DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to communications filed 11/11/2025. Claims 1-2, 4-6 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot due to new grounds of rejection.
Regarding Claim 1, the applicant argued the reference Urano which was not used. See new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Claim 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nawata et al (US 2021/0043151 and hereafter referred to as “Nawata”) in view of Zhang et al (US 20210200028 and hereafter referred to as “Zhang”), and Surnilla et al (US 2018/0096668 and hereafter referred to as “Surnilla”).
Regarding Claim 1, Nawata discloses a vehicle optical system, configured to emit an image to a windshield of a vehicle, the vehicle optical system comprising:
a processor (Page 2, paragraph 0030, Figure 2, 50);
a display device, electrically connects to the processor (Page 3, paragraph 0026-0028), the display device comprising:
a display panel (Page 3, paragraph 0026-0028, Figure 3, 11); and
a plurality of light emitting units (Figure 2, 22, Page 2, paragraph 0027), configured to emit a first light to the display panel (Page 3, paragraph 0052, Figure 3, 11, 12).
Nawata is silent on wherein the display panel is configured to output a second light having the image, wherein a prism is disposed between the display panel and the plurality of light emitting units, and the first light is emitted from the plurality of light emitting units to the display panel through the prism; an external sensor, electrically connects to the processor, the external sensor detecting an intensity of ambient light; and an internal sensor, electrically connects to the processor, the internal sensor detecting an information of a driver; wherein the processor is configured to control the display device to adjust the second light having the image based on the intensity of the ambient light or based on the information of the driver.
Zhang discloses the display panel is configured to output a second light having the image (Page 4, paragraph 0039), wherein a prism and a heat dissipation layer are disposed between the display panel and the plurality of light emitting units, and the first light is emitted from the plurality of light emitting units to the display panel through the prism and a heat dissipation layer (Page 4, paragraph 0039, Figure 5, 3500, see also Page 4, paragraph 0046). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Nawata to include the missing limitations as taught by Zhang in order to improve quality (Page 1, paragraph 0031) as disclosed by Zhang.
The combination does not disclose an external sensor, electrically connects to the processor, the external sensor detecting an intensity of ambient light, and an internal sensor, electrically connects to the processor, the internal sensor detecting an information of a driver; wherein the processor is configured to control the display device to adjust the second light having the image based on the intensity of the ambient light or based on the information of the driver.
Surnilla discloses the display panel is configured to output a second light having the image (Page 2, paragraph 0017 – the second light is light from the display panel/screen), an external sensor, electrically connects to the processor, the external sensor detecting an intensity of ambient light (Page 6, paragraph 0026, Figure 2, 130), an internal sensor, electrically connects to the processor, the internal sensor detecting an information of a driver (Page 3, paragraph 0024, 0026, Figure 2, 136, 102, 218, Figure 3, 135, 218); wherein the processor is configured to control the display device to adjust the second light having the image based on the intensity of the ambient light or based on the information of the driver (Page 1-2, paragraph 0014, 0017, Page 3, paragraph 0026, Page 4, paragraph 0033, Page 3, paragraph 0039, Figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination to include the missing limitations as taught by Surnilla in order to prevent eye strain or distraction of driver (paragraph 0026) as disclosed by Surnilla.
Furthermore, in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007), the Court found that if all the claimed elements are known in the prior art then one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention.
Regarding Claim 4, Nawata, Zhang and Surnilla disclose all the limitations of Claim 1. Surnilla discloses the internal sensor is configured to output a bio-sensing signal, wherein the processor is configured control the display device to adjust the second light based on the bio-sensing signal (paragraph 0017, 0026). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination to include the missing limitations as taught by Surnilla in order to affect the attentiveness of the driver (paragraph 0017, 0026) as disclosed by Surnilla.
Regarding Claim 5, Nawata, Zhang and Surnilla disclose all the limitations of Claim 1. Surnilla discloses the external sensor is configured to sense environmental information as the ambient light (paragraph 0024, 0033).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nawata in view of Zhang and Surnilla as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Kweon (US 2019/00512333 and hereafter referred to as “Kweon”).
Regarding Claim 2, Nawata, Zhang and Surnilla disclose all the limitations of Claim 1. The combination does not explicitly disclose second light projected to the windshield. Kweon discloses wherein the second light is projected to the windshield of the vehicle through an optical lens assembly (Page 1, paragraph 0010, Page 4, paragraph 0075). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination to include the missing limitations as taught by Kweon in order to affect the attentiveness of the increase optical efficiency (paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kweon.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nawata in view of Zhang and Surnilla as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Baur et al (US 2012/0154591 and hereafter referred to as “Baur”)
Regarding Claim 6, Nawata, Zhang and Surnilla disclose all the limitations of Claim 1. Baur discloses wherein the image comprises an image information which is integrated into traffic conditions (paragraph 0072). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination to include the missing limitations as taught by Baur in order to offset a glaring condition (paragraph 0095) as disclosed by Baur.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARZANA HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482
November 26, 2025