DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I, Group I, Species A, Group I Species B, readable on claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7 and 13 in the reply filed on 2/4/2026 and 5/20/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Additionally, the examiner would like to note that Claims 3 and 10 have been withdrawn as reading on Species B, Claims 5, 8 and 9 have been withdrawn as reading on Species C.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“at least one actuating device” in claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a medical instrument for processing structures of a human or animal body by holding, gripping, clamping, separating, or cutting a structure or bringing together several structures” in Lines 1-3, wherein the claim language is inconsistent with regards to the use of the term “structures” since the claim states “processing structures” and then recites “processing structures” which is plural can be “by holding, gripping, clamping, separating, or cutting a structure” which is singular. It’s not clear how to interpret the claim due to the inconsistency for how “structure” and “structures” is being claimed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blazejewski (DE 10359337 B4).
In regard to claim 1, Blazejewski discloses a medical instrument (Fig. 4) for processing structures of a human or animal body by holding, gripping, clamping, separating, or cutting a structure or bringing together several structures (via separating structures via tip part (10)), the medical instrument comprising:
an instrument head (10) configured to come into contact with the structure of the human or animal body and to process the structure (Fig. 4);
an elongated instrument shaft (9) including a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the instrument head is arranged at the distal end (Fig. 4);
at least one actuating device (via handle (2), Fig. 4) arranged at the proximal end of the instrument shaft and configured to actuate the medical instrument (a user grips the handle (4) to manipulate the medical instrument);
an imaging device (the optical imaging components of the medical instrument comprising the objective (11) and gradient index fiber (12) to the CCD sensor (5) shown in Figs. 1, 3, 4) arranged on or in the instrument shaft (the objective and index fiber (11, 12) extend within the instrument shaft, Fig. 4) and including at least one image sensor (5) and at least one objective lens (11),
wherein the instrument head and the imaging device are arranged on the instrument shaft fixed relative to each other in the longitudinal direction of the instrument shaft (Fig. 4, the imaging device is mounted within the tube (9)), and
wherein the objective lens and a tip of the instrument head facing away from the instrument shaft are permanently aligned relative to each other so that the imaging device always generates an image of the tip of the instrument head (Fig. 4).
In regard to claim 2, Blazejewski teaches wherein the instrument head is curved or angled at least in sections with respect to a longitudinal axis of the instrument shaft and is thereby aligned in a direction of the objective lens (Fig. 4).
In regard to claim 4, Blazejewski teaches further comprising: an illumination (8, 16) which illuminates the instrument head is received in the instrument shaft (Fig. 4).
In regard to claim 6, Blazejewski teaches wherein the at least one image sensor is configured to convert optical images into electrical signals (via CCD sensor (5)), and
wherein the imaging device is provided with an electrical signal line which feeds the electrical signals to a data processing device and/or an image output device (via cable (8) capable of delivering signals to a data processing device and/or image output device, Fig. 3).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0222072).
In regard to claim 1, Hwang discloses a medical instrument (Fig. ) for processing structures of a human or animal body by holding, gripping, clamping, separating, or cutting a structure or bringing together several structures (via jaw assembly (11) for gripping tissue), the medical instrument comprising:
an instrument head (11) configured to come into contact with the structure of the human or animal body and to process the structure (Fig. 1);
an elongated instrument shaft (13) including a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the instrument head is arranged at the distal end (Fig. 1);
at least one actuating device (15) arranged at the proximal end of the instrument shaft and configured to actuate the medical instrument (Fig. 1);
an imaging device (20, Fig. 2) arranged on or in the instrument shaft (Fig. 1) and including at least one image sensor (21) and at least one objective lens (211), Par. 18,19,
wherein the instrument head and the imaging device are arranged on the instrument shaft fixed relative to each other in the longitudinal direction of the instrument shaft (Fig. 1 via holder (27)), and
wherein the objective lens and a tip of the instrument head facing away from the instrument shaft are permanently aligned relative to each other so that the imaging device always generates an image of the tip of the instrument head (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 2, Hwang teaches wherein the instrument head is curved or angled at least in sections with respect to a longitudinal axis of the instrument shaft and is thereby aligned in a direction of the objective lens (the jaw assembly (11) is angled in the open state and aligned in a direction of the objective lens, Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 4, Hwang teaches further comprising: an illumination (213) which illuminates the instrument head is received in the instrument shaft (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 6, Hwang teaches wherein the at least one image sensor is configured to convert optical images into electrical signals (via camera module (21)), and
wherein the imaging device is provided with an electrical signal line (23) which feeds the electrical signals to a data processing device and/or an image output device (via cable (23) capable of delivering signals to a data processing device and/or image output device, Figs. 1,3, Par. 20).
In regard to claim 13, Hwang teaches configured as a forceps (13).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adair (US Patent No. 6,086,528).
In regard to claim 1, Adair discloses a medical instrument (100, Fig. 1) for processing structures of a human or animal body by holding, gripping, clamping, separating, or cutting a structure or bringing together several structures (via grasping tines (34)), the medical instrument comprising:
an instrument head (24) configured to come into contact with the structure of the human or animal body and to process the structure (Fig. 1);
an elongated instrument shaft (32,36) including a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the instrument head is arranged at the distal end (Fig. 1);
at least one actuating device (56,58) arranged at the proximal end of the instrument shaft and configured to actuate the medical instrument (Fig. 1);
an imaging device (21, Fig. 2A) arranged on or in the instrument shaft and including at least one image sensor (16) and at least one objective lens (20,25),
wherein the instrument head and the imaging device are arranged on the instrument shaft fixed relative to each other in the longitudinal direction of the instrument shaft (Fig. 1, Col. 6, Lines 53-65), and
wherein the objective lens and a tip of the instrument head facing away from the instrument shaft are permanently aligned relative to each other so that the imaging device always generates an image of the tip of the instrument head (Fig. 1, via locking the imaging device with knob (38)).
In regard to claim 4, Adair teaches further comprising: an illumination (27) which illuminates the instrument head is received in the instrument shaft (Fig. 2a).
In regard to claim 6, Adair teaches wherein the at least one image sensor is configured to convert optical images into electrical signals (via camera chip (16)), and
wherein the imaging device is provided with an electrical signal line (19) which feeds the electrical signals to a data processing device and/or an image output device (Figs. 1, 2A).
In regard to claim 7, Adair teaches wherein the signal line is arranged in the instrument shaft (Figs. 1, 2A).
In regard to claim 13, Adair teaches configured as a forceps (30).
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 June 7, 2026