CTNF 18/619,483 CTNF 76525 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shimoda et al (2022/0110076) . Regarding claims 1 and 9, Shimoda discloses a method and a communication apparatus (see UE in figure 3) comprising: a memory storing a program; and one or more processors (see figure 8) configured to execute the program to: receive, from a network (see network in figure 3), a non-access stratum, NAS, message including time information for transmission of information used for configuring a tracking area, TA, list (see a non-access stratum (NAS) message and a tracking area of one or a plurality of user equipments 202 being served thereby, and tracking area list management in paragraph 0165; the time information in paragraph 0192; the transmitter may notify the information on the transmission time via the NAS signaling in paragraph 0324; the scheduling information such as the resource allocation information of the PSSCH or the UE to be a communication target (reception UE), and transmits the information in the PSCCH. Furthermore, the transmission UE transmits the PSSCH according to the scheduling information in paragraph 0412); obtain the time information included in the NAS message (see the base station transmits, to the UE, the timing reference generated using the time information signaled from the high-level NW device to the base station to allow the clock synchronization in the overall communication system in paragraph 0192); and transmit, to the network, a message including the information used for configuring the TA list based on the time information (see The device configuring a core network (hereinafter, also referred to as a “core-network-side device”) updates the tracking area list based on an identification number (such as UE-ID) of a communication terminal transmitted from the communication terminal together with a TAU request signal in paragraph 0181). Regarding claim 5, claim 5 claimed a network node (see AMF/SMF/UPF in figure 3) that is in communication with the UE claimed in claim 1. Claim 5 is, therefore, subject to the same rejection . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-3, 6-7, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda in view of Lee et al (2016/0212770) . Regarding claims 2 and 10, Shimoda discloses time information and the information used for configuring the TA list but doesn't specifically disclose the time information includes information indicating a time within which transmission of is permitted or not permitted. However, Lee discloses a system that include Non-Access Stratum (NAS) signaling (see paragraph 0054) and tracking area list (see paragraph 0052) in which the transmission is within a time (see A transmission time interval (TTI) which is a unit time for transmitting data in paragraph 0065; the eNB transmits UL scheduling information of UL data to a corresponding UE so as to inform the UE of a time/frequency domain which may be used by the UE in paragraph 0005). The claim would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. Regarding claims 3 and 11, Lee discloses wherein the time information includes information indicating a number of transmissions in a time within which transmission of the information (see the maximum allowable number of transmissions in paragraph 0011). Regarding claims 6 and 7, claims 6 and 7 claimed a network node (see AMF/SMF/UPF in figure 3) that is in communication with the UE claimed in claims 2 and 3. Claims 6 and 7 are, therefore, subject to the same rejection . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda in view of Cho et al (2016/0234672) . Regarding claims 4 and 12, Shimoda doesn't specifically disclose wherein the information used for configuring the TA list includes path information of the communication apparatus or a TA list based on path information of the communication apparatus. However, Cho discloses this feature (see in a case where RE#1 moves along a specific path, as illustrated in FIG. 9A, a setup request message shown in FIG. 8A may include an element indicative of a TA list (TA1, TA2, TA3, TA4, and TA5), a elements indicative of an RE moving direction (forward/reverse), and an element indicative of ID of a serving WBR. At this time, the setup response message shown in FIG. 8A may include an element of a TA list managed by the eMME. For example, if the TA list managed by the eMME includes TA1, TA3, and TA4, the TA list may be included in the setup response message so that an RE may be informed thereof in paragraph 0104). The claim would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. Regarding claim 8, claim 8 claimed a network node (see AMF/SMF/UPF in figure 3) that is in communication with the UE claimed in claim 4. Claim 8 is, therefore, subject to the same rejection. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN D NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3084. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:00 - 4:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Khaled Kassim can be reached at 571-270-3770. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRIAN D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/619,483 Page 2 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/619,483 Page 3 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/619,483 Page 4 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/619,483 Page 5 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/619,483 Page 6 Art Unit: 2475