The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 20 claims and claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on 12/12/2025 with respect to claims 1-10 and 12-20 in the remarks, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the limitations of claim 20. See the rejection below of claim 20 for relevant citations found in Choi disclosing the newly added limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a
bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus, wherein the method comprises:”. Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory medium storing a bitstream of a video wherein clauses that appear to describe how the bitstream is generated. These elements or steps are not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for storing the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system. Therefore, those claim elements are not given patentable weight. Patentable weight is given to data stored on a computer-readable medium when there exists a functional relationship between the data and its associated substrate. See MPEP 2111.05 III. For example, if a claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium containing programming, a functional relationship exists if the programming “performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated.” However, if the claim recites that the computer-readable medium merely serves as a storage for information or data that is not meant for being executed, no functional relationship exists and the information or data is not given patentable weight.
The Examiner suggests that the claim be amended so that it is directed to a functional relationship. For example, in this particular case, the claim should instead be recited as “A method of storing a bitstream of a video into a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium, wherein the bitstream is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus, wherein the method comprises:”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0235095 A1), [hereinafter Choi].
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media storing a bitstream ([0418] Meanwhile, the aforedescribed embodiments of the disclosure may be written as a program executable on a computer, and may be implemented in general-use digital computers that execute the program by using a computer-readable recording medium). The bitstream generated by the encoding method of claim 20 is merely data. There is no recitation of a processor or other element—merely data content (coding mode information data representative of [coding modes]). Under MPEP 2111.05(III), these claims are merely machine-readable media. The Examiner finds that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored data and medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994) and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004). As such, claim 19 is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. Pang et al., US 2016/0105670 A1, discloses prediction of video blocks based on other video blocks.
2. Rapaka et. al., US 2017/0034526 A1A1, discloses techniques and systems for restricting bi-prediction in video coding.
3. ZHAO, US 2020/0154100 A1, discloses methods for implementing constrained intra prediction and most probable mode list generation.
4. Pang et al., US 2015/0264386 A1, discloses techniques for performing Intra-prediction for video coding.
Conclusion
/MD N HAQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487