DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: There appears to be a grammatical error in the claim 23 limitation, in line 2, which states “the handle a deploying”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the second plunger" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7,9,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Csik et al. US 7051780 (hereinafter referred to as Csik).
Regarding claim 1, Csik discloses a door assembly (col1 lines 10-37) configured to be mounted in an opening (front opening of cockpit, not shown, col1 lines 10-37) of a cabin area (i.e. cockpit, col1 lines 10-37) of an aircraft (col1 lines 10-37), the door assembly comprising:
a door (12,14) configured to be movable between a deployed position (extended, fig1a) across the opening and a stowed position (folded, fig1b) out of the opening;
a lock (28+56) mounted to the door and movable between a locked position (locks 22) and an unlocked position (unlocks 22);
an engagement assembly (22,44,86,52) mounted to the door and movable between an engaged position and a disengaged position, the engagement assembly comprising:
an elongated member (52) that extends vertically between the lock and an outer edge (annotated figure) of the door;
a plunger (top end of 22, based on the definition of Merriam-Webster online which is “one that plunges,” which is further defined as “to cause to penetrate or enter quickly or forcibly into something”, the end of 22 plunges in and out of the frame) positioned at the outer edge of the door (fig1) and horizontally offset (fig1-5a) along the door away from the elongated member;
a lock mechanism (44+86) positioned along (NOTE: Merriam-Webster online defines along as, “in a line matching the length or direction of”; the lock mechanism extends along the same direction of the outer edge of the door) the outer edge of the door and connecting the elongated member and the plunger, the lock mechanism comprising:
one or more arms (44) that extend horizontally along (once again, the arms of the lock mechanism extend in the same direction of the outer edge of door) the outer edge of the door;
a first connector (not explicitly labeled, but where 44 is connected to 52, see annotated figure) that connects the one or more arms to the elongated member;
a second connector (86) that connects the one or more arms to the plunger;
wherein in the engaged position, the lock mechanism and the elongated member position the plunger in an extended position outward from the door (when end of 22 engages an opening in the door jam); and
wherein in the disengaged position, the lock mechanism and the elongated member position the plunger in a retracted position relative to the door (when end of 22 is disposed in 24 and doesn’t engage the door jamb). [NOTE: fig 1a-1b, 2a-2b of Csik mislabels certain components. See annotated figure for correct labeling of components that correspond to the prior art rejection and Examiner’s interpretation, which coincides with the correct labeling shown in other figures 3-4. See also col. 2 lines 57 – col3 lines 23, col.5 lines 47-58, fig1-5a.)
Regarding claim 2, Csik further discloses the door assembly of claim 1, wherein the engagement assembly moves between the engaged position and the disengaged position based on a position of the lock. (fig1-5a, col. 2 lines 57 – col3 lines 23, col.5 lines 47-58)
Regarding claim 3, Csik further discloses the door assembly of claim 2, wherein the elongated member is a rod (fig5a) with a first end that is engaged with the lock (fig5a, end engaged with 56) and a second end (fig5a, col.5 lines 47-58; end engaged with 44) that is engaged with the lock mechanism, the rod being movable relative to the door. (fig1-5a)
Regarding claim 4, Csik further discloses the door assembly of claim 1, wherein the door comprises a first side (interior side of 30, not shown) and a second side (side of panel 14), wherein the elongated member is positioned on the first side and is not exposed on the second side. (fig1-5a)
Regarding claim 5, Csik further discloses the door assembly of claim 1, wherein the door comprises a plurality of panels (panels are 12 and 14) that are pivotally connected at one or more hinges (16), wherein the elongated member is aligned with one of the hinges to enable the panels to pivot between a folded configuration and an extended configuration. (fig1-5a)
Regarding claim 6, Csik further discloses the door assembly of claim 1, wherein the door comprises a plurality of panels (12,14) that are pivotally connected together and the lock mechanism is mounted to one of the panels to enable the plurality of panels to fold together in the stowed position (fig1-5a).
Regarding claim 7, Csik further teaches the door assembly of claim 1, wherein the plunger is a first plunger (first plunger is top end of 22) and further comprising a second plunger (top end of 34), the first plunger and the second plunger are spaced apart along the outer edge of the door.
Regarding claim 9, Csik further discloses the door assembly of claim 1, further comprising a frame (“door jam”, col. 2 lines 57-63) configured to engage with the door to mount the door in the opening, the frame comprising at least a threshold (surface of jam that receives the plunger, col.3 lines 1-4) that is engaged by the plunger in the extended position. (fig1-3)
Regarding claim 21, Csik further discloses the door assembly of claim 1, wherein the door comprises a plurality of panels (12, 14) and the elongated member extends along a first lateral edge (annotated figure) of one of the panels and the plunger is positioned at a corner (annotated figure) formed at a second lateral edge (annotated figure) of the panel.
Corrected Csik Annotated Figures
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12,15-17,19-20, 22, 24 are allowed.
Claim 23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, although Csik can be modified so that the plunger is located at a bottom edge of the front panel, since the rearrangement of the plunger would not alter the function, the lock mechanism as identified cannot be relocated to the bottom edge as disclosed in claim 10. The lock mechanism of Csik is always located along the first lateral edge, regardless of whether the plunger is relocated or not because of its connection to the lock. Examiner can find no reason to combine or modify references of record without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Regarding claim 17, the bolt of Csik (46) on the first panel is not brought into engagement with the second panel. Examiner can find no reason to combine or modify references of record without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Regarding claim 23, although Csik shows two plungers (34, 22), the second plunger (34) is not and cannot be relocated to the first panel without altering the function of the device. Examiner can find no reason to combine or modify references of record without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the amendments are addressed in the above rejection. Examiner maintains that Csik does teach the plunger positioned at the outer edge and horizontally offset from the elongated member. The elongated member of Csik is 52, which based on fig1-5a, is offset from the location of the plunger. Rejection maintained for claims 1-7,9, 21. Claim 7 has been moved to the 102(a)(1) rejection due to amendments made to claim.
Claims 10-12,15-17,19-20, 22, 24 are allowed. Claim 23 is rejected under 112(b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art is related to door assemblies.
Related but not relied upon prior art: US 20090152879, US 20140190091, US 2008014790.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.F.A./
Examiner
Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675