DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/20/2026 was filed with the Request for Continued Examination on 04/20/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner except where lined through.
No legible copy of item 37 in the non-patent literature publication of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 04/20/2026, i.e. “ISO:11562: “Geometrical Product Specifications (GPS) – Surface Texture: Profile method – Metrological Characteristics of Phase Correct Filters,” 01 December 1996, 3 pages” has been provided/filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
There is no support in the original disclosure of the present Application under examination for a “single crystalline” refractory material which would have “a fraction of sp3 hybridization and a fraction of sp2 hybridization”. The original claims provide each of these limitations in distinct dependent claims, wherein each independently depended on claim 1. The original specification of the present Application under examination provides support for diamond-like carbon containing a fraction of sp3 hybridization and a fraction of sp2 hybridization, not for all types of single crystalline refractory materials.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2001-038506 to Nokimori et al. (hereinafter Nokimori).
Nokimori teaches a diamond tool comprising a single-crystal diamond tip having a sharp cutting edge for cutting, wherein the single-crystal diamond tip has a rake face and a flank face; the cutting edge is formed at the intersection of the front flank and the rake face (claim 1, page 2 and [0004] in page 4). The single crystal diamond can be a natural or artificial one ([0005] in page 4).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2 766 636 to Inspektor et al. (hereinafter Inspektor).
Inspektor, directed to cutting tools and coatings which would contribute to making such tools more wear resistance, discloses a substrate of a cutting tool comprising one or more cutting edges formed at a juncture of a rake face and flank faces, wherein the substrate material is cemented carbide such as WC or some other materials (abstract, page 7, lines 5-17, and Figure 1). The reference discloses a substrate of a coated cutting tool can comprise an insert, drill bit, saw blade, or other cutting apparatus (page 7, lines 18-19). The substrate is part of the cutting tool.
Additionally, the reference generally teaches cemented carbide cutting tools, whether coated or uncoated, have been known; the reference discloses if the cutting tools are coated, the coating material is of refractory materials such as TiC, TiCN, TiN, Al2O3 (page 1, lines 8-13). Thus, the reference recognizes that the cemented carbide cutting tools have been known. Also, as taught by the reference, cutting tools comprise cutting edges comprising a rake face and flank face(s) (page 11, lines 3-5 as well as page 7).
It is important to note that “flank face being formed of a refractory material” is interpreted to mean that the flank face comprises a refractory material. The phrase “being formed” is not a closed transitional phrase.
/PEGAH PARVINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731