DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-22 are pending in this application.
Priority
3. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on application JP 2023-060440 filed on 04/03/2023 under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d).
Drawings
4. The drawing has been filed on 03/28/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement filed on 03/28/2024 is in compliance with the provision of the 37 CFR 1.97 and therefore has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. [hereafter Sugimoto], US Pub 2010/0192234 in view of Kimura et al. (木村 欣生 et al.) [hereafter Kimura], JP Pub/Patent 4194500 B2 published on 12/10/2008.
As to claim 1[independent], Sugimoto teaches a transmission apparatus ([fig. 1, element 10]) for transmitting print data to a processing apparatus ([fig. 1, element 20]) that processes the print data, the transmission apparatus comprising [fig. 1, elements 10, 20; 0045, 0052 Sugimoto teaches that the terminal device 10 corresponding to the transmission device generates obviously the plain text print data by decrypting the encrypted print data, and sends to the printer 20 for printing process]:
a decryption unit configured to generate plaintext data by decrypting encrypted data designated as a print target by a user [fig. 1, elements 10, 20; 0045, 0052 Sugimoto teaches that the terminal device 10 corresponding to the transmission device generates obviously the plain text print data by decrypting the encrypted print data, and sends to the printer 20 for printing process]; and
Sugimoto doesn’t teach explicitly but teaches implicitly the claimed limitations recited, a transmission unit configured to transmit the plaintext data to the processing apparatus as the print data, without transmitting the encrypted data to the processing apparatus, in fig. 1, elements 10, 20; 0045, 0052 that the terminal device 10 corresponding to the transmission device generates obviously the plain text print data by decrypting the encrypted print data, and sends to the printer 20 for printing process.
Kimura teaches a transmission unit configured to transmit the plaintext data to the processing apparatus as the print data, without transmitting the encrypted data to the processing apparatus [page 1; abstract Kimura teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends unencrypted print data as the plaintext data, without including the encrypted print data, to the printing apparatus via the network].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kimura teaching to transmit the plaintext print data to the printer without transmitting the encrypted data to modify Sugimoto’s teaching if the print data included in the print job is encrypted, the encrypted print data is retained in the memory until the input of identification information is accepted, the print data decrypted in the print data decryption process is decrypted using the identification information, and the decrypted print data is output or print in the output/printing process. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure printing technique that help performing secret printing without arranging reader-writer apparatus at each information processor, thus improves convenience of the user.
As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission unit is further configured to transmit second plaintext data to the processing apparatus as second print data, the second plaintext data being designated as a second print target by the user [fig. 1, elements 10, 20; 0045, 0052 Sugimoto teaches that the terminal device 10 corresponding to the transmission device generates obviously the first and/or second plain text print data by decrypting the encrypted print data, and sends to the printer 20 for printing process].
As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 1], Sugimoto teaches wherein the plaintext data is data of the same type as the encrypted data [fig. 1, elements 10, 20; 0045, 0052 Sugimoto teaches that the terminal device 10 that generates obviously the decrypted plain text print data from the encrypted print data, and sends to the printer 20 for printing process].
As to claim 5 [dependent from claim 1], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission apparatus is a user device that obtains the designation of the print target from the user [figs. 12-13; 0046, 0052, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10], and
the processing apparatus is a printing device that prints the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0045-0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data to the printer 20 for printing process].
As to claim 6 [dependent from claim 1], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission apparatus is a user device that obtains the designation of the print target from the user [figs. 12-13; 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10], and
the processing apparatus is a print server that instructs a printing device to print the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0045-0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data to the printing device 35 for printing process via print server 20 (paras., 0045-0046)].
As to claim 7 [independent], Sugimoto teaches a transmission apparatus ([fig. 1, element 10]) for transmitting print data to a processing apparatus ([fig. 1, element 20]) that processes the print data, the transmission apparatus comprising [0004-0005 Sugimoto teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus 35 via the network for printing process]:
a transmission unit configured to transmit encrypted data designated as a print target by a user to the processing apparatus as the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0004-0005, 0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that the information processing apparatus that sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus 35 via the network for printing process. Further, Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data (encrypted as disclose in para., 0005) to the printing device 35 for printing process via print server 20 (paras., 0045-0046)]; and
Sugimoto doesn’t teach a notification unit configured to notify the processing apparatus of a password for decrypting the encrypted data.
Kimura teaches a transmission unit configured to transmit encrypted data designated as a print target by a user to the processing apparatus as the print data [page 1, abstract, page 7, lines 9-45 & page 8, lines 1-33 Kimura teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus via the network]; and
a notification unit configured to notify the processing apparatus of a password for decrypting the encrypted data [page 1, abstract, page 7, lines 9-45 & page 8, lines 1-33 Kimura teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus via the network for printing process. Further, the client terminal 310 or 320 also sent or notified the printer regarding key to decrypt the encrypted print data].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kimura teaching to transmit the plaintext print data to the printer without transmitting the encrypted data to modify Sugimoto’s teaching if the print data included in the print job is encrypted, the encrypted print data is retained in the memory until the input of identification information is accepted, the print data decrypted in the print data decryption process is decrypted using the identification information, and the decrypted print data is output or print in the output/printing process. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure printing technique that help performing secret printing without arranging reader-writer apparatus at each information processor, thus improves convenience of the user.
As to claim 8 [dependent from claim 7], Sugimoto teaches wherein the notification unit adds the password to a message for transmitting the print data [0004-0005 Sugimoto teaches that the information processing apparatus that generates encrypted print data by adding password to the encrypted print data ].
As to claim 10 [dependent from claim 7], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission apparatus is a user device that obtains the designation of the print target from the user [figs. 12-13; 0046, 0052, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10], and
the processing apparatus is a printing device that prints the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0045-0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data to the printer 20 for printing process].
As to claim 11 [dependent from claim 7], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission apparatus is a user device that obtains the designation of the print target from the user [figs. 12-13; 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10], and
the processing apparatus is a print server that instructs a printing device to print the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0045-0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data to the printing device 35 for printing process via print server 20 (paras., 0045-0046)].
As to claim 12 [dependent from claim 1], Sugimoto teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [fig. 3, element 53 or 54 or 58 or 59; 0063-0065] having stored thereon a program [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0063-0065] for causing a computer to function as the transmission apparatus according to claim 1 [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0063-0065].
As to claim 13 [independent], Sugimoto teaches a processing apparatus for processing print data, comprising [figs. 1-2; 0004-0005 Sugimoto teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus 35 via the network for printing process]:
a reception unit configured to receive encrypted data designated as a print target by a user from a transmission apparatus [figs. 1, 12-13; 0004-0005, 0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that the information processing apparatus that sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus 35 via the network for printing process. Further, Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data (encrypted as disclose in para., 0005) to the printing device 35 for printing process via print server 20 (paras., 0045-0046)];
Sugimoto doesn’t teach a determination unit configured to determine whether or not a password for decrypting the encrypted data has been notified;
a decryption unit configured to, in a case where it is determined that the password has been notified, generate plaintext data by decrypting the encrypted data; and
a processing unit configured to process the plaintext data as the print data.
Kimura teaches a determination unit configured to determine whether or not a password for decrypting the encrypted data has been notified [page 1, abstract, page 7, lines 9-45 & page 8, lines 1-33 Kimura teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus via the network for printing process. Further, the client terminal 310 or 320 also sent or notified the printer regarding key to decrypt the encrypted print data, and the printer obviously determined that the password for decrypting the encrypted print data has been received or notified];
a decryption unit configured to, in a case where it is determined that the password has been notified, generate plaintext data by decrypting the encrypted data [page 1, abstract, page 7, lines 9-45 & page 8, lines 1-33 Kimura teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus via the network for printing process. Further, the client terminal 310 or 320 also sent or notified the printer regarding key to decrypt the encrypted print data, and the printer obviously determined that the password for decrypting the encrypted print data has been received or notified to generate the plain text print data]; and
a processing unit configured to process the plaintext data as the print data [page 1, abstract, page 7, lines 9-45 & page 8, lines 1-33 Kimura teaches that the information processing apparatus that the sends encrypted print data to the printing apparatus via the network for printing process. Further, the client terminal 310 or 320 also sent or notified the printer regarding key to decrypt the encrypted print data, and the printer obviously determined that the password for decrypting the encrypted print data has been received or notified to generate the plain text print data].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kimura teaching to transmit the plaintext print data to the printer without transmitting the encrypted data to modify Sugimoto’s teaching if the print data included in the print job is encrypted, the encrypted print data is retained in the memory until the input of identification information is accepted, the print data decrypted in the print data decryption process is decrypted using the identification information, and the decrypted print data is output or print in the output/printing process. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure printing technique that help performing secret printing without arranging reader-writer apparatus at each information processor, thus improves convenience of the user.
As to claim 17 [dependent from claim 13], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission apparatus is a user device that obtains the designation of the print target from the user [figs. 12-13; 0046, 0052, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10], and
the processing apparatus is a printing device that prints the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0045-0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data to the printer 20 for printing process].
As to claim 18 [dependent from claim 13], Sugimoto teaches wherein the transmission apparatus is a user device that obtains the designation of the print target from the user [figs. 12-13; 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10], and
the processing apparatus is a print server that instructs a printing device to print the print data [figs. 1, 12-13; 0045-0046, 0052, 0062, 0095-0096 Sugimoto teaches that to start printing in front of the printer 20, it is necessary for user to specify a target print job on a display of the terminal device 10, and sends the print data to the printing device 35 for printing process via print server 20 (paras., 0045-0046)].
As to claim 19 [dependent from claim 13], Sugimoto teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium fig. 3, element 53 or 54 or 58 or 59; 0063-0065] having stored thereon a program [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0063-0065] for causing a computer to function as the processing apparatus according to claim 13 [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0063-0065].
As to claim 20 [independent], However, the independent claim 20 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 20 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1.
As to claim 21 [independent], However, the independent claim 21 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 7 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 21 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 7.
As to claim 22 [independent], However, the independent claim 22 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 13 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 22 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 13.
8. Claims 4, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. [hereafter Sugimoto], US Pub 2010/0192234 in view of Kimura et al. (木村 欣生 et al.) [hereafter Kimura], JP Pub/Patent 4194500 B2 published on 12/10/2008 and Waki (脇 賢二), JP Pub/Patent 4165027 B2 published on 10/15/2008.
As to claim 4 [dependent from claim 1], Sugimoto and Kimura don’t teach wherein the transmission unit transmits the plaintext data to the processing apparatus in a message compliant with Internet Printing Protocol (IPP).
Waki teaches wherein the transmission unit transmits the plaintext data to the processing apparatus in a message compliant with Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0027, 0032, 0068-0069 Waki teaches that the print data is transmitted to the printer via with Internet Printing Protocol (IPP)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Waki teaching to transmit the print data to the printer via Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) to modify Sugimoto and Kimura’s teaching to decide whether the printing data are to be encrypted or not and chooses the kind of encryption, when encryption is chosen, an encryption device encrypts the printing data based on the chosen kind of encryption and a transmitting device transmits the encrypted data or the printing data depending on the choice of whether to encrypt or no to ensures that print data can be encrypted before transmission when security is required. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure prevent leakage of print data during network transmission, shortens the processing time when security protection is unnecessary, and increases the amount of data.
As to claim 9 [dependent from claim 7], Sugimoto and Kimura don’t teach wherein the transmission unit transmits the encrypted data to the processing apparatus in a message compliant with IPP.
Waki teaches wherein the transmission unit transmits the encrypted data to the processing apparatus in a message compliant with IPP [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0027, 0032, 0068-0069 Waki teaches that the encrypted print data is transmitted to the printer via with Internet Printing Protocol (IPP)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Waki teaching to transmit the print data to the printer via Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) to modify Sugimoto and Kimura’s teaching to decide whether the printing data are to be encrypted or not and chooses the kind of encryption, when encryption is chosen, an encryption device encrypts the printing data based on the chosen kind of encryption and a transmitting device transmits the encrypted data or the printing data depending on the choice of whether to encrypt or no to ensures that print data can be encrypted before transmission when security is required. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure prevent leakage of print data during network transmission, shortens the processing time when security protection is unnecessary, and increases the amount of data.
As to claim 16 [dependent from claim 13], Sugimoto and Kimura don’t teach wherein the reception unit receives the encrypted data from the transmission apparatus in a message compliant with IPP.
Waki teaches wherein the reception unit receives the encrypted data from the transmission apparatus in a message compliant with IPP [fig. 3, element 61 or 62 or 63; 0027, 0032, 0068-0069 Waki teaches that the encrypted print data is transmitted to the printer via with Internet Printing Protocol (IPP)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Waki teaching to transmit the print data to the printer via Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) to modify Sugimoto and Kimura’s teaching to decide whether the printing data are to be encrypted or not and chooses the kind of encryption, when encryption is chosen, an encryption device encrypts the printing data based on the chosen kind of encryption and a transmitting device transmits the encrypted data or the printing data depending on the choice of whether to encrypt or no to ensures that print data can be encrypted before transmission when security is required. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure prevent leakage of print data during network transmission, shortens the processing time when security protection is unnecessary, and increases the amount of data.
9. Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. [hereafter Sugimoto], US Pub 2010/0192234 in view of Kimura et al. (木村 欣生 et al.) [hereafter Kimura], JP Pub/Patent 4194500 B2 published on 12/10/2008 and Wang et al. [hereafter Wang], US Pub 2012/0002234.
As to claim 14 [dependent from claim 13], Sugimoto and Kimura don’t teach a request unit configured to, in a case where it is determined that the password has not been notified, request the password from the transmission apparatus.
Wang teaches a request unit configured to, in a case where it is determined that the password has not been notified, request the password from the transmission apparatus [fig. 11, steps 1110-1112; 0101-0102 Wang teaches that the printer 101 determined that the password has not been notified, then it requested the password from the transmission apparatus i.e. server 702, for printing purpose, because printing process cannot be executed until the user authentication of the user, who requested the printing of the encrypted print data, is completed].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wang teaching to request the password from the transmission apparatus when it is determined that the password has not been notified to modify Sugimoto and Kimura’s teaching to decrypt the encrypted print data using the user information. The device detects whether a portable media e.g. flash memory card, is in communication with a media interface i.e. interface mechanism, and retrieves the user information from the portable media. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure the printer is designed such that the electronic document is not printed until a user inserts the portable media into the printer and selects secure printing, thus eliminating possibility of an unauthorized third party gaining access to a printed copy of the electronic document, and hence allowing the electronic document to be printed in a secure manner.
As to claim 15 [dependent from claim 14], Wang teaches wherein in a case where it is designated that a start of printing of the encrypted data is to be suspended until an instruction to start printing is received, the request unit requests the password from the transmission apparatus before reception of the instruction to start printing of the encrypted data [fig. 11, steps 1110-1118; 0101-0105 Wang teaches that the printer 101 determined that the password has not been notified, then it requested the password from the transmission apparatus i.e. server 702, for printing purpose, because printing process cannot be executed until the user authentication of the user, who requested the printing of the encrypted print data, is completed].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wang teaching to request the password from the transmission apparatus when it is determined that the password has not been notified to modify Sugimoto and Kimura’s teaching to decrypt the encrypted print data using the user information. The device detects whether a portable media e.g. flash memory card, is in communication with a media interface i.e. interface mechanism, and retrieves the user information from the portable media. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to ensure the printer is designed such that the electronic document is not printed until a user inserts the portable media into the printer and selects secure printing, thus eliminating possibility of an unauthorized third party gaining access to a printed copy of the electronic document, and hence allowing the electronic document to be printed in a secure manner.
Conclusion
/HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682