DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 3/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites:
“the housing portion being in heat-transferring connection with the at least one environment sensor, allowing exhaust heat emitted by the environment sensor and/or introduced into the sensor module from outside to be discharged via the at least one housing portion.” (emphasis added)
The Examiner notes that the above “and/or” language opens the claim to an interpretation such that the limitation “allowing exhaust heat introduced into the sensor module from outside to be discharged” may be effectively omitted in place of “allowing exhaust heat emitted by the environment sensor…to be discharged”.
Dependent claim 7 then reintroduces the limitation “to reduce the heat introduced into the sensor module from outside”. Since this limitation is instantiated as part of an “and/or” statement in independent claim 1 and may be omitted/disregarded, there is functionally insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In other words, the “and/or” statement bifurcates the meaning of the claim in such a way that confuses the incorporation of dependent claim elements.
Claims 2-14 are rejected based on their dependence from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muller (US 20170070652 A1) (hereinafter Muller).
Regarding claim 1, Muller discloses:
A sensor module for being disposed on a motor vehicle, the sensor module having at least one environment sensor configured to send and/or receive electromagnetic signals for detecting a vehicle environment and [See Muller, ¶ 0028-0030, 0032-0034, Figs. 1-2 disclose an “assistance system” 2 of a vehicle comprising a camera 4, which is discussed as detecting traffic signs (detecting a vehicle environment).]
a sensor housing at least partially surrounding and/or enclosing and/or encasing the at least one environment sensor, [See Muller, Fig. 2 illustrates a housing (elements 12/20/22) which visibly “at least partially” surrounds/encloses/encases the sensor.]
wherein the sensor housing has at least one housing portion made of a metallic material, [See Muller, ¶ 0009, 0010 discloses the camera housing comprises a first cooling body with first cooling fins. The first cooling body is advantageously produced from a thermally conductive material, in particular a metal.]
the housing portion being in heat-transferring connection with the at least one environment sensor, allowing exhaust heat emitted by the environment sensor and/or introduced into the sensor module from outside to be discharged via the at least one housing portion. [See Muller, ¶ 0009, 0010 discloses the camera housing comprises a first cooling body with first cooling fins. Each of the first cooling fins comprises a right-angled profile, for example, which is connected by means of a plate, so that the cooling body essentially has a comb-shaped profile. Here, the cooling fins preferably point outwards, so that they at least partially form an outer boundary of the camera housing. The first cooling body is advantageously produced from a thermally conductive material, in particular a metal.]
Regarding claim 2, Muller discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Muller discloses:
wherein the at least one housing portion has at least one side wall made of a metallic material, the at least one side wall being in heat-transferring contact with the at least one environment sensor. [See Muller, ¶ 0030-0034, Fig. 2 illustrates cooling body (34); See Muller, ¶ 0009, 0010, 0014 discloses the camera housing comprises a first cooling body with first cooling fins. Each of the first cooling fins comprises a right-angled profile, for example, which is connected by means of a plate, so that the cooling body essentially has a comb-shaped profile. Here, the cooling fins preferably point outwards, so that they at least partially form an outer boundary of the camera housing. The first cooling body is advantageously produced from a thermally conductive material, in particular a metal.]
Regarding claim 3, Muller discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Muller discloses:
wherein the at least one housing portion has multiple cooling fins and/or is provided with multiple cooling fins. [See Muller, Fig. 2 illustrates the housing with multiple cooling fins.]
Regarding claim 4, Muller discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Muller discloses:
wherein the multiple cooling fins extend essentially parallel to a direction of travel or longitudinally extend at an acute angle relative to the direction of travel, allowing headwind to flow along the cooling fins. [See Muller, Fig. 2 illustrates a vehicle camera capturing images corresponding with a front/forward direction of travel of a vehicle, wherein observably the fins extend parallel to the direction of travel.]
Regarding claim 5, Muller discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Muller discloses:
wherein the at least one housing portion fully surrounds and/or encloses the at least one environment sensor. [See Muller, Fig. 2 illustrates the housing (elements 12/20/22) fully surrounds the sensor.]
Regarding claim 6, Muller discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Muller discloses:
wherein the sensor housing has at least one cover externally covering and/or canopying and/or capping the at least one environment sensor. [See Muller, Figs. 1 and 2 illustrate the sensor housing 22 at least covering/canopying/capping the sensor.]
Regarding claim 8, Muller discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
Muller discloses:
wherein the at least one cover comprises plastic, preferably polycarbonate. [See Muller, ¶ 0009 discloses the first cooling body is advantageously produced from a thermally conductive material, in particular a metal or a thermally conductive plastic – further, a second cooling body consisting of a plastic which suitably has a comparatively high absorption coefficient. Muller thus suggests a choice of plastic, and one of ordinary skill would recognize the particular choice of plastic as both a matter of design preference and as being routine and conventional in the art.]
Regarding claim 10, Muller discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Muller discloses:
wherein the at least one environment sensor comprises a lidar sensor and/or a radar sensor and/or a camera sensor and/or a multi-camera sensor and/or an ultrasonic sensor. [See Muller, ¶ 0006-0009 discloses a camera sensor.]
Regarding claim 13, Muller discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Muller discloses:
wherein the at least one side wall is in flat and/or direct heat-transferring contact with the at least one environment sensor. [See Muller, ¶ 0028-0034, Fig. 2 illustrates sidewalls of the housing 12/20/22 in heat-transferring contact with the sensor.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller in view of Bruce-Wen et al. (US 20210293932 A1) (hereinafter Bruce-Wen).
Regarding claim 7, Muller discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
Muller does not disclose:
wherein the at least one cover has an infrared reflection layer configured to reduce the heat introduced into the sensor module from outside.
However, Bruce-Wen discloses:
wherein the at least one cover has an infrared reflection layer configured to reduce the heat introduced into the sensor module from outside. [See Bruce-Wen, ¶ 0054 discloses that a thermal coating may be applied to certain surfaces to minimize the thermal load on sensors adjacent to that portion of the housing. Furthermore, thermal coatings to achieve a lower thermal load may be applied to some or all of the horizontal surfaces or other surfaces that tend to have direct or more extended exposure to sunlight. Thus, in some instances infrared (IR) reflective paint may be used, while in other instances IR absorbing paint may be used.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Muller to add the teachings of Bruce-Wen in order to thermally treat a surface of a vehicle mounted camera to reduce a thermal load on sensitive electronic components.
Claim(s) 9, 11, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller in view of Rakoczi et al. (DE102020202696B4; machine translation provided) (hereinafter Rakoczi).
Regarding claim 9, Muller discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Muller does not disclose:
wherein the at least one environment sensor is configured to be moved between a retracted position and a deployed position, heat being discharged via the at least one housing portion in the deployed position.
However, Rakoczi discloses:
wherein the at least one environment sensor is configured to be moved between a retracted position and a deployed position, heat being discharged via the at least one housing portion in the deployed position. [See Rakoczi, ¶ 0009, 0010, 0014 discloses electronic component, such as control units, communication units, or computing units. It is noted that other components, such as batteries or drive components, can also be considered as "components" within the meaning of the invention; in principle, any vehicle component that heats up; See Rakoczi, Figs. 1 and 2 illustrates an electronic component moved between a retracted position (Fig. 1) and a deployed position (Fig. 2), wherein when the component is in a deployed position, heat is at least discharged along line (9).]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Muller to add the teachings of Rakoczi in order to selectively open and close a channel to provide heat dissipation and cooling to sensitive vehicle-mounted electronic components.
Regarding claim 11, Rakoczi discloses:
A roof module for forming a vehicle roof on a motor vehicle, the roof module having a panel component, which at least partly forms a roof skin of the vehicle roof, the roof skin serving as an outer sealing surface, [See Rakoczi, Fig. 2 illustrates a roof (2) along with a flap (4), which together forms a roof and roof skin.] and at least one sensor module according to claim 1, the sensor module being disposed on the panel component and/or comprised by the panel component. [See Rakoczi, Fig. 2 illustrates an electronic component (7) disposed on the panel.]
Regarding claim 12, Muller in view of Rakoczi discloses all the limitations of claim 11.
Rakoczi discloses:
the roof module being disposed on a vehicle body of the motor vehicle as a structural unit. [See Rakoczi, ¶ 0038 discloses a cooling device integrated into a roof of a vehicle.]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Muller discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
Rakoczi discloses:
wherein the at least one housing portion fully surrounds and/or encloses the at least one environment sensor in a flush manner. [See Rakoczi, ¶ 0038 discloses a flap 4 flush with the surface of a roof and a sensor.]
Conclusion
/PATRICK E DEMOSKY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486