DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Specification:
The title has been amended to an English title (SENSOR CLEANING PROGRAM CONTROL UNIT FOR AN AUTONOMOUSLY OPERATING VEHICLE). The objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections:
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/30/2026, with respect to claims 3, 6-7, 12 and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection for claims 3, 6-7, 12 and 15 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in because of the following informalities for claims 6-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101:
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/30/2026, with respect to claims 1-4, 6-12 and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Amendment to independent claims 1 and 12 overcomes the rejection by adding practical application to the abstract idea (i.e. select a cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode wherein the control unit (10) is configured to adjust the cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode to increase the range of the autonomous operating mode). The rejection of claims 1-4, 6-12 and 15 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103:
Applicant's arguments filed 1/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Violetta, Shirakura, and Violetta 2 fails to teach or suggest the subject matter of amended independent claim 1 (e.g. select a cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode wherein the control unit (10) is configured to adjust the cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode to increase the range of the autonomous operating mode). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Amendment to independent claims 1 and 12 to further clarify adjusting the cleaning program necessitates new grounds of rejection (e.g., wherein the control unit (10) is configured to adjust the cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode to increase the range of the autonomous operating mode).
In this case, Violetta et al. (US 20210033411 A1; hereinafter Violetta 2) cures the deficiencies of Violetta et al. (US 20210107040 A1; hereinafter Violetta). The cycle of cleaning sensors in an
autonomous/semi-autonomous vehicle requires the vehicle to temporarily cease many autonomous
operations for the duration of the sensor cleaning process. Typically, the vehicle must either stop or switch to manual operation, with a human driver taking control, until the cleansing operation is complete and the sensors are ready for operation again as disclosed in Violetta 2 ([0016]). Violetta 2 discloses selecting a cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode and adjusting the cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode to increase the range of the autonomous operating mode by selecting a cleaning program (e.g., cycle) by select[ing] a route based at least in part on usage data 250 that indicates an impact on continuity of the drive…
usage data 250 may indicate that route 402 will require two cleaning actions, route 404 will require six cleaning actions, and route 406 will require three cleaning actions [0041].
Adjusting the cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode to increase the range of the autonomous operating mode is further disclosed in Violetta 2 (e.g. , [0051] routing system 170 can improve the operation of…an autonomous vehicle or a vehicle that includes
autonomous or semi-autonomous…by learning different impacts various locations and segments of travel can have on the sensor cleaning system and taking these impacts into account in selecting a route of travel for the vehicle 100…the vehicle can safely travel farther by extending the use of cleaning fluid through improved route selection and can, in autonomous mode, provide a trip with reduced interruptions for sensor cleaning).
Additionally, new claim 16 necessitates new grounds of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 6-8, line 1: The control unit according to claim 5 is dependent on cancelled dependent claim 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Violetta et al.
(US 20210107040 A1; hereinafter Violetta) in view of Shirakura et al. (US 20210197769 A1; hereinafter Shirakura) in further view of Violetta et al. (US 20210033411 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Violetta teaches a control unit (10) of an at least temporarily autonomously operating vehicle (100) (see at least, [0020] Vehicle control system 105 can control and/or coordinate operations of the vehicle systems to facilitate various operational modes…such as a manual mode, an autonomous mode, a semi-autonomous mode), determine and/or receive a level of an autonomous operating mode (see at least, [0020] vehicle 100 is configured to switch from autonomous mode and/or semi-autonomous mode to manual mode in a manner that optimizes sensor cleaning fluid usage of vehicle sensor cleaning system 125…can be initiated and/or caused by vehicle control system 105…and/or vehicle sensor cleaning system 125), and determine a range of the autonomous operating mode based on the detected filling quantity of the cleaning agent and the level of the autonomous operating mode (see at least, [0009] determining a first amount of sensor cleaning fluid used to clean the sensor along a predetermined travel route when the vehicle operates in manual mode and a second amount of sensor cleaning fluid used to clean the sensor along the predetermined travel route when the vehicle operates in an autonomous mode).
Violetta further teaches wherein the control unit (10) is configured to detect at least one filling quantity of at least one cleaning agent (see at least, [0005] the sensor cleaning control system is configured to determine an amount of sensor cleaning fluid); but does not explicitly teach a means for the control unit (i.e. sensor cleaning control system) to detect the filling quantity as disclosed in applicant’s specification as filed (e.g. [0006] the control unit is preferably set up to detect a filling quantity of at least one cleaning agent, for example in a cleaning agent tank, for example by means of a fill level sensor). However, Shirakura teaches a fill level sensor (see at least, [0106] a level sensor 13 is provided to the washer tank 12 in order to detect the amount of cleaning liquid remaining in the washer tank).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Violetta to include a means for the control unit to detect the filling quantity of the cleaning agent as taught by Shirakura so that the alerts can be issued in plural stages in response to the remaining cleaning liquid level to enable the driver to check the level of urgency of cleaning liquid replenishment at an appropriate timing (Shirakura, [0049]).
Violetta further does to explicitly teach select a cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode wherein the control unit (10) is configured to adjust the cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode to increase the range of the autonomous operating mode. However, Violetta (20210033411) teaches this limitation.
Violetta (20210033411) teaches select a cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode wherein the control unit (10) is configured to adjust the cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode to increase the range of the autonomous operating mode (see at least, [0051] routing system 170 can improve the operation of…an autonomous vehicle or a vehicle that includes autonomous or semi-autonomous…by learning different impacts various locations and segments of travel can have on the sensor cleaning system and taking these impacts into account in selecting a route of travel for the vehicle 100…the vehicle can safely travel farther by extending the use of cleaning fluid through improved route selection and can, in autonomous mode, provide a trip with reduced interruptions for sensor cleaning).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Violetta to include select a cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode to increase the range of the autonomous operating mode as taught by Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) in order to improve the determination based at least in part on usage data, when usage data is available for a given route (Violetta-US 20210033411 A1, [0042]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Violetta, Shirakura and Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) teaches the control unit according to claim 1. Violetta further teaches wherein the control unit (10) is configured to receive and/or determine at least one environmental factor (see at least, [0033] vehicle sensors 160 can detect environmental weather conditions, traffic conditions, and/or road conditions), wherein the control unit (10) is configured to adjust the determined range based on the environmental factor (see at least, [0037] vehicle sensor cleaning system 125 is configured to clean sensors 160 based on learned and/or assigned target cleanliness levels for sensors 160…which levels can be adjusted based on operating/environment conditions…for example, route, weather, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Violetta, Shirakura and Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) teaches the control unit according to claim 2. Violetta further teaches wherein the environmental factor is at least one factor selected from the group consisting of: traffic volume, amount of dirt, road condition, vehicle speed, ambient temperature, dirt condition, sensor position on the vehicle, dirt adhesion, weather data, GPS position, and/or amount of rain (see at least, [0033] an internal environment and/or an external environment of vehicle 100…such as vehicle speed…environmental weather conditions, traffic conditions, and/or road conditions).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Violetta, Shirakura and Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) teaches the control unit according to claim 2. Shirakura further teaches wherein the control unit (10) is configured to determine and/or receive a sequence (see at least, [0036] the control section controls a priority ranking for actuation of the cleaning sections in response to the travel situation and/or the environmental situation of the vehicle) for prioritizing environmental factors (see at least, [0170] the priority ranking may be set in response to various factors relating to the vehicle status and/or the environmental situation…based on congestion information, making distinctions based on the travel speed, making distinctions between fair, wet, and snowy weather, making distinctions based on the road conditions…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Violetta to include the control unit is configured to determine and/or receive a sequence for prioritizing environmental factors as taught by Shirakura in order to enable cleaning targets with a higher priority level to always be swiftly cleaned so that a deterioration in detection performance of a sensor can be mitigated (Shirakura, [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Violetta, Shirakura and Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) the control unit according to claim 5. Violetta further teaches wherein the control unit (10) is configured to receive route information, wherein the control unit (10) is configured to adjust the cleaning program based on the received route information and the range of the autonomous operating mode (see at least, [0048] sensor cleaning control system 184 can determine that over a certain stretch of road, based on sensor cleaning data, there will be a high frequency of sensor cleaning operations that use a high amount of sensor cleaning fluid…can thus recommend that the driver take control for that stretch of road…e.g., “for next five miles, hands on along this route”).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Violetta, Shirakura and Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) the control unit according to claim 5. Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) further teaches wherein the control unit (10) is configured to determine an updated range of the autonomous operating mode based on determined and/or received updated route information (see at least, [0043] if the vehicle changes from a previously untraveled route to a commonly traveled route for which usage data 250 is available, the range module 240 can dynamically determine the estimate distance that the vehicle can travel according to the specific usage data 250 that is available instead of the general average).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Violetta to include the control unit is configured to determine an updated range of the autonomous operating mode based on determine and/or received updated route information as taught by Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) so that the usage module can obtain the usage data as the vehicle traverses the one or more segments of travel, storing a log of when sensor cleaning actions occur while the vehicle is traversing the one or more segments of travel and how much cleaning fluid is used (Violetta-US 20210033411 A1, [0046]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Violetta, Shirakura and Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) control unit according to claim 5. Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) further teaches wherein the control unit (10) is configured to determine and/or output an alternative route based on the range of the autonomous operating mode and the route information (see at least, [0041] the routing module 230 can select
a route based at least in part on usage data 250 that indicates an impact on continuity of the drive…the routing module 230 can select route 402 as having the least interruptions due to cleaning actions, or can use a scoring method as described above to rank the routes 402, 404, 406, and, for example, select route 406 as having the highest score balancing route length and minimizing disruptions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Violetta to include the control unit is configured to determine and/or output an alternative route based on the range of the autonomous operating mode and the route information as taught by Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) in order to improve the determination based at least in part on usage data, when usage data is available for a given route (Violetta-US 20210033411 A1, [0042]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Violetta, Shirakura and Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) the control unit according to claim 1. Violetta further teaches wherein the control unit (10) is configured to create a learning data set based on at least the filling quantity of the cleaning agent, the level of the autonomous operating mode, the range of the autonomous operating mode, and/or any parameter for determining the range of the autonomous operating mode (see at least, [0045] sensor cleaning control system 184 can identify a sensor cleaning trend that correlates sensor cleaning frequency and/or sensor cleaning fluid usage with travel routes, indicating sensor cleaning frequencies along various travel routes…can thus learn which travel routes increase and/or decrease sensor cleaning frequency and/or sensor cleaning fluid usage).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Violetta, Shirakura and Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) the control unit according to claim 1. Shirakura further teaches wherein the control unit (10) is configured to output a maintenance signal based on a comparison between the range of the autonomous operating mode and at least one maintenance location (see at least, [0203] In cases in which the remaining cleaning liquid level is insufficient compared to the predicted cleaning liquid consumption amount, and in cases in which the remaining cleaning liquid level will fall below the predetermined value, an alert is issued by the alert section. The driver or other occupant is able to replenish the cleaning liquid in response; [0172] An alert section may also be provided to stop cleaning of a given cleaning target…to inform the driver that this cleaning target requires maintenance such as manual cleaning…may be made to prompt safe travel, or the vehicle 210 may be (automatically) guided to a safe place).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Violetta to include the control unit is configured to output a maintenance signal based on a comparison between the range of the autonomous operating mode and at least one maintenance location as taught by Shirakura such that even in the case of autonomous driving, a situation in which the autonomous driving is impeded due to insufficient cleaning liquid can be forestalled (Shirakura, [0203]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Violetta, Shirakura and Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) teaches the control unit according to claim 1. Violetta further teaches wherein the control unit (10) is configured to switch off a cleaning process and/or reduce a frequency of the cleaning process based on the range of the operating mode (see at least, [0046] sensor cleaning control system 184 determine how to utilize operation of vehicle 100 in manual mode, based on the sensor cleaning trend that correlates sensor cleaning frequency and/or sensor cleaning fluid usage with travel routes…
determines a sensor cleaning frequency and/or an amount of sensor cleaning fluid used to clean the sensor on each travel route).
Regarding claim 12, Violetta teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium containing instructions that when executed by a computer cause the computer program ([0021] Memory 109 stores data and instructions that can be executed by processor 107 to cause vehicle control system 105 to perform operations and/or allow vehicle control system 105 to cause the vehicle systems to perform operations) to:
determine and/or receive (S2) a level of an autonomous operating mode (see at least, [0020] vehicle 100 is configured to switch from autonomous mode and/or semi-autonomous mode to manual mode in a manner that optimizes sensor cleaning fluid usage of vehicle sensor cleaning system 125…can be initiated and/or caused by vehicle control system 105…and/or vehicle sensor cleaning system 125)
determine a range (S3) of the autonomous operating mode based on the filling quantity and the level of the autonomous operating mode (see at least, [0009] determining a first amount of sensor cleaning fluid used to clean the sensor along a predetermined travel route when the vehicle operates in manual mode and a second amount of sensor cleaning fluid used to clean the sensor along the predetermined travel route when the vehicle operates in an autonomous mode).
Violetta further teaches detect (S1) a filling quantity of a cleaning agent (see at least, [0005] the sensor cleaning control system is configured to determine an amount of sensor cleaning fluid); but does not explicitly teach a means for the control unit (i.e. sensor cleaning control system) to detect the filling quantity as disclosed in applicant’s specification as filed (e.g. [0006] the control unit is preferably set up to detect a filling quantity of at least one cleaning agent, for example in a cleaning agent tank, for example by means of a fill level sensor). However, Shirakura teaches a fill level sensor (see at least, [0106] a level sensor 13 is provided to the washer tank 12 in order to detect the amount of cleaning liquid remaining in the washer tank).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Violetta to include a means for the control unit to detect the filling quantity of the cleaning agent as taught by Shirakura so that the alerts can be issued in plural stages in response to the remaining cleaning liquid level to enable the driver to check the level of urgency of cleaning liquid replenishment at an appropriate timing (Shirakura, [0049]).
Violetta further does to explicitly teach select a cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode wherein the control unit (10) is configured to adjust the cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode to increase the range of the autonomous operating mode. However, Violetta (20210033411) teaches this limitation.
Violetta (20210033411) teaches select a cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode wherein the control unit (10) is configured to adjust the cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode to increase the range of the autonomous operating mode (see at least, [0051] routing system 170 can improve the operation of…an autonomous vehicle or a vehicle that includes autonomous or semi-autonomous…by learning different impacts various locations and segments of travel can have on the sensor cleaning system and taking these impacts into account in selecting a route of travel for the vehicle 100…the vehicle can safely travel farther by extending the use of cleaning fluid through improved route selection and can, in autonomous mode, provide a trip with reduced interruptions for sensor cleaning).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Violetta to include select a cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the cleaning program based on the range of the autonomous operating mode to increase the range of the autonomous operating mode as taught by Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) in order to improve the determination based at least in part on usage data, when usage data is available for a given route (Violetta-US 20210033411 A1, [0042]).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Violetta, Shirakura and Violetta (20210033411) teaches the control unit (10) according to claim 1. Violetta further teaches a vehicle (100) comprising a control unit (10) (Fig 1, Vehicle – Box 100, Vehicle Control System – 105, Vehicle Sensor Cleaning System – Box 125).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Violetta, Shirakura and Violetta (20210033411) teaches the control unit of claim 1. Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) further teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to display, via a display device, at least one selected from the group consisting of the range of the autonomous operating mode, an actual consumption of the cleaning agent in comparison to a forecast of the consumption of the cleaning agent, and a current consumption of the cleaning agent based on the determined filling quantity (see at least, [0042] The range module 240 can dynamically determine an estimate distance that the vehicle 100 can travel according to a remaining amount of sensor cleaning fluid and display the estimate distance on a display in the vehicle 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Violetta to include the control unit is further configured to display, via a display device, at least one selected from the group consisting of the range of the autonomous operating mode, an actual consumption of the cleaning agent in comparison to a forecast of the consumption of the cleaning agent, and a current consumption of the cleaning agent based on the determined filling quantity as taught by Violetta (US 20210033411 A1) in order to improve the determination based at least in part on usage data, when usage data is available for a given route (Violetta-US 20210033411 A1, [0042]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kawamura et al. (US 20210362688 A1) discloses wherein the control unit (10) is configured to switch off a cleaning process and/or reduce a frequency of the cleaning process based on the range of the operating mode (see at least, [0195] the cleaner control unit 2116 executes the cleaner automatic mode when entering an automatic driving available range such as a highway…is configured to, when acquiring the obstacle information, stop the operation of the cleaner).
Davies et al. (US 20230347850 A1) discloses wherein the control unit (10) is configured to output a maintenance signal based on a comparison between the range of the autonomous operating mode and at least one maintenance location (see at least, [1364] If this resource requirement can no longer be covered by the stock of cleaning resources carried in the motor vehicle, a corresponding maintenance stop can be planned to replenish cleaning resources).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662