DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 received on 3/27/2024 have been examined, of which claims 1, 9, 18 and 20 are independent.
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites “at lease one processor”, which appears to be typographical error for “at least one processor”.
Claim 20 recites “cause the at least one process to implement”, which appears to be typographical error for “cause the at least one processor to implement”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8, 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 2-5, 7, 10-13, 15 recite “the code division multiplexing group”, preceded by “at least one code division multiplexing group”. In the instant of “at least one” being “more than one”, it is unclear which CDM group is further limited. Dependent claims are rejected for same reason.
Further, claims 6, 7, 14, 15 recite “the sets of resource elements”, which is preceded by “K sets of resources elements”. It is unclear if “the sets” refer to same or different sets as the “the K sets”. Dependent claims are rejected for same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (US 20220201712) in view of Kim et al. (US 20220191081)
Regarding claim 1, Su teaches a method of wireless communication (abstract: a method for transmission configuration indication (TCI) of a DMRS port; fig 1-2, 5), comprising:
configuring demodulation reference signal parameters (para 221: step 501: a network side device configures at least two DMRS ports for a terminal according to a required mapping relationship between TCI states and CDM groups, and the at least two DMRS ports belong to different DMRS CDM groups, and the quantities of the DMRS ports included in the different CDM groups are not exactly the same);
dividing resource elements corresponding to at least one code division multiplexing group into K sets of resource elements based on the demodulation reference signal parameters (fig 1A-1B; para 41: for the DMRS pilot type 1, referring to FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B, front-load symbols are divided into two CDM groups, as shown in FIG. 1A, one CDM group supports DMRS resources (REs) of antenna ports 0/1, and the other CDM group supports DMRS REs of antenna ports 2/3), wherein K is an integer greater than 1 (fig 1A, 1B and para 41 describe that the subcarrier REs on symbol 3 are divided into two sets, one for ports 0/1 and second for ports 2/3); and
a first category of demodulation reference signals on at least one set of resource elements among the K sets of resource elements (fig 1A showing first REs for antenna ports 0/1 is interpreted as a first category of DMRS on set of REs; para 41: as shown in FIG. 1A, the one CDM group supports DMRS REs of antenna ports 0/1).
Su teaches configuration of at least two groups of DMRS ports for terminal according to the correspondence between required TCI states and DMRS CDM grouping. Fig 1A-1B, 2A-2B describe the DMRS mapping into the REs of antenna port with different CDM. The DMRS-REs using first CDM for port 0/1 in fig 1A is interpreted as first category of DMRS on one set of REs. The reference fails to teach transmitting a first category of DMRS. Kim is similarly directed to UE communication supported by multiple TRP, including configuring resource pattern to which a DMRS is mapped in the corresponding group.
Kim further teaches transmitting a first category of demodulation reference signals on at least one set of resource elements among the K sets of resource elements (fig 11; para 256-258: 2-TRP transmission in which the same TB is repeatedly transmitted in units of two symbols based on DMRS CDM group shifting proposed in the present disclosure, in FIG. 11, the DMRS is transmitted for each time unit, and since time variance of the channel is small when the time interval between the time units using the same TCI state, and as a result, the channel estimation accuracy due to the channel interpolation may be enhanced by changing and using a DMRS Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) group as illustrated in FIG. 11, the base station/UE may transmit/receive the DMRS by using that the i-th time unit using the same TCI state is a CDM group (i-1)% (the number of DMRS CDM groups (e.g., the number of type 1 DMRSs is 2 and the number of type 2 DMRSs is 3))). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine DMRS CDM grouping configuration as taught by Su with transmission of DMRS for two TRP transmissions as taught by Kim for the benefit of increasing channel estimation accuracy as taught by Kim in para 33.
Regarding claim 9, Su teaches a method of wireless communication (abstract: a method for transmission configuration indication (TCI) of a DMRS port; fig 1-2, 5), comprising:
transmitting demodulation reference signal parameters (para 221-222: step 501: a network side device configures at least two DMRS ports for a terminal according to a required mapping relationship between TCI states and CDM groups, and the at least two DMRS ports belong to different DMRS CDM groups, and the quantities of the DMRS ports included in the different CDM groups are not exactly the same, Step 502, DCI is sent to the terminal, and the DCI includes DMRS port index values);
dividing resource elements corresponding to at least one code division multiplexing group into K sets of resource elements based on the demodulation reference signal parameters (fig 1A-1B; para 41: for the DMRS pilot type 1, referring to FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B, front-load symbols are divided into two CDM groups, as shown in FIG. 1A, one CDM group supports DMRS resources (REs) of antenna ports 0/1, and the other CDM group supports DMRS REs of antenna ports 2/3), wherein K is an integer greater than 1 (fig 1A, 1B and para 41 describe that the subcarrier REs on symbol 3 are divided into two sets, one for ports 0/1 and second for ports 2/3); and
a first category of demodulation reference signals on at least one set of resource elements among the K sets of resource elements (fig 1A showing first REs for antenna ports 0/1 is interpreted as a first category of DMRS on set of REs; para 41: as shown in FIG. 1A, the one CDM group supports DMRS REs of antenna ports 0/1).
Su teaches configuration of at least two DMRS ports for terminal according to the correspondence between required TCI states and DMRS CDM grouping. Fig 1A-1B, 2A-2B describe the DMRS mapping into the REs of antenna port with different CDM. The DMRS-REs using first CDM for port 0/1 in fig 1A is interpreted as first category of DMRS on one set of REs. The reference fails to teach transmitting a first category of DMRS. Kim is similarly directed to UE communication supported by multiple TRP, including configuring resource pattern to which a DMRS is mapped in the corresponding group.
Kim further teaches transmitting a first category of demodulation reference signals on at least one set of resource elements among the K sets of resource elements (fig 11; para 256-258: 2-TRP transmission in which the same TB is repeatedly transmitted in units of two symbols based on DMRS CDM group shifting proposed in the present disclosure, in FIG. 11, the DMRS is transmitted for each time unit, and since time variance of the channel is small when the time interval between the time units using the same TCI state, and as a result, the channel estimation accuracy due to the channel interpolation may be enhanced by changing and using a DMRS Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) group as illustrated in FIG. 11, the base station/UE may transmit/receive the DMRS by using that the i-th time unit using the same TCI state is a CDM group (i-1)% (the number of DMRS CDM groups (e.g., the number of type 1 DMRSs is 2 and the number of type 2 DMRSs is 3))). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine DMRS CDM grouping configuration as taught by Su with transmission of DMRS for two TRP transmissions as taught by Kim for the benefit of increasing channel estimation accuracy as taught by Kim in para 33.
Regarding claim 18, Su teaches a non-transitory storage medium (memory 801, fig 3), wherein the storage medium has computer program stored thereon, which, upon execution by at least one processor causes the at least one processor to implement (para 205: the memory 801 stores program codes, and when the program codes are executed by the processor 800, the processor 800 is made to execute the following process):
configuring demodulation reference signal parameters (para 221: step 501: a network side device configures at least two DMRS ports for a terminal according to a required mapping relationship between TCI states and CDM groups, and the at least two DMRS ports belong to different DMRS CDM groups, and the quantities of the DMRS ports included in the different CDM groups are not exactly the same);
dividing resource elements corresponding to at least one code division multiplexing group into K sets of resource elements based on the demodulation reference signal parameters (fig 1A-1B; para 41: for the DMRS pilot type 1, referring to FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B, front-load symbols are divided into two CDM groups, as shown in FIG. 1A, one CDM group supports DMRS resources (REs) of antenna ports 0/1, and the other CDM group supports DMRS REs of antenna ports 2/3), wherein K is an integer greater than 1 (fig 1A, 1B and para 41 describe that the subcarrier REs on symbol 3 are divided into two sets, one for ports 0/1 and second for ports 2/3) and
a first category of demodulation reference signals on at least one set of resource elements among the K sets of resource elements (fig 1A showing first REs for antenna ports 0/1 is interpreted as a first category of DMRS on set of REs; para 41: as shown in FIG. 1A, the one CDM group supports DMRS REs of antenna ports 0/1).
Su teaches configuration of at least two groups of DMRS ports for terminal according to the correspondence between required TCI states and DMRS CDM grouping. Fig 1A-1B, 2A-2B describe the DMRS mapping into the REs of antenna port with different CDM. The DMRS-REs using first CDM for port 0/1 in fig 1A is interpreted as first category of DMRS on one set of REs. The reference fails to teach transmitting a first category of DMRS. Kim is similarly directed to UE communication supported by multiple TRP, including configuring resource pattern to which a DMRS is mapped in the corresponding group.
Kim further teaches transmitting a first category of demodulation reference signals on at least one set of resource elements among the K sets of resource elements (fig 11; para 256-258: 2-TRP transmission in which the same TB is repeatedly transmitted in units of two symbols based on DMRS CDM group shifting proposed in the present disclosure, in FIG. 11, the DMRS is transmitted for each time unit, and since time variance of the channel is small when the time interval between the time units using the same TCI state, and as a result, the channel estimation accuracy due to the channel interpolation may be enhanced by changing and using a DMRS Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) group as illustrated in FIG. 11, the base station/UE may transmit/receive the DMRS by using that the i-th time unit using the same TCI state is a CDM group (i-1)% (the number of DMRS CDM groups (e.g., the number of type 1 DMRSs is 2 and the number of type 2 DMRSs is 3))). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine DMRS CDM grouping configuration as taught by Su with transmission of DMRS for two TRP transmissions as taught by Kim for the benefit of increasing channel estimation accuracy as taught by Kim in para 33.
Regarding claim 20, Su teaches a non-transitory storage medium (memory 801, fig 3), wherein the storage medium has a computer program stored thereon, which, upon execution by at least one processor, causes the at least one process to implement (para 205: the memory 801 stores program codes, and when the program codes are executed by the processor 800, the processor 800 is made to execute the following process):
transmitting demodulation reference signal parameters (para 221-222: step 501: a network side device configures at least two DMRS ports for a terminal according to a required mapping relationship between TCI states and CDM groups, and the at least two DMRS ports belong to different DMRS CDM groups, and the quantities of the DMRS ports included in the different CDM groups are not exactly the same, Step 502, DCI is sent to the terminal, and the DCI includes DMRS port index values);
dividing resource elements corresponding to at least one code division multiplexing group into K sets of resource elements based on the demodulation reference signal parameters (fig 1A-1B; para 41: for the DMRS pilot type 1, referring to FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B, front-load symbols are divided into two CDM groups, as shown in FIG. 1A, one CDM group supports DMRS resources (REs) of antenna ports 0/1, and the other CDM group supports DMRS REs of antenna ports 2/3), wherein K is an integer greater than 1 (fig 1A, 1B and para 41 describe that the subcarrier REs on symbol 3 are divided into two sets, one for ports 0/1 and second for ports 2/3); and
a first category of demodulation reference signals on at least one set of resource elements among the K sets of resource elements (fig 1A showing first REs for antenna ports 0/1 is interpreted as a first category of DMRS on set of REs; para 41: as shown in FIG. 1A, the one CDM group supports DMRS REs of antenna ports 0/1).
Su teaches configuration of at least two groups of DMRS ports for terminal according to the correspondence between required TCI states and DMRS CDM grouping. Fig 1A-1B, 2A-2B describe the DMRS mapping into the REs of antenna port with different CDM. The DMRS-REs using first CDM for port 0/1 in fig 1A is interpreted as first category of DMRS on one set of REs. The reference fails to teach transmitting a first category of DMRS. Kim is similarly directed to UE communication supported by multiple TRP, including configuring resource pattern to which a DMRS is mapped in the corresponding group.
Kim further teaches transmitting a first category of demodulation reference signals on at least one set of resource elements among the K sets of resource elements (fig 11; para 256-258: 2-TRP transmission in which the same TB is repeatedly transmitted in units of two symbols based on DMRS CDM group shifting proposed in the present disclosure, in FIG. 11, the DMRS is transmitted for each time unit, and since time variance of the channel is small when the time interval between the time units using the same TCI state, and as a result, the channel estimation accuracy due to the channel interpolation may be enhanced by changing and using a DMRS Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) group as illustrated in FIG. 11, the base station/UE may transmit/receive the DMRS by using that the i-th time unit using the same TCI state is a CDM group (i-1)% (the number of DMRS CDM groups (e.g., the number of type 1 DMRSs is 2 and the number of type 2 DMRSs is 3))). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine DMRS CDM grouping configuration as taught by Su with transmission of DMRS for two TRP transmissions as taught by Kim for the benefit of increasing channel estimation accuracy as taught by Kim in para 33.
Regarding claim 2, Su further teaches wherein the code division multiplexing group is used for transmitting a second category of demodulation reference signals on a set of resource elements (fig 1A showing second REs for antenna ports 2/3 is interpreted as a second category of DMRS on set of REs; para 41: as shown in FIG. 1A, the other CDM group supports DMRS REs of antenna ports 2/3).
Regarding claim 3 and 11, Su further teaches wherein the demodulation reference signal parameters comprise a spacing parameter L, and the spacing parameter is used to divide the resource elements corresponding to the code division multiplexing group into the K sets of resource elements (para 41-42: for the DMRS pilot type 1, referring to FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B, front-load symbols are divided into two CDM groups, according to the DMRS pilot type 2, referring to FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B, front-load symbols are divided into three CDM groups; as shown in fig 1a-b, the spacing is one subcarrier, and the spacing is six subcarriers in fig 2a-b).
Regarding claim 4 and 12, Su further teaches wherein for the resource elements of the code division multiplexing group (as shown in fig 1a, the DMRS CDM group for DMRS REs of antenna port 0/1), respective resource elements spaced every L resource elements belong to one set of resource elements (as shown in fig 1A, the REs are spaced every two subcarriers that belong to DMRS REs of antenna port 0/1).
Regarding claim 5 and 13, Su further teaches wherein the demodulation reference signal parameters further comprise a number of resource elements N in a set of resource elements (as shown in fig 1a, the DMRS CDM group for DMRS REs of antenna port 0/1 comprise six REs in the set), wherein K*N=T (in fig 1A, there are K=2 sets, N=6 REs in each set and T=12 number of RE in CDM groups), T is a number of resource elements in the code division multiplexing group (12 subcarriers in the DMRS CDM group), and K and N are positive integers greater than 1 (as described above, K=2 and N=6 are greater than 1).
Regarding claim 6 and 14, Su further teaches wherein the demodulation reference signal parameters further comprise an offset for the sets of resource elements (symbol number in fig 1A is considered as offset for the REs), and the offset for the sets of resource elements is used to determine the sets of resource elements for transmitting the first category of demodulation reference signals (para 41: as shown in FIG. 1A, when only one (single) front-load symbol (an OFDM symbol with a corresponding number of 3 in the horizontal axis in the figure) is configured, sub-carriers (the longitudinal axis in the figure) of the OFDM symbol are divided into two groups, as shown in FIG. 1B, when two (double) front-load symbols (OFDM symbols with corresponding numbers of 3 and 4) are configured, sub-carriers of the OFDM symbols are divided into two groups, namely the OFDM symbols are divided into two CDM groups, each CDM group corresponds to double OFDM symbols; thus, the offset is symbol 3 for fig 1a and symbol 3-4 for fig 1b to transmit DMRS).
Regarding claim 7 and 15, Su further teaches wherein the sets of resource elements for transmitting the first category of demodulation reference signals (fig 1b symbol 3-4, subcarriers 1-12) comprise a first set of resource elements (fig 1b include DMRS REs of antenna ports 0/1/4/5) and a second set of resource elements (fig 1b include DMRS REs of antenna ports 2/3/6/7), the first set of resource elements is a set of resource elements for transmitting the first category of demodulation reference signals (fig 1b include DMRS REs of antenna ports 0/1/4/5 -which are DMRS of ports 0/1/4/5), and the second set of resource elements is a set consisting of resource elements other than the first set of resource elements on symbols in which the code division multiplexing group is located (fig 1b include DMRS REs of antenna ports 2/3/6/7 – which are DMRS of ports 2/3/6/7 and they are other than the first set on symbols 3-4).
Regarding claim 8 and 16, Su fails to teach, but Kim further teaches wherein the method further comprises indicating a transmission mode for the second set of resource elements (fig 10; para 236: each TRP may correspond to a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) one to one, and the UE may be indicated with TCI state 1 and TCI state 2 through the DCI and attempt channel estimation and data decoding by applying the TCI state alternately in units of 2 symbols) based on determining the transmission mode for the second set of resource elements based on a physical layer signaling indication (para 236: the UE may be indicated with TCI state 1 and TCI state 2 through the DCI and attempt channel estimation and data decoding by applying the TCI state alternately in units of 2 symbols), and
wherein the transmission mode comprises one of the following: transmission of data (para 236: TRP 1 and TRP 2 may be configured to transmit the same TB alternately in units of two symbols), transmission of the first category of demodulation reference signals (para 236: TRP 1 may transmit the DMRS in resource elements (hereinafter, referred to as REs) displayed in a first 2-symbol unit and a third 2-symbol unit in FIG. 10), or transmission of a second category of demodulation reference signals (para 236: TRP 2 may transmit the DMRS in REs displayed in a second 2-symbol unit and a fourth 2-symbol unit in FIG. 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine DMRS CDM grouping configuration as taught by Su with transmission of DMRS for two TRP transmissions as taught by Kim for the benefit of increasing channel estimation accuracy as taught by Kim in para 33.
Regarding claim 10, Su teaches wherein the code division multiplexing group comprises a set of resource elements for transmitting a second category of demodulation reference signals (fig 1A showing second REs for antenna ports 2/3 is interpreted as a second category of DMRS; para 41: as shown in FIG. 1A, the other CDM group supports DMRS REs of antenna ports 2/3).
Regarding claim 17, Su in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 1.
Su further teaches a communication node (network side device, fig 3) comprising: at lease one processor (processor 800), configured to implement the method (para 205: the processor 800 is made to execute the process).
Regarding claim 19, Su in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 9.
Su further teaches a communication node (network side device, fig 3) comprising: at least one processor (processor 800) configured to implement the method (para 205: the processor 800 is made to execute the process).
Conclusion
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 3/24/2026