The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
DETAILED NON-FINAL ACTION
This is the initial Office Action (OA), on the merits, based on the 18/619,085 application filed on March 27, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-11, 19 and 20 are examined, on the merits, in this Office action. The examined claims are directed to an apparatus.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant elected Group I, claims 13-23 and timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 29, 2026.
Answer (Response) to Arguments
The election traversal is on several grounds including that Examiner’s assertion that i) the sub-combination of claim 1 has separate utility such as its use in an alternate filtration environment is conclusory, and that ii) certain features not present in the independent claims are presented in certain dependent claims and thus it would be more efficient to Examiner group II in concert with the examination of Group I.
Examiner finds these arguments to be unpersuasive for the following reasons:
On its face, it should be clear that and one of ordinary skill would understand that an operator can use two differently designed and distinct filters in different filtration environments including for filtering alternate fluids. This is not speculation where any evidence would be necessary for support.
Applicant should note that for purposes of a restriction requirement, typically only the independent claims are considered, so even if a certain feature is found in a dependent claim this is not always relevant to the restriction analysis. Applicant also states that independent claims necessarily differ from one another. Examiner notes that some independent claims do not differ in scope but are merely alternate ways of describing the same invention. To the extent that independent claims are different in scope, Applicant should note that at the outset Applicants are entitled to only one invention per application. Further, Applicant did not consider Examiner burden where Examining and reporting on additional claims is an additional burden. It may be only efficient from an Examiner’s perspective if the claimed novel features that are presented in the both dependent and independent claims were presented in a single independent claim.
As suggested in the restriction requirement, if feasible, restricted claims that are commensurate in scope with an allowed claim can be considered for rejoinder. Therefore, the restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is quite broad and is therefore not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 2, the indefinite article (“a”) appears to be missing before the term “filter.”
In claim 20, the phrase "second clamp member section dispose parallel" lacks proper tense agreement. It should read "disposed parallel" to ensure structural clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 19 recite the limitation "the filter retainer(s) has sufficient spring force to urge sections of the filter retainer against opposite sides..." is functional and relative. Accordingly, a reasonably precise and/or objective standard of distinguishing a filter retainer that has enough spring force to be deemed sufficient from one where the spring force is inadequate. That is, the claim fails to provide an objective metric or standard for determining what quantity of force constitutes "sufficient," rendering the boundary of this potential patent right ambiguous.
In claim 19, the phrase "directly in front of the fluid outlet opening" is an imprecise term of degree. Since the vessel’s interior is cylindrical, it’s unclear what exact angular sector or lateral boundary satisfies the condition of being "directly in front of" the outlet port.
Also in claim 19, the phrase "the filter openings are arranged in an inner row..." lacks antecedent basis since Claim 1 defines "a plurality of filter openings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. The inventive entity for a particular application is based on some contribution to at least one of the claims made by each of the named inventors. MPEP §2137.01.
Claims 1-11, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanke (Filtration Solutions for Industrial Applications, 2021 {see last page}).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 8-11, Hanke discloses a fluid strainer (pp. 23-27), comprising:
a body and a lid, wherein inner surfaces of walls of the body and lid define a cavity therein, and wherein the wall of the body has a fluid inlet opening and a fluid outlet opening (p. 26 of 38 or internal p. 51);
a tube sheet disposed within the cavity, wherein the tube sheet divides the cavity into first and second chambers, and wherein the tube sheet has a plurality of filter openings and a fluid inlet, the fluid inlet open to the first chamber (internal p. 51, where the figure shows the inlet going into a tube sheet);
a plurality of filter retaining baskets, each filter retaining basket disposed in a respective one of the filter openings (internal p. 51 of 73);
a plurality of filter retainers (the figure shows two filter retainers at the top of each basket; one can also view the support basket as a filter retainer); and
an internal fluid inlet pipe disposed within the second chamber and coupling the fluid inlet opening to the fluid inlet opening of the tube sheet (internal p. 51).
Therefore, Hanke discloses the claimed invention except wherein each filter retainer is configured to removably attach to the tube sheet and extend into a respective one of the filter retaining baskets.
Hanke also discusses the need for routine maintenance (pp. 49-51).
At the time when the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to consider alternate type filter retainers, including spring wire forms with cross members and clamp member sections that would possess an appropriate force for urging the clamp member sections against opposite sides of the filter retaining basket, to facilitate holding each filter in place, including filter retainers that can removable attach to the tube sheet, where such a design is expected to facilitate the required filter replacement and maintenance when necessary.
Additional Disclosures Included: Claim 2: The fluid outlet opening does not have filter retaining basket directly adjacent the fluid outlet opening; Claim 8: The filter retainer comprises a spring wire form (claim 1 analysis); Claim 9: The filter retainer comprises: a first end coupled to a first cross member section, the first cross member section coupled to a first clamp member section; a second end coupled to a second cross member section, the second cross member section coupled to a second clamp member section, the second clamp member section dispose parallel to the first clamp member section; and a connecting section coupling the first and second clamp member sections (claim 1 analysis); Claim 10: The filter retainer has sufficient spring force to urge the first and second clamp member sections against opposite sides of the filter retaining basket (claim 1 analysis); and Claim 11: The first and second clamp member sections and first and second cross member sections extend into the filter retaining basket when the first and second ends of the filter retainer are engage with a retainer mounted to the tube sheet (claim 1 analysis).
Regarding claims 3-5, Hanke discloses the fluid strainer of claim 1, except wherein the plurality of filter openings are arranged in two concentric rows.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange and space the filter opening in any suitable manner or chosen pattern, including concentric rows, and/or equal spacing, or a C-pattern, as an obvious matter of design choice.
Additional Disclosures Included: Claim 4: An inner row of the two concentric rows have filter openings that are equally spaced (claim 3 analysis); Claim 5: An outer row of the two concentric rows have filter openings that are arranged in a C-shaped pattern (claim 3 analysis).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Hanke discloses the fluid strainer of claim 1 except further comprising: two concentric seals each sealingly contacting the lid and the body.
Hanke discloses O-ring seals that appear to be located between the lid and body.
In view of the above-described concentric arrangement, when the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include at least two concentric seals with an appropriate number of lobes, each seal sealingly contacting the lid and the body.
Additional Disclosure Included: Claim 7: The concentric seals each have four lobes (claim 6 analysis).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Hanke discloses or suggests the fluid strainer of claim 1, comprising:
two concentric seals each sealingly contacting the lid and the body (claim 1 and 6 analysis); and
an internal fluid inlet pipe disposed within the second chamber and coupling the fluid inlet opening to the fluid inlet opening of the tube sheet (Hanke, figure on p. 51);
wherein the filter openings are arranged in an inner row of equally spaced filter openings and an outer row of filter openings arranged in a C-shaped pattern (claim 1 and 3 analysis);
except wherein the plurality of filter retaining baskets comprise twenty-eight filter retaining baskets, each filter retaining basket disposed in a respective one of the filter openings, wherein a spacing between the filter retaining baskets disposed directly in front of the fluid outlet opening is greater than spacing between the filter retaining baskets disposed on an opposite side of the body relative to the fluid outlet opening; and
wherein the filter retainers comprise twenty-eight filter retainers, the filter retainers configured to retain bag filters within the filter retaining baskets, the filter retainers having sufficient spring force to urge sections of the filter retainer against opposite sides of the filter retaining basket.
When the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to included any desired number of suitably designed filter retainers where the number will be chosen based on routine experimentation, an operator’s needs and design choice.
Additional Disclosure Included: Claim 20: The fluid strainer of claim 19, wherein the filter retainer comprises a spring wire form, and wherein the filter retainers further comprises: a first end coupled to a first cross member section, the first cross member section coupled to a first clamp member section; a second end coupled to a second cross member section, the second cross member section coupled to a second clamp member section, the second clamp member section dispose parallel to the first clamp member section; and a connecting section coupling the first and second clamp member sections (claim 1 analysis).
Conclusion
Examiner recommends that Applicant carefully review each identified reference and all objections/rejections before responding to this office action to properly advance the case in light of the pertinent objections/rejections and the prior art. With respect to the patentability analysis, Examiner has attempted to claim map to one or more of the most suitable structures or portions of a reference. However, with respect to all OAs, Examiner notes that citations to specific pages, columns, paragraphs, lines, figures or reference numerals, in any prior art or evidentiary reference, and any interpretation of such references, should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably disclosed and/or suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. The use of publications and patents as references is not limited to what one or more applicant/inventor/patentee describes as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain. MPEP §2123.
Examiner further recommends that for any substantive claim amendments made in response to this Office Action, or to otherwise advance prosecution, or for any remarks concerning support for added subject matter or claim priority, that Applicant include either a pinpoint citation to the original Specification (i.e. page and/or paragraph and/or line number and/or figure number) to indicate where Applicant is drawing support for such amendment or remarks, or a clear explanation indicating why the particular limitation is implicit or inherent to the original disclosure.
Electronic Inquiries
Alternatively, to contact the examiner, Applicant may send a communication, via e-mail or fax. Examiner’s direct fax number is: (571) 270-2065. Examiner's official e-mail address is: "Hayden.Brewster@uspto.gov." However, since e-mail communication may not be secure, Examiner will not respond to a substantive e-mail unless Applicant’s communication is in accordance with the provisions of MPEP §502.03 & related sections that discuss the required Authorization for Internet Communication (AIC). Nonetheless, all substantive communications will be made of record in Applicant’s file.
To facilitate the Internet communication authorization process, Applicant may file an appropriate letter, or may complete the USPTO SB439 fillable form available at https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf, preferably in advance of any substantive e-mail communication. Since one may use an electronic signature with this particular form, Applicant is encouraged to file this form via the Office’s system for electronic filing of patent correspondence (i.e., the electronic filing system (Patent Center)). Otherwise, a handwritten signature is required. In addition to Patent Center, Applicant can submit their Internet authorization request via US Postal Service, USPTO Customer Service Window, or Central Fax. Examiner can also provide a one-time oral authorization, but this will only apply to video conferencing. It is improper to request Internet Authorization via e-mail.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and via video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) form available at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice, or Applicant may call Examiner, if preferable. Applicant can access a general list of patent application forms at either https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms-patent-applications-filed-or-after-september-16-2012 (applications filed on or after September 16, 2012) or https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms (applications filed before September 16, 2012). Note that the language in an AIR form is not a substitute for the requirements of an AIC, where appropriate. The mere filing of an Applicant Initiated Interview Request Form (PTOL-413A) or a Letter Requesting Interview with Examiner, in EFS-Web, may not apprise Examiner of such a request in a timely manner.
If attempts to reach the Examiner are unsuccessful, Applicant may reach Examiner’s supervisor, Bobby Ramdhanie at 571-270-3240. The central fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HAYDEN BREWSTER/Examiner, AU 1779
'No Matter Where You Come from, So Long as You Are a Black Man [Woman], You Are an African' -- Peter Tosh.'No Matter Where You Come from, So Long as You Are a Black Man [Woman], You Are an African' -- Peter Tosh.