Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 09/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that Groups I and II are not distinct (Remarks, pages 7-9) and no serious search or examination burden has been established (Remarks, pages 9-10).
Firstly, this is not found persuasive because Inventions II and I are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand (e.g. "executing a first determination process..." can be performed by a processor or by hand, such as in the mind; "controlling the washing device" can be performed by an automated machine or by hand). Therefore, the groups are distinct. Applicant argues that the method cannot be practiced by hand and is executed by the claimed structures of the measurement system (Remarks, pages 7-9), the examiner disagrees. As claimed, the limitation of “executing a first determination process, the determination process determining whether a first value of intensity of the detection signal detected under a first condition is within a first range” is not claimed to be performed by the measurement system or the recited detector. Additionally, the claimed “controlling the washing device such that the sample container is washed for a first washing time period when the first measurement process is executed and the sample container is washed for a second washing time period when the second measurement process is executed” is not claimed to be performed by a control unit. Note that claim 10 does not recite the first determination unit, first measurement unit, second measurement unit, and first control unit of claim 1. Therefore, the BRI of claim 10 can include the methods performed by a processor, automated machine, or by hand (i.e. practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand). Therefore, the groups are distinct.
Secondly, this is not found persuasive because: Group I would require a search in at least CPC G01N 21/645, along with a unique text search; and Group II would not be searched as above and would instead require a search in at least CPC G01N 2201/1242, along with a unique text search. As discussed above, claim 10 does not recite the first determination unit, first measurement unit, second measurement unit, and first control unit of claim 1. Additionally, claim 10 is directed to a system and not a method comprising the steps of claim 1, therefore claims 1 and 10 would have different claim interpretations and scopes. Therefore, there is a serious search or examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/11/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“washing device” in claim 1;
“first determination unit” in claim 1;
“first measurement unit” in claim 1;
“second measurement unit” in claim 1;
“first control unit” in claim 1;
“second determination unit” in claim 2;
“controlling device” in claim 4;
“second control unit” in claim 4;
“third control unit” in claim 6;
“fourth control unit” in claim 7; and
“warning unit” in claim 9.
In this case:
“washing device” in claim 1 is being interpreted as a tank for storing washing liquid and a pump for injecting and draining the washing liquid (specification, [0040]) and equivalents thereof;
“controlling device” in claim 4 is being interpreted as comprising a light reducer and controller ([0024]); or sample containers, the light reducer located between the controlling device and the detector, and the controller ([0165]) and equivalents thereof. Note that “controlling device” is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) in claim 5, since claim 5 recites sufficient structure to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, and 9, the claims recite “first determination unit” in claim 1; “first measurement unit” in claim 1; “second measurement unit” in claim 1; “first control unit” in claim 1; “second determination unit” in claim 2; “second control unit” in claim 4; “third control unit” in claim 6; “fourth control unit” in claim 7; and “warning unit” in claim 9. However, the disclosure does not provide any structural details to the claimed: “first determination unit” in claim 1; “first measurement unit” in claim 1; “second measurement unit” in claim 1; “first control unit” in claim 1; “second determination unit” in claim 2;“second control unit” in claim 4; “third control unit” in claim 6; “fourth control unit” in claim 7; and “warning unit” in claim 9. The specification describes: “first determination unit” and its functions ([0070], [0127]); “first measurement unit” and its functions ([0072],[0130]); “second measurement unit” and its function ([0073],[0131]); “first control unit” and its function ([0075], [0132]); “second determination unit” and its function ([0071],[0129]); “second control unit” and its function ([0083],[0132]); “third control unit” and its function ([0137]-[0138]); “fourth control unit” and its function ([0142]-[0143]); and “warning unit” and its function ([0087],[0097],[0105],[0112]). However, the written description is devoid of any structures or algorithms that performs the functions of the elements above in the claims, and fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions of the elements above and fails to clearly link the structure, material, or acts of the elements to the functions. Additionally, Figs. 1, 3-8 merely show block diagrams of the elements are does not clearly disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions of the elements above. Therefore, the disclosure does not demonstrate that the applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed functions because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 2-9 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on all of the limitations and the written description issues of claim 1.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites “a second range” in the last line. It is unclear if the “second range” of the last line is the same or different from the “second range” established in line 6. It is suggested to recite “a second range” as “the second range” if referring to the same range. Claims 4-7 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, and 9, the claim limitations: “first determination unit” in claim 1; “first measurement unit” in claim 1; “second measurement unit” in claim 1; “first control unit” in claim 1; “second determination unit” in claim 2; “second control unit” in claim 4; “third control unit” in claim 6; “fourth control unit” in claim 7; and “warning unit” in claim 9 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and fails to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions. The specification describes: “first determination unit” and its functions ([0070], [0127]); “first measurement unit” and its functions ([0072],[0130]); “second measurement unit” and its function ([0073],[0131]); “first control unit” and its function ([0075], [0132]); “second determination unit” and its function ([0071],[0129]); “second control unit” and its function ([0083],[0132]); “third control unit” and its function ([0137]-[0138]); “fourth control unit” and its function ([0142]-[0143]); and “warning unit” and its function ([0087],[0097],[0105],[0112]). However, the written description is devoid of any structures or algorithms that performs the functions of the elements above in the claims, and fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions of the elements above and fails to clearly link the structure, material, or acts of the elements to the functions. Note that MPEP 2181(II)(B) states that for a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation, the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function, or else the claim is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). As discussed above, the specification fails to disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific functions. Additionally, Figs. 1, 3-8 merely show block diagrams of the elements are does not clearly disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions of the elements above. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claims 2-9 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on all of the limitations and the written description issues of claim 1.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goix et al. (US 20090234202 A1; cited in the IDS filed 03/28/2024) in view of Tanaka et al. (US 20070231208 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goix teaches a measurement system (abstract and Figs. 1-2 teaches particle analyzers for detection of molecules) comprising:
a light source (Fig. 1A, electromagnetic radiation source 301) configured to irradiate excitation light to a fluorescent substance kept in a sample container, the sample container containing a sample comprising the fluorescent substance (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 1A and [0247] and [0258] teaches electromagnetic radiation source 301 stimulates fluorescent moiety or label in a capillary flow cell 312, i.e. sample container containing a sample comprising the fluorescence substance)
a detector (Fig. 1A, electromagnetic radiation detector 309) configured to detect radiated light emitted from the fluorescent substance depending on the excitation light (Fig. 1A and [0247] teaches electromagnetic radiation detector 309 measures electromagnetic characteristic of the stimulated fluorescent moiety of an interrogation space within the capillary flow cell 313);
a measurement device (Fig. 1A, processor 310) configured to measure a concentration of the fluorescent substance based on a detection signal detected by the detector ([0257]-[0258] teaches the processor is connected to the detector and processes the light signal from the particle; [0100],[0102] teaches detection of molecules and determination of concentrations of the molecules; [0193] teaches determination of concentration of a molecule by detecting molecules in the sample; [0520] teaches concentration was determined by correlating signals detected by the analyzer with a standard curve; therefore, the processor measures or determines concentration of the fluorescence substance based on detection signal of the detector of the analyzer); and
a washing device configured to supply washing liquid for washing the sample container to the sample container ([0226] teaches the instrument is washed with a wash buffer between runs; [0324] teaches flushing to clean the previous sample from the apparatus; [0491] teaches kits include washes; [0542] teaches a microplate washer; [0679] teaches a microplate wash station; therefore, Goix inherently teaches a washing device, such as a washer or wash station, which would include a tank and pump as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), to allow a wash buffer to be supplied to wash a sample container, i.e. microplate);
Goix fails to explicitly teach: the measurement device comprising:
a first determination unit configured to execute a first determination process, the first determination process determining whether a first value of intensity of the detection signal detected under a first condition is within a first range;
a first measurement unit configured to execute an analog measurement, in which a first measurement process measuring a concentration of the fluorescent substance contained in the sample is performed when the first value of intensity is within the first range;
a second measurement unit configured to execute a digital measurement, in which a second measurement process measuring a concentration of the fluorescent substance contained in the sample is performed when the first value of intensity is determined to be lower than a lower limit of the first range; and
a first control unit configured to control the washing device such that the sample container is washed for a first washing time period when the first measurement process is performed and the sample container is washed for a second washing time period when the second measurement process is performed.
Goix teaches range of detection at low concentrations of any analyte can be extended to higher concentrations by switching the detection of the analyzer from counting molecules (digital signal) to detecting the sum of photons (analog signal) that are generated at the higher concentrations of analyte; and the single particle analyzer has an expanded linear dynamic range of 6 logs ([0036]). Goix teaches any particle of interest can be measured at low and higher concentrations by switching the detection of the analyzer from counting molecules (digital signal) to detecting the sum of photons (analog signal) that are generated at the higher concentrations of analyte ([0584]; Fig. 17E); wherein the ability to increase the dynamic range for detecting the concentration of a particle in a sample allows for the determination of the concentration of a particle for normal (lower concentration range) and disease levels (higher concentration range) ([0584]). Goix teaches digital signal detected at low concentrations have an associated first signal range and analog signal detected at high concentrations have an associated second signal range (Fig. 17E). Goix teaches program codes of one or more sets of instructions, i.e. determination units and measurement units, stored in a storage medium to perform and direct logic operations of the analyzer and are used to analyze data ([0486]-[0487]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the measurement device of Goix to incorporate Goix’s teachings of program codes of instructions for the analyzer ([0486]-[0487]) and switching between analog or digital signal measurement to measure any particle of interest at low and higher concentrations ([0036],[0584]; Fig. 17E), wherein digital signals and analog signal measurements occur within respective signal ranges (Fig. 17E) to provide: the measurement device comprising: a first determination unit configured to execute a first determination process, the first determination process determining whether a first value of intensity of the detection signal detected under a first condition is within a first range; a first measurement unit configured to execute an analog measurement, in which a first measurement process measuring a concentration of the fluorescent substance contained in the sample is performed when the first value of intensity is within the first range; a second measurement unit configured to execute a digital measurement, in which a second measurement process measuring a concentration of the fluorescent substance contained in the sample is performed when the first value of intensity is determined to be lower than a lower limit of the first range. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automated analysis of the fluorescent substance at any concentrations by identifying if a signal, e.g. intensity, is within a range for digital signal measurement or a range for analog signal measurement, therefore improving dynamic range for detecting the concentration of the fluorescent substance of the sample as taught by Goix ([0036],[0584]).
Modified Goix fails to teach: a first control unit configured to control the washing device such that the sample container is washed for a first washing time period when the first measurement process is performed and the sample container is washed for a second washing time period when the second measurement process is performed.
Goix teaches the instrument is washed with a wash buffer between runs ([0226]). Goix teaches flushing to clean the previous sample from the apparatus ([0324]). Goix teaches kits include washes ([0491]). Goix teaches a microplate washer ([0542]) a microplate wash station ([0679]). Goix teaches any particle of interest can be measured at low and higher concentrations ([0584]).
Tanaka teaches a specimen analysis method and apparatus (abstract; [0002]). Tanaka teaches a computer program including a CPU calculates concentration of antigens within a sample from the intensity of scattered light detected by an optical detection system ([0154]). Tanaka teaches a CPU process of laser beam radiation (Fig. 27, step S125) and concentration calculation (S127). Tanaka teaches the apparatus (Fig. 4) including an optical detection section (Fig. 4) comprising a laser (53) and a photomultiplier that is a fluorescence respective section (Fig. 4 and [0096], photomultiplier 59). Tanaka teaches an automatic analysis apparatus, wherein a specimen passage channel is washed for every completion of each measurement using a washing solution for a specified washing time ([0005]); however, if the concentration of the specimen is very high and washed with the same time, the washing becomes insufficient and carry-over occurs in a next specimen and this poses the problem of not obtaining a precise measurement value ([0005]). Tanaka teaches the proposed apparatus automatically adjusting the washing time and/or the amount of a washing solution of the specimen passage channel in accordance with the number of the particles of the measured specimens ([0006]). Tanaka teaches cleaning time can be altered depending on the bacterium concentration in the urine specimen measured ([0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the measurement device of modified Goix to incorporate Goix’s teachings of washing the instrument between runs, cleaning a previous sample from the apparatus, and washers and wash stations ([0226],[0324],[0542],[0679]) and measuring particles at low or high concentrations ([0584]) and Tanaka’s teachings of automatically adjusting the washing time of the specimen passage channel in accordance with the number of the particles or concentration of the measured specimens ([0005]-[0006],[0120]) to provide: a first control unit configured to control the washing device such that the sample container is washed for a first washing time period when the first measurement process is performed and the sample container is washed for a second washing time period when the second measurement process is performed. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving and optimizing automated washing of the sample container to ensure sufficient cleaning of the sample container between runs or measurements depending on the concentration of the fluorescent substance as taught by Tanaka.
Regarding claim 3, modified Goix fails to teach: wherein the second washing time period is shorter than the first washing time period.
Tanaka teaches an automatic analysis apparatus, wherein a specimen passage channel is washed for every completion of each measurement using a washing solution for a specified washing time ([0005]); however, if the concentration of the specimen is very high and washed with the same time, the washing becomes insufficient and carry-over occurs in a next specimen and this poses the problem of not obtaining a precise measurement value ([0005]). Tanaka teaches the proposed apparatus automatically adjusting the washing time and/or the amount of a washing solution of the specimen passage channel in accordance with the number of the particles of the measured specimens ([0006]). Tanaka teaches cleaning time can be altered depending on the bacterium concentration in the urine specimen measured ([0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the measurement device of modified Goix to incorporate Tanaka’s teachings of automatically adjusting the washing time of the specimen passage channel in accordance with the number of the particles or concentration of the measured specimens ([0005]-[0006],[0120]) to provide: wherein the second washing time period is shorter than the first washing time period. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving and optimizing the washing time of the sample container to ensure sufficient cleaning of the sample container between runs or measurements depending on the concentration of the fluorescent substance as taught by Tanaka.
Regarding claim 8, modified Goix further teaches wherein a first time period for executing the first determination process is shorter than a second time period for executing the first measurement process (interpreted as an intended use of the measurement system; see MPEP 2114; the measurement system of modified Goix is identical to the presently claimed system and therefore, would have the ability to perform the use of executing the first determination process in a shorter time period than executing the first measurement process as recited in the claim). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
If it is determined that Goix fails to teach wherein a first time period for executing the first determination process is shorter than a second time period for executing the first measurement process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the measurement system of modified Goix to provide: wherein a first time period for executing the first determination process is shorter than a second time period for executing the first measurement process through optimization and routine experimentation in order to discover the optimum times for the first determination process and the first measurement process to ensure accurate analysis of the sample (MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goix in view of Tanaka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sharpe et al. (US 20210080368 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Goix fail to teach: wherein the measurement device comprises: a second determination unit configured to execute a second determination process, the second determination process determining whether a second value of intensity of the detection signal detected under a second condition under which the value of intensity is higher than that under the first condition is within a second range when the first value of intensity is determined to be lower than the lower limit of the first range; and wherein the second measurement unit configured to execute the digital measurement, in which the second measurement process is performed when the second value of intensity is determined to be lower than a lower limit of a second range.
Goix teaches any particle of interest can be measured at low and higher concentrations by switching the detection of the analyzer from counting molecules (digital signal) to detecting the sum of photons (analog signal) that are generated at the higher concentrations of analyte ([0584]; Fig. 17E); wherein the ability to increase the dynamic range for detecting the concentration of a particle in a sample allows for the determination of the concentration of a particle for normal (lower concentration range) and disease levels (higher concentration range) ([0584]). Goix teaches digital signal detected at low concentrations have an associated first signal range and analog signal detected at high concentrations have an associated second signal range (Fig. 17E). Goix teaches program codes of one or more sets of instructions, i.e. determination units and measurement units, stored in a storage medium to perform and direct logic operations of the analyzer and are used to analyze data ([0486]-[0487]). Goix teaches an even further increase in dynamic range can be achieved by the use of an attenuator between the flow cell and the detector, when concentrations are such that the intensity of light reaching the detector would otherwise exceed the capacity of the detector for accurately counting photons ([0240]).
Sharpe teaches systems to extend dynamic range capabilities to detect low intensity, i.e. first condition, and high intensity light, i.e. second condition, at high speeds with high sensitivities (abstract). Sharpe teaches the systems enable a wide dynamic range, optical signals of related to particles of interest within a single detector's dynamic range can be acquired while other optical signals at light intensities outside the single detector's dynamic range can also be accurately captured (abstract). Sharpe teaches the use of different attenuation elements, such as neutral density filters with different attenuation factors i.e. measurements under different conditions ([0049]). Sharpe teaches light attenuated by different amounts at different optical detector elements to provide a way to measure the light from the particle at different “optical gain” factors ([0064]); and therefore, particles emitting or scattering very intense light are measurable by optical detector elements receiving portions of light with high attenuation while particles emitting or scattering low intensity light are measurable by detector elements receiving portions of light having minimal or no attenuation ([0064]). Sharpe teaches a combiner module with software; wherein a pre-determined threshold value is set where the combiner module switches from the first detector output to the second detector output when generating the combined signal; and wherein the pre-determined threshold value can be an intensity value ([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the measurement system of modified Goix to incorporate Goix’s teachings of program codes of instructions for the analyzer ([0486]-[0487]) and switching between analog or digital signal measurement to measure any particle of interest at low and higher concentrations ([0036],[0584]; Fig. 17E), digital signals and analog signal measurements occur within respective signal ranges (Fig. 17E), and use of an attenuator to increase dynamic range when intensity of light exceeds capacity of the detector ([0240]) and Sharpe’s teachings of extending the dynamic range of measurement systems using different attenuation elements to allow for detection at low and high intensity ranges (abstract; [0049],[0064]) and software to switch detection conditions based on threshold value of an intensity value ([0041]) to provide: wherein the measurement device comprises: a second determination unit configured to execute a second determination process, the second determination process determining whether a second value of intensity of the detection signal detected under a second condition under which the value of intensity is higher than that under the first condition (e.g. a condition of high intensity light) is within a second range when the first value of intensity is determined to be lower than the lower limit of the first range; and wherein the second measurement unit configured to execute the digital measurement, in which the second measurement process is performed when the second value of intensity is determined to be lower than a lower limit of a second range. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving dynamic range for detecting the concentration of the fluorescent substance of the sample at different intensity conditions as taught by Goix ([0036],[0240], [0584]) and Sharpe (abstract; [0041],[0049],[0064]).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goix in view of Tanaka and Sharpe as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ragsdale (US 20060274922 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Goix fails to teach: the measurement system according to claim 2, further comprising a controlling device configured to control intensity of the radiated light located on a path that light travels from the light source to the detector; and wherein the measurement device comprises a second control unit configured to control the controlling device such that the value of intensity of the detection signal is the second value of intensity when the first value of intensity is determined less than the lower limit of the first range.
Goix teaches an even further increase in dynamic range can be achieved by the use of an attenuator between the flow cell and the detector, when concentrations are such that the intensity of light reaching the detector would otherwise exceed the capacity of the detector for accurately counting photons ([0240]). Goix teaches an attenuator, i.e. light reducer, to increase dynamic range when intensity of light exceeds capacity of the detector ([0240]).
Sharpe teaches a light modulator to modulate light, which allows the first optical detector element to accurately measure both bright and dim signals at a single gain setting ([0060]). Sharpe teaches the light modulator can include open sections that block no light and an ND filter that reduces light intensity, i.e. light reducer ([0061]). Sharpe teaches optical elements between a light source and detector can include ND filters or no ND filters; light attenuated by different amounts at different optical detector elements to provide a way to measure the light from the particle at different “optical gain” factors ([0064]); and therefore, particles emitting or scattering very intense light are measurable by optical detector elements receiving portions of light with high attenuation while particles emitting or scattering low intensity light are measurable by detector elements receiving portions of light having minimal or no attenuation ([0064]).
Ragsdale teaches a method and system for measuring a response to a stimulus of samples (abstract). Ragsdale teaches varying radiation intensity and/or detector sensitivity provides that the measurement range of a detector's A/D converter is not exceeded ([0007]). Ragsdale teaches intensity of radiation is modulated by an intensity modulator ([0036]), which includes a controllable variable-neutral-density filter, i.e. light reducer, and a controller configured to move the graded-neutral-density filter through the radiation beam along a filter gradient to modulate the radiation intensity ([0036]; claim 43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the measurement system of modified Goix to incorporate Goix’s teachings of an attenuator to increase dynamic range when intensity of light exceeds capacity of the detector ([0240]), Sharpe’s teachings of light modulation to measure both bright and dim signals using different optical elements, such as ND filters or no ND filters ([0060]-[0061],[0064]) and Ragsdale’s teachings of an intensity modulator including a controllable variable-neutral-density filter and controller to move the filter to modulate radiation intensity ([0036]) to provide: the measurement system according to claim 2, further comprising a controlling device (as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) including a light reducer and controller) configured to control intensity of the radiated light located on a path that light travels from the light source to the detector; and wherein the measurement device comprises a second control unit configured to control the controlling device such that the value of intensity of the detection signal is the second value of intensity when the first value of intensity is determined less than the lower limit of the first range. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automated adjustment of radiated light and intensity of the detection signal to improve the dynamic range of measurement of varying intensities as taught by Sharpe and Ragsdale.
Regarding claim 5, modified Goix fails to explicitly teach: the measurement system according to claim 4, wherein the controlling device further comprises:
a light reducer located between the light source and the detector; and
a controller configured to control the light reducer such that intensity of the radiated light transmitting the light reducer changes.
Goix teaches an attenuator to increase dynamic range when intensity of light exceeds capacity of the detector ([0240]).
Sharpe teaches a light modulator to modulate light, which allows the first optical detector element to accurately measure both bright and dim signals at a single gain setting ([0060]). Sharpe teaches the light modulator can include open sections that block no light and an ND filter, i.e. light reducer, that reduces light intensity ([0061]). Sharpe teaches optical elements between a light source and detector can include ND filters or no ND filters; light attenuated by different amounts at different optical detector elements to provide a way to measure the light from the particle at different “optical gain” factors ([0064]); and therefore, particles emitting or scattering very intense light are measurable by optical detector elements receiving portions of light with high attenuation while particles emitting or scattering low intensity light are measurable by detector elements receiving portions of light having minimal or no attenuation ([0064]).
Ragsdale teaches a method and system for measuring a response to a stimulus of samples (abstract). Ragsdale teaches varying radiation intensity and/or detector sensitivity provides that the measurement range of a detector's A/D converter is not exceeded ([0007]). Ragsdale teaches intensity of radiation is modulated by an intensity modulator ([0036]), which includes a controllable variable-neutral-density filter, i.e. i.e. light reducer, and a controller configured to move the graded-neutral-density filter through the radiation beam along a filter gradient to modulate the radiation intensity ([0036]; claim 43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the measurement system of modified Goix to incorporate Goix’s teachings of an attenuator to increase dynamic range when intensity of light exceeds capacity of the detector ([0240]) and Sharpe’s teachings of light modulation to measure both bright and dim signals using different optical elements, such as ND filters or no ND filters ([0060]-[0061],[0064]) and Ragsdale’s teachings of an intensity modulator including a controllable variable-neutral-density filter and controller to move the filter to modulate radiation intensity ([0036]) to provide: the measurement system according to claim 4, wherein the controlling device further comprises: a light reducer located between the light source and the detector; and a controller configured to control the light reducer such that intensity of the radiated light transmitting the light reducer changes. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automated adjustment of radiated light and intensity of the detection signal to improve the dynamic range of measurement of varying intensities as taught by Sharpe and Ragsdale.
Regarding claim 6, modified Goix fails to teach: the measurement system according to claim 2, wherein the measurement device further comprises a third control unit configured to control the light source such that the value of intensity of the detection signal is the second value of intensity when the first value of intensity is determined to be lower than the lower limit of the first range.
Goix teaches optimal laser intensity depends on the characteristics of the dyes and length of time required to traverse the interrogation space; and obtaining a maximum signal by illuminating the sample at the highest intensity which will not result in photo bleaching of the dyes ([0277]). Goix teaches program codes of instructions for the analyzer ([0486]-[0487]) and switching between analog or digital signal measurement to measure any particle of interest at low and higher concentrations ([0036],[0584]; Fig. 17E). Goix teaches digital signals and analog signal measurements occur within respective signal ranges (Fig. 17E). Goix teaches use of an attenuator to increase dynamic range when intensity of light exceeds capacity of the detector ([0240]).
Ragsdale teaches varying radiation intensity and/or detector sensitivity provides that the measurement range of a detector's A/D converter is not exceeded ([0007]). Ragsdale teaches a modulator configured to modulate an intensity of the radiation ([0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the measurement system of modified Goix to incorporate Goix’s teachings of optimizing laser intensity and maximum signal of a sample ([0277]), program codes of instructions for the analyzer ([0486]-[0487]), and increasing dynamic range of the detector when intensity of light exceeds capacity of the detector ([0240]) and Ragsdale’s teachings of a modulator to modulate or vary the intensity of the radiation ([0014]) to provide: the measurement system according to claim 2, wherein the measurement device further comprises a third control unit configured to control the light source such that the value of intensity of the detection signal is the second value of intensity when the first value of intensity is determined to be lower than the lower limit of the first range. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automated adjustment of radiated light to be within a desired range (e.g. the second value of intensity when the first value of intensity is determined to be lower than the lower limit of the first range) to improve the dynamic range of measurement of varying light source and detection signal intensities as taught by Goix and Ragsdale.
Regarding claim 7, modified Goix fails to teach: the measurement system according to claim 2, wherein the measurement device further comprises a fourth control unit configured to control the detector such that the value of intensity of the detection signal is the second value of intensity when the first value of intensity is determined to be lower than the lower limit of the first range.
Goix teaches optimal laser intensity depends on the characteristics of the dyes and length of time required to traverse the interrogation space; and obtaining a maximum signal by illuminating the sample at the highest intensity which will not result in photo bleaching of the dyes ([0277]). Goix teaches program codes of instructions for the analyzer ([0486]-[0487]) and switching between analog or digital signal measurement to measure any particle of interest at low and higher concentrations ([0036],[0584]; Fig. 17E). Goix teaches digital signals and analog signal measurements occur within respective signal ranges (Fig. 17E). Goix teaches use of an attenuator to increase dynamic range when intensity of light exceeds capacity of the detector ([0240]).
Sharpe teaches controlled optical detector elements that extend dynamic range capabilities of the system to detect low and high intensity light ([0018]). Sharpe teaches a light modulator to modulate light, which allows the first optical detector element to accurately measure both bright and dim signals at a single gain setting ([0060]). Sharpe teaches the light modulator can include open sections that block no light and an ND filter that reduces light intensity ([0061]). Sharpe teaches optical elements between a light source and detector can include ND filters or no ND filters; light attenuated by different amounts at different optical detector elements to provide a way to measure the light from the particle at different “optical gain” factors ([0064]); and therefore, particles emitting or scattering very intense light are measurable by optical detector elements receiving portions of light with high attenuation while particles emitting or scattering low intensity light are measurable by detector elements receiving portions of light having minimal or no attenuation ([0064]).
Ragsdale teaches varying radiation intensity and/or detector sensitivity provides that the measurement range of a detector's A/D converter is not exceeded ([0007]). Ragsdale teaches a modulator configured to modulate an intensity of the radiation ([0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the measurement system of modified Goix to incorporate Goix’s teachings of optimizing laser intensity and maximum signal of a sample ([0277]), program codes of instructions for the analyzer ([0486]-[0487]), and increasing dynamic range of the detector when intensity of light exceeds capacity of the detector ([0240]), Sharpe’s teachings of controlled optical detector elements ([0018]) and light modulation to measure both bright and dim signals using different optical elements ([0060]-[0061],[0064]) and Ragsdale’s teachings of varying detector sensitivity ([0014]) to provide: the measurement system according to claim 2, wherein the measurement device further comprises a fourth control unit configured to control the detector such that the value of intensity of the detection signal is the second value of intensity when the first value of intensity is determined to be lower than the lower limit of the first range. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automated adjustment of sensitivity of the detector to be within a desired range (e.g. the second value of intensity when the first value of intensity is determined to be lower than the lower limit of the first range) to improve the dynamic range of measurement of varying light source and detection signal intensities as taught by Goix, Sharpe, and Ragsdale.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goix in view of Tanaka as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Opalsky et al. (US 20170191933 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Goix fails to teach: the measurement system according to claim 8, further comprising a warning unit issuing a warning when the first value of intensity is determined to be higher than the upper limit of the first range.
Opalsky teaches a system for measuring optical signal detector performance includes an optical signal detector including a light source and sensor (abstract). Opalsky teaches if an intensity is outside an intensity range, the operational performance status of signal detector is determined either a failure status or a deteriorated performance status, and possible malfunction of signal detector is indicated, and an error warning or other indication of the possible malfunction is provided ([0197]). Opalsky teaches a controller configured to determine operational performance status by determining whether measurement intensities are within predetermined ranges ([0010]-[0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the measurement system of Goix to incorporate Opalsky’s teachings of indicating a warning if an intensity is outside a predetermined range ([0010]-[0011],[0197]) to provide: the measurement system according to claim 8, further comprising a warning unit issuing a warning when the first value of intensity is determined to be higher than the upper limit of the first range. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving checking of operational performance of the measurement system to ensure accurate performance of the system and measurement of the sample.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rawle et al. (US 20150111287 A1) teaches an optical assembly for detecting molecules within reaction vessels (abstract). Rawle teaches the optical assembly further comprises an attenuator comprising a neutral density filter for reducing the power of the excitation beam from the collimator ([0022], [0201]). Rawle teaches a microcontroller to activate an excitation means and fluorescence detector photodiode to receive an analogue signal indicative of the level of light ([0229]).
Vandiere et al. (US 20130234046 A1) teaches systems and methods for analyzing traces of airborne compounds (abstract). Vandiere teaches cleaning a capillary tube using cleaning liquid ([0051]), wherein cleaning time depends on the results obtained using the native fluorescence detector ([0051]).
Henley et al. (US 20210214776 A1) teaches systems for improving an assay (abstract). Henley teaches at low target molecule concentrations, most beads will have either zero or one detection conjugate, and the percentage of PCR positive beads (i.e., digital signal) can be used along with Poisson statistics to determine the average number of detection conjugates per bead and thus the concentration of the target molecules in the sample; and at high target concentrations, most beads may have more than one detection conjugate, and so an analog signal can be used to determine the number of detection conjugates on each bead; wherein combining the digital and analog PCR signals provides a very large dynamic while retaining the precise quantitative ability of digital PCR at low target concentrations ([0011]).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758