DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Csik et al. US 7051780 (hereinafter referred to as Csik), alone.
Regarding claim 1, Csik teaches a door assembly (col1 lines 10-37) configured to be mounted in an opening (front opening of cockpit, not shown, col1 lines 10-37) of a cabin area (i.e. cockpit, col1 lines 10-37) of an aircraft (col1 lines 10-37), the door assembly comprising:
a door (12,14) configured to be movable between a deployed position (extended, fig1a) across the opening and a stowed position (folded, fig1b) out of the opening;
a lock (28+56) mounted to the door and movable between a locked position (locks 22) and an unlocked position (unlocks 22);
an engagement assembly (22,44,86,52) mounted to the door and movable between an engaged position and a disengaged position, the engagement assembly comprising:
an elongated member (52) that extends vertically between the lock and the door;
a plunger (top end of 22, based on the definition of Merriam-Webster online which is “one that plunges,” which is further defined as “to cause to penetrate or enter quickly or forcibly into something”, the end of 22 plunges in and out of the frame) positioned at the door (fig1) and horizontally offset (fig1-5a) along the door away from the elongated member;
a lock mechanism (44+86) positioned along (NOTE: Merriam-Webster online defines along as, “in a line matching the length or direction of”; the lock mechanism extends along the same direction of the door) the door and spaced vertically away from the lock (86 is spaced away vertically from 56; also 44 and 86 are vertically spaced away from 28 – see fig3), the lock mechanism connecting the elongated member and the plunger, the lock mechanism comprising:
one or more arms (44) that extend horizontally along (once again, the arms of the lock mechanism extend in the same direction of the door) the door;
a first connector (not explicitly labeled, but where 44 is connected to 52, see annotated figure) that connects the one or more arms to the elongated member;
a second connector (86) that connects the one or more arms to the plunger;
wherein in the engaged position, the lock mechanism and the elongated member position the plunger in an extended position outward from the door (when end of 22 engages an opening in the door jam); and
wherein in the disengaged position, the lock mechanism and the elongated member position the plunger in a retracted position inward from the door (when end of 22 is disposed in 24 and doesn’t engage the door jamb). [NOTE: fig 1a-1b, 2a-2b of Csik mislabels certain components. See annotated figure for correct labeling of components that correspond to the prior art rejection and Examiner’s interpretation, which coincides with the correct labeling shown in other figures 3-4. See also col. 2 lines 57 – col3 lines 23, col.5 lines 47-58, fig1-5a.)
Csik does not teach the positioning of the components relative to the bottom of the door. Csik teaches the components relative to the top of the door (see fig1-3).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Csik can be modified to teach: the elongated member that extends vertically between the lock and the bottom of the door, the plunger positioned at the bottom of the door, the lock mechanism positioned along the bottom of the door, the one or more arms extend horizontally along the bottom of the door, the extended position is outward from the bottom of the door, the retracted position inward from the bottom of the door, since it has been held that the rearrangement of parts (i.e. rearranging the elongated member, lock mechanism, plunger, lock to be extending out of the bottom of the door instead of the top) is a design consideration that is of routine skill in the art because in either orientation the function of the device remains equivalent. MPEP 2144.
Regarding claim 2, Csik further teaches the door assembly of claim 1, wherein the engagement assembly moves between the engaged position and the disengaged position based on a position of the lock. (fig1-5a, col. 2 lines 57 – col3 lines 23, col.5 lines 47-58)
Regarding claim 3, Csik further teaches the door assembly of claim 2, wherein the elongated member is a rod (fig5a) with a first end that is engaged with the lock (fig5a, end engaged with 56) and a second end (fig5a, col.5 lines 47-58; end engaged with 44) that is engaged with the lock mechanism, the rod being movable relative to the door. (fig1-5a)
Regarding claim 4, Csik further teaches the door assembly of claim 1, wherein the door comprises a first side (interior side of 30, not shown) and a second side (side of panel 14), wherein the elongated member is positioned on the first side and is not exposed on the second side. (fig1-5a)
Regarding claim 5, Csik further teaches the door assembly of claim 1, wherein the door comprises a plurality of panels (panels are 12 and 14) that are pivotally connected at one or more hinges (16), wherein the elongated member is aligned with one of the hinges to enable the panels to pivot between a folded configuration and an extended configuration. (fig1-5a)
Regarding claim 6, Csik further teaches the door assembly of claim 1, wherein the door comprises a plurality of panels (12,14) that are pivotally connected together and the lock mechanism is mounted to one of the panels to enable the plurality of panels to fold together in the stowed position (fig1-5a).
Regarding claim 7, Csik further teaches the door assembly of claim 1, wherein the plunger is a first plunger (first plunger is top end of 22) and further comprising a second plunger (top end of 34), the first plunger and the second plunger are spaced apart along the door. [NOTE: The rearrangement of components applied in claim 1 would also apply to all other components in the device – such as the first and second plunger.]
Regarding claim 9, Csik further teaches the door assembly of claim 1, further comprising a frame (“door jam”, col. 2 lines 57-63) configured to engage with the door to mount the door in the opening, the frame comprising at least a threshold (surface of jam that receives the plunger, col.3 lines 1-4) that is engaged by the plunger in the extended position. (fig1-3)
Regarding claim 21, Csik further teaches the door assembly of claim 1, wherein the door comprises a plurality of panels (12, 14) and the elongated member extends along a first lateral edge (left most edge of 12 in fig2b, right most edge of 14 in fig2b) of one of the panels and the plunger is positioned at a corner (bottom inner corners of each respective panel – this is based on the rearrangement of the device as detailed in claim 1 103 statement) formed at a second lateral edge (bottom most edge of each respective panel) of the panel.
Csik Annotated Figures
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12,15-17,19-20, 22-24 are allowed.
Regarding claim 10, although Csik can be modified so that the plunger is located at a bottom edge of the front panel (interpretation as applied to amended claim 1 above), since the rearrangement of the plunger would not alter the function, the lock mechanism as identified cannot be relocated to the bottom edge as disclosed in claim 10. The lock mechanism of Csik is always located along the first lateral edge, regardless of whether the plunger is relocated or not because of its connection to the lock. Note that this differs from what is claimed in claim 1 and claim 21. Also, in claim 10, Applicant is disclosing a first lateral edge of a first panel, a plunger on the first panel positioned at a corner formed by the bottom edge and second lateral edge. In claim 10, the first lateral edges of each panel would be the left edge of 12 and right edge of 14 (i.e. the inner most vertical edges of each panel) – same as that referenced in claim 21, however claim 21 does not limit the corner to anything except being positioned relative to a second lateral edge, which in claim 21 was interpreted to be the bottom edge of each panel of Csik. This same interpretation cannot be applied to claim 10 which requires a second lateral edge and a bottom edge to make the corner, along with the existing first lateral edge. Examiner would also like to make the distinction that the reference to “the bottom of the door” in claim 1 is not the same as referencing a bottom edge of a door (or panel). The bottom of the door is a lower region of the door, based on a particular frame of reference, whereas a bottom edge of a door requires it to only be along a lower edge of a door.
Examiner can find no reason to combine or modify references of record without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Regarding claim 17, the bolt of Csik (46) on the first panel is not brought into engagement with the second panel. Examiner can find no reason to combine or modify references of record without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Regarding claim 23, although Csik shows two plungers (34, 22), the second plunger (34) is not and cannot be relocated to the first panel without altering the function of the device. Examiner can find no reason to combine or modify references of record without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the amendments are addressed in the above rejection. Applicant provides no other arguments. Rejection maintained for claims 1-7,9, 21.
Claim 23 112(b) rejection is overcome in light of amendments made to the claim.
Claims 10-12,15-17,19-20, 22-24 are allowed. Examiner has made further comments regarding the distinction in the interpretation of claims 1 and 21 compared to claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art is related to door assemblies.
Related but not relied upon prior art (previously cited): US 20090152879, US 20140190091, US 2008014790.
/F.F.A./
Examiner
Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675