DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-22 are pending in this amended application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-22 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claimed invention directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “a decryption unit configured to generate plaintext data by decrypting encrypted data designated as a print target by a user using a user interface; and a transmission unit configured to transmit the plaintext data to the processing apparatus as the print data, without transmitting the encrypted data to the processing apparatus”.
The claim limitation of “a decryption unit configured to generate plaintext data by decrypting encrypted data designated as a print target by a user using a user interface; and a transmission unit configured to transmit the plaintext data to the processing apparatus as the print data, without transmitting the encrypted data to the processing apparatus”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. That is, other than reciting “by a transmission apparatus” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for “transmission apparatus” language, “by a decryption unit” and “by a transmission unit” language, “decrypting” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually decrypting the encrypted data. Similarly, the limitations of “transmitting” to transmit the decrypted print data as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. For example, but for the “by a transmission apparatus” language, “decrypting” in the context of this claim encompasses the user thinking that the transmission apparatus should be decrypted the encrypted data using the user interface. If a claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim doesn’t even recite one additional element – using a decryption unit and a transmission unit to perform both the decrypting and transmitting steps. The transmission apparatus in last step is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic control unit performing a generic computer function of ranking information based on a determined amount of use) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this last claimed step does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a decryption unit and a transmission unit to perform both the decrypting and transmitting steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
The other independent claims 7, 13, 20-22 are obviously claimed the same subject matter as found in the claim 1 and therefore would be rejected based on same rationale applied on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. [hereafter Sugimoto], US Pub 2010/0192234 in view of Kimura et al. (木村 欣生 et al.) [hereafter Kimura], JP Pub/Patent 4194500 B2 published on 12/10/2008.
As to claim 1[independent], Sugimoto teaches a transmission apparatus ([fig. 1, element 10]) for transmitting print data to a processing apparatus ([fig. 1, element 20]) that processes the print data, the transmission apparatus comprising [fig. 1, elements 10, 20; 0045, 0052, 0124 Sugimoto teaches that the terminal device 10 corresponding to the transmission device generates obviously the plain text print data by decrypting the encrypted print data, and sends to the printer 20 for printing process]:
a decryption unit configured to generate plaintext data by decrypting encrypted data designated as a print target by a user using a user interface [fig. 1, elements 10, 20 & fig. 3, element 57; 0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096, 0118-0121, 0124, 0136 Sugimoto teaches that the terminal device 10 corresponding to the transmission device generates obviously the plain text print data by decrypting the encrypted print data by the user after authenticating the user inputting the username and password etc., on display 57 (fig. 3, element 57 & paras., 0118, 0136), and sends to the printer 20 for printing process]; and
Sugimoto doesn’t teach explicitly but teaches implicitly the claimed limitations recited, a transmission unit configured to transmit the plaintext data to the processing apparatus as the print data, without transmitting the encrypted data to the processing apparatus, in fig. 1, elements 10, 20; 0045, 0052 that the terminal device 10 corresponding to the transmission device generates obviously the plain text print data by decrypting the encrypted print data, and sends to the printer 20 for printing process.
Kimura teaches a transmission unit configured to transmit the plaintext data to the processing apparatus as the print data, without transmitting the encrypted data to the processing apparatus [page 1; abstract Kimura teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends unencrypted print data as the plaintext data, without including the encrypted print data, to the printing apparatus via the network].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kimura teaching to transmit the plaintext print data to the printer without transmitting the encrypted data to modify Sugimoto’s teaching if the print data included in the print job is encrypted, the encrypted print data is retained in the memory until the input of identification information is accepted, the print data decrypted in the print data decryption process is decrypted using the identification information, and the decrypted print data is output or print in the output/printing process. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure printing technique that help performing secret printing without arranging reader-writer apparatus at each information processor, thus improves convenience of the user.
As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission unit is further configured to transmit second plaintext data to the processing apparatus as second print data, the second plaintext data being designated as a second print target by the user [fig. 1, elements 10, 20; 0045, 0052 Sugimoto teaches that the terminal device 10 corresponding to the transmission device generates obviously the first and/or second plain text print data by decrypting the encrypted print data, and sends to the printer 20 for printing process].
As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 1], Sugimoto teaches wherein the plaintext data is data of the same type as the encrypted data [fig. 1, elements 10, 20; 0045, 0052 Sugimoto teaches that the terminal device 10 that generates obviously the decrypted plain text print data from the encrypted print data, and sends to the printer 20 for printing process].
As to claim 5 [dependent from claim 1], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission apparatus is a user device that obtains the designation of the print target from the user [figs. 12-13; 0046, 0052, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10], and
the processing apparatus is a printing device that prints the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0045-0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data to the printer 20 for printing process].
As to claim 6 [dependent from claim 1], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission apparatus is a user device that obtains the designation of the print target from the user [figs. 12-13; 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10], and
the processing apparatus is a print server that instructs a printing device to print the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0045-0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data to the printing device 35 for printing process via print server 20 (paras., 0045-0046)].
As to claim 7 [independent], Sugimoto teaches a transmission apparatus ([fig. 1, element 10]) for transmitting print data to a processing apparatus ([fig. 1, element 20]) that processes the print data, the transmission apparatus comprising [0004-0005 Sugimoto teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus 35 via the network for printing process]:
a transmission unit configured to transmit encrypted data designated as a print target by a user using a user interface to the processing apparatus as the print data [figs. 1, 3, 12-13; 0004-0005, 0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096, 0118-0121, 0124, 0136 Sugimoto teaches that the information processing apparatus that sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus 35, via the network for printing process, by the user after authenticating the user inputting the username and password etc., on display 57 (fig. 3, element 57 & paras., 0118, 0136). Further, Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data (encrypted as disclose in para., 0005) to the printing device 35 for printing process via print server 20 (paras., 0045-0046)]; and
Sugimoto doesn’t teach a notification unit configured to notify the processing apparatus of a password for decrypting the encrypted data.
Kimura teaches a transmission unit configured to transmit encrypted data designated as a print target by a user to the processing apparatus as the print data [page 1, abstract, page 7, lines 9-45 & page 8, lines 1-33 Kimura teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus via the network]; and
a notification unit configured to notify the processing apparatus of a password for decrypting the encrypted data [page 1, abstract, page 7, lines 9-45 & page 8, lines 1-33 Kimura teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus via the network for printing process. Further, the client terminal 310 or 320 also sent or notified the printer regarding key to decrypt the encrypted print data].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kimura teaching to transmit the plaintext print data to the printer without transmitting the encrypted data to modify Sugimoto’s teaching if the print data included in the print job is encrypted, the encrypted print data is retained in the memory until the input of identification information is accepted, the print data decrypted in the print data decryption process is decrypted using the identification information, and the decrypted print data is output or print in the output/printing process. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure printing technique that help performing secret printing without arranging reader-writer apparatus at each information processor, thus improves convenience of the user.
As to claim 8 [dependent from claim 7], Sugimoto teaches wherein the notification unit adds the password to a message for transmitting the print data [0004-0005 Sugimoto teaches that the information processing apparatus that generates encrypted print data by adding password to the encrypted print data ].
As to claim 10 [dependent from claim 7], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission apparatus is a user device that obtains the designation of the print target from the user [figs. 12-13; 0046, 0052, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10], and
the processing apparatus is a printing device that prints the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0045-0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data to the printer 20 for printing process].
As to claim 11 [dependent from claim 7], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission apparatus is a user device that obtains the designation of the print target from the user [figs. 12-13; 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10], and
the processing apparatus is a print server that instructs a printing device to print the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0045-0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data to the printing device 35 for printing process via print server 20 (paras., 0045-0046)].
As to claim 12 [dependent from claim 1], Sugimoto teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [fig. 3, element 53 or 54 or 58 or 59; 0063-0065] having stored thereon a program [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0063-0065] for causing a computer to function as the transmission apparatus according to claim 1 [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0063-0065].
As to claim 13 [independent], Sugimoto teaches a processing apparatus for processing print data, comprising [figs. 1-2; 0004-0005 Sugimoto teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus 35 via the network for printing process]:
a reception unit configured to receive encrypted data designated as a print target by a user using a user interface from a transmission apparatus [figs. 1, 12-13; 0004-0005, 0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that the information processing apparatus that sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus 35 via the network for printing process, by the user after authenticating the user inputting the username and password etc., on display 57 (fig. 3, element 57 & paras., 0118, 0136). Further, Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data (encrypted as disclose in para., 0005) to the printing device 35 for printing process via print server 20 (paras., 0045-0046)];
Sugimoto doesn’t teach a determination unit configured to determine whether or not a password for decrypting the encrypted data has been notified;
a decryption unit configured to, in a case where it is determined that the password has been notified, generate plaintext data by decrypting the encrypted data; and
a processing unit configured to process the plaintext data as the print data.
Kimura teaches a determination unit configured to determine whether or not a password for decrypting the encrypted data has been notified [page 1, abstract, page 7, lines 9-45 & page 8, lines 1-33 Kimura teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus via the network for printing process. Further, the client terminal 310 or 320 also sent or notified the printer regarding key to decrypt the encrypted print data, and the printer obviously determined that the password for decrypting the encrypted print data has been received or notified];
a decryption unit configured to, in a case where it is determined that the password has been notified, generate plaintext data by decrypting the encrypted data [page 1, abstract, page 7, lines 9-45 & page 8, lines 1-33 Kimura teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus via the network for printing process. Further, the client terminal 310 or 320 also sent or notified the printer regarding key to decrypt the encrypted print data, and the printer obviously determined that the password for decrypting the encrypted print data has been received or notified to generate the plain text print data]; and
a processing unit configured to process the plaintext data as the print data [page 1, abstract, page 7, lines 9-45 & page 8, lines 1-33 Kimura teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus via the network for printing process. Further, the client terminal 310 or 320 also sent or notified the printer regarding key to decrypt the encrypted print data, and the printer obviously determined that the password for decrypting the encrypted print data has been received or notified to generate the plain text print data].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kimura teaching to transmit the plaintext print data to the printer without transmitting the encrypted data to modify Sugimoto’s teaching if the print data included in the print job is encrypted, the encrypted print data is retained in the memory until the input of identification information is accepted, the print data decrypted in the print data decryption process is decrypted using the identification information, and the decrypted print data is output or print in the output/printing process. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure printing technique that help performing secret printing without arranging reader-writer apparatus at each information processor, thus improves convenience of the user.
As to claim 17 [dependent from claim 13], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission apparatus is a user device that obtains the designation of the print target from the user [figs. 12-13; 0046, 0052, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10], and
the processing apparatus is a printing device that prints the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0045-0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data to the printer 20 for printing process].
As to claim 18 [dependent from claim 13], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission apparatus is a user device that obtains the designation of the print target from the user [figs. 12-13; 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10], and
the processing apparatus is a print server that instructs a printing device to print the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0045-0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data to the printing device 35 for printing process via print server 20 (paras., 0045-0046)].
As to claim 19 [dependent from claim 13], Sugimoto teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium fig. 3, element 53 or 54 or 58 or 59; 0063-0065] having stored thereon a program [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0063-0065] for causing a computer to function as the processing apparatus according to claim 13 [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0063-0065].
As to claim 20 [independent], However, the independent claim 20 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 20 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1.
As to claim 21 [independent], However, the independent claim 21 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 7 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 21 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 7.
As to claim 22 [independent], However, the independent claim 22 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 13 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 22 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 13.
7. Claims 4, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. [hereafter Sugimoto], US Pub 2010/0192234 in view of Kimura et al. (木村 欣生 et al.) [hereafter Kimura], JP Pub/Patent 4194500 B2 published on 12/10/2008 and Waki (脇 賢二), JP Pub/Patent 4165027 B2 published on 10/15/2008.
As to claim 4 [dependent from claim 1], Sugimoto and Kimura don’t teach wherein the transmission unit transmits the plaintext data to the processing apparatus in a message compliant with Internet Printing Protocol (IPP).
Waki teaches wherein the transmission unit transmits the plaintext data to the processing apparatus in a message compliant with Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0027, 0032, 0068-0069 Waki teaches that the print data is transmitted to the printer via with Internet Printing Protocol (IPP)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Waki teaching to transmit the print data to the printer via Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) to modify Sugimoto and Kimura’s teaching to decide whether the printing data are to be encrypted or not and chooses the kind of encryption, when encryption is chosen, an encryption device encrypts the printing data based on the chosen kind of encryption and a transmitting device transmits the encrypted data or the printing data depending on the choice of whether to encrypt or no to ensures that print data can be encrypted before transmission when security is required. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure prevent leakage of print data during network transmission, shortens the processing time when security protection is unnecessary, and increases the amount of data.
As to claim 9 [dependent from claim 7], Sugimoto and Kimura don’t teach wherein the transmission unit transmits the encrypted data to the processing apparatus in a message compliant with IPP.
Waki teaches wherein the transmission unit transmits the encrypted data to the processing apparatus in a message compliant with IPP [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0027, 0032, 0068-0069 Waki teaches that the encrypted print data is transmitted to the printer via with Internet Printing Protocol (IPP)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Waki teaching to transmit the print data to the printer via Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) to modify Sugimoto and Kimura’s teaching to decide whether the printing data are to be encrypted or not and chooses the kind of encryption, when encryption is chosen, an encryption device encrypts the printing data based on the chosen kind of encryption and a transmitting device transmits the encrypted data or the printing data depending on the choice of whether to encrypt or no to ensures that print data can be encrypted before transmission when security is required. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure prevent leakage of print data during network transmission, shortens the processing time when security protection is unnecessary, and increases the amount of data.
As to claim 16 [dependent from claim 13], Sugimoto and Kimura don’t teach wherein the reception unit receives the encrypted data from the transmission apparatus in a message compliant with IPP.
Waki teaches wherein the reception unit receives the encrypted data from the transmission apparatus in a message compliant with IPP [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0027, 0032, 0068-0069 Waki teaches that the encrypted print data is transmitted to the printer via with Internet Printing Protocol (IPP)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Waki teaching to transmit the print data to the printer via Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) to modify Sugimoto and Kimura’s teaching to decide whether the printing data are to be encrypted or not and chooses the kind of encryption, when encryption is chosen, an encryption device encrypts the printing data based on the chosen kind of encryption and a transmitting device transmits the encrypted data or the printing data depending on the choice of whether to encrypt or no to ensures that print data can be encrypted before transmission when security is required. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure prevent leakage of print data during network transmission, shortens the processing time when security protection is unnecessary, and increases the amount of data.
8. Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. [hereafter Sugimoto], US Pub 2010/0192234 in view of Kimura et al. (木村 欣生 et al.) [hereafter Kimura], JP Pub/Patent 4194500 B2 published on 12/10/2008 and Wang et al. [hereafter Wang], US Pub 2012/0002234.
As to claim 14 [dependent from claim 13], Sugimoto and Kimura don’t teach a request unit configured to, in a case where it is determined that the password has not been notified, request the password from the transmission apparatus.
Wang teaches a request unit configured to, in a case where it is determined that the password has not been notified, request the password from the transmission apparatus [fig. 11, steps 1110-1112; 0101-0102 Wang teaches that the printer 101 determined that the password has not been notified, then it requested the password from the transmission apparatus i.e. server 702, for printing purpose, because printing process cannot be executed until the user authentication of the user, who requested the printing of the encrypted print data, is completed].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wang teaching to request the password from the transmission apparatus when it is determined that the password has not been notified to modify Sugimoto and Kimura’s teaching to decrypt the encrypted print data using the user information. The device detects whether a portable media e.g. flash memory card, is in communication with a media interface i.e. interface mechanism, and retrieves the user information from the portable media. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure the printer is designed such that the electronic document is not printed until a user inserts the portable media into the printer and selects secure printing, thus eliminating possibility of an unauthorized third party gaining access to a printed copy of the electronic document, and hence allowing the electronic document to be printed in a secure manner.
As to claim 15 [dependent from claim 14], Wang teaches wherein in a case where it is designated that a start of printing of the encrypted data is to be suspended until an instruction to start printing is received, the request unit requests the password from the transmission apparatus before reception of the instruction to start printing of the encrypted data [fig. 11, steps 1110-1118; 0101-0105 Wang teaches that the printer 101 determined that the password has not been notified, then it requested the password from the transmission apparatus i.e. server 702, for printing purpose, because printing process cannot be executed until the user authentication of the user, who requested the printing of the encrypted print data, is completed].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wang teaching to request the password from the transmission apparatus when it is determined that the password has not been notified to modify Sugimoto and Kimura’s teaching to decrypt the encrypted print data using the user information. The device detects whether a portable media e.g. flash memory card, is in communication with a media interface i.e. interface mechanism, and retrieves the user information from the portable media. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure the printer is designed such that the electronic document is not printed until a user inserts the portable media into the printer and selects secure printing, thus eliminating possibility of an unauthorized third party gaining access to a printed copy of the electronic document, and hence allowing the electronic document to be printed in a secure manner.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are not persuasive, because
On pages 11-13 of the REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, applicant argued that the applied arts Sugimoto et al. (US Pub 2010/0192234) & Kimura et al. (JP Pub/Patent 4194500) failed to disclose or suggest the claim limitations of claims 1, 7, 13, 20-22 recited “a decryption unit configured to generate plaintext data by decrypting encrypted data designated as a print target by a user using a user interface; and a transmission unit configured to transmit the plaintext data to the processing apparatus as the print data, without transmitting the encrypted data to the processing apparatus” either alone nor in combination. Applicant further on pages 11-13, explained that applied prior arts do not teach above claimed limitations, provided reasons that how and why applied arts are not suggesting the above claim limitations. Particularly the applied prior art Sugimoto et al. (US Pub 2010/0192234) only suggested a printing system 2 having terminal devices 10 and printers 20. The printer(s) 20 having a restricted file 40 that is outputted to the terminal device(s) 20 and is provided with data structure that includes encrypted data 41. Further, Sugimoto et al. (US Pub 2010/0192234) is silent on a terminal device 10 that generates print data by decrypting encrypted data and sending that print data to a printer 20.
In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner would respectfully disagree with the applicant’s argument, because first of all the examiner is not bound to import specification definition or information on to the claimed invention. The examiner view or review the specification to understand the claimed invention and are bound to give broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) to the claim(s) in view of the specification and over the applied prior arts. The claim limitations recited “a decryption unit configured to generate plaintext data by decrypting encrypted data designated as a print target by a user using a user interface”, interpreted by Examiner that the transmission apparatus decrypt the encrypted (print) data to generate a print job for printer for printing process. The claimed limitations don’t described or explained that how the encrypted (print) data is decrypted by the user on the (display screen) user interface.
However, the applied Prior art Sugimoto et al. (US Pub 2010/0192234) reasonably suggesting at least in fig. 1, elements 10, 20 & fig. 3, element 57 and paras., 0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096, 0118-0121, 0124, 0136 that the terminal device 10 corresponding to the transmission device generates obviously the plain text print data by decrypting the encrypted print data by the user after authenticating the user inputting the username and password etc., on display 57 (fig. 3, element 57 & paras., 0118, 0136), and sends to the printer 20 for printing process. Particularly in paras., 0118-0121, 0124, 0136, Sugimoto et al. explained the terminal device 10 receives the cryptography key from the printer 20 to decrypt the encrypted (print) data in terminal device 10 for the printer 20.
The claim limitations recited “a transmission unit configured to transmit the plaintext data to the processing apparatus as the print data, without transmitting the encrypted data to the processing apparatus”, interpreted by Examiner that the transmission apparatus decrypt the encrypted (print) data to generate a print job (i.e. not encrypted print data anymore) for printer for printing process and transmitting the encrypted data to the processing apparatus (i.e. either printer or server).
However, the applied Prior art Kimura et al. (JP Pub/Patent 4194500) reasonably suggesting at least in page 1; abstract that the information processing apparatus (that could be either printer or server) that the sends unencrypted print data as the plaintext data, without including the encrypted print data, to the printing apparatus via the network.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682