DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the restriction requirement dated 10/23/2025 in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The labels on the flowchart of Fig. 1 is hard to make out without magnification. Examiner suggests using a larger font size or rotating the image to fit the page horizontally for more space to enlarge the flowchart.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Par 18, Line 3, “[Figure 1]” should be written as [Figure 3] since Fig. 3 of the present application more accurately fits the description of the 9x9 capture space.
In Par 18, Line 3, “[Figure 2]” should be written as [Figure 4] since Fig. 4 of the present application more accurately fits the description of the operator needing to be stationed outside to monitor the capture process.
In the heading before the first paragraph, “CROSS-REFERNCE” should be written as “CROSS-REFERENCE”
In Par 37, Line 3, there are two instances where “consists essentially of’ should be written as “consists essentially of”.
In Par 37, Line 4, there are two instances where “consisting of’ should be written as “consisting of”.
In Par 37, Line 4, there are two instances where “consists of’ should be written as “consists of”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arcturus (“VR Days Presentation: Digital Human Creation With Volumetric Video”) in view of Sharlet et al (US 20100026897 A1), Mumbauer et al (US 9299184 B2) and Shehata et al (US 202400958), hereinafter Arcturus, Sharlet, Mumbauer and Shehata respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Arcturus teaches a method of virtual video composition comprising: - providing a synchronized multi-camera capture system setup (Arcturus shows a multi-camera capture system that surrounds the actor performing a dance, Timestamp 2:05-2:45)
for detailed refinement of a volumetric video signature (Arcturus shows the 3D model of the performer based on the volumetric capture inside a video editor where the user can make adjustments to refine the actor’s movements and the shape of the model, Timestamp 5:30-6:15)
with intricate photogrammetric modeling complemented by precise bone-mapping (the model captured by the volumetric camera system can have a skeleton map generated to precisely adjust or correct the actor’s performance, Timestamp 6:20-6:40);
and synchronizing motion capture data with volumetric video (Arcturus demonstrates an example of an actor moving her head side to side. The 3D model of the actor almost immediately performs the same head movements to show that the motion capture data is synced with the volumetric video, Timestamp 2:05 -2:45).
Arcturus does not teach processing in real time for the removal of visual artifacts; applying cinematic camera emulation within an interactive virtual setting; and rendering a cinematic video infused with film grain emulation to thereby achieve an authentic cinematic quality. However, Sharlet teaches processing in real time (“performs this operation in real-time or near real-time” - Par 10, Line 16) for the removal of visual artifacts (“removing via one or more GPU operations a plurality of artifacts from the video stream” - Abstract). [NOTE: the removal of visual artifacts as disclosed by Sharlet includes the removal of noise, Par 10, Lines 12-16]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Arcturus to incorporate the teachings of Sharlet to process the video in real time to remove the visual artifacts. It is commonly known in the art that the removal of noise creates a high-quality viewing experience. Removing the visual artifacts in real time may also save post-production editing time. Arcturus in view of Sharlet still does not teach applying cinematic camera emulation within an interactive virtual setting; and rendering a cinematic video infused with film grain emulation to thereby achieve an authentic cinematic quality. However, Mumbauer teaches applying cinematic camera emulation within an interactive virtual setting (“By simulating the performance of a virtual camera operating inside the scenes generated for the video games (e.g., using motion capture camera in a motion capture session), two forms of cinematic shots are presented to the players: a fully-rendered movie (e.g., see FIG. 5); and end-game cinematic shots (e.g., see FIG. 6)” – Col 3, Lines 16- 23). [NOTE: Although Mumbauer simulates the virtual camera to capture cinematic shots in a video game, one of ordinary skill in the art could simply add the virtual camera to capture cinematic shots of the photogrammetric model inside the virtual setting.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Arcturus to incorporate the teachings of Mumbauer to use a virtual camera inside the virtual setting to capture cinematic shots. Doing so would produce dynamic and engaging scenes to immerse the viewer which creates a unique experience. Arcturus in view of Sharlet and Mumbauer still does not teach rendering a cinematic video infused with film grain emulation to thereby achieve an authentic cinematic quality. However, Shehata teaches rendering a cinematic video infused with film grain emulation to thereby achieve an authentic cinematic quality (“In certain cases, it may be desirable to add film grain to digitally recorded images or video. For example, adding film grain to a video may make the video appear cinematic.“ - Par 3, lines 3-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Arcturus to incorporate the teachings of Shehata to apply film grain to a video to achieve a cinematic appearance. It is known in the art that film grain provides an aesthetic to the video by adding subtle detail and textures. Adding film grain also has the benefit of hiding imperfections such as visual artifacts and noise.
Conclusion
/DAVID VAN NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617