DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 13-15 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 20220240356 A1).
With regards to claim 1. Lee disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) A driving system for a lighting apparatus (figs 1-20) comprising a plurality of light sources (105; fig 4), the driving system comprising a controller (120; fig 2) configured to:
provide a first digital control signal (CTR1; fig 4) to the lighting apparatus (106), the first digital control signal having a first duty cycle and a first frequency (see fig 8; [0070; 0072]);
and control the first frequency of the first digital control signal to increase or decrease the first frequency ([0072]; see [0042-0043] for multiple control signal).
With regards to claim 2. Lee disclose(s):
(Original) The driving system of claim 1, wherein the lighting apparatus comprises a power converter system (110; fig 2; [0025]) configured to provide a first voltage or a first current (ILED) to the plurality of light sources (105).
With regards to claim 3. Lee disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The driving system of claim 2, wherein [[the]]a brightness of the lighting apparatus is dependent on the first voltage or the first current (see ILED powering 105 in fig 4; see [0043] for control of brightness in each of the channels in 105).
With regards to claim 5. Lee disclose(s):
(Original) The driving system of claim 1, wherein the lighting apparatus comprises a switching arrangement comprising a plurality of switches (SW1, SW2; fig 4), each of the plurality of switches being coupled to at least one of the plurality of light sources (106, 107; fig 4).
With regards to claim 6. Lee disclose(s):
(Original) The driving system of claim 5, wherein:
the controller is configured to provide the first digital control signal (CTR1; fig 4) to the switching arrangement (SW1); and an average current flow through each of the plurality of light sources is dependent on the first digital control signal [0070].
With regards to claim 7. Lee disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The driving system of claim 6, wherein [[the]]a ratio of the average current flow through each of the plurality of light sources is dependent on the first digital control signal (see [0043]).
With regards to claim 8. Lee disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The driving system of claim 5, wherein the controller is configured to:
provide a second digital control signal (CTR2; fig 4) to the lighting apparatus, the second digital control signal having a second duty cycle and a second frequency (see fig 8; [0070; 0072]);
and control the second frequency of the second digital control signal to increase or decrease the first frequency ([0072]; see [0042-0043] for multiple control signal).
With regards to claim 9. Lee disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The driving system of claim 8, wherein:
the plurality of light sources comprises a first light source (106; fig 4) and a second light source (107);
[[and]] the plurality of switches comprises a first switch (sw1) and a second switch (sw2), the first switch being coupled to the first light source (106) and the second switch being coupled to the second light source (107);
and the controller is configured to:
provide the first digital control signal (CTR1) to the first switch (SW1), an average current flow through the first light source being dependent on the first digital control signal ([0070]; the examiner takes the position that current through LEDs involves an average value);
and provide the second digital control signal (CTR2) to the second switch (SW2), an average current flow through the second light source being dependent on the second digital control signal ([0070]; the examiner takes the position that current through LEDs involves an average value).
With regards to claim 10. Lee disclose(s):
(Original) The driving system of claim 5, wherein the lighting apparatus comprises a power converter system (110; fig 2; [0025]) configured to provide a first voltage or a first current (ILED) to the plurality of light sources (105).
With regards to claim 11. Lee disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The driving system of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to:
provide a second digital control signal (CTR2; fig 4) to the lighting apparatus, the second digital control signal having a second duty cycle and a second frequency (see fig 8; [0070; 0072]);
and control the second frequency of the second digital control signal ([0072]; see [0042-0043] for multiple control signal).
With regards to claim 13. Lee disclose(s):
(Original) The driving system of claim 1, wherein the controller comprises:
a frequency determination unit (220; [0056]) configured to determine a first frequency setting (see determination of flicker index and corresponding frequency [0056]) for the first frequency of the first digital control signal ([0056]);
and a digital signal generation unit configured to:
generate the first digital control signal (CTR);
and set the first frequency of the first digital control signal based on the first frequency setting, thereby controlling the first frequency of the first digital control signal (see [0043] for multiple control signals; see [0056] for generation of frequency of control signal CTR).
With regards to claim 14. Lee disclose(s):
(Original) The driving system of claim 13, wherein the controller comprises a detection unit configured to detect a property of the lighting apparatus and the frequency determination unit is configured to determine the first frequency setting based on the detected property of the lighting apparatus (see determination of flicker index; [0056]).
With regards to claim 15. Lee disclose(s):
(Original) The driving system of claim 14, wherein the digital signal generation unit is configured to:
set the first frequency setting as a first maximum frequency setting value when the property of the lighting apparatus exceeds a first maximum threshold value (see difference of sensing voltages being greater than a reference [0076]; see [0077] for increasing of frequency which involves a maximum value);
and/or set the first frequency setting as a first minimum frequency setting value when the property of the lighting apparatus is less than a first minimum threshold value.
With regards to claim 21. Lee disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) An apparatus comprising:
a lighting apparatus (figs 1-20) comprising a plurality of light sources (105; fig 4);
and a driving system comprising a controller (120; fig 2) configured to:
provide a first digital control signal (CTR1; fig 4) to the lighting apparatus, the first digital control signal (CTR1; fig 4) having a first duty cycle and a first frequency (see fig 8; [0070; 0072]);
and control the first frequency of the first digital control signal to increase or decrease the first frequency ([0072]; see [0042-0043] for multiple control signal).
With regards to claim 22. Lee disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) A method of controlling a lighting apparatus (figs 1-20) comprising a plurality of light sources (105; fig 4)using a driving system comprising a controller (120; fig 2), the method comprising:
providing a first digital control signal (CTR1; fig 4) to the lighting apparatus (106) using the controller, the first digital control signal having a first duty cycle and a first frequency (see fig 8; [0070; 0072]);
and controlling the first frequency of the first digital control signal, using the controller to increase or decrease the first frequency ([0072]; see [0042-0043] for multiple control signal).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RENAN LUQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896