DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gardner et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20100258685 A1).
As per claim 1, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, for an electronic device (see paragraph 26) comprising: a cable holding device 18 having a cable holding body (along 18) removably coupled therein (along 10), the cable holding device 18 having a first arcuate slot (16 along 18) configured to receive a first cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) and a second arcuate slot (16 along 18) configured to receive a second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph); a first pliable member (14 on either side) disposed between the first arcuate slot (16 along 18) and the second arcuate slot (16 along 18); the first pliable member (14 on either side) having a first pliable wing (14 on either side); and a second pliable member (14 on either side) having a second pliable wing (14 on either side) wherein a second gap (shown in figure 5, along A or B) having a center axis (along mid portion of 14) is formed between the first pliable wing (14 on either side) of the first pliable member (14 on either side) and the second pliable wing (14 on either side) of the second pliable member (14 on either side); wherein the first pliable wing (14 on either side) of the first pliable member (14 on either side) and second pliable wing (14 on either side) of the second pliable member (14 on either side) are both configured to deflect away (see paragraph 31) from the center axis (along mid portion of 14) in response to a first linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the first cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) disposed within the second gap (shown in figure 5, along A or B); wherein the first pliable wing (14 on either side) of the first pliable member (14 on either side) and second pliable wing (14 on either side) of the second pliable member (14 on either side) are both configured to deflect towards the center axis (along mid portion of 14) in response to a second linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the first cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) disposed within the second gap (shown in figure 5, along A or B) to apply a compression force (see paragraph 31) on the first cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph); and wherein the first linear force (see paragraph 31) is in an opposite direct (along 28) to the second linear force (see paragraph 31).
As per claim 2, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein the first pliable wing (14 on either side) and second pliable wing (14 on either side) are each configured to compress the cable (see paragraph 5) between one another when the second linear force (see paragraph 31) is applied (shown in figure 5).
As per claim 3, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein the first pliable wing (14 on either side) is a first arcuate wing (14 on either side) and the second pliable wing (14 on either side) is a second arcuate wing (14 on either side).
As per claim 4, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein the first pliable member (14 on either side) includes a flat surface (16 along 18) that extends between the first pliable wing (14 on either side) and the second pliable wing (14 on either side).
As per claim 5, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein a width (seen in figure 5) of the flat surface (16 along 18) is based at least in part on the width (seen in figure 5) of an input end (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) of the cable (see paragraph 5).
As per claim 6, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein a width of the second gap (shown in figure 5, along A or B) is based at least in part on a diameter (seen in figure 5) of the cable (see paragraph 5).
As per claim 7, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein the second gap (shown in figure 5, along A or B) is configured to snuggly (seen in figure 5) receive the cable (see paragraph 5).
As per claim 8, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, further comprising: a body (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) configured to couple to the electronic device (see paragraph 26) and having a bottom tray 16 configured to receive at least one input end (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) of the cable (see paragraph 5).
As per claim 9, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein the bottom tray 16 extends into a cable surface (16 along 18) that includes the cable holding device 18.
As per claim 11, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, for an electronic device (see paragraph 26) comprising: a body (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) configured to removably couple to an electronic device (see paragraph 26) and having a bottom tray 16 configured to receive a first input end (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph 26) of a first cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) and a second input end (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph 26) of a second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) while the first input end (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph 26) and second input end (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph 26) are inserted into a corresponding input port (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) of the electronic device (see paragraph 26); a cable holding device 18 secured to the body (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) and having a cable holding body (along 18) with a first arcuate slot (16 along 18) configured to receive the first cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) and aligned with a first corresponding input port (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) and a second arcuate slot (16 along 18) configured to receive the second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) and aligned with a second corresponding input port (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26); the cable holding device 18 further including a first pliable member (14 on either side) disposed between the first arcuate slot (16 along 18) and the second arcuate slot (16 along 18); the first pliable member (14 on either side) having a first pliable wing (14 on either side); and a second pliable member (14 on either side) having a second pliable wing (14 on either side) wherein a second gap (shown in figure 5, along A or B) having a first center axis (along mid portion of 14) is formed between the first pliable wing (14 on either side) and the second pliable wing (14 on either side); wherein the first center axis (along mid portion of 14) aligns with the first corresponding input port (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26); wherein the first pliable wing (14 on either side) of the first pliable member (14 on either side) and second pliable wing (14 on either side) of the second pliable member (14 on either side) are both configured to deflect away (see paragraph 31) from the first center axis (along mid portion of 14) in response to a first linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the first cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph); wherein the first pliable wing (14 on either side) of the first pliable member (14 on either side) and second pliable wing (14 on either side) of the second pliable member (14 on either side) are both configured to deflect towards the first center axis (along mid portion of 14) in response to a second linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the first cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph); and wherein the first linear force (see paragraph 31) is in an opposite direct (along 28) to the second linear force (see paragraph 31).
As per claim 12, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein the first pliable member (14 on either side) has a second pliable wing (14 on either side) and the cable holding device 18 further includes a third pliable member (14 on either side) having a first pliable wing (14 on either side); wherein a second gap (shown in figure 5, along A or B) is formed between the second pliable wing (14 on either side) of the first pliable member (14 on either side) and the first pliable wing (14 on either side) of the third pliable member (14 on either side); and wherein the second pliable wing (14 on either side) of the first pliable member (14 on either side) and the first pliable wing (14 on either side) of the third pliable member (14 on either side) are both configured to deflect away (see paragraph 31) from the second center axis (along mid portion of 14) in response to a first linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) and deflect towards the second center axis (along mid portion of 14) in response to a second linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph), and wherein the first linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) is in an opposite direction (along 28) to the second linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph).
As per claim 13, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein the second gap (shown in figure 5, along A or B) is configured to receive the second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) and align with the second corresponding input port (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26).
As per claim 14, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein the first center axis (along mid portion of 14) is parallel to the second center axis (along mid portion of 14).
As per claim 15, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein the first pliable wing (14 on either side) is a first arcuate wing (14 on either side) and the second pliable wing (14 on either side) is a second arcuate wing (14 on either side).
As per claim 16, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein the first pliable member (14 on either side) is detachable from the cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10.
As per claim 17, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, further comprising a third arcuate slot (next to A or B) wherein a first distance (shown in figure 5, along A or B, also see paragraph 34) between the first arcuate slot (16 along 18) and the second arcuate slot (16 along 18) is a different distance than a second distance (shown in figure 5, along A or B, also see paragraph 34) between the second arcuate slot (16 along 18) and the third arcuate slot (next to A or B).
As per claim 18, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein the cable holding device 18 and the body (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) are of one-piece construction (shown in figure 5).
As per claim 19, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, for an electronic device (see paragraph 26) comprising: a body (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) configured to couple to an electronic device (see paragraph 26) and having a bottom tray 16 configured to receive at least one input end (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) of a cable (see paragraph 5) while the at least one input end (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) is inserted into an input port (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) of the electronic device (see paragraph 26); the bottom tray 16 extending into a cable surface (16 along 18) having a similar height to the input port (not shown, see the example mention paragraph 26) of the electronic device (see paragraph 26); a cable holding device 18 secured to the cable surface (16 along 18) comprising: a cable holding body (along 18) with a first arcuate slot (16 along 18) configured to receive a first cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) and a second arcuate slot (16 along 18) configured to receive a second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph); a first pliable member (14 on either side) disposed between the first arcuate slot (16 along 18) and the second arcuate slot (16 along 18); the first pliable member (14 on either side) having a first pliable wing (14 on either side); and a second pliable member (14 on either side) having a second pliable wing (14 on either side) wherein a second gap (shown in figure 5, along A or B) having a center axis (along mid portion of 14) is formed between the first pliable wing (14 on either side) of the first pliable member (14 on either side) and the second pliable wing (14 on either side) of the second pliable member (14 on either side); wherein the first pliable wing (14 on either side) of the first pliable member (14 on either side) and second pliable wing (14 on either side) of the second pliable member (14 on either side) are both configured to deflect away (see paragraph 31) from the center axis (along mid portion of 14) in response to a first linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by a cable (see paragraph 5) disposed within the second gap (shown in figure 5, along A or B); wherein the first pliable wing (14 on either side) of the first pliable member (14 on either side) and second pliable wing (14 on either side) of the second pliable member (14 on either side) are both configured to deflect towards the center axis (along mid portion of 14) in response to a second linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the cable (see paragraph 5) disposed within the second gap (shown in figure 5, along A or B); and wherein the first linear force (see paragraph 31) is in an opposite direct (along 28) to the second linear force (see paragraph 31).
As per claim 20, Gardner teaches a cable (see paragraph 5) holding assembly 10, wherein the first pliable member (14 on either side) has a second pliable wing (14 on either side) and the cable holding device 18 further includes a third pliable member (14 on either side) having a first pliable wing (14 on either side); wherein a second gap (shown in figure 5, along A or B) is formed between the second pliable wing (14 on either side) of the first pliable member (14 on either side) and the first pliable wing (14 on either side) of the third pliable member (14 on either side); and wherein the second pliable wing (14 on either side) of the first pliable member (14 on either side) and the first pliable wing (14 on either side) of the third pliable member (14 on either side) are both configured to deflect away (see paragraph 31) from the second center axis (along mid portion of 14) in response to a first linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) and deflect towards the second center axis (along mid portion of 14) in response to a second linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph), and wherein the first linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph) is in an opposite direction (along 28) to the second linear force (see paragraph 31) applied by the second cable (shown in figure 5, along A or B, see paragraph).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As per claim 10, The prior art does not disclose or suggest: further comprising: a cover coupled to the body and configured to allow access to the cable.
Conclusion
/Nelson R. Burgos-Guntin/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831