Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment/Status of Claims
Claims 1-23 are pending in the application. Prior 112 rejections have been withdrawn due to amendment, except in regard to claim 11. Prior 112 rejection of claim 11 has been withdrawn as provided below. Claims 11-19 have been found allowable as provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oberoi et al. US 20160009421 A1 (herein Oberoi).
Oberoi Figure 9
Oberoi Figure 20
Oberoi Figure 21
Regarding claim 1, Oberoi teaches an aircraft assembly jig (900) for installing a plurality of components (1104, 1103) at a surface of an aircraft (104), the aircraft assembly jig (900) comprising: an elevation platform (912) to elevate the plurality of components (1104, 1103) together towards the aircraft (104); and a plurality of adjustable jig members (2002, 2048, 2044) coupled to the elevation platform (912), each of the plurality of adjustable jig members (2002, 2048, 2044) being configured to support a respective component (1104, 1103) of the plurality of components (1104, 1103); wherein at least one of the plurality of jig members (2002, 2048, 2044) is independently adjustable (element 2104 makes 2002 adjustable horizontally with respect to 912) with respect to the elevation platform (912), such that a position of at least one of the plurality of components (1104, 1103) can be independently adjusted (para 6, ln 9-11; to position the components relative to each other they must be independently adjustable) and the components (1104, 1103) pre-positioned for installation (para 6, ln 9-11; the components are positioned prior to being tied together (i.e. pre-positioned)) at the surface of the aircraft (104) and wherein the elevation platform (912) is configured, in elevating the plurality of components (1104, 1103) together towards the aircraft (104), to move (para 395, ln 3-7) the plurality of adjustable jig members (2002, 2048, 2044), together with the respective component (1104, 1103) supported thereon, towards the aircraft (104) for installing the plurality of components (1104, 1103) on the aircraft (104).
Regarding claim 2, Oberoi teaches respective outer surfaces (para 316, ln 3-5; the panels are adjusted to meet outer profile requirements) of the plurality of components are pre-positioned (para 316, ln 3-5; para 6, ln 9-11; the components are positioned prior to being tied together (i.e. pre-positioned) and supported (see fig 11) to extend continuously (para 316, ln 3-5; the panels are adjusted to meet outer profile requirements, which for outer aircraft panels are continuous) with the surface of the aircraft (104) following installation, when landing gear of the aircraft (104) is in a retracted condition (components 1102 and 1103 will be continuous with the surface of the aircraft with the landing gear in extended or retracted condition).
Regarding claim 3, Oberoi teaches a jig (900) that would be capable of the plurality of components (1104, 1103) comprising landing gear door components (while Oberoi does not explicitly disclose landing gear door components, the apparatus taught would be capable of supporting landing gear door components in the same manner as the panels 1104, 1106, 1108).
Regarding claim 4, Oberoi teaches an adjusted position (para 260, ln 3-4) of at least one of the plurality of components (1104, 1103; while para 260 refers to panels 120, these would be analogous to the later described 1104 and 1103) is based on at least one measurement (para 260, ln 1-5) derived from the aircraft (104).
Regarding claim 5, Oberoi teaches at least one of the plurality of jig members comprises (2002) a lifting device (2005) for elevating a first component (1103) of the plurality of components (1104, 1103) independently of another of the plurality of components (1104, 1103).
Regarding claim 6, Oberoi teaches the lifting device (2005) comprises a plurality of lifting members (note that 2002 includes 2004 and 2006, both of which have a respective 2005); a vertical position of the first component (1103) is adjustable independently (2005 is controlled separately from the other jig members) of other components (1104) of the plurality of components (1104, 1103) by the plurality of jig members (2002, 2048, 2044) operating together; and the first component (1103) is rotatable about a horizontal plane independently of the other components (1104) of the plurality of components (1104, 1103) by the plurality of lifting members (2005 of 2004 and 2005 of 2006) operating differentially (if one of 2005 were to raise and the other lower, rotation about a horizontal plane would be the result).
Regarding claim 8, Oberoi teaches at least one of the plurality of jig members (2002) comprises an adjustable base (2111) configured to move horizontally (either 2014 or 2016 allows horizontal movement) with respect to the elevation platform (912); and a first component (1103) of the plurality of components (1104, 1103) is adjustable horizontally independently (2002 operates independently of the other jig members) of another of the plurality of components (1104).
Regarding claim 9, Oberoi teaches the plurality of jig members (2002, 2048, 2044) comprise three jig members (2002, 2048, 2044).
Regarding claim 10, Oberoi teaches an upper jig member (1604) configured to provide position guidance (para 358, ln 7-9; 1604 works in cooperation with 1608 to position fasteners) via at least one jig attachment point (para 358, ln 7-9; to apply fasteners 1604 must be able to attach to the fasteners) corresponding to a position of at least one attachment point (para 358, ln 7-9; 1604 is attaching a fastener at attachment point) at the aircraft (104); and at least one of the plurality of components (1104, 1103) comprises at least one adjustable coupling (para 358, ln 3-6; a bolt fastener forms a coupling with an adjustable clamping force (i.e. the torque on the bolt)) configured for attaching to the at least one attachment point (para 358, ln 7-9; 1604 is attaching a fastener at attachment point) at the aircraft (104); wherein the upper jig member (1604) is configured to enable the at least one adjustable coupling (para 358, ln 3-6; a bolt fastener forms a coupling with an adjustable clamping force (i.e. the torque on the bolt)) to be pre-adjusted to a required length (bolt lengths are pre-adjusted at manufacturing, the engaged length of the bolt is pre-adjusted by one of either 1604 or 1608) for installing the plurality of components (1104, 1103) at the aircraft (104).
Regarding claim 20, Oberoi teaches an aircraft (104) made using the jig (900) of claim 1 (as provided above).
Regarding independent claim 21, Oberoi teaches an assembly jig (900) to support a plurality of components (1104, 1103) in pre-determined positions (para 6, ln 9-11; the components are positioned prior to being tied together (i.e. pre-determined)) for assembly of aircraft components (1104, 1103) to an aircraft (104), the assembly jig (900) comprising: a plurality of jig members (2002, 2048, 2044) configured to be lifted together in unison (para 395, ln 3-7), at least one of the jig members (2002) being adjustable (2016 makes 2002 adjustable relative to the datum) relative to a jig datum (plane bisecting the major axis of the jig, and perpendicular to the ground) independently of other jig members (2048, 2044), such that the relative positions and/or orientations of at least one of the plurality of components (1104, 1103) is or are adjustable to move the plurality of components (1104, 1103) into relative alignment with one another (para 6, ln 9-11) and with a portion of the aircraft (104) to which the plurality of components (1104, 1103) will be assembled; and a lifting arrangement (2252) configured to lift the plurality of jig members (2002, 2048, 2044) with the plurality of components (1104, 1103) supported in the relative alignment to an installation position (para 6, ln 9-11) at the portion of the aircraft (104), in which the plurality of components (1104, 1103) are in position to connect to connection portions of the aircraft (104) with the plurality of components (1104, 1103) positioned such that an outer surface of each component of the plurality of components (1104, 1103) is in alignment (para 6, ln 9-11; as skin panels 1104 and 1103 would be positioned to in alignment with outer surfaces of each other) with a respective outer surface portions of at least one other component (1104, 1103) of the plurality of components and also (para 6, ln 9-11; as skin panels 1104 and 1103 would be positioned to in alignment with outer surfaces of the aircraft) with an outer surface of the aircraft (104).
Regarding claim 22, Oberoi teaches the plurality of components (1104, 1103) comprise at least one landing gear fairing and/or door (while Oberoi does not explicitly disclose landing gear door components, the apparatus taught would be capable of supporting landing gear door components in the same manner as the panels 1104, 1106, 1108).
23. (Currently Amended) The assembly jig of claim 22, wherein the plurality of components (1104, 1103) further comprise actuators and/or other connectors (para 358, ln 3-6) connected internally of a respective one of the at least one landing gear fairing and/or door (while Oberoi does not explicitly disclose landing gear door components, the apparatus taught would be capable of supporting landing gear door components in the same manner as the panels 1104, 1106, 1108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oberoi et al. US 20160009421 A1 (herein Oberoi) in view of Lei et al. CN 108216682 A.
Regarding claim 7, Oberoi teaches a spherical interface (654) for rotating a first component (1104) of the plurality of components (1104, 1103) independently of another of the plurality of components (1103).
Oberoi does not teach a turntable.
Lei Figure 4
However, in a related device, Lei teaches a turntable (18) for rotating a component (English Translation, abstract) for installation on an aircraft (English Translation, abstract). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to filing date of instant application, to substitute the turntable of Lei for the spherical joint of Oberoi with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-19 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Examiner found applicant’s argument that prior rejection did not teach adjusting the position of both doors on the jig and lifting both doors toward the aircraft together while supported by the jig to be convincing. Additional prior art was not found to teach lifting multiple aircraft components together with independently adjustable members for installation as a single process step. Claims 12-19 are allowed due to their dependence on allowed claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10, 20-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed June 29, 2026, with respect to claim 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claim 11 has been withdrawn. Examiner agrees that “a position of the first door” and “a position of the second door” does distinctly claim the invention.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 17-23, filed June 29, 2026, with respect to claim 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 11-19 have been withdrawn. Examiner found applicant’s argument that prior rejection did not teach adjusting the position of both doors on the jig and lifting both doors toward the aircraft together while supported by the jig to be convincing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.D.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723