DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No.11,952,541. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims drawn to a process for hydrotreating a hydrocarbon feedstock utilizing a hydrotreating step, a separation step, a condensing step, and a washing step. There are some minor differences between the two sets of claims and such differences would have been obvious to one of skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandvold et al. (US 2009/0253947 A1).
Brandvold discloses a process for producing hydrocarbon fuels from renewable feedstocks comprising hydrotreating a feed stream in the presence of hydrogen and a hydrotreating catalyst to produce a hydrotreated stream (see e.g., Brandvold ¶¶[0029], [0033]).
Brandvold further discloses separating the hydrotreated effluent into liquid and gaseous streams and passing the liquid stream to a hydrogen stripper column to provide an overhead gaseous stream and a bottoms hydrocarbon stream (see e.g., ¶¶[0035]-[0038]). Brandvold further teaches cooling and condensing the overhead gaseous stream to produce a gas stream and condensed liquid stream (see e.g., Fig. 1 and associated description). Brandvold additionally teaches removing sulfur-containing components from the hydrogen-containing gas stream prior to recycle and states that sulfur components may be removed using techniques such as absorption with an amine or by caustic wash (¶[0049]). Thus Brandvold teaches contacting a gas stream produced from the hydrotreating separation system with caustic wash to remove sulfur, which inherently produces:
• a sulfur-lean gas stream, and• a sulfur-rich spent caustic stream.
Therefore, Brandvold teaches the limitation of claim 1 reciting:
contacting at least a portion of the stripper off-gas stream with a caustic stream to provide a sulfur-lean gas stream and a sulfur-rich spent caustic stream.
Claim 2 is anticipated by Brandvold because removal of sulfur compounds using caustic wash inherently comprises selectively removing sulfur from the gas stream.
Claim 14 is anticipated because Brandvold discloses hydrotreating biorenewable feedstocks (see e.g., ¶¶[0005], [0010]).
Claims 15–17 are anticipated because the recited contacting step for sulfur removal using caustic wash is disclosed by Brandvold and the additional limitations relate to process conditions and operational variations that are inherently satisfied in the disclosed sulfur-removal operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8–11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandvold (US 2009/0253947 A1) in view of Duesel et al. (US 7,214,290 B2).
As discussed above, Brandvold teaches the hydrotreating process and the production of a sulfur-rich spent caustic stream resulting from caustic washing of a gas stream.
Duesel teaches processes for treating spent caustic refinery effluents containing sulfur compounds such as sulfides and mercaptides (see e.g., Duesel col. 1, lines 20-40).
Duesel further teaches supplying such spent caustic streams to a submerged combustion gas evaporator where combustion gases are injected to thermally treat the spent caustic stream (see e.g., Duesel col. 3, lines 10-35). The process produces exhaust gas streams which are subsequently treated or purified prior to discharge (see e.g., Duesel col. 6, lines 5-25). Thus, Duesel teaches:
• combustion treatment of sulfur-containing spent caustic streams• generation of flue gas streams• treatment or purification of the resulting gas streams.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat the sulfur-rich spent caustic stream produced in the process of Brandvold using the combustion-based spent-caustic treatment techniques of Duesel in order to dispose of sulfur-containing refinery caustic wastes and reduce sulfur emissions.
Claims 4–7, 12, 13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandvold (US 2009/0253947 A1) in view of Ladkat et al. (US 2017/0183581 A1).
Brandvold teaches the hydrotreating process including the stripper and gas separation steps as discussed above.
Ladkat teaches hydrogen recovery systems associated with hydrotreating processes in which stripper off-gas streams are contacted with sponge oil in a sponge absorber column to recover LPG hydrocarbons (see e.g., Ladkat ¶¶[0074]–[0076]). Ladkat further teaches:
• sponge absorber systems producing sponge off-gas streams• fractionation of LPG-rich streams• recycling of hydrocarbon streams to fractionation units• hydrogen recovery from purge gas streams and recycle to the hydrotreating reactor (see e.g., ¶¶[0076]–[0086]).
These teachings correspond to the sponge absorber, LPG recovery, fractionation, and hydrogen recovery steps recited in claims 4–7, 12, 13, and 18.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the sponge absorber and LPG recovery operations of Ladkat into the hydrotreating system of Brandvold in order to improve recovery of hydrocarbons and hydrogen from the process gas streams.
Regarding claim 20, Brandvold teaches hydrotreating a feedstock, separating hydrotreated effluent into liquid and gas streams, and recycling hydrogen-containing gas streams to the hydrotreating reactor.
Ladkat teaches hydrogen recovery systems for hydroprocessing operations in which hydrogen-containing gas streams are purified using pressure swing adsorption (PSA) units comprising solid adsorbent media to remove impurities from hydrogen streams (Ladkat ¶¶[0080]–[0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to purify the purge gas stream of the hydrotreating system of Brandvold using the hydrogen purification techniques of Ladkat in order to improve hydrogen recovery and reactor efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Brandvold does not teach contacting at least a portion of the stripper off-gas stream with a caustic stream, asserting that Brandvold instead teaches amine treatment. This argument is not persuasive.
Brandvold discloses a process for producing hydrocarbon fuels in which hydrogen from a reaction zone is recycled and sulfur-containing components are removed from the gas stream prior to recycle. Brandvold teaches that sulfur-containing components such as hydrogen sulfide must be removed before hydrogen recycle and that removal may be accomplished using amine absorption or by caustic wash. See Brandvold ¶[0049]. Thus, Brandvold explicitly teaches caustic washing as an alternative technique for removing sulfur components from the hydrogen-containing gas stream.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771