DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for suppressing a fire in claim 15.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 4, 5, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
5. Claim 4 recites the limitation "the measured" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the determined" as there is antecedent basis.
6. Claims 5, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected as depending from claim 4.
7. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 11 and 12 recite the limitation “saturation threshold value”. It is not clearly defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
9. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) determining a rate of increase of a concentration of a gas, providing an indication that the determined rate of increase of the concentration of the gas has exceeded a first preset rate of increase threshold value. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim is directed to an abstract idea, a mental process, the claims are directed to determining a rate and providing an indication but do not do anything with the indication. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because determining a rate and providing an indication is already known within the art as seen by Pokora (US 2020/0266405) below.
10. Claim 14 recites the limitation “determine a rate of increase of the concentration of the gas with respect to time; and provide an indication that the determined rate of increase of the concentration of the gas exceeded a first preset rate of increase threshold value “ which is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim is directed to an abstract idea, mental process, the claim is directed to determining a rate of increase, providing an indication but do not do anything with providing the indication. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the battery pack, gas sensor and controller are well understood, routine and conventional as seen by Pokora (US 2020/0266405) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
13. Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pokora (US 2020/0266405) as cited in IDS dated 3/27/24.
Regarding claim 1, Pokora discloses a method of detecting a cell venting event in a battery pack([0012], [0014]), comprising: determining a rate of increase of a concentration of a gas in the battery pack with respect to time([0039], Fig. 4); and providing an indication that the determined rate of increase of the concentration of the gas has exceeded a first preset rate of increase threshold value([0039], [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Pokora discloses further comprising: calculating the rate of increase of the concentration of the gas using a first measured value of the concentration of the gas at a first point in time, and a second measured value of the concentration of gas at a second point in time, said second point in time being a first preset length of time after the first point in time([0039], Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Pokora discloses further comprising: generating an alarm signal in response to providing the indication that the determined rate of increase of the concentration of the gas has exceeded the first preset rate of increase threshold value([0039], [0047]).
Regarding claim 5, Pokora discloses further comprising: in response to generating the alarm signal, taking one or more fire prevention measures selected from the group consisting of: depowering the battery pack ([0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Pokora discloses further comprising: providing an indication that the concentration of the gas exceeds a preset critical concentration threshold value([0034]-[0038], Fig. 3); and generating a critical alarm signal in response to said indication of the concentration of gas exceeding the preset critical concentration threshold value([0047]).
Regarding claim 13, Pokora discloses the battery pack is a lithium-ion battery pack([0002]).
Regarding claim 14, Pokora discloses a system (500, Fig. 5, [0041]) comprising: a battery pack comprising one or more cells(battery modules 502, Fig. 5, [0041]); a gas sensor([0042]); and a controller(battery management system 512, Fig. 5, [0041]); wherein the gas sensor is configured to measure a concentration of a gas in the battery pack([0042], [0046]); and wherein the controller is configured to: determine a rate of increase of the concentration of the gas with respect to time([0039], Fig. 4); and provide an indication that the determined rate of increase of the concentration of the gas has exceeded a first preset rate of increase threshold value([0039], [0047]).
Regarding claim 15, Pokora discloses a fire suppression system for a battery pack([0028], [0047]), comprising: the system of claim 14([0041]-[0043]); and means for suppressing a fire event in the battery pack([0047]); wherein the means for suppressing a fire event is configured to be deployed in response to the providing, by the controller, of the indication that the determined rate of increase of the concentration of the gas has exceeded the first preset rate of increase threshold value([0039]-[0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pokora (US 2020/0266405) as cited in IDS dated 3/27/24 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LG (EP3910349A1).
Regarding claim 2, Pokora discloses further comprising: measuring the concentration of the gas using a gas sensor([0033]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the gas sensor outputs a voltage signal indicative of the concentration of the gas.
LG teaches an apparatus and a method that detect an abnormal behavior of a battery, and a battery management system providing the same(abstract). LG teaches a method for predicting an abnormal behavior of a battery includes: receiving information that indicates voltages respectively corresponding to a temperature value, a pressure value, and a gas concentration value respectively from a temperature sensor that measures a temperature inside a battery module, a pressure sensor that measures a pressure inside the battery module, and a gas sensor that measures a gas concentration inside the battery module([0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the gas sensor of Pokora with the gas sensor outputs a voltage signal indicative of the concentration of the gas as taught by LG as applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
17. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pokora (US 2020/0266405) as cited in IDS dated 3/27/24 as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN107469257A) as cited in IDS dated 3/27/24 with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 6, Pokora does not explicitly disclose said the step of determining a rate of increase of the concentration of the gas in the battery pack with respect to time is only performed after the concentration of the gas exceeds a first preset gas concentration value.
Wang teaches a method of detecting a cell venting event in a battery pack, comprising: determining a rate of increase of the concentration of a gas in the battery pack with respect to time; providing an indication that the predetermined rate of increase of the concentration of the gas has exceeded a first preset rate of increase threshold value([0019]-[0025], [0033]-[0039], [0041]-[0042], [0048]-[0049], [0052]-[0054]). Wang teaches said the step of determining a rate of increase of the concentration of the gas in the battery pack with respect to time is only performed after the concentration of the gas exceeds a first preset gas concentration value([0022]-[0025], [0037]-[0039], [0053]-[0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Pokora with said the step of determining a rate of increase of the concentration of the gas in the battery pack with respect to time is only performed after the concentration of the gas exceeds a first preset gas concentration value as taught by Wang as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. And the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 set forth in this office action on claim 8 is overcome.
In particular, the allowable limitation is said step of generating the alarm signal only occurs in the event that the rate of increase of the concentration of the gas is sustained above the first preset rate of increase threshold for a second preset length of time.
Pokora does not disclose, teach or render obvious said step of generating the alarm signal only occurs in the event that the rate of increase of the concentration of the gas is sustained above the first preset rate of increase threshold for a second preset length of time.
19. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. And the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 set forth in this office action on claim 9 is overcome.
In particular, the allowable limitation is said step of generating the alarm signal only occurs in the event that the concentration of the gas is sustained above a second preset gas concentration value for a third preset length of time.
Pokora does not disclose, teach or render obvious said step of generating the alarm signal only occurs in the event that the concentration of the gas is sustained above a second preset gas concentration value for a third preset length of time.
20. Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. And the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 set forth in this office action on claim 10 is overcome.
In particular, the allowable limitation is if the determined rate of increase of the concentration of the gas exceeds a second preset rate of increase threshold value, no alarm signal is generated in response to said determined rate of increase.
Pokora does not disclose, teach or render obvious if the determined rate of increase of the concentration of the gas exceeds a second preset rate of increase threshold value, no alarm signal is generated in response to said determined rate of increase.
21. Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. And the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 set forth in this office action on claim 11 is overcome.
In particular, the allowable limitation is further comprising: in response to the concentration of the gas exceeding a first preset saturation threshold value, raising or lowering the first preset length of time, and/or raising or lowering the first preset rate of increase threshold value.
Pokora does not disclose, teach or render obvious further comprising: in response to the concentration of the gas exceeding a first preset saturation threshold value, raising or lowering the first preset length of time, and/or raising or lowering the first preset rate of increase threshold value.
22. Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. And the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 set forth in this office action on claim 12 is overcome.
In particular, the allowable limitation is in response to the concentration of the gas exceeding a second preset saturation threshold value, raising or lowering the first preset gas concentration value.
Pokora does not disclose, teach or render obvious in response to the concentration of the gas exceeding a second preset saturation threshold value, raising or lowering the first preset gas concentration value.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724