DETAILED ACTION
WISCHERVORRICHTUNG, WISCHERSYSTEM, FAHRZEUG UND VERFAHREN
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06-12-2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are currently pending and have been examined. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06-12-2026, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.102 have been fully
considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by
amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the
prior rejection of record to teach the new limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parenta (DE102017220426A1).
Regarding claim 1, Parenta teaches
A wiper device, at least for cleaning a windshield of a vehicle ("The rear wiper device is provided in particular for mounting on a rear window of a motor vehicle and for cleaning the rear window. ") having at least one wiper blade (14a, figure 2) which is configured at least to sweep over at least a part of the windshield ("The rear wiper device is provided in particular for mounting on a rear window of a motor vehicle and for cleaning the rear window. ") during a cleaning operation, and which has at least one fastening unit (24a, figure 2) at least for fixing the wiper blade (14a, figure 2) to a wiper drive (26a, figures 1-3) of the vehicle, wherein the wiper blade (14a, figure 2) extends longitudinally along a main direction of extension (32a, figure 3) of the wiper blade (14a, figure 2), wherein the fastening unit (24a, figure 2) is arranged in a longitudinal end section (see end 14a, figure 3) of the wiper blade (14a, figure 2), wherein the fastening unit (24a, figure 2) has at least one of a fluidic connection element (28a, figures 2-3), wherein the at least one of a fluid connection element (28a, figures 2-3) includes a plug (see figure 2) or recess on the fastening unit (24a, figure 2), wherein the wiper drive (26a, figures 1-3) has an output element (see annotated figure 1) having at least one corresponding recess or plug to receive the at least one of a fluid connection element (28a, figures 2-3) when the wiper blade (14a, figure 2) is moved longitudinally into attachment with the output element (see figures 1-3; “ the wiper arm connecting element 24a is the nozzle element 28a the fluid line unit 16a arranged. The nozzle element 28a is to regulate fluid flow in the fluid conduit unit 16a intended. The nozzle element 28a is fluid technology with the main body element 50a and with a, not shown, in the drive shaft 26a connected conduit element connected. The nozzle element 28a”).
Regarding claim 2, Parenta teaches wherein the longitudinal end section (see end 14a, figure 3) comprises a longitudinal end of the wiper blade (14a, figure 2) and extends over at most 15% of a total longitudinal extension of the wiper blade (14a, figure 2) measured parallel to a main direction of extension (32a, figure 3) of the wiper blade (14a, figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Parenta teaches wherein the at least one of a fluidic connection element (28a, figures 2-3) includes fluidic connection element (28a, figures 2-3) which is configured for at least one washing water dispensing element, of the wiper blade (14a, figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Parenta teaches wherein the at least one of a fluidic connection element (28a, figures 2-3) or (examiner interpreting only of these limitations need to be met) an electrical connection element includes electrical connection element which is configured to supply power to the wiper blade (14a, figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Parenta teaches wherein the fastening unit (24a, figure 2) has at least one fastening element (“the wiper arm connecting element 24a is the nozzle element 28a the fluid line unit 16a arranged. The nozzle element 28a is to regulate fluid flow in the fluid conduit unit 16a intended. The nozzle element 28a is fluid technology with the main body element 50a and with a, not shown, in the drive shaft 26a connected conduit element connected. The nozzle element 28a”) which interacts with a corresponding fastening element (see figure 1) of the wiper drive (26a, figures 1-3) and is arranged on a front side (see figures 2-3) of the wiper blade (14a, figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Parenta teaches wherein the fastening unit (24a, figure 2) has at least one fastening element which is designed (see figures 1-3; the wiper arm connecting element 24a is the nozzle element 28a the fluid line unit 16a arranged. The nozzle element 28a is to regulate fluid flow in the fluid conduit unit 16a intended. The nozzle element 28a is fluid technology with the main body element 50a and with a, not shown, in the drive shaft 26a connected conduit element connected. The nozzle element 28a”) as a form-fit element for producing a form-fit and/or latching connection with the wiper drive (26a, figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 9, Parenta teaches wherein the fastening unit (24a, figure 2) is configured for direct and/or wiper arm-free fastening of the wiper blade (14a, figure 2) to the wiper drive (26a, figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Parenta teaches wherein the fastening unit (24a, figure 2) specifies an assembly direction (see figure 3; “the rear wiper device 10a includes the wiper arm unit 12a with the main body 22a , the cover element 48a and the wiper arm connector 24a , The main body 22a and the cover 48a are shown partially transparent for the sake of clarity. At the wiper arm unit 12a arranged are the fastening unit 30a at the wiper blade unit 14a is attached, as well as the fluid line unit 16a with the basic body element 50a and the nozzle member 28a , The fastening unit 30a is transverse to the main extension direction 32a the wiper arm unit 12a considered offset to the fluid line unit 16a arranged. In a rear window, not shown 40a mounted state of the rear wiper device 10a is the fluid line unit 16a in a wiping direction 58a at the beginning of a wiping cycle, viewed in front of the mounting unit 30a at the wiper arm unit 12a arranged. The wiping direction 58a at the beginning of a wiping cycle”) which is arranged at least substantially parallel to a main direction of extension (32a, figure 3) of the wiper blade (14a, figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Parenta teaches a wiper system (38a, figure 1)with a wiper drive (26a, figures 1-3) and with a wiper device (10a, figure 3) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Parenta teaches a vehicle with a windshield ("The rear wiper device is provided in particular for mounting on a rear window of a motor vehicle and for cleaning the rear window. ") and with the wiper system (38, figure 1) according to claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Parenta teaches a method for assembling a wiper blade (14a, figure 2), by means of a wiper device according to claim 1, wherein the wiper blade (14a, figure 2) is assembled on a vehicle (("The rear wiper device is provided in particular for mounting on a rear window of a motor vehicle and for cleaning the rear window. ") in a method step wherein, in the method step a fastening unit (24a, figure 2) arranged in a longitudinal end section (see end 14a, figure 3) of the wiper blade (14a, figure 2) is fixed to a wiper drive (26a, figures 1-3) of the vehicle (("The rear wiper device is provided in particular for mounting on a rear window of a motor vehicle and for cleaning the rear window. ")), and to an output element (figures 1-2) of the wiper drive (26a, figures 1-3) of the vehicle (10).
Regarding claim 14, Parenta teaches when carrying out the method step (34), the wiper blade (14a, figure 2) is fixed to the wiper drive (26a, figures 1-3) in a single assembly movement and at the same time a fluidic connecting element (28a, figures 2-3) of the wiper blade (14a, figure 2) of the wiper blade (14a, figure 2) is connected, and to a respective counterpart (see figures 1-2) of the wiper drive (26a, figures 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parenta (DE102017220426A1) in view of Boland (US20120036671A1).
Regarding claim 7, Parenta teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach the fastening unit formed in one piece with the wiper blade, and with a functional component of the wiper blade.
Boland teaches a windscreen wiper device (abstract) that has a fastening unit (7, figure 1) formed in one piece with the wiper blade (2, figure 1), and with a functional component (para 0031-0034) of the wiper blade (2, figure 1).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Parenta to have the fastening unit formed in one piece with the wiper blade, and with a functional component of the wiper blade since the use of a one piece construction based on teachings of Boland, since the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would have required only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce costs and reduce complexity. (see para 0007 of Boland)
Regarding claim 8, Parenta teaches all limitations stated above, and teaches wherein the at least one of a fluid connection element (28a, figures 2-3) includes a fluid connection element (28a, figures 2-3) on the fastening unit (24a, figure 2), and wherein the output element (figures 1-2) when the wiper blade (14a, figure 2) is moved longitudinally into attachment with the output element (see figures 1-2), but fails to teach the fluid element in the form of a recess on the fastening unit, and output element includes a corresponding plug configured to extend into the recess on the fastening unit.
Boland teaches a windscreen wiper device (abstract) that has a fastening unit (7, figure 1) on a wiper blade (2, figure 1) formed in in the form of a recess, and output element (see figure 1) includes a corresponding plug (see top element 11, figure 1) configured to extend into the recess on the fastening unit (see mounting head 8, figure 1).
Based on MPEP 2144 VI-A, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Parenta to have teach the fluid element in the form of a recess on the fastening unit, and output element includes a corresponding plug configured to extend into the recess on the fastening unit based on teachings of Boland, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce costs and reduce complexity. (see para 0007 of Boland)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723