DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on February 2nd, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 2nd, 2026.
Claims 1-12 are of the instant application are under examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “12-14” has been used to designate both electrodes and both the vital sign sensor 12 and the GSR sensor 14. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “The system of claim 1, wherein at least one sensor includes a galvanic skin response (GSR) sensor…”. However, claim 1 recites “the monitoring patch including at least one vital sign sensor” (ln. 3) and “a skin condition sensor” (ln. 9). It is unclear which sensor from claim 1 is being claimed as the GSR sensor. The claim is indefinite since it is unclear if the GSR sensor of claim 11 performs the functional limitations of the vital sensor or the skin response sensor in claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected due to its dependency from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 has been considered for 35 USC § 101 for its recitation of the following abstract idea mental process limitation: “hardware processor configured to: analyze the skin measurement data to determine advice on adhesive attachment of the monitoring patch to the skin.” However, the recitation of a vital sign sensor, skin condition sensor, monitoring device, and transceiver or transmitter are not well-understood, routine, and conventional structures for a monitoring patch. Therefore, the claim is directed to significantly more than the abstract idea and is not rejected under 35 USC § 101.
Note to Jennifer: I met with Jason Skaarup about 101 for this claim. He suggested putting this statement in for 101 rejections that I’m on the fence about, that way reviewers know I’ve considered 101 but chose not to reject it. Just wanted to make you aware as to why I wrote this section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meftah et al. (US 20190133488 A1, “Meftah”).
Regarding claim 1, Meftah teaches a system (abstract: “…a method and apparatus for determining at least one of a position and an orientation of a wearable device on a subject.”), comprising: a monitoring patch (Fig. 1; wearable device 100) configured to be adhesively attached to skin of an associated patient (para. [0039]: "l such as a polyolefin foam, polyurethane, or any other flexible material. The pad may comprise an adhesive (such as a tacky or sticky) surface that can adhere to the skin of a subject."), the monitoring patch including at least one vital sign sensor (para. [0051]: "A physiological characteristic (or vital signs) sensor may be any sensor suitable to acquire at least one physiological characteristic signal from a subject. For example, a physiological characteristic sensor can comprise one or more of a heart rate sensor (such as an electrocardiogram ECG sensor, a photoplethysmography PPG sensor, a phonocardiography PCG sensor, or any other heart rate sensor), a vibration detection sensor or an acoustic physiological characteristic sensor…") arranged to measure vital sign data of the associated patient when the monitoring patch is adhesively attached to the skin of the associated patient (para. [0054]: "A PPG signal is received from the subject when a wearable device comprising a PPG sensor is worn by the subject"), the monitoring patch further including a wireless transceiver or transmitter configured to wirelessly transmit the vital sign data (para. [0041]: "In some embodiments, the device is a support device. A support device can be configured to monitor the physiological characteristics of a subject wearing the device for the purpose of transmitting a signal to another device"; para. [0046]: “The communications interface component 306 may communicate with any sensors and devices wirelessly or via a wired connection.”; para. [0063]: “In some embodiments, the apparatus 300 may comprise a communications interface component 306 for enabling the apparatus 300 to communicate with any sensors and devices (such as any physiological characteristic sensors of one or more wearable devices) that are external or internal to the apparatus 300. The communications interface component 306 may communicate with any sensors and devices wirelessly or via a wired connection.”) a monitoring device configured to receive the wirelessly transmitted vital sign data and to store, retransmit, or both store and retransmit the vital sign data (para. [0046]: "In some embodiments, the apparatus 300 is external to (i.e. separate to or remote from) the wearable device. In these embodiments, the apparatus 300 may comprise a communications interface component 306 for enabling the apparatus 300 to communicate with any sensors and devices that are external to the apparatus 300 (such as any physiological characteristic sensors of one or more wearable devices). The communications interface component 306 may communicate with any sensors and devices wirelessly or via a wired connection."); a skin condition sensor (para. [0056]: "skin conductivity sensor") configured to measure skin measurement data on the skin of the associated patient (para. [0056]: "The skin conductivity sensor may be in the form of a pair of electrodes that are placed in a wearable device to contact with the skin of the subject. An electrical current may be applied through one of the electrodes and the resistance of the skin measured, or the voltage between the electrodes can be measured."); and at least one hardware processor (para. [0045]: "The control unit 302 can comprise one or more processors, processing units, multi-core processors or modules that are configured or programmed to control the apparatus 300 in the manner described herein") configured to: analyze the skin measurement data to determine advice on adhesive attachment of the monitoring patch to the skin (para. [0048]: "In other words, the control unit 302 is configured to determine the position and/or the orientation of the wearable device on the subject based on the one or more characteristics." The orientation and position are both considered advice to the user.); and output the advice on the monitoring patch or the monitoring device. (para. [0080]: For example, the signal indicative of the determined at least one of the position and orientation of the wearable device on the subject may be output via the at least one user interface component 308 of the apparatus 300. This output may be via any suitable component such as any one or more of a display screen or other visual indicator, a speaker, one or more lights, and a component for providing tactile feedback (e.g. a vibration function).
Regarding claim 5, Meftah teaches the system of claim 1 (see above), wherein: the skin condition sensor includes electrodes integrated with the monitoring patch and arranged to electrically contact the skin when the monitoring patch is adhesively attached to the skin of the associated patient. (para. [0056]: "The skin conductivity sensor may be in the form of a pair of electrodes that are placed in a wearable device to contact with the skin of the subject. An electrical current may be applied through one of the electrodes and the resistance of the skin measured, or the voltage between the electrodes can be measured.")
Regarding claim 6, Meftah teaches the system of claim 1 (see above), wherein at least one vital sign sensor comprises an electrocardiogram or heart rate monitor (Para. [0051]: "For example, a physiological characteristic sensor can comprise one or more of a heart rate sensor (such as an electrocardiogram ECG sensor, a photoplethysmography PPG sensor, a phonocardiography PCG sensor, or any other heart rate sensor)…").
Regarding claim 7, Meftah teaches the system of claim 1 (see above). wherein: at least one hardware processor includes an on-board hardware processor integral with or configured to be attached to the monitoring patch (para. [0045]: “The control unit 302 can comprise one or more processors, processing units, multi-core processors or modules that are configured or programmed to control the apparatus 300 in the manner described herein.”); and the skin condition sensor comprises a galvanic skin response (GSR) sensor including GSR electrodes integral with the monitoring patch and arranged to electrically contact the skin (para. [0056]: “In this embodiment, the signals indicative of physiological characteristic of the subject are skin conductivity signals (i.e. galvanic skin response signals). The skin conductivity sensor may be in the form of a pair of electrodes that are placed in a wearable device to contact with the skin of the subject.”), and an electrical source connected to apply electrical current or voltage to the GSR electrodes, the GSR sensor further including the on-board hardware processor configured to acquire the skin measurement data comprising GSR data using the electrical source and the GSR electrodes. when the monitoring patch is adhesively attached to the skin of the associated patient (para. [0039]: “The pad may comprise an adhesive (such as a tacky or sticky) surface that can adhere to the skin of a subject. In this way, the wearable device can be worn by the subject.”).
Regarding claim 8, Meftah teaches the system of claim 7 (see above), wherein: at least one vital sign sensor includes vital sign electrodes integral with the monitoring patch and arranged to electrically contact the skin when the monitoring patch is adhesively attached to the skin of the associated patient (para. [0053]: “In one example, the heart rate sensor is an electrocardiogram (ECG) sensor and the heart rate signal of the subject may be acquired from an ECG signal (i.e. a signal indicating the electrical activity of the heart) measured by the ECG sensor. An ECG signal is received from the subject when a wearable device comprising an ECG sensor is worn by the subject. The ECG sensor may comprise one or more electrodes.”), the at least one vital sign sensor further including the on-board hardware processor configured to acquire the vital sign data using the vital sign electrodes (para. [0060]: “For example, the control unit 302 may be configured to acquire a first physiological characteristic signal by controlling a first physiological characteristic sensor to acquire the first physiological characteristic signal and may be configured to acquire a second physiological characteristic signal by controlling a second physiological characteristic sensor to acquire the second physiological characteristic signal.” Additionally, para. [0045] describes that the control unit includes a processor: “The control unit 302 can comprise one or more processors, processing units, multi-core processors or modules that are configured or programmed to control the apparatus 300 in the manner described herein.”).
Regarding claim 11, Meftah teaches the system of claim 1 (see above), wherein at least one sensor includes a galvanic skin response (GSR) sensor configured to measure a condition of the skin of the associated patient on which the monitoring device is disposed. (para. [0056]: " In some embodiments, a physiological characteristic sensor in the form of a skin conductivity sensor may be used, where the control unit 302 controls the skin conductivity sensor to acquire signals indicative of a physiological characteristic of the subject. In this embodiment, the signals indicative of physiological characteristic of the subject are skin conductivity signals (i.e. galvanic skin response signals). The skin conductivity sensor may be in the form of a pair of electrodes that are placed in a wearable device to contact with the skin of the subject. An electrical current may be applied through one of the electrodes and the resistance of the skin measured, or the voltage between the electrodes can be measured.").
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cohen et al. (US 20170056650 A1, “Cohen”).
Regarding claim 1, Cohen teaches a system (abstract: “An electrode patch for use with an external medical device…”; The system being the patch and device together), comprising: a monitoring patch (abstract: “an electrode patch”) configured to be adhesively attached to skin of an associated patient (para. [0014]: “In some implementations, the electrode patch comprises an adhesive electrode patch.”), the monitoring patch including at least one vital sign sensor arranged to measure vital sign data of the associated patient when the monitoring patch is adhesively attached to the skin of the associated patient (para. [0146]: “As described above, the electrodes and/or electrode patches described herein can be used for sensing a variety of patient signals and/or conditions, treatment of such patient conditions, or both. For example, the electrodes and/or electrode patches described herein can include sensors capable of measuring and/or be used for receiving and/or monitoring cardiac and non-cardiac patient signals, such as, ECG data (e.g., continuous ECG data).”), the monitoring patch further including a wireless transceiver or transmitter configured to wirelessly transmit the vital sign data (para. [0136]: “In some examples, the electrode use indicator disposed on the electrode patch may contain wireless communications circuitry (e.g., a Bluetooth® wireless module) that can wirelessly communicate with the electrode use indication component 320.”; The wireless module could be used to transfer the vital sign data as well.) ; a monitoring device configured to receive the wirelessly transmitted vital sign data and to store, retransmit, or both store and retransmit the vital sign data (para. [0138]: “The cardiac event detector 324 is configured to monitor the cardiac activity of the patient and identify cardiac events experienced by the patient based on received cardiac signals.”); a skin condition sensor (para. [0209]: “In some implementations, the electrode patch includes a salinity sensor that is configured to sense perspiration.”) configured to measure skin measurement data on the skin of the associated patient (para. [0209]: “The electrode use indication component can interact with the salinity sensor to determine when and/or how much the patient is sweating..”); and at least one hardware processor (“para. [0211]: “For example, in some implementations, the functionality of the electrode use indication component and/or the cardiac event detector may be incorporated into the processor) configured to: analyze the skin measurement data to determine advice on adhesive attachment of the monitoring patch to the skin (para. [0209]: “Based on the measured sweat, the electrode use indication component can determine whether the electrode patch may be in condition for removal or replacement.”; “para. [0211]: “For example, in some implementations, the functionality of the electrode use indication component and/or the cardiac event detector may be incorporated into the processor. In some implementations, the electrode use indication component and/or the cardiac event detector may themselves be processors.”); and output the advice on the monitoring patch or the monitoring device (para. [0202]: “the electrode use indicator is a display 1106 (e.g., an LCD screen) that can present pictures, symbols, animation, and/or text. For example, the display 1106 can provide a gauge 1108 that represents the remaining lifespan of the electrode patch 1104.”)
Regarding claim 4, Cohen teaches wherein the advice comprises an estimated remaining operating time of the monitoring patch adhesively attached to the skin (para. [0154]: "For example, the timer and associated circuitry may be in the controller (e.g., controller 120, 420) as part of the electrode use indication component 320, 421. As such, a remaining or elapsed amount of time in the predetermined lifespan can be displayed via an indicating mechanism such as a user interface of the monitor (e.g., user interface 308 of FIG. 3 or user interface 408 of FIG. 4), one or more LEDs, or other such mechanisms. In some implementations, the timer and associated circuitry may be disposed as the electrode use indication component 320, 421 within the electrode patch. Further, an indicating mechanism may be disposed on the electrode patch (e.g., a surface of the electrode patch) for visually indicating to a user the remaining or elapsed amount of time.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meftah et al. (US 20190133488 A1, “Meftah”) in view of Cusimano Reaston et al. (US 20110201904 A1, “Cusimano Reaston”).
Regarding claim 2, Meftah teaches the system of claim 1 (see 102 rejection above). However, Meftah does not teach wherein the advice comprises a recommendation as to whether the skin is properly prepared for adhesive attachment of the monitoring patch to the skin.
Cusimano Reaston, in the same field of endeavor of monitoring patient health with sensors attached to the skin, discloses a circuit for proper lead attachment. Cusimano Reaston discloses that the circuit outputs advice, which comprises a recommendation as to whether the skin is properly prepared for adhesive attachment of the monitoring patch to the skin (Para. [0093]: " The leads-off detection circuit 70 has means for determining if the EMG/EKG/NCV/EEG sensor(s) leads are properly attached by measuring the impedance of the muscle and the surrounding skin area. The leads-off detection circuit 70 is connected via signal s33 to the data acquisition module 96 for further processing and to the leads-off display circuit 68 which has means for producing a display when an sensor(s) attached to a muscle or the surrounding skin is not properly attached or there is excessive activity coming from that site." Impedance is used as an indicator to display when the EMG is attached properly, and displaying when it is not properly attached can broadly be considered advice for when the skin is properly prepared for adhesive attachment.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the advice for adhesive attachment, as disclosed by Cusimano Reaston, with the system of Meftah. Doing so would enable the system to indicate to the user when a proper electrical connection is present between the sensor and the user’s skin. In including a measurement of the impedance on the skin, one would be able to determine if the skin is properly prepared for the monitoring patch. Therefore, it would be an obvious improvement to combine the recommendation in the system.
Regarding claim 3, Meftah, in combination with Cusimano Reaston, discloses the system of claim 2 (see above). However, Meftah does not disclose wherein the monitoring patch includes an LED, and the at least one hardware processor is configured to: output the advice as to whether the skin is properly prepared for adhesive attachment of the monitoring patch to the skin by operating the LED in a first state if the skin is properly prepared and in a second state different from the first state if the skin is not properly prepared.
Cusimano Reaston discloses a monitoring patch that includes an LED, and the at least one hardware processor (para. [0093]: “The leads-off detection circuit 70…”) is configured to: output the advice as to whether the skin is properly prepared for adhesive attachment of the monitoring patch to the skin by operating the LED in a first state if the skin is properly prepared and in a second state different from the first state if the skin is not properly prepared. (para. [0093]: "The leads-off detection circuit 70 has means for determining if the EMG/EKG/NCV/EEG sensor(s) leads are properly attached by measuring the impedance of the muscle and the surrounding skin area. The leads-off detection circuit 70 is connected via signal s33 to the data acquisition module 96 for further processing and to the leads-off display circuit 68 which has means for producing a display when an sensor(s) attached to a muscle or the surrounding skin is not properly attached or there is excessive activity coming from that site. This determination is made by measuring the impedance of each sensor(s). If the impedance is not at a correct level, a corresponding LED changes from green to white. The circuit 70 allows for up to 112 sensor(s) to be utilized, wherein each sensor(s) pertains to EMG, EKG, EEG or nerve placement. The leads-off detection circuit 70 also has means to pass signal s33 to the multiplexer and then via signal s20 to the data acquisition module 96 for further processing.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to include the first and second state LED indicators for when the lead is encountering impedance, as disclosed by Cusimano Reaston, with the system of claim 2, as disclosed by the combination of Cuismano Reaston and Meftah. In doing so, the LED indicators would provide a clear signal to the user that the skin is not conducting electricity properly to the sensor, and that it is not prepared to take vital measurements. The inclusion of the LEDs would be an obvious improvement to the system of claim 2.
Claim 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meftah et al. (US 20190133488 A1, “Meftah”) in view of Min et al. (US 20220256984 A1, “Min.”).
Regarding claim 9, Meftah teaches the system of claim 8 (see 102 rejection above). However, Meftah does not teach wherein the GSR electrodes are the same set of electrodes as the vital sign electrodes.
Min, in the same field of endeavor of wearable devices for measuring vital signs, discloses a ring-type wearable device with a vital sensor and GSR sensor. Min discloses wherein the GSR electrodes are the same set of electrodes as the vital sign electrodes (para. [0050]: "Further, referring to FIG. 4, the terminal 173b of the GSR sensor 173 may also be used as the terminal of the ECG sensor. That is, the terminal 173b of the GSR sensor 173 may be implemented to be selectively coupled to any one of a GSR measurement circuit and an ECG measurement circuit by arranging a switching circuit SW (for example, analog switch IC, multiplexer, and the like) between the terminal 173b of the GSR sensor 173 and terminals of the GSR measurement circuit and the ECG measurement circuit.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the ability to switch between GSR sensing and vital sign (ECG) sensing on the same set of electrodes, as disclosed by Min, with the wearable patch system disclosed by Meftah. In doing so, Meftah could combine multiple sensors into a single patch (since there’s limited space on the patch). Min solves the limited space problem by combining both the ECG and GSR sensors to a single electrode and switching between them. This would have been an obvious improvement to make to the patch disclosed by Meftah.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Meftah and Min disclose the system of claim 9 (see above). Meftah does not disclose wherein the on-board hardware processor is configured to: control operation of the vital sign sensor and the GSR sensor to not measure the vital sign data using the vital sign sensor when the GSR sensor is operating to acquire the GSR data.
Min discloses wherein the on-board hardware processor (Fig. 8; control unit 185) is configured to: control operation of the vital sign sensor and the GSR sensor to not measure the vital sign data using the vital sign sensor when the GSR sensor is operating to acquire the GSR data (Fig. 4 shows a schematic where the switch (SW) can be toggled between ECG and GSR measurements, and the ground terminal 173b completes the circuit. As a result of the circuit loop not being completed (connected to the ground terminal) for one of either the ECG or GSR sensors when the switch is opened, only one sensor would be able to collect data at that time (the sensor with a closed loop); Therefore, the GSR sensor would not measure vital sign data when the GSR sensor is measuring GSR data)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the switch of Min with the patch of Meftah. As mentioned, doing so would be an improvement to the device of Meftah since the GSR and vital sign sensors could share electrodes. Further including a processor that switches to exclusively measure GSR measurements and not vital sign data when measuring with the GSR sensor would have been obvious since the signals may interfere. By including the switch, interference between the signals would be reduced. Therefore, including this feature in the patch of Meftah would have been an obvious improvement.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meftah et al. (US 20190133488 A1, “Meftah”) in view of Elsherbini et al. (US 20180020982 A1, “Elsherbini.”).
Regarding claim 12, Meftah teaches the system of claim 11 (see 102 rejection above), wherein the monitoring device includes a vital sign sensor (para. [0051]: “A wearable device can comprise any number of physiological characteristic sensors… A physiological characteristic (or vital signs) sensor…”), the electronic processor (para. [0045]: “The control unit 302 can comprise one or more processors, processing units, multi-core processors or modules that are configured or programmed to control the apparatus 300…”), and a wireless transmitter or transceiver disposed on a patch (para. [0136]: “In some examples, the electrode use indicator disposed on the electrode patch may contain wireless communications circuitry (e.g., a Bluetooth® wireless module) that can wirelessly communicate with the electrode use indication component 320.”; The wireless module could be used to transfer the vital sign data as well.) attachable to a portion of the associated patient (para. [0039]: “The pad may comprise an adhesive (such as a tacky or sticky) surface that can adhere to the skin of a subject. In this way, the wearable device can be worn by the subject.”), and the GSR sensor (para. [0056]: “skin conductivity sensor”). However, Meftah does not disclose where a GSR sensor is disposed on a second, separate patch, attachable to a portion of the associated patient.
Elsherbini, in the same field of endeavor of wearable patches for vital sign and skin measurements, discloses a wellness monitoring system. Elsherbini discloses where the sensors (para. [0041]: " In one or more embodiments, the patch 100A-C or 202A-J can include one or more of: (1) Stretchable substrate with adhesive, providing mechanical attach functionality and/or an electrically conductive path to the skin; (2) Stretchable substrate with conductive traces enabling electrical functionality (e.g., antenna or stretch sensor); (3) Stretchable substrate with conductive traces enabling electrical contact to the skin (e.g., ECG pads or electro-dermal activity traces (e.g., to measure galvanic skin response, skin conductance, psychogalvanic reflex, skin conductance response, skin conductance response, sympathetic skin response, and/or electro-dermal response); (4) Stretchable substrate with attached LEDs, haptics, or other indicators to provide visual feedback to the user or the observer (e.g., heart rate or posture feedback).") are disposed on a first and second, separate patch (abstract: “The wellness monitoring system can include a first patch including a flexible, stretchable first substrate, a first adhesive on the first substrate, the first adhesive configured to attach the first patch to skin of a user, and first electronics on or at least partially in the first substrate, the first electronics to monitor a first biological parameter of the user, and a second patch including a flexible, stretchable second substrate, a second adhesive on the second substrate, the second adhesive configured to attach the second patch to skin of the user, and second electronics on or at least partially in the second substrate, the second electronics to monitor a second biological parameter of the user, the second biological parameter different from the first biological parameter.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to combine system of separating the GSR and vital sign patches, as disclosed by Elsherbin, with the system of claim 11, as disclosed by Meftah. In doing so would allow the system to measure multiple physiological parameters for both the GSR and the vital sign sensors. This would also simplify the electronics required in the case where the sensors are combined into one patch. It would have been obvious try a variation of the patches where they are separate patches for each sensor instead of just one. This would allow for clearer, more precise measurements without interference from other sensor signals.
Conclusion
/OWEN LEWIS MARSH/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/Jennifer Pitrak McDonald/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796