DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 7 – 10, 14 – 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al (US 2023/0247507) in view of Tsai et al (US 2024/0163688) and further in view of Cirik et al (US 2024/0056987).
Re claim 1, Cui teaches of a communication method, comprising: receiving, by a first communication apparatus (Wireless Device, Figures 11 – 12), first indication information (#1104, Fig. 11 and #1204, Fig.12) from a second communication apparatus (Cellular Base Station, Figures 11 – 12), wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate a first polarization manner of a neighboring cell of a cell in which the first communication apparatus (polarization information to perform measurement of neighboring cells, Paragraphs 0175 – 0176 and Figures 10 – 12) in an inactive state is located (inactive mode, Paragraphs 0176 – 0177), the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell includes one or more of vertical/horizontal polarization, single/dual polarization, or others (Paragraphs 0108 and 0147), and the first indication information carried in a dedicated measurement configuration (terminal-level information) may not be available (Paragraph 0176 and Fig. 11) and can be configured in a system information (SIB, Paragraph 0176 – 0179 and Fig.12); and performing, by the first communication apparatus, signal measurement on the neighboring cell based on the first indication information (#1108, Fig.11 and #1208, Fig.12). However, Cui does not specifically teach of the first polarization manner includes at least one of a downlink polarization manner or an uplink polarization manner, wherein the downlink polarization manner includes one or more of downlink left hand circular polarization, downlink right hand circular polarization, or downlink linear polarization, and the uplink polarization manner includes one or more of uplink left hand circular polarization, uplink right hand circular polarization, or uplink linear polarization. Cui does not clearly teach of the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information, wherein the terminal-level information is radio resource control resume signaling. Cui does not specifically teach of wherein the receiving the first indication information includes receiving the first indication information carried in a MeasConfig field or a MeasObiectNR field in the radio resource control resume signaling.
Tsai teaches of the first polarization manner includes at least one of a downlink polarization manner or an uplink polarization manner, wherein the downlink polarization manner includes one or more of downlink left hand circular polarization, downlink right hand circular polarization, or downlink linear polarization, and the uplink polarization manner includes one or more of uplink left hand circular polarization, uplink right hand circular polarization, or uplink linear polarization (LHCP, RHCP, linear, Paragraphs 0105 – 0106 and 0109). Tsai further teaches of the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information, wherein the terminal-level information is radio resource control connected state (RRC connected state, Paragraph 0111), wherein the receiving the first indication information includes receiving the first indication information carried in a MeasConfig field or a MeasObiectNR field in the radio resource control connected state (CSI-MeasConfig IE, Paragraph 0111).
Cirik teaches of a first configuration information being carried in terminal-level information (The one or more RRC messages may be UE-specific (e.g., dedicated RRC messages transmitted to a UE in an RRC CONNECTED state and/or in an RRC INACTIVE state, Paragraph 0164). Cirik teaches of the RRC INACTIVE switching to RRC CONNECTED by RRC RESUME process (Connection Resume, #614, Fig.6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information for a reliable and secure message transmission, where the terminal-level information is radio resource control signaling for improved network efficiency. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell include one or more left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization for providing robustness against signal fading and multipath interference and include linear polarization for being simpler and cheaper. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radio resource control signaling include receiving a radio resource control resume so as to allow the UE to return to the connected state.
Re claim 2, Cui, Tsai and Cirik teach all the limitations of claim 1 as well as Tsai teaches of wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the first communication apparatus, second indication information from the second communication apparatus, wherein the second indication information is usable to indicate a second polarization manner of a first cell (each SSB is only associated with a single polarization e.g., LHCP or RHCP as shown in FIG. 8A, Paragraph 0105), and the second polarization manner includes any one of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, Paragraph 0111 and Fig.8A); and communicating, by the first communication apparatus, with the second communication apparatus in the second polarization manner (Fig.8A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have indicated a second polarization manner of a first cell so as to optimize signal quality and to mitigate interference.
Re claim 3, Cui, Tsai and Cirik teach all the limitations of claim 2 as well as Tsai teaches of sending, by the first communication apparatus, third indication information to the second communication apparatus, wherein the third indication information is usable to indicate a third polarization manner expected by the first communication apparatus (each SSB is only associated with a single polarization e.g., LHCP or RHCP as shown in FIG. 8A, Paragraph 0105), and the third polarization manner includes any one of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, Paragraph 0111 and Fig.8A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sent, by the first communication apparatus, third indication information to the second communication apparatus so as to allow the network to dynamically adjust transmission to match the UE's polarization, improving signal quality and network performance.
Re claim 7, Cui, Tsai and Cirik teach all the limitations of claim 2 as well as Tsai teaches of wherein the receiving, by the first communication apparatus, the second indication information from the second communication apparatus includes receiving the second indication information is carried in a system information block (system information block, Paragraphs 0107 and 0110 – 0111).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second indication information carried in a system information block to allow the UEs to select and access a network cell.
Re claim 8, Cui teaches a communication method, comprising: determining, by a second communication apparatus (Cellular Base Station, Figures 11 – 12), first indication information, wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate a first polarization manner of a neighboring cell of a cell (polarization information to perform measurement of neighboring cells, Paragraphs 0175 – 0176 and Figures 10 – 12) in which a first communication apparatus (Wireless Device, Figures 11 – 12) in an inactive state is located (inactive mode, Paragraphs 0176 – 0177), and the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell includes one or more of vertical/horizontal polarization, single/dual polarization, or others (Paragraphs 0108 and 0147); and sending, by the second communication apparatus, the first indication information, wherein the first indication information carried in a dedicated measurement configuration (terminal-level information) may not be available (Paragraph 0176 and Fig. 11) and can be configured in a system information (SIB, Paragraph 0176 – 0179 and Fig.12). However, Cui does not specifically teach of the first polarization manner includes at least one of a downlink polarization manner or an uplink polarization manner, wherein the downlink polarization manner includes one or more of downlink left hand circular polarization, downlink right hand circular polarization, or downlink linear polarization, and the uplink polarization manner includes one or more of uplink left hand circular polarization, uplink right hand circular polarization, or uplink linear polarization. Cui does not clearly teach of the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information, wherein the terminal-level information is radio resource control resume signaling. Cui does not specifically teach of wherein the receiving the first indication information includes receiving the first indication information carried in a MeasConfig field or a MeasObiectNR field in the radio resource control resume signaling.
Tsai teaches of the first polarization manner includes at least one of a downlink polarization manner or an uplink polarization manner, wherein the downlink polarization manner includes one or more of downlink left hand circular polarization, downlink right hand circular polarization, or downlink linear polarization, and the uplink polarization manner includes one or more of uplink left hand circular polarization, uplink right hand circular polarization, or uplink linear polarization (LHCP, RHCP, linear, Paragraphs 0105 – 0106 and 0109). Tsai further teaches of the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information, wherein the terminal-level information is radio resource control connected state (RRC connected state, Paragraph 0111), wherein the receiving the first indication information includes receiving the first indication information carried in a MeasConfig field or a MeasObiectNR field in the radio resource control connected state (CSI-MeasConfig IE, Paragraph 0111).
Cirik teaches of a first configuration information being carried in terminal-level information (The one or more RRC messages may be UE-specific (e.g., dedicated RRC messages transmitted to a UE in an RRC CONNECTED state and/or in an RRC INACTIVE state, Paragraph 0164). Cirik teaches of the RRC INACTIVE switching to RRC CONNECTED by RRC RESUME process (Connection Resume, #614, Fig.6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information for a reliable and secure message transmission, where the terminal-level information is radio resource control signaling for improved network efficiency. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell include one or more left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization for providing robustness against signal fading and multipath interference and include linear polarization for being simpler and cheaper. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radio resource control signaling include receiving a radio resource control resume so as to allow the UE to return to the connected state.
Re claim 9, Cui, Tsai and Cirik teach all the limitations of claim 8 as well as Tsai teaches of wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the second communication apparatus, second indication information, wherein the second indication information is usable to indicate a second polarization manner of a first cell (each SSB is only associated with a single polarization e.g., LHCP or RHCP as shown in FIG. 8A, Paragraph 0105), and the second polarization manner includes any one of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, Paragraph 0111 and Fig.8A); and sending, by the second communication apparatus, the second indication information (Fig.8A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have indicated a second polarization manner of a first cell so as to optimize signal quality and to mitigate interference.
Re claim 10, Cui, Tsai and Cirik teach all the limitations of claim 9 as well as Tsai teaches of wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the second communication apparatus, third indication information from the first communication apparatus, wherein the third indication information is usable to indicate a third polarization manner expected by the first communication apparatus cell (each SSB is only associated with a single polarization e.g., LHCP or RHCP as shown in FIG. 8A, Paragraph 0105), and the third polarization manner includes any one of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, Paragraph 0111 and Fig.8A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have received a third indication information so as to allow the network to dynamically adjust transmission to match the UE's polarization, improving signal quality and network performance.
Re claim 14, Cui teaches of a communication apparatus (Wireless Device, Figures 11 – 12 and #106, Figures 2 – 3), comprising: at least one processor (#302, Fig.2) configured to execute a computer program or executable instructions stored in a memory (#306, #350, Fig.2 and Paragraph 0030), wherein the computer program or the executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations including: receiving first indication information (#1104, Fig. 11 and #1204, Fig.12) from a second communication apparatus (Cellular Base Station, Figures 11 – 12), wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate a first polarization manner of a neighboring cell of a cell in which the communication apparatus (polarization information to perform measurement of neighboring cells, Paragraphs 0175 – 0176 and Figures 10 – 12) in an inactive state is located (inactive mode, Paragraphs 0176 – 0177), the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell includes one or more of vertical/horizontal polarization, single/dual polarization, or others (Paragraphs 0108 and 0147), and the first indication information may not be carried in a dedicated measurement configuration (terminal-level information) (Paragraph 0176 and Fig. 11) and can be configured in a system information (SIB, Paragraph 0176 – 0179 and Fig.12); and performing signal measurement on the neighboring cell based on the first indication information (#1108, Fig.11 and #1208, Fig.12). However, Cui does not specifically teach of the first polarization manner includes at least one of a downlink polarization manner or an uplink polarization manner, wherein the downlink polarization manner includes one or more of downlink left hand circular polarization, downlink right hand circular polarization, or downlink linear polarization, and the uplink polarization manner includes one or more of uplink left hand circular polarization, uplink right hand circular polarization, or uplink linear polarization. Cui does not clearly teach of the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information, wherein the terminal-level information is radio resource control resume signaling. Cui does not specifically teach of wherein the receiving the first indication information includes receiving the first indication information carried in a MeasConfig field or a MeasObiectNR field in the radio resource control resume signaling.
Tsai teaches of the first polarization manner includes at least one of a downlink polarization manner or an uplink polarization manner, wherein the downlink polarization manner includes one or more of downlink left hand circular polarization, downlink right hand circular polarization, or downlink linear polarization, and the uplink polarization manner includes one or more of uplink left hand circular polarization, uplink right hand circular polarization, or uplink linear polarization (LHCP, RHCP, linear, Paragraphs 0105 – 0106 and 0109). Tsai further teaches of the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information, wherein the terminal-level information is radio resource control connected state (RRC connected state, Paragraph 0111), wherein the receiving the first indication information includes receiving the first indication information carried in a MeasConfig field or a MeasObiectNR field in the radio resource control connected state (CSI-MeasConfig IE, Paragraph 0111).
Cirik teaches of a first configuration information being carried in terminal-level information (The one or more RRC messages may be UE-specific (e.g., dedicated RRC messages transmitted to a UE in an RRC CONNECTED state and/or in an RRC INACTIVE state, Paragraph 0164). Cirik teaches of the RRC INACTIVE switching to RRC CONNECTED by RRC RESUME process (Connection Resume, #614, Fig.6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information for a reliable and secure message transmission, where the terminal-level information is radio resource control signaling for improved network efficiency. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell include one or more left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization for providing robustness against signal fading and multipath interference and include linear polarization for being simpler and cheaper. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radio resource control signaling include receiving a radio resource control resume so as to allow the UE to return to the connected state.
Re claim 15, Cui, Tsai and Cirik teach all the limitations of claim 14 as well as Tsai teaches of receiving, by the first communication apparatus, second indication information from the second communication apparatus, wherein the second indication information is usable to indicate a second polarization manner of a first cell (each SSB is only associated with a single polarization e.g., LHCP or RHCP as shown in FIG. 8A, Paragraph 0105), and the second polarization manner includes any one of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, Paragraph 0111 and Fig.8A); and communicating, by the first communication apparatus, with the second communication apparatus in the second polarization manner (Fig.8A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have indicated a second polarization manner of a first cell so as to optimize signal quality and to mitigate interference.
Re claim 16, Cui, Tsai and Cirik teach all the limitations of claim 15 as well as Tsai teaches of sending third indication information to the second communication apparatus, wherein the third indication information is usable to indicate a third polarization manner expected by the communication apparatus (each SSB is only associated with a single polarization e.g., LHCP or RHCP as shown in FIG. 8A, Paragraph 0105), and the third polarization manner includes any one of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, Paragraph 0111 and Fig.8A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sent, by the first communication apparatus, third indication information to the second communication apparatus so as to allow the network to dynamically adjust transmission to match the UE's polarization, improving signal quality and network performance.
Re claim 20, Cui, Tsai and Cirik teach all the limitations of claim 15 as well as Tsai teaches of wherein the receiving the second indication information from the second communication apparatus includes receiving the second indication information is carried in a system information block (system information block, Paragraphs 0107 and 0110 – 0111).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second indication information carried in a system information block to allow the UEs to select and access a network cell.
Conclusion
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633