35 USC 103
Claims 1 – 16 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over (JIAN - KR 20200037231 A) in view of DAI et al. (US Pub. No. 20230113448).
With respect to claim 1, the JIAN reference teaches a receiving a plurality of information bits (k), wherein k is a positive integer (page 7, lines 19-25 – decoder 242 in the second (receive) wireless communication device 204 performs redundancy to reliably restore the information message even if bit errors may occur, in part due to the addition of noise to the channel); generating a plurality of convolutionally encoded bits (n) by performing a convolutional encoding operation on the plurality of information bits and a plurality of frozen bits (n−k), wherein n is a positive integer (page 10, lines 35-65 – polar encoder 742 can determine the number of information bits and the number of frozen bits based on the code rate R).
The JIAN reference does not teach performing a refreezing operation on the plurality of convolutionally encoded bits, wherein the refreezing operation includes dynamically assigning zeros to selected frozen indices such that a number of low weight codewords is reduced; generating a plurality of polar encoded bits by performing a polar encoding operation on an output of the refreezing operation; and providing the plurality of polar encoded bits for transmission or storage..
The DAI et al. reference teaches performing a refreezing operation on the plurality of convolutionally encoded bits, wherein the refreezing operation includes dynamically assigning zeros to selected frozen indices such that a number of low weight codewords is reduced ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)); generating a plurality of polar encoded bits by performing a polar encoding operation on an output of the refreezing operation ([0077] - encoded bit sequence does not need to be divided into 32 subblocks (or another quantity of subblocks)); and providing the plurality of polar encoded bits for transmission or storage ([0077] - encoded bit sequence is mapped to a circular buffer based on the rate matching sequence for a subsequent puncturing operation (certainly, a shortening operation is also similar)).
Thus, it would have been obvious at a time prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have combined the references JIAN and DAI et al. to incorporate the limitations performing a refreezing operation on the plurality of convolutionally encoded bits, wherein the refreezing operation includes dynamically assigning zeros to selected frozen indices such that a number of low weight codewords is reduced; generating a plurality of polar encoded bits by performing a polar encoding operation on an output of the refreezing operation; and providing the plurality of polar encoded bits for transmission or storage into the claimed invention.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to by the proposed combination of the references JIAN and DAI for and performing a refreezing operation on the plurality of convolutionally encoded bits, wherein the refreezing operation includes dynamically assigning zeros to selected frozen indices such that a number of low weight codewords is reduced; generating a plurality of polar encoded bits by performing a polar encoding operation on an output of the refreezing operation; and providing the plurality of polar encoded bits for transmission or storage references for improving performance ([0062] - DAI).
With respect to claims 2 and 10, all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9, have been addressed.
The JIAN reference does not teach wherein dynamically assigning zeros to the selected frozen indices further comprises: obtaining a threshold for weights of rows, wherein an index of the rows belongs to the information bits; obtaining a smallest index of the information bits with a weight of a row not larger than the threshold; identifying frozen indices as candidate frozen indices such that indexes of the candidate frozen indices are larger than the smallest index; and refreezing a value of a bit at the candidate frozen index to zero when a support of the candidate frozen index, excluding a support of an index corresponding to information bits that has a row weight less than or equal to the threshold, has cardinality equal to one.
The DAI et al. reference teaches wherein dynamically assigning zeros to the selected frozen indices further comprises: obtaining a threshold for weights of rows, wherein an index of the rows belongs to the information bits ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)); obtaining a smallest index of the information bits with a weight of a row not larger than the threshold ([0080] - channels corresponding to first N-M polarized sub-channel sequence numbers in the sequence 1 or the sequence 2. For the sequence 3, bits that need to be punctured are bits carried by polarized sub-channels at which N-M smallest values in the sequence 3 are located, or bits carried by polarized sub-channels at which M largest values are located are retained); identifying frozen indices as candidate frozen indices such that indexes of the candidate frozen indices are larger than the smallest index ([0078] - the puncturing operation is as follows: deleting, based on the target code length M, bits carried by polarized sub-channels at which N-M smallest values in the rate matching sequence are located, or taking, based on the target code length M, bits carried by polarized sub-channels corresponding to M largest values in the rate matching sequence.); and refreezing a value of a bit at the candidate frozen index to zero when a support of the candidate frozen index, excluding a support of an index corresponding to information bits that has a row weight less than or equal to the threshold, has cardinality equal to one ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)).
Thus, it would have been obvious at a time prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have combined the references JIAN and DAI et al. to incorporate the limitations wherein dynamically assigning zeros to the selected frozen indices further comprises: obtaining a threshold for weights of rows, wherein an index of the rows belongs to the information bits; obtaining a smallest index of the information bits with a weight of a row not larger than the threshold; identifying frozen indices as candidate frozen indices such that indexes of the candidate frozen indices are larger than the smallest index; and refreezing a value of a bit at the candidate frozen index to zero when a support of the candidate frozen index, excluding a support of an index corresponding to information bits that has a row weight less than or equal to the threshold, has cardinality equal to one. into the claimed invention.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to by the proposed combination of the references JIAN and DAI for wherein dynamically assigning zeros to the selected frozen indices further comprises: obtaining a threshold for weights of rows, wherein an index of the rows belongs to the information bits; obtaining a smallest index of the information bits with a weight of a row not larger than the threshold; identifying frozen indices as candidate frozen indices such that indexes of the candidate frozen indices are larger than the smallest index; and refreezing a value of a bit at the candidate frozen index to zero when a support of the candidate frozen index, excluding a support of an index corresponding to information bits that has a row weight less than or equal to the threshold, has cardinality equal to one for improving performance ([0062] - DAI).
With respect to claim 3 and 11, all of the limitations of claims 2 and 10, have been addressed.
The JIAN reference does not teach wherein the threshold for the weights of rows corresponds to a minimum weight.
The DAI et al. reference teaches wherein the threshold for the weights of rows corresponds to a minimum weight ([0058] - u.sub.A is the information bit set in u.sub.1.sup.N, and u.sub.A is a row vector with a length of K, that is, |A|=K. |⋅| represents a quantity of elements in the set, and K is an information block size. G.sub.N (A) is the submatrix that is obtained from those rows corresponding to the indices in the set A and that is in the matrix G.sub.N. G.sub.N (A) is a K×N matrix).
Thus, it would have been obvious at a time prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have combined the references JIAN and DAI et al. to incorporate the limitations wherein the threshold for the weights of rows corresponds to a minimum weight into the claimed invention.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to by the proposed combination of the references JIAN and DAI for wherein the threshold for the weights of rows corresponds to a minimum weight for improving performance ([0062] - DAI).
With respect to claims 4 and 12, all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9, have been addressed.
The JIAN reference does not teach wherein dynamically assigning zeros to the selected frozen indices further comprises: obtaining a threshold for weights of rows, wherein an index of the rows belong to the information bits; obtaining a smallest index of the information bits with a weight of a row not larger than the threshold; and refreezing a value of a bit at the frozen index to zero when (i) a weight of the row corresponding to the frozen index is less than or equal to the threshold, and (ii) the frozen index is larger than the smallest index.
The DAI et al. reference teaches wherein dynamically assigning zeros to the selected frozen indices further comprises: obtaining a threshold for weights of rows, wherein an index of the rows belong to the information bits ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)); obtaining a smallest index of the information bits with a weight of a row not larger than the threshold) ([0080] - channels corresponding to first N-M polarized sub-channel sequence numbers in the sequence 1 or the sequence 2. For the sequence 3, bits that need to be punctured are bits carried by polarized sub-channels at which N-M smallest values in the sequence 3 are located, or bits carried by polarized sub-channels at which M largest values are located are retained); and refreezing a value of a bit at the frozen index to zero when (i) a weight of the row corresponding to the frozen index is less than or equal to the threshold, and (ii) the frozen index is larger than the smallest index ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)).
Thus, it would have been obvious at a time prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have combined the references JIAN and DAI et al. to incorporate the limitations wherein dynamically assigning zeros to the selected frozen indices further comprises: obtaining a threshold for weights of rows, wherein an index of the rows belong to the information bits; obtaining a smallest index of the information bits with a weight of a row not larger than the threshold; and refreezing a value of a bit at the frozen index to zero when (i) a weight of the row corresponding to the frozen index is less than or equal to the threshold, and (ii) the frozen index is larger than the smallest index into the claimed invention.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to by the proposed combination of the references JIAN and DAI for wherein dynamically assigning zeros to the selected frozen indices further comprises: obtaining a threshold for weights of rows, wherein an index of the rows belong to the information bits; obtaining a smallest index of the information bits with a weight of a row not larger than the threshold; and refreezing a value of a bit at the frozen index to zero when (i) a weight of the row corresponding to the frozen index is less than or equal to the threshold, and (ii) the frozen index is larger than the smallest index for improving performance ([0062] - DAI).
With respect to claim 5 and 13, all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9, have been addressed.
The JIAN reference does not wherein the output v of the refreezing operation is vi={0,ifi ∈,Ui, otherwise. where i=0, 1, . . . , N−1, N=2.sup.n is a length of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the output v of the refreezing operation, and is the selected frozen indices.
The DAI et al. reference teaches wherein the output v of the refreezing operation is vi={0,ifi ∈,Ui, otherwise. where i=0, 1, . . . , N−1, N=2.sup.n is a length of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the output v of the refreezing operation, and is the selected frozen indices ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)).
Thus, it would have been obvious at a time prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have combined the references JIAN and DAI et al. to incorporate the limitations wherein the output v of the refreezing operation is vi={0,ifi ∈,Ui, otherwise. where i=0, 1, . . . , N−1, N=2.sup.n is a length of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the output v of the refreezing operation, and is the selected frozen indices into the claimed invention.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to by the proposed combination of the references JIAN and DAI for wherein the output v of the refreezing operation is vi={0,ifi ∈,Ui, otherwise. where i=0, 1, . . . , N−1, N=2.sup.n is a length of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the output v of the refreezing operation, and is the selected frozen indices for performance ([0009] - DAI).
With respect to claims 6 and 14, all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9, have been addressed.
The JIAN reference does not wherein the selected frozen indices j satisfy j>i and .Math.j\i.Math.>1, where .sub.i is support of a set for index i and .sub.j is support of a set for index j, |.Math.| is a number of elements of a set, i=0, 1, . . . , N−1, and N is a length of the convolutionally encoded bits.
The DAI et al. reference teaches wherein the output v of the refreezing operation is vi={0,ifi ∈,Ui, otherwise. where i=0, 1, . . . , N−1, N=2.sup.n is a length of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the output v of the refreezing operation, and is the selected frozen indices ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)).
Thus, it would have been obvious at a time prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have combined the references JIAN and DAI et al. to incorporate the limitations wherein the output v of the refreezing operation is vi={0,ifi ∈,Ui, otherwise. where i=0, 1, . . . , N−1, N=2.sup.n is a length of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the output v of the refreezing operation, and is the selected frozen indices into the claimed invention.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to by the proposed combination of the references JIAN and DAI for wherein the output v of the refreezing operation is vi={0,ifi ∈,Ui, otherwise. where i=0, 1, . . . , N−1, N=2.sup.n is a length of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the convolutionally encoded bits u, u.sub.i is an ith bit of the output v of the refreezing operation, and is the selected frozen indices for performance ([0009] - DAI).
With respect to claim 7 and 15, all of the limitations of claims 6 and 14, have been addressed.
The JIAN reference does not teach wherein the support of a set are indices at which a binary form of an index has non-zero values.
The DAI et al. reference teaches wherein the support of a set are indices at which a binary form of an index has non-zero values ([0057] - encoding matrix of the polar code is G.sub.N, and an encoding process of the polar code is x.sub.1.sup.N=u.sub.1.sup.NG.sub.N, where u.sub.1.sup.N=(u.sub.1, u.sub.2, . . . , u.sub.N) is a binary row vector with a length of N (that is, a code length; and it can be learned that lengths of a pre-encoding sequence x and a post-encoding sequence u are both N, and Nis also referred to as a mother code length)).
Thus, it would have been obvious at a time prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have combined the references JIAN and DAI et al. to incorporate the limitations wherein the support of a set are indices at which a binary form of an index has non-zero values the claimed invention.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to by the proposed combination of the references JIAN and DAI for wherein the support of a set are indices at which a binary form of an index has non-zero values for improving performance ([0062] - DAI).
With respect to claims 8 and 16, all of the limitations of claims and 1 and 9, have been addressed.
The JIAN reference does not teach wherein the low weight codewords are minimum weight codewords.
The DAI et al. reference teaches wherein the low weight codewords are minimum weight codewords ([0058] - u.sub.A is the information bit set in u.sub.1.sup.N, and u.sub.A is a row vector with a length of K, that is, |A|=K. |⋅| represents a quantity of elements in the set, and K is an information block size. G.sub.N (A) is the submatrix that is obtained from those rows corresponding to the indices in the set A and that is in the matrix G.sub.N. G.sub.N (A) is a K×N matrix).
Thus, it would have been obvious at a time prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have combined the references JIAN and DAI et al. to incorporate the limitations wherein the low weight codewords are minimum weight codewords the claimed invention.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to by the proposed combination of the references JIAN and DAI for wherein the low weight codewords are minimum weight codewords for improving performance ([0062] - DAI).
With respect to claim 9, the JIAN reference teaches a transmitter (page 7, lines 19-25 – decoder 242 in the second (receive) wireless communication device 204 performs redundancy to reliably restore the information message even if bit errors may occur, in part due to the addition of noise to the channel); and a processor configured to: a receive a plurality of information bits (k), wherein k is a positive integer (page 7, lines 19-25 – decoder 242 in the second (receive) wireless communication device 204 performs redundancy to reliably restore the information message even if bit errors may occur, in part due to the addition of noise to the channel); generate a plurality of convolutionally encoded bits (n) by performing a convolutional encoding operation on the plurality of information bits and a plurality of frozen bits (n−k), wherein n is a positive integer (page 10, lines 35-65 – polar encoder 742 can determine the number of information bits and the number of frozen bits based on the code rate R).
The JIAN reference does not teach perform a refreezing operation on the plurality of convolutionally encoded bits, wherein the refreezing operation includes dynamically assigning zeros to selected frozen indices such that a number of low weight codewords is reduced, and generate a plurality of polar encoded bits by performing a polar encoding operation on an output of the refreezing operation, wherein the plurality of polar encoded bits are provided for transmission or storage.
The DAI et al. reference teaches perform a refreezing operation on the plurality of convolutionally encoded bits, wherein the refreezing operation includes dynamically assigning zeros to selected frozen indices such that a number of low weight codewords is reduced ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)); and generate a plurality of polar encoded bits by performing a polar encoding operation on an output of the refreezing operation ([0077] - encoded bit sequence does not need to be divided into 32 subblocks (or another quantity of subblocks)), wherein the plurality of polar encoded bits are provided for transmission or storage ([0077] - encoded bit sequence is mapped to a circular buffer based on the rate matching sequence for a subsequent puncturing operation (certainly, a shortening operation is also similar)).
Thus, it would have been obvious at a time prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have combined the references JIAN and DAI et al. to incorporate the limitations teach perform a refreezing operation on the plurality of convolutionally encoded bits, wherein the refreezing operation includes dynamically assigning zeros to selected frozen indices such that a number of low weight codewords is reduced, and generate a plurality of polar encoded bits by performing a polar encoding operation on an output of the refreezing operation, wherein the plurality of polar encoded bits are provided for transmission or storage into the claimed invention.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to by the proposed combination of the references JIAN and DAI for teach teach perform a refreezing operation on the plurality of convolutionally encoded bits, wherein the refreezing operation includes dynamically assigning zeros to selected frozen indices such that a number of low weight codewords is reduced, and generate a plurality of polar encoded bits by performing a polar encoding operation on an output of the refreezing operation, wherein the plurality of polar encoded bits are provided for transmission or storage references for improving performance ([0062] - DAI).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over DAI et al. (US Pub. No. 20230113448) in view of (JIAN - KR 20200037231 A).
With respect to claim 17, the DAI et al. reference teaches a transceiver configured to receive a polar code with refrozen indices from a communication channel (([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)) ; and a processor configured to perform successive cancellation list decoding of the polar code with refrozen indices ([0060] - Reliability of any one of the K polarized sub-channels used for placing the K information bits is higher than reliability of any one of the M-P-K sub-channels used for placing the frozen bits), wherein the polar code with refrozen indices is generated by:
a receiving a plurality of information bits (k), wherein k is a positive integer (([0060] - the remaining K sub-channels are used for placing the information bits); performing a refreezing operation on the plurality of convolutionally encoded bits, wherein the refreezing operation includes dynamically assigning zeros to selected frozen indices such that a number of low weight codewords is reduced ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)); generating a plurality of polar encoded bits by performing a polar encoding operation on an output of the refreezing operation ([0077] - encoded bit sequence does not need to be divided into 32 subblocks (or another quantity of subblocks)).
The DAI et al. reference does not teach generating a plurality of convolutionally encoded bits (n) by performing a convolutional encoding operation on the plurality of information bits and a plurality of frozen bits (n−k), wherein n is a positive integer.
The JIAN reference teaches generating a plurality of convolutionally encoded bits (n) by performing a convolutional encoding operation on the plurality of information bits and a plurality of frozen bits (n−k), wherein n is a positive integer (page 10, lines 35-65 – polar encoder 742 can determine the number of information bits and the number of frozen bits based on the code rate R).
Thus, it would have been obvious at a time prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have combined the references DAI et al. and JIAN to incorporate the limitations and generating a plurality of convolutionally encoded bits (n) by performing a convolutional encoding operation on the plurality of information bits and a plurality of frozen bits (n−k), wherein n is a positive integer into the claimed invention.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to by the proposed combination of the references DAI and JIAN for and generating a plurality of convolutionally encoded bits (n) by performing a convolutional encoding operation on the plurality of information bits and a plurality of frozen bits (n−k), wherein n is a positive integer for improve the polar coding error rate performance (page 12, lines 20-21 - JIAN).
With respect to claim 18, the DAI et al. reference teaches wherein dynamically assigning zeros to the selected frozen indices further comprises: obtaining a threshold for weights of rows, wherein an index of the rows belongs to the information bits ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)); obtaining a smallest index of the information bits with a weight of a row not larger than the threshold ([0080] - channels corresponding to first N-M polarized sub-channel sequence numbers in the sequence 1 or the sequence 2. For the sequence 3, bits that need to be punctured are bits carried by polarized sub-channels at which N-M smallest values in the sequence 3 are located, or bits carried by polarized sub-channels at which M largest values are located are retained); identifying frozen indices as candidate frozen indices such that indexes of the candidate frozen indices are larger than the smallest index ([0078] - the puncturing operation is as follows: deleting, based on the target code length M, bits carried by polarized sub-channels at which N-M smallest values in the rate matching sequence are located, or taking, based on the target code length M, bits carried by polarized sub-channels corresponding to M largest values in the rate matching sequence); and refreezing a value of a bit at the candidate frozen index to zero when a support of the candidate frozen index, excluding a support of an index corresponding to information bits that has a row weight less than or equal to the threshold, has cardinality equal to one ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)).
With respect to claim 19, the DAI et al. reference teaches wherein the threshold for the weights of rows corresponds to a minimum weight ([0058] - u.sub.A is the information bit set in u.sub.1.sup.N, and u.sub.A is a row vector with a length of K, that is, |A|=K. |⋅| represents a quantity of elements in the set, and K is an information block size. G.sub.N (A) is the submatrix that is obtained from those rows corresponding to the indices in the set A and that is in the matrix G.sub.N. G.sub.N (A) is a K×N matrix).
With respect to claim 20, the DAI et al. reference teaches wherein dynamically assigning zeros to the selected frozen indices further comprises: obtaining a threshold for weights of rows, wherein an index of the rows belong to the information bits ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)); obtaining a smallest index of the information bits with a weight of a row not larger than the threshold) ([0080] - channels corresponding to first N-M polarized sub-channel sequence numbers in the sequence 1 or the sequence 2. For the sequence 3, bits that need to be punctured are bits carried by polarized sub-channels at which N-M smallest values in the sequence 3 are located, or bits carried by polarized sub-channels at which M largest values are located are retained); and refreezing a value of a bit at the frozen index to zero when (i) a weight of the row corresponding to the frozen index is less than or equal to the threshold, and (ii) the frozen index is larger than the smallest index ([0060] - The N-M polarized sub-channels selected herein are used for placing frozen bits. In a 5G NR standard, for puncturing, some polarized sub-channels that are referred to as pre-frozen polarized sub-channels are additionally determined, and are also used for placing frozen bits. Herein, a quantity of the pre-frozen polarized sub-channels may be defined as P, where P is greater than or equal to 0 (for shortening, P is obviously 0 and may not need to be considered in this case)).
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
EA
7/21/26
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112