless communication technologies not only to meet the growing demand for mobile broadband access, but to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications [see BAO, ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 7, the combined system of YI and BAO discloses the method of claim 1.
BAO further discloses wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is indicated in a separate configuration in the radio configuration information [¶ 254; first transport block and the second transport block via the first cell and the second cell may be different, that is the configuration parameters may comprise/indicate one or more first HARQ processes for the first cell and the configuration parameters may comprise/indicate one or more second HARQ processes for the second cell].
Regarding claims 8 and 11-14, the claims recite a method of wireless communication to perform the method of wireless communication recited as in claims 1 and 4-7 respectively; therefore, claims 8 and 11-14 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 1 and 4-7 respectively.
Regarding claims 15 and 18-20, the claims recite a wireless device for wireless communication comprising at least one processor (See Fig. 15, ¶¶ 191-195; wireless device 1502 comprising reception processing system 1522) configured to implement a method to perform the method of wireless communication recited as in claims 1 and 4-5 respectively; therefore, claims 8 and 11-14 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 1 and 4-6 respectively.
Claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over YI et al. (WO 2021/231522) in view of BAO et al. (US 2021/0258991), and further in view of ZHOU et al. (CN 104969486).
Regarding claim 2, the combined system of YI and BAO discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose
wherein one part of a collection of subcarriers of the first carrier is mapped to a collection of subcarriers of one of the more than one second carriers, another part of the collection of subcarriers of the first carrier is mapped to a collection of subcarriers of another one of the more than one second carriers.
However, ZHOU discloses wherein one part of a collection of subcarriers of the first carrier is mapped to a collection of subcarriers of one of the more than one second carriers [see Fig. 5, page 5-6; the first frequency is the first sub-first frequency mapping mode set corresponding to the subset of the second subset of frequency is set second subcarrier-frequency mapping mode], another part of the collection of subcarriers of the first carrier is mapped to a collection of subcarriers of another one of the more than one second carriers [see Fig. 6, page 6-7; wherein the first frequency set and the second frequency set without any overlap].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein one part of a collection of subcarriers of the first carrier is mapped to a collection of subcarriers of one of the more than one second carriers, another part of the collection of subcarriers of the first carrier is mapped to a collection of subcarriers of another one of the more than one second carriers” as taught by ZHOU in the combined system of YI and BAO, so that it would to improve the transmission efficiency of the communication system [see ZHOU, ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 3, the combined system of YI, BAO, and ZHOU discloses the method of claim 2.
The combined system of YI and BAO does not explicitly disclose wherein frequency resources of the first carrier include frequency resources of the more than one second carriers.
However, ZHOU discloses wherein frequency resources of the first carrier include frequency resources of the more than one second carriers [¶ 244; the size of the frequency domain assignment field may be determined as a number of RBGs in the sum of the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein frequency resources of the first carrier include frequency resources of the more than one second carriers” as taught by ZHOU in the combined system of YI and BAO, so that it would to improve the transmission efficiency of the communication system [see ZHOU, ¶ 5].
Regarding claims 9-10, the claims recite the method of claim 8 to perform the method of wireless communication recited as in claims 2-3 respectively; therefore, claims 9-10 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 2-3 respectively.
Regarding claims 16-17, the claims recite the wireless device of claim 15 to perform the method of wireless communication recited as in claims 2-3 respectively; therefore, claims 16-17 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 2-3 respectively.
Conclusion
In additional to references cited that are used for rejection as set forth above, LI et al. (WO 2023/284485) is also considered as relevant prior arts for rejection of in claims 1, 8, and 15 (See LI et al., Fig. 5, 6, pages 20-21).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469