DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-14, 16, 18, and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. While allowable subject matter was indicated in the previous action mailed 10/23/2025, the scope of the amended claims has been significantly changed and no longer contain all of the limitations of any of the claims that were indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the NTC resistor" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10-12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsukamoto et al. U.S. Patent Application 2018/0034458 (hereinafter “Tsukamoto”)
Regarding claim 1, Tsukamoto teaches a circuit (refer to fig.1) comprising: an amplifier (i.e. comparator 30)(fig.1) having first (refer to Vin(+))(fig.1) and second amplifier inputs (refer to Vin(-))(fig.1) and an amplifier output (i.e. Vout)(fig.1), the first amplifier input coupled to a first transistor current terminal (i.e. S)(fig.1), and the amplifier output coupled to a transistor control terminal (i.e. G)(fig.1)(output of CMP1 is coupled to the control terminal through the control circuit 40 and FET driver 21); a resistor (i.e. resistor 34)(fig.1) coupled between a second transistor current terminal (i.e. D)(fig.1) and the second amplifier input (implicit); and a current source (i.e. constant current source 35)(fig.1) coupled to the second amplifier input (implicit).
Regarding claim 10, Tsukamoto teaches the circuit of claim 1, further comprising a gate drive circuit (i.e. control circuit 40 and FET driver 21)(fig.1) having a gate drive input (implicit) and a gate drive output (implicit), wherein the gate drive input is coupled to the amplifier output (implicit), and the gate drive output is coupled to the transistor control terminal (implicit).
Regarding claim 11, Tsukamoto teaches a system (refer to fig.1) comprising: a transistor (i.e. switch 20)(fig.1) having first (i.e. S)(fig.1) and second transistor current terminals (i.e. D)(fig.1) and a transistor control terminal (i.e. G)(fig.1); an amplifier (i.e. comparator 30)(fig.1) having first (i.e. Vin(+)(fig.1) and second amplifier inputs (i.e. Vin(-)(fig.1) and an amplifier output (i.e. Vout)(fig.1), the first amplifier input coupled to the first transistor current terminal (implicit); a resistor (i.e. resistor 34)(fig.1) coupled between the second transistor current terminal and the second amplifier input (implicit); and a current source (i.e. constant current source 35)(fig.1) coupled to the second amplifier input (implicit).
Regarding claim 12, Tsukamoto teaches the system of claim 11, further comprising a gate drive circuit (i.e. control circuit 40 and FET driver 21)(fig.1) having a gate drive input (implicit) and a gate drive output (implicit), wherein the gate drive input is coupled to the amplifier output (implicit), the gate drive output is coupled to the transistor control terminal (implicit), and the gate drive circuit is configured to control the transistor to shut off responsive to a comparison involving a voltage at the second amplifier input and a voltage at the first amplifier input (implicit)(refer to [0029]).
Regarding claim 15, Tsukamoto teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the amplifier is configured as a comparator (i.e. comparator 30)(fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukamoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oshima U.S. Patent N. 6,831,821 (hereinafter “Oshima”).
Regarding claim 2, Tsukamoto teaches the circuit of claim 1, wherein the resistor is a first resistor (implicit); however, Tsukamoto does not teach wherein the circuit further comprises: a voltage source and a second resistor coupled between the first transistor current terminal and the first amplifier input. However, Oshima teaches wherein the circuit further comprises: a voltage source (i.e. voltage setting circuit 2)(fig.1) and a second resistor (i.e. resistor R3)(fig.1) coupled between the first transistor current terminal (i.e. first terminal in the figure below)(fig.1) and the first amplifier input (i.e. first input in the figure below)(fig.1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Tsukamoto to include the voltage source of Oshima to provide the advantage of creating a threshold bias voltage for determining overcurrent.
Regarding claim 6, Tsukamoto and Oshima teach the circuit of claim 2, wherein the voltage source is configurable to provide a voltage representing to an overcurrent limit threshold (refer to Oshima col. 6 lines 1-15).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 13, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukamoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu et al. Chinese Patent Document CN 112165075 A (hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 8, Tsukamoto teaches the circuit of claim 1; however, Tsukamoto does not teach wherein the resistor is an NTC resistor, and a voltage at the second amplifier input decreases when a temperature of the NTC resistor decreases. However, Wu teaches wherein the resistor is an NTC resistor (i.e. R-NTC)(fig.1), and a voltage at the second amplifier input decreases when a temperature of the NTC resistor decreases (implicit)(refer to fig.1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Tsukamoto to include the NTC resistor of Wu to provide the advantage of providing better performance of the overcurrent protection circuit over a wider temperature range.
Regarding claim 9, Tsukamoto and Wu teach the circuit of claim 8, wherein the voltage at the second amplifier input increases when the temperature of the NTC resistor increases (implicit)(refer to Wu fig.1).
Regarding claim 13, Tsukamoto teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the resistor is a first resistor (implicit), and the current source is a first current source (implicit); however, Tsukamoto does not teach wherein the system further comprises: a second resistor coupled in parallel with the NTC resistor. However, Wu teaches wherein the system further comprises: a second resistor (i.e. resistor R2)(fig.1) coupled in parallel with the NTC resistor (i.e. R-NTC)(fig.1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsukamoto to include the second resistor and NTC resistor of Wu to provide the advantage of providing better performance of the overcurrent protection circuit over a wider temperature range.
Regarding claim 18, Tsukamoto teaches the system of claim 11; however, Tsukamoto does not teach wherein the resistor is an NTC resistor, and a voltage at the second amplifier input decreases when a temperature of the NTC resistor decreases. However, Wu teaches wherein the resistor is an NTC resistor (i.e. R-NTC)(fig.1), and a voltage at the second amplifier input decreases when a temperature of the NTC resistor decreases (implicit)(refer to fig.1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsukamoto to include the NTC resistor of Wu to provide the advantage of providing better performance of the overcurrent protection circuit over a wider temperature range.
Regarding claim 19, Tsukamoto and Wu teach the system of claim 18, wherein the voltage at the second amplifier input increases when the temperature of the NTC resistor increases (implicit)(refer to Wu fig.1).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukamoto as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Mao U.S. Patent No. 6,300,818 (hereinafter “Mao”).
Regarding claim 20, Tsukamoto teaches the system of claim 11; however, Tsukamoto does not teach wherein the resistor is located proximate the transistor. However, Mao teaches wherein the resistor is located proximate the transistor (refer to col. 4 lines 30-39). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsukamoto to include the location of the resistor of Mao to provide the advantage of compensating for the temperature of the transistor to provide better performance of the overcurrent protection circuit over a wider temperature range.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7, 14, 16, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 3-5 and 7 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 3, especially wherein the current source is a first current source, and the circuit further comprises a second current source coupled between the a terminal of the second resistor and a ground terminal. Claims 4, 5, and 7 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter based on their dependency on claim 3.
Claims 14, 16, and 17 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 14, especially wherein the current source is a first current source, and the system is further comprising: a voltage source and a third resistor coupled between the first transistor current terminal and the first amplifier input; and a second current source coupled between a terminal of the third resistor and a ground terminal. Claims 16 and 17 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter based on their dependency on claim 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838