DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
The Amendment filed 9/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-23 are pending in the application with claims 1, 2 amended, claims 3, 5, 8-12, 14-19 withdrawn, and claims 21-23 newly added.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an actuating device” in claims 1 and 23
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 13 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon (US Patent Application Publication No. 6,419,626).
In regard to claim 1, Yoon discloses a medical instrument (10, Fig. 1) for processing a structure of a human or animal body by holding, gripping, clamping, separating, or cutting the structure or bringing together several structures of the human body or the animal body (Fig. 1 via forceps jaws (24,25)), the medical instrument comprising:
an instrument head (24,25) configured to come into contact with the structure or the structures of the human or animal body and to process the structure or the structures (Figs. 1, 2, 3A-3B);
an elongated instrument shaft (12) including a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the instrument head is arranged at the distal end (Figs. 1, 2, 3A-3B);
an actuating device (20,22) arranged at the proximal end of the instrument shaft and configured to actuate a portion of a tip of the instrument head to pivot relative to the instrument shaft (Fig. 1);
an imaging device (50) arranged on or in the instrument shaft and including an image sensor and an objective lens (Figs. 1, 2, 3A-3B),
wherein the instrument head and the imaging device are arranged on the instrument shaft permanently fixed relative to each other and relative to the instrument shaft, so that the instrument head and the imaging device are permanently blocked from moving relative to each other and relative to the instrument shaft (Figs. 1, 2, 3A-3B, Col. 6, Lines 6-17, the imaging device is mounted or integrated into the distal end of the shaft / jaw (25) as seen in Figs. 3A,3B), and
wherein the objective lens and a tip of the instrument head facing away from the instrument shaft are permanently aligned relative to each other so that the imaging device always generates an image of the tip of the instrument head (Figs. 1, 2, 3A-3B).
In regard to claim 2, Yoon teaches wherein the instrument head is curved or angled at least in sections with respect to a longitudinal axis of the instrument shaft and is curved or angled in a direction towards the objective lens (Figs. 3A,3B show portions of the jaws (24) is angled towards the objective lens).
In regard to claim 4, Yoon teaches further comprising: an illumination which illuminates the instrument head is received in the instrument shaft (via fiber bundle (70), Fig. 9).
In regard to claim 6, Yoon teaches wherein the at least one image sensor is configured to convert optical images into electrical signals (Col. 9, Lines 21-31, Figs. 3A-3B), and
wherein the imaging device is provided with an electrical signal line which feeds the electrical signals to a data processing device and/or an image output device (Col. 9, Lines 21-31, Figs. 3A-3B).
In regard to claim 7, Yoon teaches wherein the signal line is arranged in the instrument shaft (Fig. 3B illustrates the signal line extending proximally from the imaging chip (50e) within the shaft (12)).
In regard to claim 13, Yoon teaches configured as a forceps (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 20, Yoon teaches wherein an optical axis of the objective lens intersects the instrument head (Figs. 3A-3B, the optical axis would intersect when jaw (24) is in a closed state).
In regard to claim 21, Yoon teaches wherein the optical axis of the objective lens intersects the instrument head when the portion of the tip of the instrument head is fully actuated (Figs. 3A-3B, the optical axis would intersect when jaw (24) is in a closed state).
In regard to claim 22, Yoon teaches wherein the optical axis of the objective lens intersects the instrument head when the portion of the tip of the instrument head is fully actuated, so that the tip of the instrument head is closed (Figs. 3A-3B, the optical axis would intersect when jaw (24) is in a closed state)
In regard to claim 23, Yoon discloses a medical instrument (10, Fig. 1) for processing a structure of a human or animal body by holding, gripping, clamping, separating, or cutting the structure or bringing together several structures of the human body or the animal body (Fig. 1 via forceps jaws (24,25)), the medical instrument comprising:
an instrument head (24,25) configured to come into contact with the structure or the structures of the human or animal body and to process the structure or the structures (Figs. 1, 2, 3A-3B);
an elongated instrument shaft (12) including a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the instrument head is arranged at the distal end (Figs. 1, 2, 3A-3B);
an actuating device (20,22) arranged at the proximal end of the instrument shaft and configured to actuate a portion of a tip of the instrument head to pivot relative to the instrument shaft (Fig. 1);
an imaging device (50) arranged on or in the instrument shaft and including an image sensor and an objective lens (Figs. 1, 2, 3A-3B),
wherein the instrument head and the imaging device are arranged on the instrument shaft non-removably fixed relative to each other and relative to the instrument shaft (Figs. 1, 2, 3A-3B, Col. 6, Lines 6-17, the imaging device is mounted or integrated into the distal end of the shaft / jaw (25) as seen in Figs. 3A,3B), and
wherein the objective lens and a tip of the instrument head facing away from the instrument shaft are permanently aligned relative to each other so that the imaging device always generates an image of the tip of the instrument head (Figs. 1, 2, 3A-3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 13 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haberl (EP 0316816 A1) in view of Hazelton et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0060014, hereinafter Hazelton).
In regard to claim 1, Haberl discloses a medical instrument (Fig. 1) for processing a structure of a human or animal body by holding, gripping, clamping, separating, or cutting the structure or bringing together several structures of the human body or the animal body (Fig. 1 via forceps jaws (7)), the medical instrument comprising:
an instrument head (7) configured to come into contact with the structure or the structures of the human or animal body and to process the structure or the structures (Figs. 1,2);
an elongated instrument shaft (6) including a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the instrument head is arranged at the distal end (Figs. 1,2);
an actuating device (4) arranged at the proximal end of the instrument shaft and configured to actuate a portion of a tip of the instrument head to pivot relative to the instrument shaft (Figs. 1-2);
an imaging device (2) arranged on or in the instrument shaft (Figs. 1-2),
wherein the instrument head and the imaging device are arranged on the instrument shaft permanently fixed relative to each other and relative to the instrument shaft, so that the instrument head and the imaging device are permanently blocked from moving relative to each other and relative to the instrument shaft (Figs. 1-2, wherein the imaging device is glued to the forceps shaft, Par. 12), and
wherein the objective lens and a tip of the instrument head facing away from the instrument shaft are permanently aligned relative to each other so that the imaging device always generates an image of the tip of the instrument head (Fig. 2).
Haberl does not expressly teach the imaging device including an image sensor and an objective lens.
Hazelton teaches an analogous imaging device (240) for attachment to a surgical forceps (210). The imaging device includes a camera (242) having an image sensor chip, lenses and/or illumination fibers (Par. 37). The camera (242) can be mounted to various locations along the surgical forceps, including directly to the forceps shaft or instrument head as shown in Figs. 2A,2B and 4. A flexible cable (244) extends from the camera (242) and runs along the forceps shaft, the cable providing power, illumination energy and/or data communication.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the imaging device of Haberl with the camera and flexible cable of Hazelton as a matter of design choice to create digital images easily viewed on a display or monitor. Additionally, the camera further incorporates illumination components thereby improving lighting for better picture quality. There being no unexpected results in substituting the imaging device of imaging device of Haberl with the camera and flexible cable of Hazelton.
In regard to claim 2, Haberl teaches wherein the instrument head is curved or angled at least in sections with respect to a longitudinal axis of the instrument shaft and is curved or angled in a direction towards the objective lens (Figs. 1-2).
In regard to claim 4, Hazelton teaches further comprising: an illumination which illuminates the instrument head is received in the instrument shaft (Par. 37).
In regard to claim 6, Hazelton teaches wherein the at least one image sensor is configured to convert optical images into electrical signals (Par. 37), and
wherein the imaging device is provided with an electrical signal line which feeds the electrical signals to a data processing device and/or an image output device (Par. 38).
In regard to claim 13, Haberl teaches configured as a forceps (Figs. 1-2).
In regard to claim 20, Haberl teaches wherein an optical axis of the objective lens intersects the instrument head (Figs.1-2).
In regard to claim 21, Haberl teaches wherein the optical axis of the objective lens intersects the instrument head when the portion of the tip of the instrument head is fully actuated (Figs. 1-2).
In regard to claim 22, Haberl teaches wherein the optical axis of the objective lens intersects the instrument head when the portion of the tip of the instrument head is fully actuated, so that the tip of the instrument head is closed (Figs. 1-2).
In regard to claim 23, Haberl discloses a medical instrument (Fig. 1) for processing a structure of a human or animal body by holding, gripping, clamping, separating, or cutting the structure or bringing together several structures of the human body or the animal body (Fig. 1 via forceps jaws (7)), the medical instrument comprising:
an instrument head (7) configured to come into contact with the structure or the structures of the human or animal body and to process the structure or the structures (Figs. 1,2);
an elongated instrument shaft (6) including a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the instrument head is arranged at the distal end (Figs. 1,2);
an actuating device (4) arranged at the proximal end of the instrument shaft and configured to actuate a portion of a tip of the instrument head to pivot relative to the instrument shaft (Figs. 1-2);
an imaging device (2) arranged on or in the instrument shaft (Figs. 1-2),
wherein the instrument head and the imaging device are arranged on the instrument shaft non-removably fixed relative to each other and relative to the instrument shaft(Figs. 1-2, wherein the imaging device is glued to the forceps shaft, Par. 12), and
wherein the objective lens and a tip of the instrument head facing away from the instrument shaft are permanently aligned relative to each other so that the imaging device always generates an image of the tip of the instrument head (Fig. 2).
Haberl does not expressly teach the imaging device including an image sensor and an objective lens.
Hazelton teaches an analogous imaging device (240) for attachment to a surgical forceps (210). The imaging device includes a camera (242) having an image sensor chip, lenses and/or illumination fibers (Par. 37). The camera (242) can be mounted to various locations along the surgical forceps, including directly to the forceps shaft or instrument head as shown in Figs. 2A,2B and 4. A flexible cable (244) extends from the camera (242) and runs along the forceps shaft, the cable providing power, illumination energy and/or data communication.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the imaging device of Haberl with the camera and flexible cable of Hazelton as a matter of design choice to create digital images easily viewed on a display or monitor. Additionally, the camera further incorporates illumination components thereby improving lighting for better picture quality. There being no unexpected results in substituting the imaging device of imaging device of Haberl with the camera and flexible cable of Hazelton.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 13 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finn et al. (US Patent No. 5,667,473, hereinafter Finn) in view of Hazelton et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0060014, hereinafter Hazelton).
In regard to claim 1, Finn discloses a medical instrument (10, Fig. 1) for processing a structure of a human or animal body by holding, gripping, clamping, separating, or cutting the structure or bringing together several structures of the human body or the animal body (Fig. 1 via forceps jaws (14)), the medical instrument comprising:
an instrument head (14) configured to come into contact with the structure or the structures of the human or animal body and to process the structure or the structures (Figs. 1,3);
an elongated instrument shaft (12) including a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the instrument head is arranged at the distal end (Figs. 1,2);
an actuating device (16) arranged at the proximal end of the instrument shaft and configured to actuate a portion of a tip of the instrument head to pivot relative to the instrument shaft (Fig. 1);
an imaging device (36) arranged on or in the instrument shaft (Figs. 1-3),
wherein the instrument head and the imaging device are arranged on the instrument shaft permanently fixed relative to each other and relative to the instrument shaft, so that the instrument head and the imaging device are permanently blocked from moving relative to each other and relative to the instrument shaft (Col. 6, Lines 35-39, Figs. 1-3), and
wherein the objective lens and a tip of the instrument head facing away from the instrument shaft are permanently aligned relative to each other so that the imaging device always generates an image of the tip of the instrument head (Figs. 1,3).
Finn does not expressly teach the imaging device including an image sensor and an objective lens.
Hazelton teaches an analogous imaging device (240) for attachment to a surgical forceps (210). The imaging device includes a camera (242) having an image sensor chip, lenses and/or illumination fibers (Par. 37). The camera (242) can be mounted to various locations along the surgical forceps, including directly to the forceps shaft or instrument head as shown in Figs. 2A,2B and 4. A flexible cable (244) extends from the camera (242) and runs along the forceps shaft, the cable providing power, illumination energy and/or data communication.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the imaging device of Finn with the camera and flexible cable of Hazelton as a matter of design choice to create digital images easily viewed on a display or monitor. Additionally, the camera further incorporates illumination components thereby improving lighting for better picture quality and reducing the need for a separate illumination cable extending along the instrument shaft. There being no unexpected results in substituting the imaging device of imaging device of Finn with the camera and flexible cable of Hazelton.
In regard to claim 2, Finn teaches wherein the instrument head is curved or angled at least in sections with respect to a longitudinal axis of the instrument shaft and is curved or angled in a direction towards the objective lens (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 4, Hazelton teaches further comprising: an illumination which illuminates the instrument head is received in the instrument shaft (Par. 37).
In regard to claim 6, Hazelton teaches wherein the at least one image sensor is configured to convert optical images into electrical signals (Par. 37), and
wherein the imaging device is provided with an electrical signal line which feeds the electrical signals to a data processing device and/or an image output device (Par. 38).
In regard to claim 13, Finn teaches configured as a forceps (Figs. 1-2).
In regard to claim 23, Finn discloses a medical instrument (10, Fig. 1) for processing a structure of a human or animal body by holding, gripping, clamping, separating, or cutting the structure or bringing together several structures of the human body or the animal body (Fig. 1 via forceps jaws (14)), the medical instrument comprising:
an instrument head (14) configured to come into contact with the structure or the structures of the human or animal body and to process the structure or the structures (Figs. 1,3);
an elongated instrument shaft (12) including a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the instrument head is arranged at the distal end (Figs. 1,2);
an actuating device (16) arranged at the proximal end of the instrument shaft and configured to actuate a portion of a tip of the instrument head to pivot relative to the instrument shaft (Fig. 1);
an imaging device (36) arranged on or in the instrument shaft (Figs. 1-3),
wherein the instrument head and the imaging device are arranged on the instrument shaft non-removably fixed relative to each other and relative to the instrument shaft (Col. 6, Lines 35-39, Figs. 1-3), and
wherein the objective lens and a tip of the instrument head facing away from the instrument shaft are permanently aligned relative to each other so that the imaging device always generates an image of the tip of the instrument head (Figs. 1,3).
Finn does not expressly teach the imaging device including an image sensor and an objective lens.
Hazelton teaches an analogous imaging device (240) for attachment to a surgical forceps (210). The imaging device includes a camera (242) having an image sensor chip, lenses and/or illumination fibers (Par. 37). The camera (242) can be mounted to various locations along the surgical forceps, including directly to the forceps shaft or instrument head as shown in Figs. 2A,2B and 4. A flexible cable (244) extends from the camera (242) and runs along the forceps shaft, the cable providing power, illumination energy and/or data communication.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the imaging device of Finn with the camera and flexible cable of Hazelton as a matter of design choice to create digital images easily viewed on a display or monitor. Additionally, the camera further incorporates illumination components thereby improving lighting for better picture quality and reducing the need for a separate illumination cable extending along the instrument shaft. There being no unexpected results in substituting the imaging device of imaging device of Finn with the camera and flexible cable of Hazelton.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 13 and 20-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 September 22, 2026