DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants submit that Cui merely teaches that, for UE in connected mode, polarization information of neighboring cell is included in UE-specific information, while for UE in idle or inactive mode, dedicated measurement configuration may not be available. Thus, according to Cui, polarization information of neighboring cell is included in system information in inactive mode. System information is a broadcast signaling, which is different from the dedicated signaling. Cirik at most disclose RACH parameters can be included in dedicated RRC messages in RRC inactive state. (Cirik,1 0164.) As shown in Fig. 6, Cirik shows a generic state transition between 3 RRC states. Cirik is completely silent on polarization manner of neighboring cell.
Examiner submits that Cui, polarization information of neighboring cell is included in system information in inactive mode, where dedicated signaling may not be available (Paragraph 0176). Cirik teaches of wherein the receiving, by the first communication apparatus, the first indication information from the second communication apparatus carrying the first indication information in terminal-level information further includes receiving radio resource control signaling (dedicated RRC messages, Paragraph 0164). Cirik further teaches of wherein the receiving the radio resource control signaling includes receiving is radio resource control resume (Connection Resume, #614, Fig.6). Thus, Cirik teaches of a communication apparatus being in an inactive state is located, and a first indication information is carried in terminal-level information, wherein the terminal-level information is radio resource control resume signaling. Therefore, the combination of Cui, Cirik and Cheema teach all the combinations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 7 – 10, 14 – 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al (US 2023/0247507) in view of Cirik et al (US 2024/0056987) and further in view of Cheema et al (US 2024/0031001).
Re claim 1, Cui teaches of a communication method, comprising: receiving, by a first communication apparatus (Wireless Device, Figures 11 – 12), first indication information (#1104, Fig. 11 and #1204, Fig.12) from a second communication apparatus (Cellular Base Station, Figures 11 – 12), wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate a first polarization manner of a neighboring cell of a cell in which the first communication apparatus (polarization information to perform measurement of neighboring cells, Paragraphs 0175 – 0176 and Figures 10 – 12) in an inactive state is located (inactive mode, Paragraphs 0176 – 0177), the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell includes one or more of vertical/horizontal polarization, single/dual polarization, or others (Paragraphs 0108 and 0147), and the first indication information carried in a dedicated measurement configuration (terminal-level information) may not be available (Paragraph 0176 and Fig. 11) and can be configured in a system information (SIB, Paragraph 0176 – 0179 and Fig.12); and performing, by the first communication apparatus, signal measurement on the neighboring cell based on the first indication information (#1108, Fig.11 and #1208, Fig.12). However, Cui does not specifically teach of the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell includes one or more of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing. Cui does not clearly teach of the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information, wherein the terminal-level information is radio resource control resume signaling.
Cirik teaches of a first configuration information being carried in terminal-level information (The one or more RRC messages may be UE-specific (e.g., dedicated RRC messages transmitted to a UE in an RRC CONNECTED state and/or in an RRC INACTIVE state, Paragraph 0164). Cirik teaches of wherein the receiving the radio resource control signaling includes receiving is radio resource control resume (Connection Resume, #614, Fig.6).
Cheema teaches of a communication method, comprising: receiving, by a first communication apparatus (#102, Fig.1 and Paragraph 0082), first indication information from a second communication apparatus (#104, Fig.1 and Paragraph 0082), wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate a first polarization manner (polarization indication that indicates a polarization type, Paragraph 0082), the first polarization manner includes one or more of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, linear polarization, Paragraphs 0088, 0105 and 0127 and Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information for a reliable and secure message transmission, where the terminal-level information is radio resource control signaling for improved network efficiency and the radio resource control signaling includes receiving a radio resource control resume so as to allow the UE to return to a connected state. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell include one or more left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization for providing robustness against signal fading and multipath interference and include linear polarization for being simpler and cheaper.
Re claim 2, Cui, Cirik and Cheema teach all the limitations of claim 1 as well as Cheema teaches of wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the first communication apparatus, second indication information from the second communication apparatus, wherein the second indication information is usable to indicate a second polarization manner of a first cell (In the third embodiment, depending upon a deployment configuration of an NTN cell, a gNB may indicate polarization…, Paragraph 0098), and the second polarization manner includes any one of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, linear polarization, Paragraphs 0105 and 0127 and Table 1); and communicating, by the first communication apparatus, with the second communication apparatus in the second polarization manner (configuration information indicates at least one polarization type for downlink reception, for uplink transmission, or a combination thereof, Paragraphs 0061 – 0062 and Paragraphs 0093 – 0094).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have indicated a second polarization manner of a first cell so as to optimize signal quality and to mitigate interference.
Re claim 3, Cui, Cirik and Cheema teach all the limitations of claim 2 as well as Cheema teaches of sending, by the first communication apparatus, third indication information to the second communication apparatus, wherein the third indication information is usable to indicate a third polarization manner expected by the first communication apparatus (the UE indicates its polarization capability implicitly or explicitly, Paragraphs 0090, 0097 and 0104), and the third polarization manner includes any one of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, linear polarization, Paragraphs 0105 and 0127 and Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sent, by the first communication apparatus, third indication information to the second communication apparatus so as to allow the network to dynamically adjust transmission to match the UE's polarization, improving signal quality and network performance.
Re claim 7, Cui, Cirik and Cheema teach all the limitations of claim 2 as well as Cheema teaches of wherein the receiving, by the first communication apparatus, the second indication information from the second communication apparatus includes receiving the second indication information is carried in a system information block (system information block, Paragraphs 0085 and 0093).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second indication information carried in a system information block to allow the UEs to select and access a network cell.
Re claim 8, Cui teaches a communication method, comprising: determining, by a second communication apparatus (Cellular Base Station, Figures 11 – 12), first indication information, wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate a first polarization manner of a neighboring cell of a cell (polarization information to perform measurement of neighboring cells, Paragraphs 0175 – 0176 and Figures 10 – 12) in which a first communication apparatus (Wireless Device, Figures 11 – 12) in an inactive state is located (inactive mode, Paragraphs 0176 – 0177), and the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell includes one or more of vertical/horizontal polarization, single/dual polarization, or others (Paragraphs 0108 and 0147); and sending, by the second communication apparatus, the first indication information, wherein the first indication information carried in a dedicated measurement configuration (terminal-level information) may not be available (Paragraph 0176 and Fig. 11) and can be configured in a system information (SIB, Paragraph 0176 – 0179 and Fig.12). However, Cui does not specifically teach of the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell includes one or more of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing. Cui does not specifically teach of the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information, wherein the terminal-level information is radio resource control resume signaling.
Cirik teaches of a first configuration information being carried in terminal-level information (The one or more RRC messages may be UE-specific (e.g., dedicated RRC messages transmitted to a UE in an RRC CONNECTED state and/or in an RRC INACTIVE state, Paragraph 0164). Cirik teaches of wherein the receiving the radio resource control signaling includes receiving is radio resource control resume (Connection Resume, #614, Fig.6).
Cheema teaches of a communication method, comprising: transmitting, by a second communication apparatus (#104, Fig.1 and Paragraph 0082), first indication information to a first communication apparatus (#102, Fig.1 and Paragraph 0082), wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate a first polarization manner (polarization indication that indicates a polarization type, Paragraph 0082), the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell includes one or more of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, linear polarization, Paragraphs 0105 and 0127 and Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information for a reliable and secure message transmission, where the terminal-level information is radio resource control signaling for improved network efficiency and the radio resource control signaling includes receiving a radio resource control resume so as to allow the UE to return to a connected state. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell include one or more left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization for providing robustness against signal fading and multipath interference and include linear polarization for being simpler and cheaper.
Re claim 9, Cui, Cirik and Cheema teach all the limitations of claim 8 as well as Cheema teaches of wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the second communication apparatus, second indication information, wherein the second indication information is usable to indicate a second polarization manner of a first cell (In the third embodiment, depending upon a deployment configuration of an NTN cell, a gNB may indicate polarization…, Paragraph 0098), and the second polarization manner includes any one of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, linear polarization, Paragraphs 0105 and 0127 and Table 1); and sending, by the second communication apparatus, the second indication information (configuration information indicates at least one polarization type for downlink reception, for uplink transmission, or a combination thereof, Paragraphs 0061 – 0062 and Paragraphs 0093 – 0094).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have indicated a second polarization manner of a first cell so as to optimize signal quality and to mitigate interference.
Re claim 10, Cui, Cirik and Cheema teach all the limitations of claim 9 as well as Cheema teaches of wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the second communication apparatus, third indication information from the first communication apparatus, wherein the third indication information is usable to indicate a third polarization manner expected by the first communication apparatus (the UE indicates its polarization capability implicitly or explicitly, Paragraphs 0090, 0097 and 0104), and the third polarization manner includes any one of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, linear polarization, Paragraphs 0105 and 0127 and Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have received a third indication information so as to allow the network to dynamically adjust transmission to match the UE's polarization, improving signal quality and network performance.
Re claim 14, Cui teaches of a communication apparatus (Wireless Device, Figures 11 – 12 and #106, Figures 2 – 3), comprising: at least one processor (#302, Fig.2) configured to execute a computer program or executable instructions stored in a memory (#306, #350, Fig.2 and Paragraph 0030), wherein the computer program or the executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations including: receiving first indication information (#1104, Fig. 11 and #1204, Fig.12) from a second communication apparatus (Cellular Base Station, Figures 11 – 12), wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate a first polarization manner of a neighboring cell of a cell in which the communication apparatus (polarization information to perform measurement of neighboring cells, Paragraphs 0175 – 0176 and Figures 10 – 12) in an inactive state is located (inactive mode, Paragraphs 0176 – 0177), the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell includes one or more of vertical/horizontal polarization, single/dual polarization, or others (Paragraphs 0108 and 0147), and the first indication information may not be carried in a dedicated measurement configuration (terminal-level information) (Paragraph 0176 and Fig. 11) and can be configured in a system information (SIB, Paragraph 0176 – 0179 and Fig.12); and performing signal measurement on the neighboring cell based on the first indication information (#1108, Fig.11 and #1208, Fig.12). However, Cui does not specifically teach of the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell includes one or more of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing. Cui does not specifically teach of the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information, wherein the terminal-level information is radio resource control resume signaling.
Cirik teaches of a first configuration information being carried in terminal-level information (The one or more RRC messages may be UE-specific (e.g., dedicated RRC messages transmitted to a UE in an RRC CONNECTED state and/or in an RRC INACTIVE state, Paragraph 0164). Cirik teaches of wherein the receiving the radio resource control signaling includes receiving is radio resource control resume (Connection Resume, #614, Fig.6).
Cheema teaches of receiving, by a first communication apparatus (#102, Fig.1 and Paragraph 0082), first indication information from a second communication apparatus (#104, Fig.1 and Paragraph 0082), wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate a first polarization manner (polarization indication that indicates a polarization type, Paragraph 0082), the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell includes one or more of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, linear polarization, Paragraphs 0105 and 0127 and Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first indication information being carried in terminal-level information for a reliable and secure message transmission, where the terminal-level information is radio resource control signaling for improved network efficiency and the radio resource control signaling includes receiving a radio resource control resume so as to allow the UE to return to a connected state. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first polarization manner of the neighboring cell include one or more left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization for providing robustness against signal fading and multipath interference and include linear polarization for being simpler and cheaper.
Re claim 15, Cui, Cirik and Cheema teach all the limitations of claim 14 as well as Cheema teaches of receiving, by the first communication apparatus, second indication information from the second communication apparatus, wherein the second indication information is usable to indicate a second polarization manner of a first cell (In the third embodiment, depending upon a deployment configuration of an NTN cell, a gNB may indicate polarization…, Paragraph 0098), and the second polarization manner includes any one of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, linear polarization, Paragraphs 0105 and 0127 and Table 1); and communicating with the second communication apparatus in the second polarization manner (transmitting uplink data using the polarization type indicated in the system information block, Paragraph 0143).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have indicated a second polarization manner of a first cell so as to optimize signal quality and to mitigate interference.
Re claim 16, Cui, Cirik and Cheema teach all the limitations of claim 15 as well as Cheema teaches of sending third indication information to the second communication apparatus, wherein the third indication information is usable to indicate a third polarization manner expected by the communication apparatus (the UE indicates its polarization capability implicitly or explicitly, Paragraphs 0090, 0097 and 0104), and the third polarization manner includes any one of left hand circular polarization, right hand circular polarization, linear polarization, or cross polarization multiplexing (LHCP, RHCP, linear polarization, Paragraphs 0105 and 0127 and Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sent, by the first communication apparatus, third indication information to the second communication apparatus so as to allow the network to dynamically adjust transmission to match the UE's polarization, improving signal quality and network performance.
Re claim 20, Cui, Cirik and Cheema teach all the limitations of claim 15 as well as Cheema teaches of wherein the receiving the second indication information from the second communication apparatus includes receiving the second indication information is carried in a system information block (system information block, Paragraphs 0085 and 0093).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second indication information carried in a system information block to allow the UEs to select and access a network cell.
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Cirik and Cheema in view of ETSI TS 138 331 V16.1.0 (5G, NR, Radio Resource Control (RRC), Protocol specification, 3GPP TS 38.331 version 16.1.0 Release 16, 2020-07).
Re claims 6, 13 and 19, Cui, Cirik and Cheema teach all the limitations of claims 5, 12 and 18, as well as Cirik teaches of wherein the receiving the first indication information includes receiving in the radio resource control resume (see claim 1). However, Cui, Cirik and Cheema do not specifically teach of the first indication information is carried in a MeasConfig field or a MeasObjectNR field.
ETSI TS 138 331 V16.1.0 discloses of the MeasConfig field (Pages 435 – 436) or a MeasObjectNR field (Page 448 – 449).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first indication information being carried in a MeasConfig field or a MeasObjectNR field so as to conform to the 3GPP standard.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633