Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-14, 19, 20, and 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0197785 A1 (hereinafter Tate-Gans) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0330515 A1 (hereinafter Stall) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0254905 A1 (hereinafter Ramsby).
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “A method, comprising: receiving, from a first application, a request to render a first object in an environment … and in response to receiving the request to render the first object in the environment … rendering the first object” is taught by Tate-Gans (Tate-Gans, e.g. abstract, paragraphs 54-251 , describes a system for managing display of virtual content from one or more applications running on a mixed reality system. Tate-Gans, e.g. paragraphs 58, 59, teaches using a universe application acting as a 3D windows manager for virtual content in the user’s landscape analogous to a 2D window manager for windows presented on a desktop screen, wherein the application(s) can present rendered content using one or more 3D prisms, analogous to desktop applications presenting rendered content using one or more 3D windows. Further, Tate-Gans, e.g. paragraphs 58-96, 113-145, 157-180, 230-234 teaches that the windows manager controls display of the prisms based on many factors including user input through controls or viewpoint motion, e.g. paragraphs 62-64, 67, 81, 82, 95, 172-179, 230-234, properties of the current set of prisms, e.g. paragraphs 70-76, 89, 90, 113-134, 145, 174-180, and/or communication with the applications, e.g. paragraphs 59-63, 67, 71, 78, 116. That is, the universe application receives request(s) from application(s) to render content in prism(s) in the user’s landscape, and may determine to render the content/prism in the user’s landscape in response to the request, corresponding to the claimed request, application, object, and environment. Finally, it is noted, with respect to claims 19 and 20, Tate-Gans, e.g. paragraphs 80-88, 349-352, describes using a computing system with processor(s) executing program(s) stored in non-transitory media.)
The limitations “after rendering the first object and while the first object is being rendered in the environment, … in accordance with a determination … that the first object is a first type of object, … maintaining a physical size of the first object without maintaining an angular size of the first object” are taught by Tate-Gans (As noted above, Tate-Gans teaches that the windows manager controls display of the prisms based on many factors including user input through controls or viewpoint motion and properties of the current set of prisms, where the user input can include moving the position of a prism relative to the user viewpoint, e.g. by moving the viewpoint relative to the 3D position to which the prism is attached and/or changing the 3D position to which the prism is attached as in paragraphs 61, 62, 64, 70, 73, 81, 82, 89, 90, 132-134, 172-179, wherein Tate-Gans also teaches that the behavior type of each prism/object can be changed while the system is in operation, e.g. paragraphs 70, 232. Further as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand, Tate-Gans’ rendering uses a perspective projection model, i.e. as in paragraphs 174-180, figure 8, the field of view is defined using a frustum, indicating perspective projection, such that prisms having a constant physical size would change in apparent size on the display depending on how far the prism is positioned relative to the viewpoint, i.e. as claimed, in accordance with determining that the first object is a first type of object, i.e. world locked, the first world locked object(s) would be rendered with a changed display size, i.e. angular size, while maintaining the same physical size.)
The limitation “in accordance with a determination … that the first object is a second type of object different from the first type of object, maintaining the angular size of the first object without maintaining the physical size of the first object” is taught by Tate-Gans (It is noted that the limitation “maintaining the angular size of the first object without maintaining the physical size of the first object” is interpreted broadly to only require that the angular size of the first object is maintained, without excluding scenarios where the physical size of the object is not changed, i.e. analogous to depending claims 13 and 14 with respect to the similar limitation of “maintaining a physical size of the first object without maintaining an angular size of the first object” in a first instance both the physical and angular size may be maintained, and in a second instance, the physical size may be maintained while the angular size is changed. Tate-Gans, e.g. paragraphs 70, 73, 89, 90, 172, 231-233 teaches that while some prisms may be attached to world locked 3D positions, other prisms may be attached to a position on the user’s body such that body centric prisms are maintained at a constant relative position, and possibly orientation, relative to the user’s viewpoint, meaning that the angular size of body centric prisms is maintained without maintaining the physical size. That is, Tate-Gans’ world locked prisms correspond to the claimed first type of object as discussed above, and Tate-Gans’ body centric prisms correspond to the claimed second type of object which is rendered by maintaining an angular size without maintaining a physical size, in view of the above noted broad interpretation thereof. It is additionally noted that although, in contrast to the maintaining physical size limitation as further defined in claims 13 and 14, Applicant’s depending claims do not explicitly require the maintaining angular size limitation to include scenarios for both maintaining and changing the physical size, Ramsby, e.g. figure 6B, paragraph 50, 52, 60, anticipates a scaling function for augmented reality objects which maintains the display size, i.e. angular size, by changing the physical size of the object, i.e. scaling the physical size of the object as a function of a the distance from the viewpoint, corresponding to the narrower possible interpretation of the maintaining angular size limitation.)
The limitations “receiving, from a first application, a request to render a first object in an environment according to a respective mode, and in response to receiving the request to render the first object in the environment according to the respective mode, rendering the first object; after rendering the first object and while the first object is being rendered in the environment, according to the respective mode and continues to be rendered according to the respective mode: in accordance with a determination that the respective mode is a first mode that the first object is a first type of object, maintaining a physical size of the first object without maintaining an angular size of the first object … in accordance with a determination that the respective mode is the first mode and that the first object is a second type of object different from the first type of object, maintaining the angular size of the first object without maintaining the physical size of the first object; and in accordance with a determination that the respective mode is a second mode, maintaining the physical size of the first object without maintaining the angular size of the first object, wherein the second mode is different from the first mode” are taught by Tate-Gans (Tate-Gans, e.g. paragraphs 58-61, 174-180, indicates that the system may run and display prisms for one or more applications concurrently, i.e. as noted above, the claimed determining whether the environment is rendered according to the first or second mode. Further, as discussed above with respect to the first prism/object being a world locked type prism/object or a body centric type prism/object, when multiple applications are presenting content concurrently, i.e. the first claimed mode, a first prism/object presenting content from a first application could be world locked or body centric, corresponding to the claimed first and second types of object rendered by maintaining the physical or angular size, respectively, when the environment is rendered according to the first mode, and similarly, when only one application is presenting content, i.e. the second claimed mode, the first prism/object presenting content from the first application could be in world locked mode, i.e. the claimed first object rendered by maintaining the physical size when the environment is rendered according to the second mode. It is noted that these two modes are distinct, i.e. the first mode includes a plurality of applications presenting object(s) whereas the second mode corresponds to only one application presenting object(s).)
The limitations “wherein the first mode is a window mode where the first object is included in a window of the first application … wherein the second mode is an immersive mode where the first object is not included in a window of the first application” are partially taught by Tate-Gans (Tate-Gans, e.g. paragraphs 58, 59, 71, 72, 113-114, teaches that the prisms are the 3D analog to the 2D window of a desktop screen, i.e. the first mode is a window mode, and the first application content/object is only displayed within the bounds of the first application prism/window. As noted above, the user of Tate-Gans’ system, in at least some instances, could run only a single application presenting object(s) within prism(s)/window(s), corresponding to a second mode different from the first mode presenting prism(s)/window(s) from plural applications. Tate-Gans, e.g. paragraph 72, indicates that the prisms are displayed for non-immersive applications, implicitly teaching that an alternate second mode of the system is display of immersive applications, however Tate-Gans does not further describe the display of immersive applications, or controlling size of objects therein.) However, this limitation is taught by Stall in view of Ramsby (Stall, e.g. abstract, paragraphs 2, 3, 24-93, describes different display modes for head mounted display systems, including an immersive application environment displaying a single application’s virtual environment in an immersive mode and a holographic virtual environment displaying models from plural applications in a shared virtual environment, e.g. paragraphs 2, 3, 24, 30-33, figure 1, 116 in example #2 showing an immersive application environment mode and 106 in example #3 showing the shared virtual environment mode including first application models 118 and other applications’ content 110. Stall further teaches, e.g. paragraphs 3, 30-33, 75, that is known to allow the user to transition between the different modes including the immersive application environment and the holographic virtual environment modes, i.e. the system continuously operates in a first, windowed, mode presenting content/objects from plural applications in a shared virtual environment as in figure 1, 106 in example #3, until transitioned to a different mode such as the second, immersive, mode exclusively presenting a single application’s virtual environment as in figure 1, 116 in example #2. It is noted that although Stall, e.g. paragraphs 30-34, identifies potential disadvantages to the known prior art display modes and exemplary transitions, Stall does not teach away from their use, i.e. Stall is disclosing inventive improvements for the identified situations where the prior art transitions are disadvantageous, but does not suggest the prior art transitions should not be used/provided, or, alternately stated, Stall is describing transitions which should be made available to the user in addition to the prior art transitions. Furthermore, Ramsby, e.g. abstract, paragraphs 17-72, describes a system for controlling scaling of augmented reality objects, further indicating what one of ordinary skill in the art would have found to be implicit in Stall’s immersive application environment, i.e. as in paragraphs 18, 22, 23, an immersive application may include some objects which are set to a world locked state and some objects which are set to a body locked state. That is, while, as noted above, Tate-Gans only addresses setting body or world locked state for content/objects of the plural applications of a shared virtual environment, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that Tate-Gans’ technique for setting body or world locked state for content/objects could be used for content/objects within Stall’s immersive application environment in view of Ramsby’s description of immersive application environments including both world locked and body locked objects, i.e. Tate-Gans’ system could be used to adjust the state of immersive application objects in addition to shared virtual environment objects.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tate-Gans’ mixed reality content management system to include Stall’s immersive application environment mode as an alternative to the non-immersive application environment mode, and to use Tate-Gans’ technique for setting body or world locked state for content/objects within Stall’s immersive application environment in view of Ramsby’s description of immersive application environments including both world locked and body locked objects, i.e. as taught by Stall, paragraphs 30, 32, the same application content/objects are presented in both display modes, meaning that the settings applied in the non-immersive mode could be maintained within the immersive mode, and vice versa, analogous to Ramsby’s immersive application including both world and body locked objects, e.g. paragraph 18. That is, in Tate-Gans’ modified system, while operating in the first/windowed mode, an application could present one or more content(s)/object(s) in one or more prism(s)/window(s) having the settable world or body locked state as taught by Tate-Gans and discussed above, and subsequent to the user activating a display mode transition as taught by Stall from the first/windowed mode to the second/immersive mode, the same one or more content(s)/object(s) could maintain their set world or body locked state, as well as have their state changed as taught by Tate-Gans and discussed above, while in the second/immersive mode, analogous to Ramsby’s example application.
Regarding claim 3, the limitations “while a second object is being rendered in the environment according to the respective mode and continues to be rendered according to the respective mode in the environment: in accordance with a determination that the respective mode is the second mode and that the second object is a third type of object, maintaining a physical size of the second object without maintaining an angular size of the second object; and in accordance with a determination that the respective mode is the second mode and that the second object is a fourth type of object different from the first type of object, maintaining the angular size of the second object without maintaining the physical size of the second object, wherein the fourth type of object is different from the third type of object” are taught by Tate-Gans in view of Stall (Tate-Gans, e.g. paragraphs 59, 61, 78, teaches that each application can render content for display in multiple separate prisms, i.e. the first application may also request display of the claimed second object, and analogously Stall, e.g. paragraphs 2, 3, 30-33, teaches that the immersive application environment may include plural application models. As discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, in Tate-Gans’ modified system, while operating in the first/windowed mode, an application could present one or more content(s)/object(s) in one or more prism(s)/window(s) having the settable world or body locked state, and subsequent to the user activating a display mode transition from the first/windowed mode to the second/immersive mode, the same one or more content(s)/object(s) could maintain their set world or body locked state, as well as have their state changed while in the second/immersive mode, corresponding to the limitations of claim 3, i.e. while in the second/immersive mode, a first world locked type prism/object is rendered by maintaining the physical size without maintaining the angular size, and a second prism/object is either world locked, i.e. a third type of object rendered by maintaining physical size without maintaining the angular size, or body centric, i.e. a fourth type of object rendered by maintaining angular size without maintaining physical size, where the fourth type is different from the third type.)
Regarding claim 4, the limitations “while a third object is being rendered in the environment with the first object according to the respective mode and continues to be rendered according to the respective mode in the environment: while maintaining the angular size of the first object, maintaining a physical size of the third object without maintaining an angular size of the third object; and while maintaining the physical size of the first object, maintaining the angular wise of the third object without maintaining the physical size of the third object” are taught by Tate-Gans (As discussed in the claims 1 and 3 rejections above, Tate-Gans, e.g. 58-61, 78, 174-180, teaches that the system may run and display prisms for one or more applications concurrently, and display one or more prisms for each application, i.e. the claimed third object being displayed concurrently with the first object. Further, Tate-Gans teaches that the behavior type of each prism/object can be changed while the system is in operation, e.g. paragraphs 70, 232, i.e. at a first instant when the first prism/object is set to the body centric behavior as in the scenario discussed in claim 1, a third prism/object could be set to world locked, thereby maintaining the physical size of the third object without maintaining the angular size of the third object while maintaining the angular size of the first object, and at a second instant when the first prism/object is set to the world locked behavior as in the scenarios discussed in claim 1, the third prism/object could be set to body centric, thereby maintaining the angular size of the third object without maintaining the physical size of the third object while maintaining the physical size of the first object.)
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claims 1 and 4 above, i.e. as discussed in the claims 1 and 4 rejections, Tate-Gans, 58-61, 174-180, teaches that the system may run and display content/prisms for one or more applications concurrently in the first/windowed mode, and as discussed in the claim 4 rejection, a third/fourth prism/object could be set to body centric while the first prism/object is set to world locked, and vice versa.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations “while the environment is rendered according to the first mode, detecting a request to transition to the second mode; and in response to detecting the request to transition to the second mode, causing the environment to operate in the second mode, wherein causing the environment to operate in the second mode includes removing, from the environment, content provided by another application different from the first application” are taught by Tate-Gans in view of Stall (As discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, in Tate-Gans’ modified system, while operating in the first/windowed mode, an application could present one or more content(s)/object(s) in one or more prism(s)/window(s) having the settable world or body locked state, and subsequent to the user activating a display mode transition from the first/windowed mode to the second/immersive mode, the same one or more content(s)/object(s) could maintain their set world or body locked state. As taught by Stall, e.g. figure 1, paragraphs 30-33, when in the second/immersive mode, e.g. 116 in example #2, only the immersive application’s content/objects are displayed, such that, as claimed, when the user requests to transition from the first/windowed mode to the second/immersive mode corresponding to the first application, only the first application’s content/objects 118 will continue to be displayed and other application’s content/objects, represented by elements 110 in the holographic view of example #3, would be removed from the display, as claimed.)
Regarding claims 8 and 12, the limitations “wherein, while the environment is rendered according to the first mode, content corresponding to the first application is in a first area of the environment and not in a second area of the environment and content corresponding to a second application is in the first area and not in the second area, wherein the second area is different from the first area, wherein the second application is different from the first application”, “wherein the second area surrounds the first area” are taught by Tate-Gans (Tate-Gans, e.g. paragraphs 174-180, figure 8, teaches that the system may only render prisms that are both within a given distance of the user, e.g. zone 810, and also within the view frustum based on the user’s head pose/viewpoint, e.g. frustum 850. That is, both the distance based area 810 and the frustum based area 850 correspond to the claimed first area where the content from the applications is rendered, and the area outside the respective areas 810/850 corresponds to the claimed second area where the content of the applications is not rendered, wherein the second area surrounds the first area.)
Regarding claims 9-11, the limitations “wherein, while the environment is rendered according to the first mode and in accordance with a determination that a first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, content provided by the first application is within a three-dimensional bounded window”, “wherein while in the first mode and in accordance with a determination that a second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, content corresponding to the first application is within a two-dimensional bounded window, and wherein the second set of one or more criteria is different from the first set of one or more criteria”, “wherein the first set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when a first window corresponding to the first application includes a style defining that the window is a three-dimensional bounded window, and wherein the second set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when a second window corresponding to the first application includes a style defining that the second window is a two-dimensional bounded window” are taught by Tate-Gans (Tate-Gans, e.g. paragraphs 58, 71, 79, 228, teaches that the applications may be planar applications using 2D windows and/or render 3D content displayed in the 3D prisms, analogous to 3D windows, i.e. the claimed providing content from the first application in a 2D window or a 3D window, wherein the bounds may or may not be rendered, e.g. paragraphs 114, 142, 168. Further, the use of 2D or 3D windows is based on the application type, e.g. paragraphs 71, 228 indicating video and web browser applications use planar 2D windows, paragraphs 64, 71, 73, 191, indicating exemplary applications providing 3D content in a 3D prism/window, which could be defined by the application using the default size application specific parameters, e.g. paragraphs 89, 90, 118, 119, 159, i.e. a default size having an extent depth of 0 corresponding to a 2D window and an a default size having an extent depth greater than 0 corresponding to a 3D prism/window. That is, as claimed the 3D window would be used when first criteria including a criterion that is satisfied that the first application includes a style defining a three-dimensional bounded window, i.e. the extent depth being greater than 0, and a 2D window would be used when second criteria including a criterion that is satisfied when the first application includes a style defining a two-dimensional bounded window, i.e. the extent depth being 0.)
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the limitations “wherein: maintaining the physical size of the first object without maintaining the angular size of the first object includes: at a first time while the size of content provided by the first object is changed, maintaining a physical size of the first object and maintaining the angular size of the first object”, “wherein: maintaining the physical size of the first object without maintaining the angular size of the first object includes: at a second time, different from the first time, while the size of content provided by the first object is changed, changing the angular size of the first object while maintaining the physical size of the first object” are taught by Tate-Gans (Tate-Gans, e.g. paragraphs 59, 115, teaches that the applications have control over the transforms applied to the rendered 2D/3D content, i.e. changes to the position, orientation, and size of content rendered within the 2D windows/3D prisms. Further, Tate-Gans, e.g. paragraph 126, teaches that the application may change the content size by only scaling the content, per se, i.e. as with conventional 2D windows, different controls allow for scaling the content within the current window/prism bounds, i.e. a zoom control, and for resizing the bounds of the window/prism in which the content is displayed, i.e. a border/extent control. When first prism/object is in the world locked mode, corresponding to maintaining the physical size without maintaining the angular size as discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, if the user instructs the first application to adjust the scaling of the content in the first object/prism, i.e. zooming in or out, without resizing the borders of the prism/object, then the physical size of the first prism/object and the angular size of the first object would be maintained, i.e. the prism remains world locked and with the same bounds/dimensions while the content rendered therein is scaled up or down, corresponding to the claim 13 scenario. Finally, after the time instant where the content is scaled up or down, if the user causes the first prism/object in world locked mode to move to a different position relative to the viewpoint, i.e. by moving the viewpoint and/or prism anchor location as discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, then the physical size of the first prism/object would be maintained while changing the angular size of the first prism/object due to the perspective projection effect scaling the apparent display size of the first prism/object, corresponding to the claim 14 scenario.)
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 43 and 44, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claims 1 and 4 above, i.e. as discussed in the claims 1 and 4 rejections, Tate-Gans, 58-61, 174-180, teaches that the system may run and display content/prisms for one or more applications concurrently in the first mode, i.e. a second application can request to render an object in a window corresponding to the object/second application separate from the first object/window/application, and as discussed in the claim 4 rejection, the first and third/fifth prism/objects can be separately set to body centric or world locked, i.e. both can be set to body locked at the same time or to world locked at the same time.
Regarding claims 45, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claims 1 and 3 above, i.e. in Tate-Gans’ modified system, while operating in the first/windowed mode, one or more applications could present respective one or more content(s)/object(s) in one or more prism(s)/window(s) having the settable world or body locked state, corresponding to multiple applications with separate windows, and subsequent to the user activating a display mode transition from the first/windowed mode to the second/immersive mode, only the first application’s virtual environment is displayed, as in Stall’s figure 1, element 116 of example #2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-14, 19 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that Applicant suggests that Tate-Gans does not teach either of the claimed modes, but does not actually suggest any reason why Tate-Gans’ disclosure does not anticipate the first/window mode as claimed. Therefore, while the combination of the rejection relies on Tate-Gans’ disclosure in combination with Stall and Ramsby to teach the amended independent claim scope with respect to the second/immersive mode, Applicant’s suggestion that Tate-Gans does not teach the first/window mode cannot be considered persuasive.
Conclusion
/ROBERT BADER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611