DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 07 October 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 9-10, and 12 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. Claims 15-17 have been added. Claim 1-17 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 10, and 12 being independent. The 112 rejections set forth in the previous non-final office action mailed 22 August 2025 are overcome by Applicant’s amendments.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on applications filed in China on 29 September 2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of either the CN202122370197.6 application or the CN202111147588.X application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the details of the position stopper as described in the specification and as outlined in the instant claims. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 210772011 U. Reference herein to text will be made to the attached machine translation of Li, see form PTO-892, item “U”), in view of Yang (CN 210373140 U).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches or suggests a fixing device for fixing a lamp (Figs. 1-17), comprising: a fixing base (1) and a connection base (2002), wherein: the connection base (2002) is clamped to the fixing base (1) through rotating (e.g., “when the first main body part 1 and the connecting base 2002 bonded to the first subject portion 1 of the bump 2003 from the U-shaped mounting groove 2005 of the opening end 2051 into 2B along the second holding cavity circumference of inner wall to rotate, until rotating into the U-shaped mounting groove 2005 of the limiting structure 2052 can be installed in place, second combined part connecting base is the first combining part and the first main body part 1 the 2002 finish the mechanical connection” describes a rotational connection between 1 and 2002), a mounting component (2003, 2007, 2010) for fixing the fixing base (1) is arranged at an outer side of the fixing base (1; as shown in Fig. 13), a first connection piece (Fig. 14) is arranged in the mounting component (as shown in Fig. 15), one end of the first connection piece is fixed with the mounting component (e.g., at 2007 and 3006, i.e., via a fastener), the other end of the first connection piece faces an opening of the mounting component (as shown in Figs. 8, 13, and 15); and wherein the fixing base (1) comprises a position stopper (106, and/or 2003, and/or 3062) disposed adjacent to a plug hole (as shown in Figs. 1-17, each of the components are adjacent, i.e., on, about, or near a plug hole) and configured to prevent rotation of a first lead terminal around the plug hole to avoid wire twisting (106, and/or 2003, and/or 3062 provides a twist lock fitting to prevent rotation of a first lead terminal around the plug hole to avoid wire twisting of wires coupled to 200).
Li does not explicitly teach that the other end of the first connection piece is provided with a positioning hole, a positioning piece facing the positioning hole is arranged in the connection base, the connection base drives the positioning piece to be clamped to or detached from the positioning hole during rotating, and a sound is generated during a clamping or detaching process of the positioning piece.
Yang at least teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) a connection piece (10) provided with a positioning hole (11), a positioning piece (9, 14) facing the positioning hole is arranged in the connection base (3; said elements face each other upon insertion or connection of 2 and 3), the connection base (3) drives the positioning piece (via rotation of 2 relative to 3, and/or via 13 biasing 9 out of 13 via 14) to be clamped to or detached from the positioning hole (11) during rotating (9 is clamped to or detached from 11 via rotation by providing a force to overcome the biasing force provided by 14), and a sound is generated during a clamping or detaching process of the positioning piece (due to the materials of 10, 11 and 9, 14, and the spring force of 14, a clicking sound will be heard upon rotating and connecting 9 and 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Li and incorporated the teachings of the other end of the first connection piece is provided with a positioning hole, a positioning piece facing the positioning hole is arranged in the connection base, the connection base drives the positioning piece to be clamped to or detached from the positioning hole during rotating, and a sound is generated during a clamping or detaching process of the positioning piece, such as taught or suggested by Yang, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of reducing the complexity of assembling the device (i.e., by providing a connection feature which provides both tactile and audible feedback to the user upon connection), and/or provide a feature to further prevent unintentional dislodgement of the fixing base from the connection base.
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) a first limiting piece (2003) for supporting the first connection piece (Fig. 14) is further arranged at the outer side of the fixing base (as shown in Fig. 13), and two ends of the first connection piece (Fig. 14) are fixedly connected to the mounting component (i.e., at a top 2007 thereof, as shown in Fig. 15) and the first limiting piece (i.e., at the bottom 2003 thereof, as shown in Fig. 15. It is also noted the act of fixing the to 2003 can be accomplished by the fastener through 2007 and 3006, effective to also fix 3062 to 2003).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) a first accommodation cavity (in which 2111 is disposed, as shown in Fig. 10) for accommodating the fixing base (1) is arranged in the connection base (as shown in Fig. 10), the first accommodation cavity comprises an annular wall (2B) provided with a second limiting piece (2005), the second limiting piece is configured to cooperate with the first limiting piece (2003) to limit each other (as noted in the corresponding description, e.g., “...the first combining part is at least two of the first main body part 1 along the circumference of the first subject part 1 to bump 2003. the second combining part of the connecting seat 2002 is corresponding to the U-shaped mounting groove is at least two in B wall circumferentially along the second receiving cavity 2 is set 2005...”), the second limiting piece (2005) comprises a bearing portion (2053) abutting against the first limiting piece (upon assembly) and a stopping portion (2052) for preventing excessive rotation of the first limiting piece (2052 forms a limiting structure and thus prevents excess rotation), and the bearing portion and the stopping portion are enclosed to form a second accommodation cavity configured to accommodate the first limiting piece (as shown in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) the bearing portion (2053) is not horizontally arranged (i.e., the bearing portion is both out of the way of the horizontally arranged opening 2051, and tapered so as to allow movement of 1 toward 2051 by abutment of 2003 and 2053), so that the first limiting piece has a tendency to move towards the stopping portion in the accommodation cavity (as described above).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) the second accommodation cavity is provided with an opening (2051) along a circumferential direction of the annular wall (as shown in Fig. 10), the opening (2051) and the stopping portion (2052) are respectively located at two sides of the bearing portion along the circumferential direction of the annular wall (as shown in Fig. 10), the bearing portion (2053) is provided with a guide portion (2054) at the opening (2051; as shown in Fig. 10), and the guide portion enables the second accommodation cavity to has a tendency to gradually shrink inward from the opening (as shown in Fig. 10 and as noted in the corresponding description).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) the bearing portion (2053) is provided with a protrusion portion (at a top thereof, as shown in Fig. 10) away from the second accommodation cavity (as shown in Fig. 10), and the protrusion portion is configured to abut against the mounting component (at portion 2003) when the connection base is obliquely mounted relative to the fixing base (as shown in Fig. 10 and as noted in the corresponding description, e.g., “...the U-shaped mounting groove 2005 also has a triangular 2053, for the first subject portion 1 of the bump 2003 and the connecting seat 2002 to connect the U-shaped mounting groove 2005 guiding function...”).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Li does not explicitly teach a third accommodation cavity communicated with the second accommodation cavity is arranged in the protrusion portion, the positioning piece is partially accommodated in the third accommodation cavity, and an elastic piece configured to reset the positioning piece is further arranged in the third accommodation cavity (as recited in claim 7); wherein a second connection piece attached to the bearing portion is arranged in the second accommodation cavity, a part of the second connection piece is fixedly connected to the bearing portion, another part of the second connection piece is fixedly connected to the connection base, and the positioning piece extends into the second accommodation cavity from the third accommodation cavity by passing through the bearing portion and the second connection piece (as recited in claim 8).
Yang at least teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) a third accommodation cavity (13) communicated with the second accommodation cavity (8) is arranged in the protrusion portion (as shown in Fig. 5), the positioning piece (9, 15) is partially accommodated in the third accommodation cavity (as shown in Fig. 5), and an elastic piece (14) configured to reset the positioning piece (9, 15) is further arranged in the third accommodation cavity (13; as shown in Fig. 5); wherein a second connection piece (the ridge which abuts 15, between 9 and 13) attached to the bearing portion (a wall about 8, as shown in Figs. 2 and 5) is arranged in the second accommodation cavity (as shown in Fig. 5, at least the outer wall thereof is arranged in said second accommodation cavity), a part of the second connection piece is fixedly connected to the bearing portion (as shown in Figs. 2 and 5), another part of the second connection piece is fixedly connected to the connection base (3; as shown in Figs. 2 and 5), and the positioning piece (9, 15) extends into the second accommodation cavity (8) from the third accommodation cavity (13) by passing through the bearing portion (of which 13 is formed in, as shown in Fig. 5) and the second connection piece (above 15, between 13 and 8, as shown in Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Li and incorporated the teachings of a third accommodation cavity communicated with the second accommodation cavity is arranged in the protrusion portion, the positioning piece is partially accommodated in the third accommodation cavity, and an elastic piece configured to reset the positioning piece is further arranged in the third accommodation cavity (as recited in claim 7); wherein a second connection piece attached to the bearing portion is arranged in the second accommodation cavity, a part of the second connection piece is fixedly connected to the bearing portion, another part of the second connection piece is fixedly connected to the connection base, and the positioning piece extends into the second accommodation cavity from the third accommodation cavity by passing through the bearing portion and the second connection piece (as recited in claim 8), such as taught or suggested by Yang, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of reducing the complexity of assembling the device (i.e., by providing a connection feature which provides both tactile and audible feedback to the user upon connection), and/or provide a feature to further prevent unintentional dislodgement of the fixing base from the connection base.
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) the fixing base (1) is provided with the first lead terminal for connecting commercial power (2021), the connection base (2002) is provided with a second lead terminal for connecting an electrical equipment (2111), and after the connection base (2002) is clamped to the fixing base (1) through rotating (as noted in the corresponding description), the first lead terminal is electrically connected with the second lead terminal (as noted in the corresponding description).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) a fixing base (1), used for cooperating with a connection base (2002) and fixing a lamp (e.g. Fig. 17), wherein: a mounting component (2003, 2007, 2010) for fixing the fixing base (1) is arranged at an outer side of the fixing base (1; as shown in Fig. 13), a first connection piece (Fig. 14) is arranged in the mounting component (as shown in Fig. 15), one end of the first connection piece (e.g., 3061) is fixed with the mounting component (at a top thereof, as shown in Figs. 13 and 15), other end of the first connection piece (Fig. 14) is provided facing an opening of the mounting component (as shown in Fig. 15); and wherein the fixing base (1) comprises a position stopper (106, and/or 2003, and/or 3062) disposed adjacent to a plug hole (as shown in Figs. 1-17, each of the components are adjacent, i.e., on, about, or near a plug hole) and configured to prevent rotation of a first lead terminal around the plug hole to avoid wire twisting (106, and/or 2003, and/or 3062 provides a twist lock fitting to prevent rotation of a first lead terminal around the plug hole to avoid wire twisting of wires coupled to 200).
Li does not explicitly teach that the other end of the first connection piece is provided with a positioning hole, a positioning piece facing the positioning hole is arranged in the connection base, the connection base drives the positioning piece to be clamped to or detached from the positioning hole during rotating, and a sound is generated during a clamping or detaching process of the positioning piece.
Yang at least teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) a connection piece (10) provided with a positioning hole (11), a positioning piece (9, 14) facing the positioning hole is arranged in the connection base (3; said elements face each other upon insertion or connection of 2 and 3), the connection base (3) drives the positioning piece (via rotation of 2 relative to 3, and/or via 13 biasing 9 out of 13 via 14) to be clamped to or detached from the positioning hole (11) during rotating (9 is clamped to or detached from 11 via rotation by providing a force to overcome the biasing force provided by 14), and a sound is generated during a clamping or detaching process of the positioning piece (due to the materials of 10, 11 and 9, 14, and the spring force of 14, a clicking sound will be heard upon rotating and connecting 9 and 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Li and incorporated the teachings of the other end of the first connection piece is provided with a positioning hole, a positioning piece facing the positioning hole is arranged in the connection base, the connection base drives the positioning piece to be clamped to or detached from the positioning hole during rotating, and a sound is generated during a clamping or detaching process of the positioning piece, such as taught or suggested by Yang, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of reducing the complexity of assembling the device (i.e., by providing a connection feature which provides both tactile and audible feedback to the user upon connection), and/or provide a feature to further prevent unintentional dislodgement of the fixing base from the connection base.
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) a first limiting piece (2003) for supporting the first connection piece (Fig. 14) is further arranged at the outer side of the fixing base (as shown in Fig. 13), and two ends of the first connection piece (Fig. 14) are fixedly connected to the mounting component (i.e., at a top 2007 thereof, as shown in Fig. 15) and the first limiting piece (i.e., at the bottom 2003 thereof, as shown in Fig. 15. It is also noted the act of fixing the to 2003 can be accomplished by the fastener through 2007 and 3006, effective to also fix 3062 to 2003).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) a connection base (2002), arranged in a lamp (e.g. Fig. 17) and used for cooperating with a fixing base (1); and wherein the fixing base (1) comprises a position stopper (106, and/or 2003, and/or 3062) disposed adjacent to a plug hole (as shown in Figs. 1-17, each of the components are adjacent, i.e., on, about, or near a plug hole) and configured to prevent rotation of a first lead terminal around the plug hole to avoid wire twisting (106, and/or 2003, and/or 3062 provides a twist lock fitting to prevent rotation of a first lead terminal around the plug hole to avoid wire twisting of wires coupled to 200).
Li does not explicitly teach a positioning hole is arranged in the fixing base, a positioning piece for cooperating with the positioning hole is arranged in the connection base, the connection base drives the positioning piece to be clamped to or detached from the positioning hole during rotating, and a sound is generated during a clamping or detaching process of the positioning piece.
Yang at least teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) a connection piece (10) arranged in a fixing base, provided with a positioning hole (11), a positioning piece (9, 14) facing the positioning hole is arranged in the connection base (3; said elements face each other upon insertion or connection of 2 and 3), the connection base (3) drives the positioning piece (via rotation of 2 relative to 3, and/or via 13 biasing 9 out of 13 via 14) to be clamped to or detached from the positioning hole (11) during rotating (9 is clamped to or detached from 11 via rotation by providing a force to overcome the biasing force provided by 14), and a sound is generated during a clamping or detaching process of the positioning piece (due to the materials of 10, 11 and 9, 14, and the spring force of 14, a clicking sound will be heard upon rotating and connecting 9 and 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Li and incorporated the teachings of a positioning hole is arranged in the fixing base, a positioning piece for cooperating with the positioning hole is arranged in the connection base, the connection base drives the positioning piece to be clamped to or detached from the positioning hole during rotating, and a sound is generated during a clamping or detaching process of the positioning piece, such as taught or suggested by Yang, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of reducing the complexity of assembling the device (i.e., by providing a connection feature which provides both tactile and audible feedback to the user upon connection), and/or provide a feature to further prevent unintentional dislodgement of the fixing base from the connection base.
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) a first accommodation cavity (in which 2111 is disposed, as shown in Fig. 10) configured to accommodate the fixing base (1) is arranged in the connection base (as shown in Fig. 10), the first accommodation cavity comprises an annular wall (2B) provided with a second limiting piece (2005), the second limiting piece is configured to cooperate with the first limiting piece (2003) of the fixing base (1) to limit each other (as noted in the corresponding description, e.g., “...the first combining part is at least two of the first main body part 1 along the circumference of the first subject part 1 to bump 2003. the second combining part of the connecting seat 2002 is corresponding to the U-shaped mounting groove is at least two in B wall circumferentially along the second receiving cavity 2 is set 2005...”).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) the second limiting piece (2005) comprises a bearing portion (2053) abutting against the first limiting piece (upon assembly) and a stopping portion (2052) for preventing excessive rotation of the first limiting piece (2052 forms a limiting structure and thus prevents excess rotation), the bearing portion and the stopping portion are enclosed to form a second accommodation cavity configured to accommodate the first limiting piece (as shown in Fig. 10).
Li does not explicitly teach that the positioning piece is arranged on the bearing portion in the second accommodation cavity.
Yang at least teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) the positioning piece (9, 14) is arranged on the bearing portion (the inner wall of 8) in a second accommodation cavity (as shown in Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Li and incorporated the teachings of the positioning piece is arranged on the bearing portion in the second accommodation cavity, such as taught or suggested by Yang, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of reducing the complexity of assembling the device (i.e., by providing a connection feature which provides both tactile and audible feedback to the user upon connection), and/or provide a feature to further prevent unintentional dislodgement of the fixing base from the connection base.
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) the mounting component is provided with a strip-shaped mounting hole (as shown in Fig. 8), and a plurality of strip-shaped mounting holes of a plurality of mounting components are oriented in different directions that are perpendicular to each other to allow lateral adjustment of mounting position and enhance structural stability (as shown in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) the mounting component is provided with a strip-shaped mounting hole (as shown in Fig. 8), and a plurality of strip-shaped mounting holes of a plurality of mounting components are oriented in different directions that are perpendicular to each other to allow lateral adjustment of mounting position and enhance structural stability (as shown in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-17) a mounting component is provided with a strip-shaped mounting hole (as shown in Fig. 8), and a plurality of strip-shaped mounting holes of a plurality of mounting components are oriented in different directions that are perpendicular to each other to allow lateral adjustment of mounting position and enhance structural stability (as shown in Fig. 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Li failed to disclose, or suggest in-combination, the amended features of claims 1, 10, and 12, as well as the features of new claims 15-17, pages 6-9 of the above-cited remarks, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the instant case, the device of Li reasonably teaches or suggests the argued limitations, as outlined in the office action above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COLIN J CATTANACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875