DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 10, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peddi et al. (Pub.No.: US 2022/0131490 A1 and Peddi hereinafter) in view of Liu, Di et al. (CN 113809959 A and Liu hereinafter).
As to claim 1, A torque ripple reduction system for an electrified powertrain of a vehicle, the torque ripple reduction system comprising:
a synchronous electric motor; and
a control system configured to:
obtain look-up tables (LUTs) that each include harmonic currents that satisfy a constrained objective function for phase current magnitude for the synchronous electric motor;
based on a requested motor torque, determine, using the LUTs, a plurality of currents including fundamental direct and quadrature currents and 6th order and 12th order harmonic quadrature currents;
determine direct and quadrature voltages for the synchronous electric motor based on the plurality of currents including injection of the 6th and 12th order harmonic quadrature currents; and
control the synchronous electric motor based on the determined direct and quadrature voltages to at least one of reduce torque ripples and increase efficiency of the synchronous electric motor.
(As to claim 1, Peddi teaches (figs.1-13) a torque ripple reduction system [controller 50] (see figs.1-4, para’s [0003], [0009], [0046], [0094]) for an electrified powertrain 11 (17, 19) (see fig.1, para. [0001]) of a vehicle 10, the torque ripple reduction system [controller 50] (figs.1-4), comprising:
A synchronous motor such as an AC electric motor 14 (controlled by synchronous current regulator 34, see figs.1-2, para. [0037], [0043]); and
a control system 50L (see figs. 2-4) configured to:
obtain look-up tables (LUTs) 61, 61-n (fig.3, para’s [0016], [0055]) that each include harmonic currents [IdHx1, mag, IqHx1, mag, Id Hxn, mag, IqHxn, mag] that satisfy a constrained objective function f(Te, ωe) (Peddi teaches generating dq current Idq* as a function of torque, speed, dc bus voltage Vdc, see figs.2-3, para. [0100)) for phase current magnitude [I-MAG] for the AC electric motor 14;
based on a requested motor torque Te* (see figs.2-3), determine, using the LUTs 61, 61n, a plurality of currents [IdHx1, IqHx1,IdHxn, IqHxn] including fundamental direct [IdHx1, Id Hxn] and quadrature currents [IqHx1, IqHxn] (Peddi teaches via equation 17, 20 (see para.[0071], [0067]-[0069]), currents are broken down into fundamental component Idq0 and harmonic components IdqHx and Hxn =6th order and Hxn =12th order harmonic quadrature currents Iq Hx (IqHx1, IqHxn, see fig.3);
determine direct and quadrature voltages [Vdq*, Vdq**] (figs.2, 4, para. [0047], [0048], [0049] & [0060]) for the AC electric motor 14 based on the plurality of currents Idq** including application of the 6th and 12th order harmonic quadrature currents IqHx, IqHxn (see figs.2-3, para’s [0051], [0062], [0071]). Peddi teaches (para. [0004], [0018], [0088]) injection of harmonic at predetermined harmonic orders, Hx1=6th harmonic, Hx1 = 12 th harmonic to fine tune the torque and current ripple cancelling (see para. [0051]); and
control the AC electric motor 14 based on the determined direct and quadrature voltages [Vdq*, Vdq**, Vdq*Hx] (figs.2, 4) to at least one of reduce torque ripples (see para’s [0003], [0009], [0046], [0094]).
Peddi does not mention injection of the 6th and 12th order harmonic quadrature currents.
Liu teaches (injection control, see figs.1-3) injection of the 6th order (fig.1) and 12th order (fig.2) harmonic quadrature currents 1q5, 1q11 (see description, pages 2-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have injection of the 6th and 12th order harmonic quadrature currents of Liu in the system of Peddi because harmonic current injection method can achieve very good effect under the scene of vehicle high order noise suppression (see Liu, abstract) and to reduce the high-order torque ripple so as to inhibit noise (see Liu, Background, page 2).
As to claim 8, The torque ripple reduction system of claim 1, wherein the LUTs are two-dimensional (2D) LUTs that define the harmonic currents as a function of motor speed and requested motor torque.
(As to claim 8, Peddi teaches (figs.1-13) a torque ripple reduction system [controller 50] (see figs.1-4, para’s [0003], [0009], [0046], [0094]) wherein the LUTs [61, 61-n] (fig.3, para’s [0016], [0055]) that define the harmonic currents [IdHx1, mag, IqHx1, mag, Id Hxn, mag, IqHxn, mag] as a function f(Te, ωe) (Peddi teaches generating dq current Idq* as a function of torque, speed, dc bus voltage Vdc, see figs.2-3, para. [0100]).
Peddi does not mention two dimensional (2D) LUTs.
Liu teaches 8 two dimensional tables (see last para. “In order to simplify the calculation of actual injection…”, see pages 5-6.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have two dimensional (2D) tables of Liu in the system of Peddi because harmonic current injection method can achieve very good effect under the scene of vehicle high order noise suppression (see Liu, abstract) and to reduce the high-order torque ripple so as to inhibit noise (see Liu, Background, page 2).
As to claim 9, The torque ripple reduction system of claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to utilize a current regulator to determine the direct and quadrature voltages for the synchronous electric motor based on the plurality of currents.
(As to claim 9, Peddi teaches (figs.1-13) a torque ripple reduction system [controller 50] (see figs.1-4, para’s [0003], [0009], [0046], [0094]) wherein the control system 50L (figs.2, 3, 4) is configured to utilize a current regulator [I-SYNC REG 34] to determine the direct and quadrature voltages [Vdq*, Vdq**] (fig.2) for the synchronous electric motor 14 based on the plurality of currents [Idq**, Idq *Hx] (see figs.2, 3, 4).
As to claim 10, A torque ripple reduction method for a synchronous electric motor of a vehicle, the torque ripple reduction method comprising:
obtaining, by a control system, look-up tables (LUTs) that each include harmonic currents that satisfy a constrained objective function for phase current magnitude for the synchronous electric motor;
based on a requested motor torque, determining, by the control system and
using the LUTs, a plurality of currents including fundamental direct and quadrature currents and 6'" order and 12" order harmonic quadrature currents;
determining, by the control system, direct and quadrature voltages for the synchronous electric motor based on the plurality of currents including injection of the 6" and 12" order harmonic quadrature currents; and
controlling, by the control system, the synchronous electric motor based on the determined direct and quadrature voltages to at least one of reduce torque ripples and increase efficiency of the synchronous electric motor.
(As to claim 10, Peddi teaches (figs.1-13) a torque ripple reduction method using [controller 50] (see figs.1-4, para’s [0003], [0009], [0046], [0094]) for a synchronous electric motor such as AC electric motor 14 (controlled by synchronous current regulator 34, see figs.1-2, para. [0037], [0043]) of a vehicle 10, the torque ripple reduction method using [controller 50] (figs.1-13, para. [0003]), comprising:
Obtaining by a control system 50L (see figs. 2, 3, 4) look-up tables (LUTs) 61, 61-n (fig.3, para’s [0016], [0055]) that each include harmonic currents [IdHx1, mag, IqHx1, mag, Id Hxn, mag, IqHxn, mag] that satisfy a constrained objective function f(Te, ωe) (Peddi teaches generating dq current Idq* as a function of torque, speed, dc bus voltage Vdc, see figs.2-3, para. [0100)) for phase current magnitude [I-MAG] for the AC electric motor 14;
based on a requested motor torque Te* (see figs.2-3), determining by the control system 50L (figs.2, 3,4), using the LUTs 61, 61n, a plurality of currents [IdHx1, IqHx1,IdHxn, IqHxn] including fundamental direct [IdHx1, Id Hxn] and quadrature currents [IqHx1, IqHxn] (Peddi teaches via equation 17, 20 (see para.[0071], [0067]-[0069]), currents are broken down into fundamental component Idq0 and harmonic components IdqHx and Hxn =6th order and Hxn =12th order harmonic quadrature currents Iq Hx (IqHx1, IqHxn, see fig.3);
determining by the control system 50L (figs. 2, 3, 4) direct and quadrature voltages [Vdq*, Vdq**] (figs.2, 4, para. [0047], [0048], [0049] & [0060]) for the AC electric motor 14 based on the plurality of currents Idq** including application of the 6th and 12th order harmonic quadrature currents IqHx, IqHxn (see figs.2-3, para’s [0051], [0062], [0071]). Peddi teaches (para. [0004], [0018], [0088]) injection of harmonic at predetermined harmonic orders, Hx1 = 6th harmonic, Hx1 = 12 th Harmonic to fine tune the torque and current ripple cancelling (see para. [0051]); and
controlling, by the control system 50L (figs.2, 3, 4), the AC electric motor 14 based on the determined direct and quadrature voltages [Vdq*, Vdq**, Vdq*Hx] (figs.2, 4) to at least one of reduce torque ripples (see para’s [0003], [0009], [0046], [0094]).
Peddi does not mention injection of the 6th and 12th order harmonic quadrature currents.
Liu teaches (injection control, see figs.1-3) injection of the 6th order (fig.1) and 12th order (fig.2) harmonic quadrature currents 1q5, 1q11 (see description, pages 2-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have injection of the 6th and 12th order harmonic quadrature currents of Liu in the system of Peddi because harmonic current injection method can achieve very good effect under the scene of vehicle high order noise suppression (see Liu, abstract) and to reduce the high-order torque ripple so as to inhibit noise (see Liu, Background, page 2).
As to claim 17, The torque ripple reduction method of claim 10, wherein the LUTs are two-dimensional (2D) LUTs that define the harmonic currents as a function of motor speed and requested motor torque.
(As to claim 17, Peddi teaches (figs.1-13) a torque ripple reduction method using [controller 50] (see figs.1-4, para’s [0003], [0009], [0046], [0094]) wherein the LUTs [61, 61-n] (fig.3, para’s [0016], [0055]) that define the harmonic currents [IdHx1, mag, IqHx1, mag, Id Hxn, mag, IqHxn, mag] as a function f(Te, ωe) (Peddi teaches generating dq current Idq* as a function of torque, speed, dc bus voltage Vdc, see figs.2-3, para. [0100]).
Peddi does not mention two dimensional (2D) LUTs.
Liu teaches 8 two dimensional tables (see last para. “In order to simplify the calculation of actual injection…”, see pages 5-6.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have two dimensional (2D) tables of Liu in the system of Peddi because harmonic current injection method can achieve very good effect under the scene of vehicle high order noise suppression (see Liu, abstract) and to reduce the high-order torque ripple so as to inhibit noise (see Liu, Background, page 2).
As to claim 18, The torque ripple reduction method of claim 10, further comprising utilizing, by the control system, a current regulator to determine the direct and quadrature voltages for the synchronous electric motor based on the plurality of currents.
(As to claim 18, Peddi teaches (figs.1-13) a torque ripple reduction method using [controller 50] (see figs.1-4, para’s [0003], [0009], [0046], [0094]) further comprising the control system 50L (figs.2, 3, 4) is configured to utilize a current regulator [I-SYNC REG 34] to determine the direct and quadrature voltages [Vdq*, Vdq**] (fig.2) for the synchronous electric motor 14 based on the plurality of currents [Idq**, Idq *Hx] (see figs.2, 3, 4)).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 2-7, and 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 2, Peddi and Liu fails to teach an optimized system configured to determine the objective function and a set of constraints for the objective function and generate the LUTs by optimizing the objective function subject to the set of constraints. Allowable Claims 3-7 depend on allowable claim 2.
As to claim 11, Peddi and Liu fails to teach determining, by an optimized system, the objective function and a set of constraints for the objective function and generating, by the optimized system, the LUTs by optimizing the objective function subject to the set of constraints. Allowable Claims 12-16 depend on allowable claim 2.
Citation of Pertinent Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Prior art of record Liu, Di et al. (WO 2023051623 A1) teaches (figs.1-3, abstract), wherein Fig. 1 is the control block diagram of the motor control device aimed at 6-order torque ripple noise suppression; Fig. 2 is the control block diagram of the motor control device aimed at 12th-order torque ripple noise suppression; Fig. 3 is a flow chart of the harmonic current injection method of the embedded permanent magnet synchronous motor.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2846