CTFR 18/619,363 CTFR 85727 DETAILED ACTION The instant application having Application No. 18/619363 filed on 03/28/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner. Claims 21, 22, 24-30, 32-40 are pending. Claims 1-20, 23, 31 were cancelled. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection. 12-261 AIA Response to Argument In Applicant’s remark, Applicant argues that Schmitz does not disclose “ receiving, by the first unit of the network node, a first signal from the wireless communication node according to the timing of the DL forwarding link ; and transmitting, by the first unit of the network node, a second signal to the wireless communication node according to the timing of the UL forwarding link ”. In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in Schmitz (fig. 2F and par. 0121), “Fig, 2F is a TDD relay topology (i.e. receiving data from a device at a specific timeslot and then relaying/forwarding the data to another device at another specific timeslot.) in which during the timeslot t 0 , the UE 206f received the downlink (DL) data from the gNB 204. Then, during the timeslot t 1 , the UE 206 f relays/forwards the DL data to the UE 206g. Also, during timeslot t 0 , the UE 206f received the Uplink (UL) data from the UE 206g. Then, during the timeslot t 1 , the UE 206 f forwards the UL data to the gNB 204. As such, it is clear that Schmitz discloses, in view of the scope the limitation, “ receiving, by the first unit of the network node, a first signal from the wireless communication node according to the timing of the DL forwarding link ;” [(fig. 2F and par. 0121), “Fig, 2F is a relay topology (i.e. receiving data from a device and then relay/forward the data to another device.) in which during timeslot t 0 , the UE 206f received data (downlink (DL) data) from gNB 204..] “ and transmitting, by the first unit of the network node, a second signal to the wireless communication node according to the timing of the UL forwarding link” [ [(fig. 2F and par. 0121), During timeslot t 0 , the UE 206f received the Uplink (UL) data from the UE 206g. Then, during the timeslot t 1 , the UE 206 f forwards the UL data to the gNB 204.] Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 21, 22, 24-30, 32-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Schmitz et al. (US 2020/0221518 A1.) As per claim 21 , Schmitz discloses “ A wireless communication method, comprising :” as [(par. 0121), FIG. 2F illustrates a “ relay ” topology .] “ determining, by a network node, a timing of a downlink (DL) forwarding link for a DL reception by a first unit of the network node to be same as a timing of reception by a second unit of the network node ,” [(fig. 2F and par. 0121), FIG. 2F illustrates a “relay” topology . As shown therein, during timeslot t 0 , the UE 206 g and gNB 204 each transmit data. (Notice: During t0, the data which is received by UE 206f from gNB 204 is downlink (DL) data, and the data which is received by UE 206f from UE 206g is uplink (UL) data).] “ wherein the DL forwarding link is established between the network node and a wireless communication node ;” [(fig. 2F), the downlink (DL) communication between gNB and UE 206f.] “ and determining, by the network node, a timing of an uplink (UL) forwarding link for a UL transmission by the first unit of the network node to be same as a timing of transmission by the second unit of the network node ,” [(fig. 2F and par. 0121), FIG. 2F illustrates a “relay” topology . Then during timeslot t 1 , the UE 206 f transmits on both uplink (toward gNB 204 ) and downlink (toward UE 206 g ). (Notice: During t1, the data which is transmitted (forwarded) by UE 206f to gNB 204 is the uplink (UL) data, and the data which is transmitted (forwarded) by UE 206f to UE 206g is the downlink (DL) data).] “ wherein the UL forwarding link is established between the network node and the wireless communication node ” [(fig. 2F), the uplink (UL) communication between UE 206f and gNB 204.] “ receiving, by the first unit of the network node, a first signal from the wireless communication node according to the timing of the DL forwarding link ;” [(fig. 2F and par. 0121), FIG. 2F illustrates a “relay” topology . As shown therein, during timeslot t 0 , the UE 206 g and gNB 204 each transmit data. (Notice: During t0, the data which is received by UE 206f from gNB 204 is downlink (DL) data.] “ and transmitting, by the first unit of the network node, a second signal to the wireless communication node according to the timing of the UL forwarding link ” [(fig. 2F and par. 0121), FIG. 2F illustrates a “relay” topology . Then during timeslot t 1 , the UE 206 f transmits on uplink (toward gNB 204 ). (Notice: During t1, the data which is transmitted (forwarded) by UE 206f to gNB 204 is the uplink (UL) data.] As per claim 22 , Schmitz discloses “ The wireless communication method of claim 21 ,” as [see rejection of claim 21.] “ further comprising receiving, by the network node from the wireless communication node, control information to support forwarding operations ” [(par. 0112), Referring back to FIG. 2A, existing relay devices may pass control information via the control plane. Control information enables UEs to setup and transact data between one another in device-to-device (D2D) links. For example, the gNB 204 may provide control plane signaling to UE 206 e , which is relayed to UEs 206 c , 206 d . Subsequently thereafter, UE 206 c and UE 206 d can use control plane data to establish a direct D2D data connection; thereafter data may be exchanged via the data plane.] As per claim 24 , Schmitz discloses “ The wireless communication method of claim 23 ,” as [see rejection of claim 23.] “ wherein a second DL forwarding link is established between the first unit and the wireless communication device ” [(fig. 2F), the downlink (DL) communication from UE 206f to UE 206g.] As per claim 25 , Schmitz discloses “ The wireless communication method of claim 24 ,” as [see rejection of claim 24.] “ further comprising determining, by the network node, a timing of the second DL forwarding link for a DL transmission by the first unit of the network node, based on a first time difference and at least one of (i) the timing of the DL forwarding link for the reception by the first unit of the network node or (ii) the timing of reception by the second unit of the network node ” [(fig. 2F and par. 0121), Then during timeslot t 1 , the UE 206 f transmits on both uplink (toward gNB 204 ) and downlink (toward UE 206 g ). (Notice: During t1, the data which is transmitted (forwarded) by UE 206f to gNB 204 is the uplink (UL) data, and the data which is transmitted (forwarded) by UE 206f to UE 206g is the downlink (DL) data).] As per claim 26 , Schmitz discloses “ The wireless communication method of claim 23 ,” as [see rejection of claim 23.] “ wherein a second UL forwarding link is established between the first unit and the wireless communication device ” [(fig. 2F), the uplink (UL) communication from UE 206g to UE 206f.] As per claim 27 , Schmitz discloses “ The wireless communication method of claim 26 ,” as [see rejection of claim 26.] “ further comprising determining, by the network node, a timing of the second UL forwarding link for a UL reception by the first unit of the network node, based on a second time difference and at least one of (i) the timing of the UL forwarding link for the UL transmission by a first unit of the network node or (ii) the timing of transmission by the second unit of the network node ” [(fig. 2F and par. 0121), Then during timeslot t 1 , the UE 206 f transmits on both uplink (toward gNB 204 ) and downlink (toward UE 206 g ). (Notice: During t1, the data which is transmitted (forwarded) by UE 206f to gNB 204 is the uplink (UL) data, and the data which is transmitted (forwarded) by UE 206f to UE 206g is the downlink (DL) data).] As per claim 28 , Schmitz discloses “ The wireless communication method of claim 21 ,” as [see rejection of claim 21.] “ wherein the second unit comprises a control unit (CU) or a mobile terminal (MT), and wherein the first unit comprises a forwarding unit (FU) ” [(fig. 2F and par. 0121), Then during timeslot t 1 , the UE 206 f transmits on both uplink (toward gNB 204 ) and downlink (toward UE 206 g ). (Notice: During t1, the data which is transmitted by UE 206f to gNB 204 is uplink (UL) data, and the data which is transmitted by UE 206f to UE 206g is downlink (DL) data).] As per claims 29-30, 32-35 , as [see rejections of claims 21-22, 24-27.] As per claims 36-40 , as [see rejections of claims 21, 24-27.] Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Mang Hang Yeung whose telephone number is (571)-270-7319 The examiner can normally be reached on Mon through Th (9:00 am to 4:00pm EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rebecca Song can be reached on (571) 270-3667. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MANG HANG YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417 Application/Control Number: 18/619,363 Page 2 Art Unit: 2417 Application/Control Number: 18/619,363 Page 3 Art Unit: 2417 Application/Control Number: 18/619,363 Page 4 Art Unit: 2417 Application/Control Number: 18/619,363 Page 5 Art Unit: 2417 Application/Control Number: 18/619,363 Page 6 Art Unit: 2417 Application/Control Number: 18/619,363 Page 7 Art Unit: 2417