DETAILED ACTION
1. The application of Sharma et al. for the "MEASUREMENTS ASSOCIATED WITH A MAIN RADIO AND A LOW-POWER WAKE UP RECEIVER" filed 03/28/2024 has been examined. This application Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63494863, filed 04/07/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
2. The applicant should use this period for response to thoroughly and very closely proof read and review the whole of the application for correct correlation between reference numerals in the textual portion of the Specification and Drawings along with any minor spelling errors, general typographical errors, accuracy, assurance of proper use for Trademarks TM, and other legal symbols @, where required, and clarity of meaning in the Specification, Drawings, and specifically the claims (i.e., provide proper antecedent basis for “the'' and “said'' within each
claim). Minor typographical errors could render a Patent unenforceable and so the applicant is
strongly encouraged to aid in this endeavor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the
claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have
been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary
skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the
manner in which the invention was made.
5. Claims 1-5, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US#2024/0196328) in view of Wu et al. (US#2025/0374196).
Regarding claim 1, the references disclose an apparatus for performing low-power wake up radio operation in wireless communication, according to the essential features of the claim. He et al. (US#2024/0196328) discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (see Fig. 2 for the structure of the UE 110 includes processor 205, memory 210), the one or more memories including instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive configuration information configuring measurement of a first radio resource management (RRM) communication associated with a low-power wake up receiver (LP-WUR) (Fig. 9; para [0004], para [0102] & [0104]: receiving a first set of parameters from the base station for wakeup radio WUR state operation wherein the UE enables a WUR and powers down the MR to an off state or to a deep sleep state with reduced power consumption, the first set of parameters including a parameter enabling the WUR state operation for the UE and a configuration of WUR reference signaling WUR-RS) and a second RRM communication associated with a main radio (MR)(para [0088] and para [0099]-[0100]: perform some of the RRM measurements in coordination with the MR); perform, based at least in part on the configuration information, a first set of one or more measurements associated with the first RRM communication using the LP-WUR (Fig. 4; para. [0006]: "while in the WUR state, the UE performs operations using the WUR including at least one of monitoring for the WUR-S, measuring the WUR-RS, or implementing a WUR discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for WUR-S and WUR-RS signal monitoring"; para. [0006] & para [0050]-0052]: performing radio resource management (RRM) measurements for a serving cell based at least in part on signals received by the WUR while the WUR is enabled."; para. [0110]-[0111]) and a second set of one or more measurements associated with the second RRM communication using the MR (Fig. 6; para. [0007]: "periodically powering on the MR when the serving cell measurements are to be performed in accordance with the relaxed serving cell measurement requirements"; para. [0051]: "perform mobility measurements using the MR 510"; para. [0107]-[0109]), and trigger an RRM procedure (Figs. 4, 6; para. [0046], [0052], [0064]) using one of: a combination of the first set of one or more measurements and the second set of one or more measurements (para. [0095], [0105]), or a selection of a set of one or more measurements, from the first set of one or more measurements or the second set of one or more measurements (para. [0046], [0094]).
However, He reference does not disclose expressly wherein the first/second RRM measurements using the LP-WUR/MR. In the same field of endeavor, Wu et al. (US#2025/0374196) discloses in Fig. 2 a diagram illustrated a processing method of radio resource management RRM measurement, in which at step 201, a terminal determines a measurement mode based on a target measurement value, and at step 202, the terminal performs radio resource management (RRM) measurement based on the measurement mode (para [0045]-[0052]: using the LP WUR for RRM measurement, and/or using the MR for RRM measurement based on a first periodicity; and using the MR for RRM measurement based on a second periodicity).
One skilled in the art would have recognized the need for effectively and efficiently performing low-power wake up radio operation in wireless communication, and would have applied Wu’s radio resource management RRM measurements based on the measurement mode into He’s Low-Power Wake Up Radio Operation in Wireless Communication. Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to apply Wu’s processing method and apparatus of radio resource management RRM measurement, and terminal into He’s low-power wake up radio LP-WUR operation in wireless communication with the motivation being to provide a method and system for measurements associated with a main radio MR and a low-power wake up receiver LP-WUR.
Regarding claim 2, He in view of Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 examined above, Wu et al. (US#2025/0374196) further teaches wherein the first RRM communication is associated with a low-power synchronization signal, and wherein the second RRM communication is associated with a synchronization signal block (para. [0086], [0182]-[0163]: LP-SS, SSB).
Regarding claim 3, He in view of Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 examined above, He et al. (US#2024/0196328) further teaches wherein transmit capability information indicating UE support of LP-WUR measurements and MR measurements, and when receiving the configuration information, receive the configuration information based at least in part on the capability information (Fig. 5; para [0078]: UE in RRC_Connected state in 525, and reported UE capability to support LP-WUR and MR measurements).
Regarding claim 4, He in view of Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 examined above, Wu et al. (US#2025/0374196) further teaches wherein performing the first set of one or more measurements and the second set of one or more measurements, perform at least one of the first set of one or more measurements or the second set of one or more measurements while the UE is in an idle mode (para [0090]: RRM measurements with the WUR to maximize the UE power saving while maintaining sufficient service continuity for idle/inactive UEs).
Regarding claim 5, He in view of Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 examined above, Wu et al. (US#2025/0374196) further teaches wherein the configuration information indicates that the UE is to trigger the RRM procedure based at least in part on one of: a first mode associated with using the combination of the first set of one or more measurements and the second set of one or more measurements (Fig. 2; para [0051]-[0053]), a second mode associated with using a selection of a set of one or more measurements, from the first set of one or more measurements or the second set of one or more measurements (Fig. 2; para [0051]-[0053]), that is associated with a highest measurement quantity, or a third mode associated with using a selection of a set of one or more measurements, from the first set of one or more measurements or the second set of one or more measurements, that is associated with a lowest measurement quantity (Fig. 2; para [0051]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 15, He in view of Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 examined above, He et al. (US#2024/0196328) further teaches wherein receive an indication of a combining period, and when triggering the RRM procedure, trigger the RRM procedure using the combination of the first set of one or more measurements and the second set of one or more measurements (Figs. 4, 6; para. [0046], [0052], [0064]) based at least in part on the UE performing the first set of one or more measurements and the second set of one or more measurements within the combining period (para. [0046], [0094] & para. [0095], [0105]).
Regarding claim 16, He in view of Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 examined above, He et al. (US#2024/0196328) further teaches wherein trigger the RRM procedure using the combination of the first set of one or more measurements and the second set of one or more measurements, wherein the second set of one or more measurements is associated with one or more measurements performed while the UE is responding to one of a group page or a false low-power wake up signal (Figs. 4, 6; para. [0046], [0052], [0064]).
Regarding claims 17-19, they are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 1-3 examined above. Therefore, claims 17-19 are analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claims 1-3 above.
Regarding claim 20. This claim differs from He et al. (US#2024/0196328) in view of Wu et al. (US#2025/0374196) in that the claim recites a computer program product for performing the same basis of steps and apparatus of the prior arts as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 examined above. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a computer program product in He in view of Wu for performing the steps and apparatus as recited in the claims with the motivation being to provide the efficient enhancement for providing low-power wake up radio operation in wireless communication, and easy to maintenance, upgrade.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 6-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
7. The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest wherein when triggering the RRM procedure, trigger the RRM procedure using the combination of the first set of one or
more measurements and the second set of one or more measurements based at least in
part on the first set of one or more measurements being associated with a same/different quasi co-location (QCL) source as a QCL source associated with the second set of one or more
measurements; wherein trigger the RRM procedure using the combination of the first set of one or more measurements and the second set of one or more measurements based on the first transmit power boosting factor and the second transmit power boosting factor; wherein trigger the RRM procedure using the combination of the first set of one or more measurements and
the second set of one or more measurements based at least in part on the first set of one
or more measurements and the second set of one or more measurements satisfying the at
least one of the RSRP threshold, the RSRQ threshold, or the SINR threshold; wherein trigger the
RRM procedure using the combination of the first set of one or more measurements and the second set of one or more measurements based at least in part on a frequency separation of an LP-SS associated with the first RRM communication and an SSB associated with the second RRM communication being within the maximum permissible frequency separation, as specifically recited in the claims.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Martin et al. (US#2024/0397422) shows method and apparatus for RRM measurement and paging reliability using LP-WUR for wireless systems.
The Alanen et al. (US#11,330,520) shows waking up a dozing wireless device.
The Elshafie et al. (US#2024/0129854) shows wake up radio classification.
The Wei et al. (US#2026/0006552) shows monitoring occasion collision management associated with a LP-WUR.
The Wei et al. (US#2026/0067823) shows RX mode switch and fallback operation for LP-WUR.
The Elshafie et al. (US#2024/0114449) shows mutual support and operation of MR and LP-WUR.
The Liu et al. (US#10,834,699) shows fallback mode for wake up signal receivers.
The Toma et al. (US#2026/0046771) shows methods and apparatus for RRM relaxation and offloading in mobile communications.
The Bhatoolaul et al. (US#2024/0284331) shows measurements to support LP WUS.
The Li et al. (US#2025/0317863) shows signal processing method and apparatus, terminal, and network side device.
The Cheng et al. (US#2024/0284376) shows method and apparatus for synchronization and RRM in mobile communications.
9. Applicant's future amendments need to comply with the requirements of MPEP § 714.02, MPEP § 2163.04 and MPEP § 2163.06.
"with respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims." See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 ("Applicant should * * * specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure."); and MPEP § 2163.04 ("If applicant amends the claims and points out where and/or how the originally filed disclosure supports the amendment(s), and the examiner finds that the disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the subject matter of the amendment at the time of the filing of the application, the examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims."). See In re Smith, 458 F.2d 1389, 1395, 173 USPQ 679, 683 (CCPA 1972) In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 262,191 USPQ at 96 (emphasis added). "The use of a confusing variety of terms for the same thing should not be permitted.
New claims and amendments to the claims already in the application should be scrutinized not only for new matter but also for new terminology. While an applicant is not limited to the nomenclature used in the application as filed, he or she should make appropriate amendment of the specification whenever this nomenclature is departed from by amendment of the claims so as to have clear support or antecedent basis in the specification for the new terms appearing in the claims. This is necessary in order to insure certainty in construing the claims in the light of the specification." Ex parte Kotler, 1901 C.D. 62, 95 O.G. 2684 (Comm'r Pat. 1901). See 37 CFR 1.75, MPEP § 608.01 (i) and § 1302.01.
Note that examiners should ensure that the terms and phrases used in claims presented late in prosecution of the application (including claims amended via an examiner's amendment) find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description, see 37 CFR 1,75(d)(1 ). If the examiner determines that the claims presented late in prosecution do not comply with 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1), applicant will be required to make appropriate amendment to the description to provide clear support or antecedent basis for the terms appearing in the claims provided no new matter is introduced."
"USPTO personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure." In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023,1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). MPEP § 2106. "
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
Mphan
03/15/2026
/MAN U PHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477