DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Patil et al. (US 2016/0014693).
Referring to Claim 7, Patil teaches a computer system, comprising:
a processor (paragraph 10);
a memory device coupled to the processor (paragraph 10); and
a computer readable storage device coupled to the processor (paragraph 12), wherein the storage device contains program code executable by the processor via the memory device to implement a method for processing an electronic communication, comprising:
arranging a plurality of end device identifiers into a first list and a second list, the first list including a plurality of target end point identifiers corresponding to a plurality of wireless electronic devices for communicating with a central computing device (see paragraph 79 which shows devices in either an include list or exclude list);
generating a filter list that includes a plurality of filters for all of the target end point identifiers; and transmitting electronic messages to the plurality of wireless electronic devices according to the filters (see paragraph 79 which shows devices on the include list according to the matching of identifier data and only sending data to the devices on the include list).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Hanchett et al. (US 2020/0195726).
Referring to Claim 9, Hanchett teaches an end device, comprising:
a radio-frequency (RF) receiver receiving an RF communication including a bit string that corresponds to a filter, the filter determining one or more intended targets of the RF communication, the RF communication including an identification of which one or more bits of the filter are relevant for determining whether the end device is an intended target (see paragraph 72 which shows the bit filter as a data mask which indicates whether or not the end device should accept the message);
memory configured to store an address of the end device (see ABSTRACT which shows information stored in a list and paragraph 146 which shows the information including the address); and
a processor configured to compare the one or more relevant bits of the filter with the address of the end device and to produce a response to the RF communication if each value of the one or more relevant bits of the filter match each value of corresponding bits of the address of the end device (see paragraphs 15 and 16 which show the device accepting or ignoring the sent data according to comparing data send with the message to data stored in memory and paragraph 72 which shows the data including bit data or data mask).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of Hanchett.
Referring to Claim 8, Patil does not teach wherein a filter of the plurality of filters is sent to a group of wireless electronic devices of the plurality of wireless electronic devices, wherein each device in the group of wireless electronic device compares relevant bits of the filter to a device address to determine whether to process an electronic message received with the filter. Hanchett teaches wherein a filter of the plurality of filters is sent to a group of wireless electronic devices of the plurality of wireless electronic devices, wherein each device in the group of wireless electronic device compares relevant bits of the filter to a device address to determine whether to process an electronic message received with the filter (see ABSRTRACT which shows the end device receiving filter information from a server and paragraphs 15 and 16 which show the device accepting or ignoring the sent data according to comparing data send with the message to data stored in memory where paragraph 72 shows the data including bit data or data mask). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Hanchett to the device of Patil in order to more efficiently allocate proper data to the intended devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 are allowed.
Regarding Claim 1, Patil teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
arranging a plurality of end device identifiers into a first list and a second list, the first list including a plurality of target end device identifiers corresponding to a first group of wireless electronic devices for communicating with a central computing device (paragraph 79); and
broadcasting electronic messages including the filters of the filter list such that end device possessing an identifier from the first group receives and processes a message while no devices on the second accept any broadcast messages (paragraph 79).
Patil and Hanchett do not teach generating a filter list having a plurality of filters such that each target end device identifier on the first list matches with exactly one filter of the filter list, and no end device identifiers on the second list match with any filter of the filter list.
Conclusion
/EUGENE YUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648