DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 03/27/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/27/2024, 10/14/2024, 06/02/2025 and 09/03/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figures 1-6 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. (Examiner’s Note: This is in according with par. 14 of Specification.)
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 13, 15, 17, 21-22 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 line 5 and last line “a current signal” and “the first coefficient” should be “the current signal” and “a first coefficient”. Claim 13 line 6 “a second current reference value” and “the input inductance” should be “the second current reference value” and “an input inductance”. Claim 15 line 2 “the resonant frequency of the LC parallel resonance between the output impedance” should be “a resonant frequency of a LC parallel resonance between an output impedance”. Claim 17 lines 1-3 “a first current reference value according to an input voltage of the power conversion module, a voltage of the second capacitor of the damping circuit, and a voltage reference value” this should be “the first current reference value according to the input voltage of the power conversion module, the voltage of the second capacitor of the damping circuit, and the voltage reference value”. Claims 21 and 22 recite “a second current reference value according to an input voltage of the power conversion module and a current signal related to an input current” should be “the second current reference value according to the input voltage of the power conversion module and the current signal related to an input current”. Claim 24 recites “a driving signal according to an inductor current flowing through the first inductor and an inductor current reference value” this should be “the driving signal according to the inductor current flowing through the first inductor and the inductor current reference value”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
In re to claims 16-30, method claims 16-30 are rejected based on the following case law, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 12, 14, 16-19, 25, 27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alali US 2022/0200282 in view of Mohan US 5548165.
Regarding Claims 1 and 16, Alali teaches (Figures 2-3 and 7) a power conversion system (Fig. 2), comprising a power conversion module (7), wherein the power conversion module comprises ,a damping circuit (9 and 11) and a first capacitor connected in series (at 10), and a controller (26 and 12), wherein the damping circuit comprises a first inductor (at 10), a first switch (13), a second switch (14), and a second capacitor (3), and the first switch and the second switch are connected in series to form a first bridge arm (8); the first inductor is connected between an intermediate node of the first bridge arm and the first capacitor (see fig. 3), and the second capacitor is connected in parallel to the first bridge arm (see fig. 2), the controller comprises: a capacitor voltage control unit (26, 60 and 62, Fig. 7), obtaining a first reference value (from 62) according to an input voltage of the power conversion module (Vs, 26), a voltage of the second capacitor (Vdc), and a voltage reference value of the second capacitor (Vdcref); a damping current generation unit (25a), obtaining a second reference value (determined by 25 and sent to 63) according to the input voltage of the power conversion module (Vs) and a current signal (IL) related to an input current of the power conversion module; and an inductor current control unit (18-24), outputting a driving signal (from 18) according to a current flowing through the first inductor (Iinj) and a current reference value (Iref) of the first inductor to control the first switch and the second switch (13-14), in order to stabilize the input voltage (with active compensation) of the power conversion module (Vs), wherein the current reference value of the first inductor is obtained according to the first reference value and the second reference value (from 25a producing Iref). (For Example: Par. 196-232)
Alali does not teach a first current reference value, a second current reference value, wherein the current reference value of the first inductor is obtained according to the first current reference value and the second current reference value.
Mohan teaches (Figures 1-3) a first current reference value (96), a second current reference value (98), wherein the current reference value (92) of the first inductor is obtained according to the first current reference value and the second current reference value (adder, Fig. 3). (For Example: Col. 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Alali to include a first current reference value, a second current reference value, wherein the current reference value of the first inductor is obtained according to the first current reference value and the second current reference value, as taught by Mohan to draw a current substantially in phase with the voltage across it in order to provide damping.
Regarding Claims 2 and 17, Alali teaches (Figures 2-3 and 7) wherein the capacitor voltage control unit comprises a phase-locked loop (at 26), and the phase-locked loop are used to track at least part of AC harmonic components of the input voltage (Vs) of the power conversion module (par. 196), and obtaining the first reference value according to the at least part of the AC harmonic components, the voltage of the second capacitor (Vdc) and the voltage reference value of the second capacitor (Vdcref). (For Example: Par. 196-232)
Alali does not teach a first current reference value, a second current reference value; and a first filter.
Mohan teaches (Figures 1-3) a first current reference value (96), a second current reference value (98), wherein the current reference value (92); and a first filter (102). (For Example: Col. 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Alali to include a first current reference value, a second current reference value; and a first filter, as taught by Mohan to draw a current substantially in phase with the voltage across it in order to provide damping.
Regarding Claims 3 and 18, Alali teaches (Figures 2-3 and 7), wherein the capacitor voltage control unit (26, 60-62) further comprises a first subtracter (60), a first regulator (62), and the first subtractor performs a subtraction operation on the voltage of the second capacitor (Vdc) and the voltage reference value of the second capacitor (Vdcref) to output a first error signal which is regulated by the first regulator (62). multiplied by a per-unit value of the at least part of AC harmonic components by the first multiplier to obtain the first current reference value.
Alali does not teach a first multiplier; multiplying by a per-unit value of the at least part of AC harmonic components by the first multiplier to obtain the first current reference value.
Mohan teaches (Figures 1-3) a first multiplier (113); multiplying by a per-unit value of the at least part of AC harmonic components (Col. 3 lines 23-40) by the first multiplier to obtain the first current reference value (Col. 5 lines 15-45). (For Example: Col. 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Alali to include a first current reference value, a second current reference value; and a first filter, as taught by Mohan to draw a current substantially in phase with the voltage across it in order to provide damping.
Regarding Claims 4 and 19, Alali teaches (Figures 2-3 and 7) wherein the power conversion system (fig. 2) further comprises a three-phase rectification circuit (par. 64 and claim 12), and an input port of the power conversion module (at 7) is connected to an output port of the three-phase rectification circuit (connected to 1); an input port of the three-phase rectification circuit is connected to a three-phase AC power source (1), and the at least part of AC harmonic components tracked by the phase-locked loop (196) comprise a harmonic component of the output voltage of the three-phase rectification circuit (par. 64 and claim 12). (For Example: Par. 196-232)
Alali does not teach a 12th harmonic component.
Mohan teaches (Figures 1-3) a 12th harmonic component (Col. 4 lines 5-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Alali to include a 12th harmonic component, as taught by Mohan to draw a current substantially in phase with the voltage across it in order to provide damping.
Regarding Claims 10 and 25, Alali teaches (Figures 2-3 and 7) wherein the power conversion module (7) further comprises a second adder (63), and the current reference value of the first inductor (iref) is obtained by adding the first reference value and the second reference value through the second adder (see fig. 7). (For Example: Par. 196-232)
Alali does not teach a first current reference value, a second current reference value.
Mohan teaches (Figures 1-3) a first current reference value (96), a second current reference value (98), wherein the current reference value (92). (For Example: Col. 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Alali to include a first current reference value, a second current reference value, as taught by Mohan to draw a current substantially in phase with the voltage across it in order to provide damping.
Regarding Claims 12 and 27, Alali teaches (Figures 2-3 and 7) the system.
Alali does not teach wherein the damping circuit is equivalent to a resistor after being regulated by the capacitor voltage control unit, the damping current generation unit, and the inductor current control unit.
Mohan teaches (Figures 1-3) wherein the damping circuit (with 24) is equivalent to a resistor (Col. 6 lines 15-40) after being regulated by the capacitor voltage control unit (at 112), the damping current generation unit (at 51), and the inductor current control unit (at 92 and 121). (For Example: Col. 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Alali to include wherein the damping circuit is equivalent to a resistor after being regulated by the capacitor voltage control unit, the damping current generation unit, and the inductor current control unit. as taught by Mohan to draw a current substantially in phase with the voltage across it in order to provide damping.
Regarding Claims 14 and 29, Alali teaches (Figures 2-3 and 7) a load conversion circuit (at 2), wherein the input port of the power conversion module (at 7) is connected in parallel to the input port of the load conversion circuit (Fig. 2), and the current signal related to the input current of the power conversion module is the input current of the load conversion circuit (IL) or the output current of the load conversion circuit. (For Example: Par. 196-232)
Claim(s) 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alali US 2022/0200282 in view of Mohan US 5548165 and further in view of Chang US 2010/0302818.
Regarding Claims 5 and 20, Alali teaches (Figures 2-3 and 7) the power conversion system.
Alali does not teach a single-phase rectification circuit, and an input port of the single-phase rectification circuit is connected to a single-phase AC power source; an input port of the power conversion module is connected to an output port of the single-phase rectification circuit, and the at least part of AC harmonic components tracked by the phase-locked loop comprise a second harmonic component, and/or 4th harmonic component, and/or 6th harmonic component of the output voltage of the single-phase rectification circuit.
Chang teaches (Figures 3) a single-phase rectification circuit (Fig, 3, 22), and an input port of the single-phase rectification circuit is connected to a single-phase AC power source (26); an input port of the power conversion module (boost converter) is connected to an output port of the single-phase rectification circuit (22), and the at least part of AC harmonic components tracked by the phase-locked loop comprise a second harmonic component (par. 8), and/or 4th harmonic component, and/or 6th harmonic component of the output voltage of the single-phase rectification circuit. (For Example: Par. 6-8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Alali to include a single-phase rectification circuit, and an input port of the single-phase rectification circuit is connected to a single-phase AC power source; an input port of the power conversion module is connected to an output port of the single-phase rectification circuit, and the at least part of AC harmonic components tracked by the phase-locked loop comprise a second harmonic component, and/or 4th harmonic component, and/or 6th harmonic component of the output voltage of the single-phase rectification circuit, as taught by Chang for improvement of the power factor and input current harmonics.
Claim(s) 9 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alali US 2022/0200282 in view of Mohan US 5548165 and further in view of Chapman US 20120087159.
Regarding Claims 9 and 24, Alali teaches (Figures 2-3 and 7) wherein the inductor current control unit (18-24) comprises a second subtractor (24), a second regulator (23), and; the second subtractor (24) performs a subtraction operation on the current flowing through the first inductor and the current reference value of the first inductor to output a second error signal (U) and the second error signal is regulated by the second regulator (23). (For Example: Par. 196-232)
Alali does not teach a first adder; and added to a duty cycle feedforward value by the first adder to obtain the driving signal.
Chapman teaches (Figure 10b) a first adder (at 236); and added to a duty cycle feedforward value (from 337) by the first adder to obtain the driving signal (d). (For Example: Par. 86 and 98)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Alali to include a first adder; and added to a duty cycle feedforward value by the first adder to obtain the driving signal, as taught by Chapman for ripple attenuation and to adaptively alter the calculation to improve the effectiveness.
Claim(s) 11 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alali US 2022/0200282 in view of Mohan US 5548165 and further in view of Li US2019/0229609.
Regarding Claims 11 and 26, Alali teaches (Figures 2-3 and 7) the system.
Alali does not teach a rectification circuit and a load conversion circuit, and the input port of the power conversion module is connected in parallel to the output port of the rectification circuit and the input port of the load conversion circuit; the sum of the input current of the power conversion module and the output current of the rectification circuit is the input current of the load conversion circuit, and the load conversion circuit is a DC-AC conversion circuit or a DC-DC conversion circuit.
Li teaches (Figures 1-5) a rectification circuit (10) and a load conversion circuit (ACDC or DC/DC converter), and the input port of the power conversion module is connected in parallel to the output port of the rectification circuit (10) and the input port of the load conversion circuit (Fig. 1 and 5a); the sum of the input current of the power conversion module and the output current of the rectification circuit is the input current of the load conversion circuit (see fig. 5a), and the load conversion circuit is a DC-AC conversion circuit or a DC-DC conversion circuit (Fig. 1). (For Example: Par. 55)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Alali to include a rectification circuit and a load conversion circuit, and the input port of the power conversion module is connected in parallel to the output port of the rectification circuit and the input port of the load conversion circuit; the sum of the input current of the power conversion module and the output current of the rectification circuit is the input current of the load conversion circuit, and the load conversion circuit is a DC-AC conversion circuit or a DC-DC conversion circuit, as taught by Li to actively removes undesired DC-link ripple.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 13, 15, 21-23, 28 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating Allowable Subject Matter:
Claims 6 and 21; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…wherein: the damping current generation unit comprises a second filter and a second multiplier; the second filter performs high pass filtering on the input voltage of the power conversion module to obtain a first voltage value, and the second multiplier performs a multiplication operation on the first voltage value and a first admittance parameter to obtain the second current reference value; or the damping current generation unit comprises a second filter and a first divider; the second filter performs high pass filtering on the input voltage of the power conversion module to obtain a first voltage value, and the first divider performs a division operation on the first voltage value and a first resistance parameter to obtain the second current reference value.”
Claims 13 and 28; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…wherein the power conversion system further comprises an AC power source, an input inductor, a rectification circuit, and a bus capacitor, and the input inductor is connected between the AC power source and the input port of the rectification circuit; the bus capacitor and the power conversion module are sequentially connected in parallel to the output port of the rectification circuit, and the step of obtaining a second current reference value according to the input voltage of the power conversion module and the current signal related to the input current of the power conversion module comprises: obtaining a ripple component of the input voltage of the power conversion module; obtaining a resistance parameter based on the input voltage of the power conversion module and the current signal related to the input current of the power conversion module; obtaining the second current reference value based on a first coefficient, the resistance parameter and the ripple component of the input voltage, wherein the first coefficient is adaptively adjusted according to the input inductance.”
These features taken alone or in combination are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838